Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK

Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK

Item# 100022
Prepare up to 6 circuits to be powered by a portable generator safely and efficiently. Completely prewired and easy to install next to your home load center. Meets all National Electrical Code requirements. UL listed. U.S.A. Application Transfer switch, Volts 240, UL Listed Yes, Circuits qty. 6, Amps 30, Dimensions W x D x H in. 7 1/8 x 4 5/8 x 9 1/2, Watts 7,500. Manual indoor surface-mount 6-circuit transfer switch 6-circuit 7500 Watt 30 Amp prewired transfer switch Accommodates generators up to 7500 Watts continuous output Built-in mounting brackets Tie bars for 240V circuits Watt meters Prewired/built-in junction box Re-settable push-button UL489 circuit breakers 10ft. 30 Amp cord 30 Amp Raintight power inlet box Extra 20 Amp plug end
Average Customer Rating:
4.795 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Review 1 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 4, 2014
By 1NorthernFan
from North Chesterfield, VA
"Easy to install, DVD lays out installation directions in a clear to understand format. The kit has everything but the 10-3 wire needed to run receptacle. If you are going to run the wire outside (buried) get 10-3 UF-B. Bought the flush mount kit, which is not included, so the Transfer Switch box did not protrude for aesthetics, but even if it were to be installed on the wall surface it would not have been very obtrusive. It's a must have for running power to your home circuits. Saves a lot of hassle running extension cords, particularly if the weather is nasty outside. Good overall choice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy install

,
February 4, 2014
By Scootsk
from Long Island, NY
"Purchased this after hurricane Sandy devistated Long Island. The kit was very easy to install with basic electric knowledge. I highly recommend this product to anyone with a smaller generator looking to electrify the six most important circuit in your home during a disruption of service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and simple to install

,
September 17, 2013
By Abby274
from CT.
"I found this transfer switch very easy to install with the help of the video. I am more than satisfied with this product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 17, 2013
By PeterV
from Northport, NY
"I purchased the Reliance Transfer Switch kit after buying my generator to avoid extension cords running through the house during a power outage. This product is very easy to set up and comes with everything you need except the 10 gauge wire to mount the outlet where the generator will be plugging in. I've been using it for about 2 months and it works very well. I also like the meter to let you know how many watts you are currently using."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, hope to never use it.....

,
September 13, 2013
By Windy11
from Punta Gorda, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After reading all the reviews, decided to buy it. I had a electrician install it (quicker and I know its installed right). Wished I had this after Hurricane Charlie, I can run the basic items in my house without extension cords everywhere. The load meters on the unit and outdoor connection are really nice."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Install

,
February 7, 2013
By MPTinCT
from Fairfield, CT
"I've had a portable generator for a few years but tired of stringing extension cords around the house when needed. As a homeowner with a desk job, I found this device was easily installed after watching the DVD that is part of the kit. Now I can't wait for the next storm so I can try it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliance Controls 6Circuit Manual transfer switch

,
October 15, 2012
By nucmedman
from dumont,nj
"I purchased this product to address the frequent power outages in my town over the last several years. The worst was recently during last winter and Hurricane Irene. Installation was relatively easy but does require prior knowledge in household wiring a bit beyond a do it yourselfer. I recommend a licensed electrician to at least supervise installation for the sake of safety and adhering to electrical codes. That said the product is superb in transfering power to selected circuits through the external input terminal. The watt meters are handy in monitoring the generator output as load in selectively put on. Overall an excellent product. I only wish they would also provide input plug terminals choices compatible with generator output terminals. I had to purchase separately compatible plugs as the one provided does not fit the generator output terminal. (RV type generator output, only L25/30 plug provided in kit)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

fear of frying

,
October 8, 2012
By Larry11152
from Baltimore
"The transfer switch was recommended by a church member that got tired of tripping over extension cords as I did. I am not oposed to tackling any home projects...except electricity. I was pleasantly suprised with the clarity of instructions and precise details which made the install much less threatening than I had feared. I have not had a power outage yet so I cannot testify to the operation, but so far so good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product and easy

,
September 9, 2012
By Rick125
from Dighton, MA
"I purchased this switch to use with a Gererac GP6500 generator. The installation process was very easy for anyone who has some basic electronics knowledge. It took about 2 hours to complete. The instructions and video were excellent and very easy to understand and follow. I recommend this product to anyone who would like to be able to power most of their important circuits when the power is out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Install for Generator Transfer Switch

