Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

Item# 1000992
This air-powered nailer from Northern Industrial™ will help you zip through framing work. Drives nails at choice of three different angles. Rubber grip is comfortable for extended use. Air Consumption (CFM): 4.1, Operating PSI: 90, Fasteners Used: Framing nails, Fastener Sizes (in.): 2 3/16 - 3 9/16, Coil or Strip: Strip, Inlet Size (in.): 1/4, Min. Hose Size (in.): 3/8, Case Included: Yes, Tool Weight (lbs.): 17 13/32 Drives 21° full head plastic strip nails; 28° clip head paper strip nails; 34° clip head paper strip nails Contact trip fire Rubber nose cushion avoids marring Aluminum body Rubber grip CE certified
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (168 reviews)
5 stars
111
4 stars
47
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
163 of 168(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Review 1 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 in 1 framing nailer

,
October 9, 2007
By Lumberman
from Webster SD
"The main reason I purchased the nailer is that I have arthritis in my hands and its hard for me to keep pounding with a hammer. With the nailer I can go a lot longer and get done a lot faster. The other reasons are the light weight and that I am able to shoot three sizes of nails. It not only shoots 16d, it also shoots 8d. I can use it for building shleves, sheeting and remodeling projects. I also work in a lumber yard where I build feed bunks, this will allow me to build them in a lot shorter time. The price of the nailer was great and the price of the nails was also right. I am very satisfied with my nailer after using it to complete our new garage at the lake."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick, Easy, Dependable

,
July 9, 2007
By TheBear
from Gulfport, Ms.
"Since I purchased the Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer, I've used it several times. Each time made me realize that I should have bought one years earlier. It makes you "look forward" to do the jobs that you would normally dread. It truly makes the job quicker and easier, especially when you are 25 feet off the ground, on a ladder, holding a 2x 6 in the other hand. The qualiy of this tool is as I would hope it would be, very good. It's not only compatable with the higher cost brands that you see in the building supply stores, but exceeds some of them in shooting 3 different angle of nails.
You better get one!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nailed It

,
March 15, 2011
By Clockwise
from midcoast Maine
"This is not a toy. It seems a little massive compared to some others, but the weight is reasonable and the 3 in 1 feature is very handy. It allows you to worry less about getting the right nails, or gives you the option of maybe finding one brand of nail that's cheaper than another. I used it on a small project at home and despite a few double-taps, I had no problems with jamming or any other headaches than can happen. As with all the northern tool brands I've tried, the low price makes up for any minor shortcomings, of which there are few. Lastly, the directional exhaust is great to have, and is not always available in higher priced models."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

,
June 1, 2010
By Evergreen
from Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Please note the the type of nails this nailer drives are the following: Drives 21° full head plastic strip nails; 28° clip head paper strip nails; 34° clip head paper strip nails. Not every store will stock these selections. I like the nailer very much. I have been using it every weekend for a year now and have never experienced a problem. You must keep it oiled and be familiar with setting the nailer to correct positions for the nails being driven. You must take the time to use the correct settings and user finess to get the nails to seat properly under the various nailing situations. For the price this nailer is definately a good buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Nailer

,
March 9, 2007
By Clomper
from Schuylerville, NY
"I do a little light construction with a local jobber who owned a framing nailer that he had to replace recently so I had experience with other nail guns before I bought this one. I have to admit that I was attracted by the price, since I know what my part-time partner paid for his. Having already owned small and mid-sized brad nail guns, this framing nailer is a long awaited addition to my personal tool inventory. It is hard to beat the quality of construction and dependability of operation at such a great price!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3-in-1 Framing Nailer

,
June 13, 2011
By PatJr
from CA
"I have owned the framer nailer for over a year. During that time I have had the opportunity to use it on small projects all the way up to remodeling a vacation home. It is easy to use and virtually maintenance free. I have had several neighbors borrow the gun and they too were pleased with its use, especially the ones that have never used a nail-gun before."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air Framing Nailer

,
June 9, 2011
By BobTheBilder
"I purchased this nailer yesterday morning. When we got home we hooked it up and started using it. The only thing we have noticed is the nailer shoots a nail every other trigger pull. It's a little heavy when nailing upside down.
I wish I would have purchased one a few years earlier. I'm glad I got it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3-in-1 Framing nailer a good buy

,
July 21, 2009
By AZJohn
from Arizona
"I just finished rebuilding a barn using this nail gun and found that it worked very well. I had to drive nails into some old 2x4's which were very hard and the nailer did the job with no problem. The only problem I encountered was the sensitive trigger that has been mentioned in other reviews. It takes some time to get use to so you don't double fire.
If you are going to use a framing nailer every day for your job, go ahead and spend the big bucks on a name brand. If you use the nailer for the occasional project than you can't beat the price and performance of this nailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different

,
June 13, 2011
By fromdchiggerosa
from Texas
"I have used nail guns that I liked more than this one, but was restricted to one size of nail. I like that this nail gun has the versatility to use three different types of nails. Despite its weight, I have enjoyed using it with few problems. It fulfills my needs, as I don't use a nail gun everyday. Seems to work as well as the name brand guns that I have used it the past. Has a sensitive trigger, but has yet to jam on me, unlike others I have used."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

framing nailer

,
January 18, 2011
By cowboy81125
from Colo.
"nice & light makes a big diff. when useing it all day"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied

