Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"

"Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"

Item# 100022
"Prepare up to 6 circuits to be powered by a portable generator safely and efficiently. Completely prewired and easy to install next to your home load center. Meets all National Electrical Code requirements. UL listed. U.S.A. Circuits qty. 6, Volts 240, Dimensions W x D x H in. 7 1/8 x 4 5/8 x 9 1/2, Amps 30, Watts 7,500, Application Transfer switch, UL Listed Yes. Manual indoor surface-mount 6-circuit transfer switch 6-circuit 7500 Watt 30 Amp prewired transfer switch Accommodates generators up to 7500 Watts continuous output Built-in mounting brackets Tie bars for 240V circuits Watt meters Prewired/built-in junction box Re-settable push-button UL489 circuit breakers 10ft. 30 Amp cord 30 Amp Raintight power inlet box Extra 20 Amp plug end"
Average Customer Rating:
4.804 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (51 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 of 51(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Review 1 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Transfer switch

,
April 30, 2015
By RickGen1
from Idaho Falls, ID
" Great all in one kit for home generator hookup. Still have to hire a qualified electrician to hook it up since that is the safest thing to do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

trans switch

,
March 22, 2015
By kuk45
from lehman, pa
" got this instead of running exstention cords all over the place for when the power goes out does the job "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer switch

,
March 20, 2015
By Ageless
from Des Moines
" Nice product, easy install, works better than expected.
I wish I would have gotten the 10 circuit now that I have it, but not disapointed
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looking out for Mom.

,
February 11, 2015
By mywayitsdone
from Pa
" I purchased the reliance transfer switch for my eledery mother's house. A couple of years ago,I purchased a generator from Northern, this was in case of a power outage. But, now that I have this combination together,I feel at ease,because I can keep the heater,sump pumps,and oter things necessary to keep her comfortable until the power is restored. I have not had to use it yet,but I feel much better knowing that its there,and I can keep her safe! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

6 Circuit Transfer Switch

,
February 5, 2015
By CarolinaPrepper
from Charlotte, NC
" I'm no master handyman but I'm not afraid to pick up a tool and try something for the first time. Still, I was a little concerned about getting into the electrical box. I found videos online that made the install very easy. I did it with my son in just a couple of hours. Now when the power goes out I will have heat, A/C and lights. Bring it on! I got the unit on sale and also used a $50 online coupon and picked up at the store a few days later. Great deal and a great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 3

,
November 16, 2014
By WLH1
from Bakersville, NC
" Good product, quality device. East installation, great instructions. Wish it could accommodate more circuits. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Emergency Generator Transfer Switch Kit

,
October 30, 2014
By B1D231
from Trenton, Texas
" I found this transfer switch on an online search after purchasing an emergency generator. Being a non-professional, I spent part of two days on the installation. The instructions were very clear, and taking it one wire at a time, the hookup was a piece of cake for me.
My breaker panel is in a closet on the outside wall, so I mounted the Transfer Switch just above my existing panel, and routed the wiring inside the wall to the breaker box, and using PVC electrical conduit, I routed the input down and through the wall to the waterproof inlet plug box on the outside wall.
I wanted a longer extension cord to hookup my generator, so I made one up from 10-4 cable x 35 feet long. This lets me place my generator in a more convenient place to make refueling easier for me.
This Transfer switch works perfectly, and the watt meters shows me exactly how my generator is handling various loads. I have virtually all my 110 volt circuits wired through this transfer switch, and my 7500 watt generator seems to be all that we will need for the upcoming bad weather we are expecting in our area this year. I didn't wire up a 220 volt circuit, because I felt it would be expecting a little too much from my 7500 watt generator, so no cooking on the electric stove, and no air-conditioning, but hey, we'll have TV to watch on those cold winter days, and we can run the microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, refrigerator, freezer, coffee pot and all the lights in the house, so that's not so bad. It will be so much better than what we have had to put up with on the other times that the power went off. Last year we lost about 300 lbs of frozen meat and vegitables due to power outages, so hopefully we will be in good shape if it happens again this year.
This is a project that has turned out great, and I have already recommended this switch kit to some of our friends and family. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as Advertised

,
October 15, 2014
By Rdrider56
from Newmarket, NH
" After years of running extension cords when the power goes out, I finally decided to properly hard wire my Honda EU2000i generator using the Reliance Transfer Switch. Instructions were spot on, installation took a couple of hours. I was able to wire my refrigerator, gas furnace, electronics, lights and a few outlets into the 6 circuits. As I'm on town water and no sump pump, the little generator and switch work perfectly together to keep things running when the power goes out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Transfer Switch

,
September 10, 2014
By ChrisinBrady
from Brady, Texas
" Absolutely the right way to go with an indoor transfer switch. My old house (75 Years) required the outdoor mounted switch. Be advised there is a difference. Both are the "cats meow". "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer switch

,
July 17, 2014
By GLDD
from SD
" This switch was very easy to install and worked as advertised. The included DVD was very helpful and easy to follow. Ran through the generator hookup
procedure with my wife to familiarize her with the
operation of switch, no problems!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ice Storms be Damned!

