Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"

"NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"

Item# 100107
"This NitroCat 1/2in. square drive impact wrench with 1295 ft.-lbs. of torque and Kevlar composite body outperforms anything in its class It is used by many NHRA Top Fuel race teams. Kevlar adds high strength and durability to the 1200-K, making this tool a valuable addition to your air tool work force. Noise Level dB 86, Variable Speed No, Reversible Yes, Case Included No, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Hammer Mechanism Twin clutch, Average Air Consumption CFM 4, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 1295, CFM at Load 4.5, Inlet Size in. 1/4, Speed - No Load RPM 8000, Drive in. 1/2, Impacts Per Minute IPM 950 under load, Operating PSI 90-120, Tool Length in. 8 1/4, Tool Weight lbs. 4 1/2, Working Torque ft.-lb. 200-900. Twin clutch mechanism creates a high-torque initial impact Durable Kevlar composite housing with ergonomically designed handle Suited for heavy-duty frame work and work on medium- to heavy-duty trucks Tuned exhaust muffler technology allows discharged air to pass without back pressure, retaining more power and reducing noise Through-the-handle exhaust keeps debris away from face Patented Quiet Technology 86 decibels Easy operation flip lever forward and reverse"
Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (56 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
55 of 56(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Review 1 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Knoxville TN
This is an excellent impact wrench for the money. I haven't run across any bolt or nut that it won't remove yet...even rusted on trailer shackles. Feed it a little oil and it runs like a top.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Gun

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Ocala, Fl
I needed a powerful reliable air gun, I searched the internet and found the Nitrocat on the Northern Tool website, I purchased the gun online and the entire experience went smooth and easy. The gun works great and I will purchase more tools online from Northern Tool. 5 star all the way
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air gun works very well

,
November 16, 2015
By
from middleburg,PA
gun works as well as I expected ,does a great job loosing and tightening stubborn bolts! I would recommend this tool for the professional or anybody doing work in a home shop .
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Little Impact Ever

,
November 1, 2015
By
from Flagstaff, AZ
This is one strong 1/2" impact. The hand feel is correct . This tool is the quietest ever I've seen. The control switch for reverse and the three right settings are so simple. USA made right this time.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

DRILL

,
October 22, 2015
By
from MONTGOMERY, AL
WAS A PERFECT AIR TOOL FOR OUR SHOP NEEDS. GOOD TORGUE. WE WORK WITH SOME LARGE TRACTOR APPLICATIONS AND IT HAD THE GUTS FOR THE PRICE TO FIT MY NEEDS
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crankshaft pulley

,
July 13, 2015
By
from Fayetteville, NC
While replacing timing chain on Chevy Colorado I could not remove the crankshaft pulley bolt. After trying two cheaper impact wrenches and a 1" ratchet with breaker bar had no luck. Purchased the Nitrocat 1200-k not wanting to spend to much but hoping it would work. This tool worked better than expected, at first I thought something was wrong with it because of how quiet it was but then I saw the bolt turning and it came right out. Have a few more things to test it out on but sure it will perform nicely.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great impact!

,
June 16, 2015
By
from Westfield, IL
I love this impact. I own a semi and this has saved me skinned knuckles and a great deal of effort. Just changed the rear shocks, took less than 1/2 hour. What is amazing is this is so easy on your hands, I thought it wasn't getting enough air because if feels like it is barely hammering and then I snapped the bolt. It is deceptive as you are looking to feel the power and your really can't. This was a great buy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nitro Cat air impact 1,200 -k

,
April 8, 2015
By
from Piqua,Ohio
gentlemen, this put my Craftsman to a sham took the wheels of our big trucks like know tomorrow what power it has and the weight of it was light. great tool to buy if you want to get those rust bolts off also. buy it or you will loose out on it. order was fast also. happy happy.
thanks
Doc the Builder
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tool

,
February 14, 2015
By
from New York
This is an excellent tool. Quiet and powerful. An Excellent value! This tool loosened nuts that would not break free with a Snap On Impact Gun.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible wrench

