Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt

Item# 100093
Great for low CFM air usage around the house: car and bike tires, beach toys, basketballs and other sporting goods, rafts or air mattresses, air brush painting, etc. Lightweight compressor features a flip-up handle for complete portability. Oil free, low-maintenance operation with a quiet pump. Operates off standard household current. Includes 25ft. recoil air hose and air chuck. Not recommended for air tools. HP: 1/4, Max. PSI: 100, CFM at 90 PSI: 0.7, CFM at 40 PSI: 1, Working Pressure (PSI): 70 - 100, Tank Type: Pancake, Stage: Single, Drive: Direct, Volts: 120, Motor Phase(s): Single, Amps: 1.9, Air Outlet Size (in.): 1/4, Air Tank Size (gal.): 2 1/2, Drain System: Manual, Portable or Stationary: Portable, Pump: Cast iron cylinder sleeve, Noise Level (dB): 78, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 11 5/8 x 11 5/8 x 16 Cast iron cylinder sleeve Aluminum cooling fans Not related to WELBILT® products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 13(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Ga

,
June 14, 2011
By sewing1243
from Cape Coral, FL
"I was tired of going to gas stations and finding their Air Hose without an end so I purchased the Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt at my local Northern Tool Store. This is a great little unit for taking care of the small jobs (like checking and topping off the air in your vehicles tires) around the house. To make the unit even more usable I bought a quick disconnect airhose kit so I can attach different fittings. The unit is very portable and seems well made. I've had mine over a year now with absolutly no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor

,
November 30, 2010
By johntaylor
from Lawrence, KS
"This an excellent compressor for tire inflation on autos, trucks, and yard equipment or for other household inflation tasks. It's very light-weight and portable and quieter than other oilless compressors I've owned. overall, it's a high quality piece of equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable excellence

,
November 23, 2010
By HandymanMac
from Central North Carolina
"I bought this product to use with an air nailgun. It was perfect for the job. I always had enough air pressure to operate the gun, the compressor was light enough to pick up and move as I completed the project (trimming out a bedroom and dining room). My neighbor borrowed it on many occasions to keep up the air pressure in his big truck tires. I think he still has it. The price was great for what I got in return. Totally recommend this item to anyone doing light jobs requiring an air compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

AIR COMP.. SMALL BUT EFFECTIVE

,
March 1, 2010
By LONGLAKE
from MINNEAPOLIS, MN
"BOUGHT 2.5 GALLON WEL-BILT COMP FOR USE AT LAKE CABIN..USE IT FOR AUTO/TRUCK TIRES (EMERGENCY), CLEAN GRASS FROM LAWN MOWER, CLEAN LEAVES IN FALL, USED IT TO CLEAN DUST OFF OF DECK AFTER SANDING, PRIOR TO STAINING, AND USE IT EACH FALL TO BLOW WATER OUT OF WATER PIPES PRIOR TO SHUTTING DOWN CABIN FOR THE WINTER.. IT WORKS PERFECT FOR ME. IT IS SMALL, BUT BIG ENOUGH TO DO THE JOBS I NEED IT FOR. WOULD RECOMEND IT TO ANYONE. VERY PORTABLE.."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

not built well

,
November 3, 2009
By buy30more
from Nor Cal
"Well I got to buy one and not 1 year later my compressor went out. And all I did was use it to air up my son's go-kart tires and my truck tires. I never heard from the copany when I lost my proof of pruchase so I threw it out, because it never built up it just kept runing"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wel-Bilt Electric Pdrtable Air compressor -2.5 Ga

,
October 20, 2009
By fong
from Iuka IL
"I really like this compressor it works well on the jobs that i have around the farm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little compressor

,
July 20, 2009
By ronan
from near philadelphia,pa
"we use this with the attachment kit to blow up all the grandkids pool float toys
with longer hose i can do the car & trailer tires
just the rite tool for us and i will be using it to blow out the pool water lines when we close the pool in september
i don't have any air tools so this is the one for our needs
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

unreliable

,
June 20, 2009
By bluox48
from Waukesha, Wisconsin
"On the fourth time I used it it would not provide pressure over 45 pounds. I used it twice to fill tires and the third time on a small wood working project. The fourth small project I got half way through and it would not kick out a nail. I checked and iit was at 45#. I went over every part a piece of the machine and can only assume an internal part let loose.
Avoid this baby, the price may be attractive but in is not reliable.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handyman

,
August 11, 2008
By HarvatNC
from Statesville, NC
"This air compressor is the perfect size for the small garage handyman. Quiet, powerful, holds the preset air pressure, and has easy to access drain plug and air line access. I use for equipment tires, various toys, swimming equipment , drying off parts, and cleaning up my work area after the project. Compressor stores in a small area and because of the quality does not fire up to re-fill the tank unless active work is occurring. A quality product reasonable priced."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

noise level is high

,
June 28, 2008
By MilesD
from Virginia
"I bought it to deliver 1.5 CFM of air @ 20 psig for a small air/gas fuel torch. The unit works okay for that.
The compressor has a one-speed vane pump and it sounds like (and makes about as much noise as) a single-engine propeller airplane revving up to take off from the runway.
Suggest putting an in-line desiccant/dryer on the compressor to filter and dry the air delivered from the compressor because it has no fitting to drain water. Milton makes these and Northern sells them on-line"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Portable Compressor 2.5 Gal,120volts

,
July 9, 2007
By OntheRiver
from N.E.Pa.
"I bought this specifically to use at my camper.
Because it's small,it takes more time to build air & inflate tires,but it does the job.It doesn't take a lot of room when storing,it's light & a good overall machine for small jobs.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

little dynamo

,
July 9, 2007
By drrjohn
from Lumberton,NC
"This pancake style aircompressor has been a very dependable unit for small tools used 40-50 times a day for short burst cycles. We have high end generators connected to these quiet compressors. These are wonderful for indoor uses. The reason we selected these small quiet units, we use two, was due to our indoor small area use needs. Recommended for price and extremely quiet operation. Would be great for weekend warrior garage mechanics."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Electric Portable Air Compressor - 2.5 Gallon, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pump

,
July 9, 2007
By ScottR
from New Haven, CT
"I use this for my home to pump up car tires, bike tires, balls, etc. Works great. Since it gets sparing use, I typically plug it in to charge up the tank and then disconnect it and leave it 'full' nice to have air on hand and not have to engage the pump, which can be a bit loud when compressing. I'm sure it would be no big deal if in the shop, but it is in my own garage."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.