Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

Item# 1000992
This air-powered nailer from Northern Industrial™ will help you zip through framing work. Drives nails at choice of three different angles. Rubber grip is comfortable for extended use. Air Consumption (CFM): 4.1, Operating PSI: 90, Fasteners Used: Framing nails, Fastener Sizes (in.): 2 3/16 - 3 9/16, Coil or Strip: Strip, Inlet Size (in.): 1/4, Min. Hose Size (in.): 3/8, Case Included: Yes, Tool Weight (lbs.): 17 13/32 Drives 21° full head plastic strip nails; 28° clip head paper strip nails; 34° clip head paper strip nails Contact trip fire Rubber nose cushion avoids marring Aluminum body Rubber grip CE certified
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (168 reviews)
5 stars
111
4 stars
47
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
163 of 168(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Review 41 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for the price

,
February 15, 2010
By mani
from Marion, IL
"seems good for the price, found many others more expensive without the same features."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3-1 Framing nailer

,
February 15, 2010
By BigBusDriver
from Concord, NC
"I purchased the framing nailer due to price and other reviews. I have used it on several jobs and found it to be every bit as good as stated in the other review. It was much cheaper than the brand guns and works just as well. I have used it on framing, installing siding and putting up celing rafters. Worked first time every time. I tend to over oil the gun and it blows a little oil out the first couple nails, but I can live with that since I cause it. I don't use it every day and don't make a living with it, but I think one could use it everyday with little or no concern. I like it and would pruchase it again. Good value, good price and a work worthy product. I'm just a handy man."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Post-Ike rebuilding

,
February 15, 2010
By CoastalJunkie
from La Porte, Texas
"I purchased the nailer after Hurricane Ike in 2008. Gave it the true test-of-time rebuilding fencing, replacing siding and reconstructing the entire lower level of my beach house. It worked like a pro. Very seldom jambed. For the price I couldn't have asked for better value, versitility and reliability.
Loaned it relatives and friends for simular post-Ike repairs and it still operates as good today as the day I took it out of the box."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good to Go

,
February 15, 2010
By macnorton
from Andover, NY
"The product came in good time, The case was a lttle damaged but on the nailer inside. I can live with that. The nailer was not set up correctly from the factory so read your directions carefully. After fixing the setup the nailer works just fine. I like the idea of being able to use multiple types of nails.
Definetly a good buy.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good nailer, but heavy

,
January 6, 2010
By DIYJunkie
from Montgomery Village, MD
"The nailer seems to be well built and the adjustable nail setting is really handy.
On the down side, it will skip nails every now and then, and is pretty heavy. Something in around 10 pounds would be a lot more easier to work with.
All in all, a good buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3 in 1 framing nailer

,
November 3, 2009
By peterhemit
from Long Island, NY
"Feels and looks like it is made fairly well and will last for a long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
November 3, 2009
By monziac
from Dayton, Ohio
"Out of the box, load it with nails and start framing! This thing works great and has yet to fail me. I went back and purchased the trim nailer also because I was so impressed. Cant beat the price, for the performance"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 in 1 Framing Nailer

,
November 3, 2009
By SoTierBldgCo
from Breesport NY
""I have owned and used air nailers in the past, and was a bit 'concerned' when I saw the price. My experience is that you get what you pay for. After receiving this tool I was very pleased to find excellant quality and workmanship in this nailer. While other (name brand) air tools have stamped sheet metal or plastic parts, this has machined parts that are held in place with real cap screws. The adjustable exhaust is a blessing working in tight spaces. Also the light weight of the tool can result in #16's not seating all the way unless the operator applies some down pressure when firing the gun, or holds the trigger and taps the tip against the work surface to be nailed. Also the depth of the nail can be the result of not enough air pressure.
The gun works flawlessly. The literature that comes with the tool does not have any suggestions of what kind of nails to use. You really have to study the nails that are available to find the right ones, I found out that the cardboard jacket that covers the blowformed box supposedly had that info, but I have alread discarded that.
The #8 nails seem to be an issue, however I've found that Grip-Rite clipped head nails, Item# GRTS8D, work every time.
For the money, this is a great nail gun
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
November 2, 2009
By waynep
from Nashville, TN
"Never used a air nailer before purchasing this one. Worked great out of the box, instructions were easy to understand. Framed up an interior wall and didn't have to fight a hammer toe nailing in a tight place. The only thing that I would like to see would be to package the nails in smaller quanties for the average home owner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nail Gun