,
June 1, 2014
By outofpowerinDecember
from Uxbridge Ontario
" I was prompted to look into Generator interfaces after we suffered through 6 days of power outages due to a huge ice storm at Christmas 2013.My Grandkids spent Christmas Eve out of their house while their Dad (my youngest son) struggled with several generators and many extension cords trying to keep his house pipes from freezing up and splitting. Jury rigging an interface to the furnace was both inconvenient and dangerous. Thousands of households were in the same predicament and many suffered serious damage and loss because of lack of heat and power.
On seeing that this type of storm is probably not going to be uncommon in the future I decided to research, find and install a transfer switch that would allow me to switch to backup generator power safely and conveniently.
The Reliance Transfer Switch Model #31406CRK fit the bill perfectly! The unit arrived a few days after I ordered it and after reading the clear and very detailed instruction booklet and after watching the extremely informative DVD I was ready to install the switch.
As per directions, I spent some time doing an energy audit and identified the circuits I wanted to isolate and power via my 6250 watt generator. I installed the weatherproof external interface for the extension cord (which was provided) and ran a circuit to the transfer switch using 10awg cable. I mounted the 6 circuit transfer switch beside my main panel and within about 1 hour after doing the installation of all the above, I had interfaced the transfer panels 6 circuits with the ones I wanted to power during a power outage. Our furnace, fridge, gas range kitchen, living room bathroom and bedroom lights along with our TV and computer were hooked up to the new panel. In an emergency all I need to do is start the generator, plug in the heavy duty extension cord and switch the identified circuit from load to Gen.
Simple, convenient and safe! Well done!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Transfer Switch

,
April 26, 2014
By Windknots
from NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I purchased this unit and installed it myself in few hours. I am very pleased with this model, as 6 circuits is really all I needed. After deciding where to mount the outside plug nearest the panel, mounted transfer kit, ran wires and wired to panel. Instructions are good and videos on youtube from Reliance are perfect. Explain it perfectly. After installing the unit, 3 weeks later we experienced an ice storm at 2am and lost power. I started my generator (5600 watts) after hooking up the cord to the house and flipped the switches. The sump pump, the two refrigerators, furnace and tv and family room lights all came on. It was awesome to have power as the water in the sump was already breaching the hole. That sump ran for a good 15 minutes to pull out all that water. Power came on 6 hours later, would have definitely had a wet basement. 6 circuits is plenty for our 2600 sq.ft. home. Heat, light, television, fridge's, sump and furnace. All you need. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 4, 2014
By 1NorthernFan
from North Chesterfield, VA
" Easy to install, DVD lays out installation directions in a clear to understand format. The kit has everything but the 10-3 wire needed to run receptacle. If you are going to run the wire outside (buried) get 10-3 UF-B. Bought the flush mount kit, which is not included, so the Transfer Switch box did not protrude for aesthetics, but even if it were to be installed on the wall surface it would not have been very obtrusive. It's a must have for running power to your home circuits. Saves a lot of hassle running extension cords, particularly if the weather is nasty outside. Good overall choice. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy install

,
February 4, 2014
By Scootsk
from Long Island, NY
" Purchased this after hurricane Sandy devistated Long Island. The kit was very easy to install with basic electric knowledge. I highly recommend this product to anyone with a smaller generator looking to electrify the six most important circuit in your home during a disruption of service. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and simple to install

,
September 17, 2013
By Abby274
from CT.
" I found this transfer switch very easy to install with the help of the video. I am more than satisfied with this product. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 17, 2013
By PeterV
from Northport, NY
" I purchased the Reliance Transfer Switch kit after buying my generator to avoid extension cords running through the house during a power outage. This product is very easy to set up and comes with everything you need except the 10 gauge wire to mount the outlet where the generator will be plugging in. I've been using it for about 2 months and it works very well. I also like the meter to let you know how many watts you are currently using. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, hope to never use it.....

,
September 13, 2013
By Windy11
from Punta Gorda, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" After reading all the reviews, decided to buy it. I had a electrician install it (quicker and I know its installed right). Wished I had this after Hurricane Charlie, I can run the basic items in my house without extension cords everywhere. The load meters on the unit and outdoor connection are really nice. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Install

,
February 7, 2013
By MPTinCT
from Fairfield, CT
" I've had a portable generator for a few years but tired of stringing extension cords around the house when needed. As a homeowner with a desk job, I found this device was easily installed after watching the DVD that is part of the kit. Now I can't wait for the next storm so I can try it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliance Controls 6Circuit Manual transfer switch

,
October 15, 2012
By nucmedman
from dumont,nj
" I purchased this product to address the frequent power outages in my town over the last several years. The worst was recently during last winter and Hurricane Irene. Installation was relatively easy but does require prior knowledge in household wiring a bit beyond a do it yourselfer. I recommend a licensed electrician to at least supervise installation for the sake of safety and adhering to electrical codes. That said the product is superb in transfering power to selected circuits through the external input terminal. The watt meters are handy in monitoring the generator output as load in selectively put on. Overall an excellent product. I only wish they would also provide input plug terminals choices compatible with generator output terminals. I had to purchase separately compatible plugs as the one provided does not fit the generator output terminal. (RV type generator output, only L25/30 plug provided in kit) "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 6 Circuit, Model# 31406CRK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

fear of frying

,
October 8, 2012
By Larry11152
from Baltimore
" The transfer switch was recommended by a church member that got tired of tripping over extension cords as I did. I am not oposed to tackling any home projects...except electricity. I was pleasantly suprised with the clarity of instructions and precise details which made the install much less threatening than I had feared. I have not had a power outage yet so I cannot testify to the operation, but so far so good. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.