,
November 19, 2014
By
from Russell, Iowa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Family & I assemble over 700 grain augers annually, and run a 1/2" impact wrench almost continuously all day, handing it back and forth to each other in an assembly line environment. We generally where out a wrench in four to eight months and never bother with warranty, feeling we have gotten our use out of them. We usually operate on 125 to 150 psi., but on 100 or more ft of 3/8" hose. Since buying our first Aircat, which was a 1000TH a couple years ago we don't get any other brand, even if we find it on sale. We have found the Aircat 1200K will outlast anything else we have tried with the exception of the 1000TH which is a little calmer, but will still out-power the 2135 guns from IR, and outlast them. Also, they are sealed well and don't get your hands covered in oil, like the above mentioned IR high end guns which will in a short time leak enough to leave your hands looking like you are working on a Diesel. The reverse dial works well and is in a good position to rarely get knocked into reverse while using the wrench. The only down side these tools have is the trigger control is for the most part either on or off, with it being very difficult to just nudge a smaller bolt or in a difficult position
The 1200K is flat out the most powerful wrench we have ever used, including many 3/4" guns. In a normal environment I believe a truck or heavy equipment mechanic can expect many years of service. I believe it is too powerful for a tire shop or auto service shop, unless set on low or the compressor is at 100 psi or so.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
November 1, 2014
By
from Savage, MT.
Quiet and powerful! Really a great air wrench so far.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Tool.

,
August 14, 2014
By
from Birnamwood, WI
This gun is very good. It out does all other 1/2 in. drive guns in the shop. Very quiet and strong. Nice and comfortable to handle.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power, power, power! End your frustrations now!!

,
August 9, 2014
By
from Central MN
This is a great tool! I struggled for a couple of days to get some corroded fasteners off of my vehicle using all means and methods to no avail. Finally I decided it was time to go buy the big gun. I connected this tool up to my home compressor using about 100 psi and zip zip zip off they came with no struggle at all. Save yourself the frustration and just buy it. You won't be sorry. It has more than paid for itself in repair costs and shop visits. Happy camper.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power and then some

,
May 9, 2014
By
from Clinton,TN
I struggled for 4 days on and off trying to remove nuts and bolts from a mower deck. I had tried 3 different impact wrenches, one mine, 2 more that belonged to my neighbor, and finally a 30" breaker bar, All this done after applying Kroil penetrating oil. I went to Northern tool this morning after seeing the NitorCat was on sale and reading nothing but positive reviews and bought one. Brought it home, hooked it up, squeezed the trigger and without a grunt the bolts were off. I could hardly believe my eyes. This air tool is a winner and a "must have" if you work with a lot of hard to remove bolts.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful wrench

,
February 7, 2014
By
from Eastern Idaho
Wrench has excellent torque especially with 175 PSI. Impact wrench has a comfortable hand grip, has unique sound while operating. Controls are placed so you can operate with one hand.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1200 impact

,
February 6, 2014
By
from Tx
The 1200 nitrocat air pact wrench is a very reliable air tool to have in the shop. It is light weight and easy to maneuver a round when u working in tight places the 1200 has plenty of torque for most of ur jobs in the shop. One thing it could use is a few more torque settings & a little easier forward and reverse button.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic impact

,
February 4, 2014
By
from North Dakota
have had since Christmas been a fantastic unit so far great torque great speed easy to use
I have been using impact wrenches for 40 years this one compares to the big name truck units at a lot less cost.
Nothing like the busting power this unit has
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bet impact for the money

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Midlothian, VA
This is the best impact gun for the money. It is strong and lightweight and should last the average user a very long time. I have had mine for years. It removes every nut and bolt and has not had any problems.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Overall

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Burnsville, MN
We use this gun in our shop at work for assembling bridges and holds up better than any gun in it's price range. So i have bought this for my shop this past year and it has done everything i need. Plenty of torque and not too heavy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great impact wrench!

,
November 14, 2013
By
from Hillsboro, TX
We've bought and are using several of these impact wrenches. They never give problems and never give up. Definitely name brand quality for a lot cheaper price!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.