,
November 2, 2009
By fisherman2
from Cape Cod
"Good product for the money. Very versitle with the combination of nails that it will accept."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fires Blanks

,
November 2, 2009
By JeffN
from Spartanburg, SC
"Tried this nailer based on reviews and low price. When I tried to use, I couldn't find nails that would not result in skipped nails. When you're on top of a ladder and your nailer is skipping, it gets old quickly. In fairness, the nailer was a display model, but look brand new. Finally gave up on it and returned it to the store. Money was refunded with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

More for less

,
November 2, 2009
By bjnbama
from Asheville, NC
"I found this product to be very versatile and user friendly. The three angle settings for the nail feeder was helpful when going from stick framing to finish nailing. As good a pneumatic nailer as many products costing up to three times as much!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3-in-1 Framing Nailer

,
November 2, 2009
By Jaw1
from Jacksonville,Fl.
"I purchased this nail gun to do repairs on my home,from replacing siding to rebuilding a complete garage door frame.This nail gun was a "must need" tool!! Bought at a great price and now Northern Tool has lowered the price.A GREAT deal! I'd recommend this nail gun to everybody.
JW
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS GREAT NAILER

,
November 2, 2009
By THEBJE1
"THIS Nailer helped us finish our remodel job early and it was easy to use.GREAT PRODUCT.."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great overall

,
October 19, 2009
By KrazyKarl
from TX
"This gun works really well most of the time, but it does seem to have some trouble with 3 1/2" ring shank nails. They don't jam, but they will often fail to sink all the way into the wood and have to be finished off with a hammer.
Overall, though, this is a very versatile gun, and absolutely unbeatable for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

3-in-1 Framing Nailer

,
October 19, 2009
By DIYGary
from Hudson River Valley
"A good flexible framing nailer, accepting a range of nail sizes clipped and whole head. It is overly sensitive to a hair trigger, which can lead to multiple nails at the same time. But with practice this short-coming can be reduced or overcome."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Novice user

,
September 3, 2009
By Allidap
from New Mexico
"I found the use of this nailer to be simple being a first time nailgun user. I was able to build new window frames in an older home I am renovating. I built a couple using the good old hammer and nail method, but this makes it so much faster and easier. I did a lot of research on Framing nailers before purchasing one and this is the most economical with the features I wanted that I was able to find."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A nailer definitely worth the money.

,
July 23, 2009
By Crewleader
"This was my first purchase of a nail gun. I was getting ready to build a deck and decided this might be a good opportunity, and excuse, to purchase a framing nail gun. I looked around and read a lot of reviews before deciding to purchase this particular item. I have absolutely no regrets about my purchase. I built my entire 16 x 30 deck with this gun without any problems.
I would definitely recommend this nail gun to anyone.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice nailer

,
July 21, 2009
By lakesidehandyman
from South Carolina
"Bought to frame up a play house for my daughter... What a time saver. Great price for a very nice tool. If you need one, buy it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3-in-1 Framing nailer a good buy

,
July 21, 2009
By AZJohn
from Arizona
"I just finished rebuilding a barn using this nail gun and found that it worked very well. I had to drive nails into some old 2x4's which were very hard and the nailer did the job with no problem. The only problem I encountered was the sensitive trigger that has been mentioned in other reviews. It takes some time to get use to so you don't double fire.
If you are going to use a framing nailer every day for your job, go ahead and spend the big bucks on a name brand. If you use the nailer for the occasional project than you can't beat the price and performance of this nailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.