,
February 25, 2010
By Levi59
from Maryland
"I don't know why I waited until I was 59 years old to buy one of these. It's been a life saver in time and wear and tear. I've used it to build two sheds and would never be without one. It's fairly light weight and can use a variety of nails for whatever job you have. I would highly recommend this to any one who has one or one hundred projects. It pays for itself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 in 1 Framing Nailer

,
February 22, 2010
By Bill635
from eastern North Carolina
"This tool was a pleasant surprise. My initial impression was somewhat ambivilant. It looks big and a bit awkward until you actually use it. It's well balanced, and easier to handle than I thought it would be. Some reviews have mentioned a sensitive trigger, but I found that by taking my time it worked perfectly every time. A possible criticism is the absence of any recommendation about suitable nails for the 3 available angles. It's pretty much up to the user to learn by trial and error, unless you find a review that offers some useful tips. Paslode 2-1/2" paper collated nails work fine for me on the center setting. I haven't tried any other sizes or types yet because boxed nails of 5000 or 10000 count are far from cheap! My advice? Find a friend or neighbor who has one or more framing nailers and "borrow" some samples to try in this tool before you spend your hard earned $. I have several different brands and types of pnuematic nailers and this Northern Tool 3 in 1 framing nailer works as well as any of them, including Senco, Bostitch and Ridgid. It's too early to discuss longevity but if you take reasonably good care of it there's no reason it won't last a long time. Oil it before each day's use and keep the tip clear of sawdust and debris for best results. If you do get a jam, it's easy to clear. One last note: The carrying case isn't very sturdy and won't last long with rough use. Mine already has bruised corners as a result of banging into things while carrying it. I'd recommend this tool for home owners, farmers, or anyone who does their own work, but would suggest that contractors spend a bit more for an industrial strength tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It rocks

,
February 22, 2010
By JJgreenmountain
from Vermont
"I built a 10x16x12 firewood shed with this thing by myself in less then two days. I couldn't have done it without this great tool and the nailer is also built very tough and took plenty of abuse. It is very easy and quick to load and not so heavy it burns your forearms. Being able to direct the exhaust so well is another great plus. Like most nailers I suppose you have to be careful not to double fire when you hit the nose and it's important to keep your air pressure right or it won't work correctly. Just common sense I guess. I find myself using it more and more and highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

,
January 15, 2009
By Anonymous
"I've owned this nailer for over a year now, and it is definitely a good product for the cost. The trigger is a bit sensitive and will shoot doubles if you aren't careful. Also, I cannot load the magazine to full capacity , since the nail clip wants to pop out of the loading area. When I load 3 or less clips (forward of the loading area), no problems. I would say this is a great product for the home handyman, but not recommended for the professional."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gun

,
April 27, 2008
By trent
from Connecticut
"Cant beat it for the price. Used nailers of all levels and this compares with expencive top of the line guns. Perfect for around the house work and bigger framing jobs. easy to find nails that fit it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Satisfactory

,
January 26, 2008
By overdrive
from Spartanburg, SC
"I got this nailer for the price. I like that it uses clipped head and round head nails. It depends on what you use it for. I was only able to drive about four nails, and it seemed to lock up, and shoot blanks. if I waited for about two min. it would start again no problem. I'm useing a coleman 27gal. 125 psi tank to drive it. So, if you are building small projects, it should work fine. I wouldn't recommend building a house with it though. You can't beat the price !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent nailer

,
January 14, 2008
By williej
from Newton, Kansas
"The 3 in one nailer is my favorite nailer. Its ease of operation and the simplicity
of adjustments has made this nailer my favorite. I would recommend it anyone.
I will be buying another one.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer

,
November 5, 2007
By wdenny
from Celeste, Texas
"This is a great tool for a person that builds things for a hobby. Who wants to pay a lot of money for a tool that is seldom used. But I think if a professional would like to try this Nailer I do not think it would give them any problems, works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pancake Compressor powers this gun

,
July 12, 2007
By Fireman43
from Buffalo NY
"Pleased so far with this nailer. Prior to this framing gun I had only used finish and brad nailers. I was initially concerned my Porter Cable pancake compressor specs wouldn't support this guns requirements, however I have had no problems driving 3" nails into PT timbers. I also agree the manual could be a bit more helpful. For instance, the only mention of what type of strip nails to be used are on the outside packaging box and not in the manual !
( Plastic collated strip round head or paper strip clip head). As other reviewers noted, many different mfg. nails available at your local building supply, plus with practice and a light finger on the trigger easy to master the one nail shot. Good buy, now just looking for more projects !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial 3-in-1 Framing Nailer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
March 20, 2007
By alanol
from Ralston Wyoming
"Received my Framing nailer,yesterday,a day ahead of schedule,Bought some Bostitch, 21 Degree nails at the lumberyard,fired up my Porter Cable 2.8 CFM
pancake compressor,nailed a bunch of scrap 2X4 together,every nail was set just below the surface,no hang up's or problem,Great Tool at a super low price,
Evidently this nailer will use most nails that are available.
Thanks Northern Tool for another great product.
Alanol
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.