Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

Item# 1000992
This air-powered nailer from Northern Industrial™ will help you zip through framing work. Drives nails at choice of three different angles. Rubber grip is comfortable for extended use. Air Consumption (CFM): 4.1, Operating PSI: 90, Fasteners Used: Framing nails, Fastener Sizes (in.): 2 3/16 - 3 9/16, Coil or Strip: Strip, Inlet Size (in.): 1/4, Min. Hose Size (in.): 3/8, Case Included: Yes, Tool Weight (lbs.): 17 13/32 Drives 21° full head plastic strip nails; 28° clip head paper strip nails; 34° clip head paper strip nails Contact trip fire Rubber nose cushion avoids marring Aluminum body Rubber grip CE certified
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (168 reviews)
5 stars
111
4 stars
47
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
163 of 168(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Review 21 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Framing Nailer

,
July 9, 2007
By Tracer
from Minneapolis, MN
"This product has worked exactly as advertised and expected. Finding nails that would fit was easy. The gun works smoothly and is well balanced and easy to handle.
The only challenge is that with three nails left it stops firing. I put in new nails and put the three nails left inbetween two nail packs and it works fine.
FANTASTIC VALUE compared to the other nailers I priced."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed

,
July 9, 2007
By sjwhat
from Rhode ISland
"This framing gun performed exactly as I had hoped. Great gun for a good price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A GOOD BANG FOR THE BUCK

,
July 9, 2007
By JAC525
from West Virginia
"I and my son are week-end handy men. When I saw this nail gun for the price I was a little skeptical as all the guns I had been looking at were 2 to 3 times the price.
After going through the instructions ( which have a lot to be desired ) I began to use the gun and have been very pleased with it. I have completed a garage and have an addition planned for a house.
I would recommend this product for value and ease of use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 in 1 Framer

,
July 9, 2007
By IllinoisStew
from McHenry, IL
"As a "getting older" do it myselfer, I convinced my self that, tearing off two layers of siding ( beat up old aluminum installed over old masonite ) as well as removing old and reframing for and installing new windows, furring out walls and putting up rigid insulation, was something I could do. The one thing I wanted to avoid was swinging a hammer. Having used a friends framer while helping out on a large remodel, I knew I wanted one. What I wanted to avoid was paying too much for a tool that once my project was done, would only see limited duty. I began looking on line at used nailers, but most were either close to new pricing or the bidding pricing was close to new plus the freight costs, why bother. Then the light went off, there was the Northern catalog sitting on the desk at work. I jumped on line ( it was Saturday and the catalog was 24 miles away). Well there it was, the 3 in 1 framer, adjustable angles, light weight, tools and case, all at a price that shames the other sites.
How does it perform, the project is 80% complete and so far the gun has exceeded my expectations. The unit is simple to adjust, has been flawless in its performance and its minimal weight has saved a lot of wear and tear on these 55 plus bones. Would I recommend this to a friend, price/performance/light weight, I already have. I couldn't be more pleased with the tool purchase, great deal and it does the job you expect it to.
Stew of IL
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far So good....

,
July 9, 2007
By NJRob
from Northern NJ
"I haven't yet had a chance to put it to to the "real" test, just used it for a few small jobs. It works great!!!! Easy to load, quick and powerful. Would definately recommend this nailer, especially for the price....."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Nailer

,
July 9, 2007
By dman
from Wixom MI
"This Nailer lives up to what is advertised. I used paper taped nails from my local home center and it did the trick.
Sometimes it shoots two nails at once but after a bit of practice one learns how to minimize that occurrence.
I would recommend it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Nailer For the Money

,
July 9, 2007
By ChurchBuilder
from Argyle, NY
"I have now used it on several jobs and it does a great job.
I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because it only seems to shoot a nail every other shot. This is not a big deal until you are in a tight spot.
It may not stand as long as a commercial grade, but for a second gun it will do the job.
So, for the money, buy it. you can't go wrong.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NICE TOOL

