Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C

Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C

Item# 100017
Heavy-duty power cord connector body with locking plug is rated at 50 Amps for use with generators up to 12500 Watts. Quickly connects to a 50 Amp power cord to complete the construction of a cord set to match Reliance 50 Amp Raintight Power Inlet box or transfer switches with 50 Amp power inlets. Four wire 120/240 Volts accepts up to 6 AWG wire. CS6364 configuration. UL listed. Watts 12,500, Connector Type Male plug, Amps 50, UL Listed Yes, Volts 120/240.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Review 1 for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

50 Amp Twist Lock

,
February 6, 2014
By Stromlogic
from Minneapolis, MN
"Nothern had the plug on hand and in stock when I needed it. It was a great match to my outside transfer switch hookup. It was easy to connect and went together quickly. Well built plug!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance generator connector

,
January 10, 2012
By eldjaxtn
from Jackson, Tennessee
"Could not find anywhere locally. Called Northern regarding my Reliance generator panel and they advised me of the right connector. I ordered and received timely. Hooked up and it worked great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
January 9, 2012
By Jimbuoy
from New Jersey
"Well built
Perfect match to the inlet box
Easy to wire
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Generator connector

,
July 20, 2009
By jtm997
from Charleston, SC
"This connector fixed a problem I had. My 12KW generator needed a plug that carried more amps than the dryer plug I was using. When I went to Northern Tool the sales rep showed me the 50 amp plugs and it came in handy during the last storm when we lost power for 5 hours."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

50 AMP Twist lock connector

,
July 13, 2009
By RVJim
from Harrison, AR
"I was looking for a good quality twist lock style connector able to remove and stow for my 50 AMP 240 VAC power cord for my RV. I didn’t like having to push the existing cable back inside the RV for movement over the highway. I selected the, “Reliance Generator Cord Connector — 50 Amp” and a matching Reliance panel mount socket. I was able to remove my existing plastic push – pull opening and make a nice adapter ring from aluminum to adapt the socket.
Once the socket was secured to the RV I used two Reliance Generator Cord Connector — 50 Amp connectors.
One was with the black and red connections jumpered together and using a 30 AMP RV power cord. The second Reliance Generator Cord Connector — 50 Amp was used with a standard 50 AMP RV power cord.
By having two cords set up this way allowed me to use the same RV mounted socket at campgrounds that only offered 30 AMP service. When campgrounds offered 50 AMP 240 VAC service I simply use the other cable.
The Reliance Generator Cord Connector — 50 Amp is constructed well. It has a large internal ground strip that makes connection before the connector is twisted to lock for safety. I use my RV quite regularly and have experienced rain, high winds with rain, and ice storms and the Reliance Generator Cord Connector — 50 Amp connector has never shown any sign of shorting.
I would recommend this connector and connector series for RV, home use with standby power generation equipment, and countless farm applications."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Generator Cord Connector

,
January 21, 2008
By Highflier450
from Sylvia, KS
"Excellent quality, appears to be very durable, easy to connect to wiring. Using this with the Power Inlet Box makes hooking up the generator in a power outage a breeze!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

all done

,
July 9, 2007
By Stephenp
from Scarborough, Me
"It was the last part to compleat my project tobe ready for storms lowest prices for hard to find stuff"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reliance Generator Cord Connector - 50 Amp, Model# L550C
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what the Dr. ordered.

,
November 16, 2006
By Dave01
from Descanso, Ca.
"I found exactly what I needed and confirmed it was that using the Northern catalog. It was stated very clearly with great illustrations online.
It came with clear instructions for installation.
Shipping was fast and payment was easy.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.