,
August 20, 2012
By koconno2
from Belleville, MI.
"I have been investigating transfer switch kits and this one seemed to be the best quality. Initial cost was a little high for me but I caught it on sale. I have some basic knowledge of house electrical and felt confident working in my house service panel. If you are the slightest bit unsure of yourself when working with 110/220v then don’t risk it and find an electrician.
But the directions were straight forward and the parts in the kit were of good quality. The only issues I had was finding room in a full service panel. In order to maximize the length of the circuit wires coming from the transfer switch you want to enter in the center of the service panel, although I didn’t have a choice there. I had to find the next one inch knock-out, which was to one side of the box. The circuit wires from the transfer switch still had plenty of length.
When you number/label your circuits on the transfer switch I suggest writing the corresponding number, with a paint pen, on the circuit breaker in the service panel. Every time I had to remove the service panel cover all the circuit labels went with it. It’s a pain to count up and down the rows and the little numbers on the wires from the transfer switch are hard to see once installed. This way you can track a circuit very fast and safely without probing a wire bundle looking for a circuit number.
The remote mounted generator port was the main selling feature for me. My service panel is on the complete opposite side of the house as where I need to plug in my generator. This was the only extra cable I needed to purchase.
I didn’t use the 220v bridged circuits on the transfer switch and just turned them all into 110v circuits. Also, once I installed my home generator transfer switch we have never had a power outage sense, go figure."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
August 13, 2012
By WST1956
from Glenelg, MD.
"This is a great product! I decided to order this item after the last power outage of 2 days. It was a dream to install and the directions were clear cut. I had some help from an electrician friend so it made it a great install. It took a little over an hour and all circuits were up and operational. Thank you for supplying a great product and outstanding service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance 31406crk transfer switch

,
June 30, 2012
By Themac
from Dayton, Ohio
"I just connected my new transfer switch and it was simple to do. I just love it. Our power went out yesterday for 4 hours and some of my friends are still out today and their service will not be turn back on for two more days. I love this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer switch

,
January 15, 2012
By frugal1
from Easton, PA
"This item was back-ordered but was not an issue. The installation went well using manual and dvd as reference. Installed and tested with 5500 amp 8250 starting wattage generator and everything seemed ok.
When switching between generator and line, the mechanism feels to float by the off position but I don't see this as being a concern as long as the break is made.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have

,
January 9, 2012
By PoppaBear
from Massachusetts
"If you are planning to use a generator in an emergency situation to power your house then you must have one of these. Without this your are forced to run electrical cords to where you need power. Or worst, some run the generator directly into the house wiring.... Warning, running a generator directly into your house wiring can energize the lines outside your house and could injure or kill someone. This switch completely isolates your generator from outside power lines.... it is the way to go. Took an electrician about 2 hours to wire this up and test. I am good to get for the next storm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Controls Transfer Switch

,
January 9, 2012
By HOMEDIYER
from Hartford, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Installing this transfer switch is very easy for anyone with some knowledge of electrical work. The instructions include videos on disk as well as the manual which is well written. It's virtually impossible to make a mistake if the directions are followed, The kit allows six house circuits to be on generator power during an outage with a flip of the switches and prevents power backfeed to the grid protecting linemen. Anyone with an emergency generator would benefit from this product since there's no need to use extension cords from the generator to individual electrical appliances, only the cord to the inlet power box. The greatest advantage besides the convenience feature is that the home heating system can be used during an outage without having to modify any furnace electrical wiring. The kit contains everything needed to install the switch with the exception of the wire that runs from the inlet box to the transfer switch since it's length varies with the job. I couldn't be happier with this product and the people at Reliance Controls with whom I spoke when I had a question."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of Instillation, Simple operation

,
December 21, 2011
By Anthony48
from Valhalla, New York
"Just finished hooking this unit up to my circuit panel. Total instillation time was about 2 hours. Hardest part was my wire run from the remote power inlet box thru a small crawl space to my breaker panel. Everything was labeled clearly and instructions were very easy to understand. I tested all the circuits and the unit works great. You do not need to be a professional to do the install yourself. Now i am ready for the next outage so all i have to do is crank up my generator and hit the switches to run almost my whole house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Protran review

,
October 17, 2011
By Mark20657
from Lusby, MD
"So simple to install, they should rename it "EasyTran". Pick a circuit, remove the wire from the breaker and wire nut it to the corresponding Protran breaker wire, insert the red Protran wire into the circuit breaker and you are ready to move to the next circuit.
This switch prevents back feeding into the electrical grid and protects your generator once the power comes back on. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy install works great

,
November 16, 2010
By psinva
from Annandale, VA
"East to install. Works great. The video is chessey, but the product works as advertised."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Manual generator transfer switch

,
September 13, 2010
By Bigred936
from Bonita Springs FL
"Easy to install and connect, instructions are clear. Good product, does a great job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Controls Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit

,
September 3, 2010
By tiredretired
from Haymarket Virginia
"I wanted to rate the Reliance Controls Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK, purchased in 2003 in the aftermath of Hurricane Isabel.
It was easy to install because I followed the directions. I read them
through and through and did exactly what installation directions called
for.
I run the system every month under load and am more than satisfied with
the product. I guess I have a leg-up in that the training in Naval Electronics
taught at the Norfolk Navy Shipyard more than prepared me for this home
installation.
For your information, Reliance recommends the maintenance of records. I made forms for Operations, Maintenance and Expenses.
My work was inspected by Northern Virginia Electric Cooperative and
found to be of excellent quality.
Reliance can be proud of their products and you can be equally proud for
selling them.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.