Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151

Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151

Item# 100023
This single-circuit transfer switch connects a hardwired furnace to a portable generator. Can be used on any 15 Amp 120V forced-air furnace circuit. Simply plug a standard grounded extension cord into a power outlet on your generator and into the built-in plug on the transfer switch. Indicator light illuminates area around switch during power outage. Indoor surface mount. UL listed. 5-year limited warranty. U.S.A. Volts 120, Circuits qty. 1, UL Listed Yes, Amps 15.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Review 1 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good unit, easy install.

,
September 27, 2012
By JoeFromRichmond
from Richmond, VA
"I love this product. I originally bought it to splice between the furnace disconnect and furnace, but it turned out to be so easy to install at the breaker box, I went with it.
Hookup is dead simple, you wire a common and ground, then black to furnace and red to breaker. The 18" flexible conduit let me mount it directly under my breaker box, and is a short run to my generator.
The only problem is now that I know how easy it is, I'm realizing I should have ordered one of the 6- or 10-circuit load centers. They're not much more, they're simple to hook up, and the bigger ones even include the twist-lock connector. I might still upgrade."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
January 9, 2012
By WMH1
from Central Massachusetts
"I found the switch easy to install. Test ran my wood pellet furnace off my generator and all went well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, wil buy more!

,
March 14, 2011
By CoonamessettFarm
from Cape Cod, MA
"This is a great, inexpensive way to keep our industrial greenhouse furnaces running during power outages. They work flawlessly, and the included instructions were easy to follow. For the price nothing beats them. Installation is a snap."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch

,
November 2, 2009
By GlennR
from Northern Illinois
"This switch is excellent for it's intended purpose. If a complete or partial main panel transfer switch setup is not desired for a house, this will allow a furnace to run from a smaller portable generator. The installation is simple. I had a chance to test it during a power failure within a month of installation and it works as described."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Furnace Transfer Switch

,
January 29, 2009
By hummermech1
from Jacksonville, OH.
"I liked my Transfer Switch so much that I am ordering one for my son. I do not have many skills as a handyman but this switch was very easy for me to install. I am very thankful I installed the Switch because right now I am setting in the middle of a snow storm without Utility Power and my family is toasty warm from my Generator, while my neighbors around me are either freezing or trying to stay warm with Smelly Kerosene Heaters."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Single Circuit Transfer Switch

,
December 1, 2008
By BoatHippy
from Whidbey Island, unreliable power in the winter
"I wanted a single circuit transfer switch to operate my furnace during a winter power outage. I can operate the freezer via an extension cord.
There are two ways to wire this switch; at the furnace or at the main circuit breaker panel. The instructions have a very good diagram for wiring the transfer switch to the main circuit breaker panel. To wire the transfer switch to the furnace I drew a circuit diagram to assist me.
It took me a couple of hours to install and test. Most of the time was spent with mechanical issues mounting the switch and disassembling part of the furnace to access the wiring. Doing the electrical hookup took only 15 minutes.
The Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch Is well made and comes pre-wired. The switch itself was not labeled. Down is from the power company , middle is off and up is from the generator. I highly recommend this transfer switch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great item, Great Price

,
April 21, 2008
By KyDIY
from Louisville, Ky
"For a limited one plug transfer of one breaker it is perfect.
I believe this product was one of the easiest items I have used to power my garage circuit, I have a larger transfer switch for the house, but I needed one for the garage and I didn't need must just enough to open the doors, and power the lights, this did it all, it was so simple to hook up, you need not have a full electricians knowledge to hook up, the directions are good.
I recommend this item.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Should work well

,
January 14, 2008
By mitt
from midwest
"Simple idea, and appears easy for someone to install. It also appears well built. Should help reduce the chance of backfeeding the grid, which is very important.
Instructions are Ok for installing at the load center, but kind of sparse for installing on the furnace.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reliance Furnace Transfer Switch - Single Circuit, Model# TF151
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stay warm!

,
November 7, 2007
By VolvoTech
from Waterford, MI
"My generator is only 4000 watts, therefore I can only power up 4 circuits during an outage. Using this transfer switch, I don't have to dedicate one of the circuits to the furnace. All I have to do when the lights go out is run an extension cord from one of the outlets that's live with generator power to the furnace and everybody stays warm. I've had to use it twice in the last couple of years and consider it well worth the money and time spent installing it (less than 30 minutes)."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.