,
July 9, 2007
By BGT1
from NICHOLLS,GA
"BUILDING A 10X20 DECK NOW , DOING A GREAT JOB."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick, Easy, Dependable

,
July 9, 2007
By TheBear
from Gulfport, Ms.
"Since I purchased the Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer, I've used it several times. Each time made me realize that I should have bought one years earlier. It makes you "look forward" to do the jobs that you would normally dread. It truly makes the job quicker and easier, especially when you are 25 feet off the ground, on a ladder, holding a 2x 6 in the other hand. The qualiy of this tool is as I would hope it would be, very good. It's not only compatable with the higher cost brands that you see in the building supply stores, but exceeds some of them in shooting 3 different angle of nails.
You better get one!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

framing gun

,
July 9, 2007
By superintendant
from Acampo,ca
"I purchased this gun solely on price.having framed for years, i have used or tried every gun out there as a profeesinal who relied on my tools to make a livnig.this gun was bought for at home use only,so i wasnt expecting much.However after taking it out of the box and actually putting my hands on it i knew right away i made a good choice. THE body of the gun reminded me of the old hitachi,but liter. The handle and hammer assembly looks and feels like the older Bostitch,which both were great proffesional grade guns. To date i have run 3 boxes of 16d and 2 boxes of 8D with only one jamb up,and i blame that on the nails.the only down side of this unit is the air usage.you will need to over size your air source.I have never had a gun blow this much air per nail.Over all a great gun for the handy man.i would not recommend for daily proffesional use,too heavy and too much air"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
July 9, 2007
By MTCons
from Montana
"Can't beat the price, and out of many much more expensive framing guns i choice this one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tool for the price!!!

,
July 9, 2007
By Builder1
from Maine
"I have used this air nailer with all types of nails and have had zero problems. It will handle full head, clipped head and wire collated nails. Built a garden shed and re framed a bathroom/ dining room all with out incident. Excellent tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 stars for sure

,
July 10, 2007
By Fireguy
from Charlotte Hall, MD
"Used this several times since I got it. Never a problem, easy to use and very sturdy for the price. I almost did not get it for fear of it being junk, I sure was WRONG. Great product and will tell everyone that needs or wants one to buy it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
July 10, 2007
By Hunter1
from Curwensville, PA
"Should of got one years ago. Works like a champ. Used the first day right out of the box never had any problem. Made the job go twice as fast.
The set was easy. Not one problem.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3-in-1 Framing Nailer

,
July 10, 2007
By Victory37
from St Mary's City, MD
"This product does the job right out of the box. It is wonderful to just pull the trigger instead of driving nails with a hammer. I have used it on few jobs so time will tell but for now it fully lives up to my expectation."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

terry

,
July 10, 2007
By TMS56
from Calif.
"Great product, I've used other brands before and I can say that there isn't much different, so why pay more for a name!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Basic but works well

,
July 11, 2007
By fred7591
from New England
"The nailer is very basic but works well. Don't expect the instructions to help you much. There is no nail depth adjustment, but that's ok for framing. Still, its a great deal for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pancake Compressor powers this gun

,
July 12, 2007
By Fireman43
from Buffalo NY
"Pleased so far with this nailer. Prior to this framing gun I had only used finish and brad nailers. I was initially concerned my Porter Cable pancake compressor specs wouldn't support this guns requirements, however I have had no problems driving 3" nails into PT timbers. I also agree the manual could be a bit more helpful. For instance, the only mention of what type of strip nails to be used are on the outside packaging box and not in the manual !
( Plastic collated strip round head or paper strip clip head). As other reviewers noted, many different mfg. nails available at your local building supply, plus with practice and a light finger on the trigger easy to master the one nail shot. Good buy, now just looking for more projects !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nailer

,
July 13, 2007
By rmatt
from pa
"very satisfied with my finish nailer. easy to load, easy to adjust the depth. would recommend to others"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

as good as the best

,
July 28, 2007
By gyms
from Sanford, NC
"I have used nearly every nailer available & this is as good as any and cost a lot less"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.