Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K

NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K

Item# 100107
This NitroCat 1/2in. square drive impact wrench with 1295 ft.-lbs. of torque and Kevlar composite body outperforms anything in its class It is used by many NHRA Top Fuel race teams. Kevlar adds high strength and durability to the 1200-K, making this tool a valuable addition to your air tool work force. Drive in. 1/2, Impacts Per Minute IPM 950 under load, Inlet Size in. 1/4, Average Air Consumption CFM 4, Noise Level dB 86, Operating PSI 90-120, Case Included No, Speed - No Load RPM 8,000, Tool Length in. 8 1/4, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Tool Weight lbs. 4 1/2, Variable Speed No, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 1,295, Reversible Yes, Working Torque ft.-lb. 200-900, CFM at Load 4.5, Hammer Mechanism Twin clutch. Twin clutch mechanism creates a high-torque initial impact Durable Kevlar composite housing with ergonomically designed handle Suited for heavy-duty frame work and work on medium- to heavy-duty trucks Tuned exhaust muffler technology allows discharged air to pass without back pressure, retaining more power and reducing noise Through-the-handle exhaust keeps debris away from face Patented Quiet Technology 86 decibels Easy operation flip lever forward and reverse
Average Customer Rating:
4.822 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (45 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 45(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Review 1 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Tool.

,
August 14, 2014
By steusdyiq43ol
from Birnamwood, WI
"This gun is very good. It out does all other 1/2 in. drive guns in the shop. Very quiet and strong. Nice and comfortable to handle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power, power, power! End your frustrations now!!

,
August 9, 2014
By mooneypilot
from Central MN
"This is a great tool! I struggled for a couple of days to get some corroded fasteners off of my vehicle using all means and methods to no avail. Finally I decided it was time to go buy the big gun. I connected this tool up to my home compressor using about 100 psi and zip zip zip off they came with no struggle at all. Save yourself the frustration and just buy it. You won't be sorry. It has more than paid for itself in repair costs and shop visits. Happy camper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power and then some

,
May 9, 2014
By Krown
from Clinton,TN
"I struggled for 4 days on and off trying to remove nuts and bolts from a mower deck. I had tried 3 different impact wrenches, one mine, 2 more that belonged to my neighbor, and finally a 30" breaker bar, All this done after applying Kroil penetrating oil. I went to Northern tool this morning after seeing the NitorCat was on sale and reading nothing but positive reviews and bought one. Brought it home, hooked it up, squeezed the trigger and without a grunt the bolts were off. I could hardly believe my eyes. This air tool is a winner and a "must have" if you work with a lot of hard to remove bolts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful wrench

,
February 7, 2014
By Slyster
from Eastern Idaho
"Wrench has excellent torque especially with 175 PSI. Impact wrench has a comfortable hand grip, has unique sound while operating. Controls are placed so you can operate with one hand."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1200 impact

,
February 6, 2014
By Ss83
from Tx
"The 1200 nitrocat air pact wrench is a very reliable air tool to have in the shop. It is light weight and easy to maneuver a round when u working in tight places the 1200 has plenty of torque for most of ur jobs in the shop. One thing it could use is a few more torque settings & a little easier forward and reverse button."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic impact

,
February 4, 2014
By gordyy
from North Dakota
"have had since Christmas been a fantastic unit so far great torque great speed easy to use
I have been using impact wrenches for 40 years this one compares to the big name truck units at a lot less cost.
Nothing like the busting power this unit has
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bet impact for the money

,
February 4, 2014
By jam01
from Midlothian, VA
"This is the best impact gun for the money. It is strong and lightweight and should last the average user a very long time. I have had mine for years. It removes every nut and bolt and has not had any problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Overall

,
February 4, 2014
By MplsJuice
from Burnsville, MN
"We use this gun in our shop at work for assembling bridges and holds up better than any gun in it's price range. So i have bought this for my shop this past year and it has done everything i need. Plenty of torque and not too heavy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great impact wrench!

,
November 14, 2013
By kaddatz
from Hillsboro, TX
"We've bought and are using several of these impact wrenches. They never give problems and never give up. Definitely name brand quality for a lot cheaper price!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW

,
September 22, 2013
By TTLLOGIC
from Amherst,OH
"This thing is the hand of GOD at 175psi nothing stands in its way. I've loosened things that shouldn't have loosened like they do. This is also the first gun I have ever seen consistently crack snapon impact sockets."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great impact

,
September 17, 2013
By JRodeo
from SD
"This is by far the best impact I have used and has always gotten the job done. It is quiet and has a lot of power. Very seldom do I find a lug nut it cannot break loose."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT

,
July 25, 2013
By isoptera
from U.P. Michigan
"I couln't be more pleased with this impact wrench. It had no problem removing 3/4" bolts (320 lb-ft of torque spec.) that had sat for many years outside with painted-over threads, using 3 HP air compressor at < 120 psi."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong, quiet and lightweight

,
April 23, 2013
By rod79
from FL
"This gun is quiet, strong and reliable. I use it to work on heavy equipment in the field. It gets the job done without any fuss. This is the second Aircat/Nitrocat I have owned. The first one lasted about 6 yearson the job and still works today. I use it around the house. I only replaced it because I needed more power. Overall excellent gun!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
April 23, 2013
By Fixitallguy
from Virginia
"this is a quality made tool that is lighter, more powerfull and definately quiter than any of my Craftsmans..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet, light, powerful

,
January 15, 2013
By Eidolon
from North Carolina
"I bought this in addition to my Klutch 1/2"-drive compact impact wrench in the expectation that the Klutch would be insufficient for a set of axle nuts that needed removing. The Klutch turned out to be sufficient, but I kept this tool anyway despite the fact that it's not cheap.
Why? It is actually very light. Compared to an all-steel bodied wrench, this thing is a featherweight! The case has also proved durable for the two years I've had it.
It also has a large amount of torque for its size, allowing it to make very short work of very stubborn bolts, including but not limited to... axle nuts. The Klutch removed the axle nuts in steps. This thing zipped 'em off. Being able to run safely at 120 PSI means you can also crank up the regulator on your compressor to get even more power.
Finally, the muffler tech really does work. This thing is very quiet for its size and power. The air emission is muffled, as are the hits of the hammers, impressively. That's the primary reason I find myself preferring it: forgoing hearing protection doesn't make my ears hurt!
The only wish list for this item would be a way to modulate the torque in reverse, but you only get control when going forward. It's not worth docking a star for, though, since the wrench delivers on all its advertised promises."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Model 1200-K NitroCat Kelvar Impact 1/2" model

,
August 14, 2012
By JD620
from Brandywine, Maryland
"Lightweight when compared to other 1/2 inch models. The ergomonics of the handle in great. Powerful and I recommend to everyone who needs a 1/2" impact wench."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Purchase

,
August 13, 2012
By Rocketman123
from Worcester, MA
"This gun is one of the best I have used in its class. Very lightweight and extremely quiet. The only bad thing , which is probobly a good safety, real good impact sockets seem to be very hard to get off. I would recommend this impact."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Cat

,
August 13, 2012
By RP76
from Roswell, NM
"Great gun, plenty of power. We have used this gun a lot and it works great. Good value compared to Ingersoll as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nitrocat 1200

,
May 15, 2012
By mark1715
from duncan,oklahoma
"i have had this wrench for 2 years using it professionaly i use it every day and it is still going strong. GREAT WRENCH"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong!

,
May 7, 2012
By jeepdriver64
from Mauldin, SC
"I bought this when my other impact died. So far I've found it to have great torque, but it doesn't twist your arm like some of the others. Very easy to use and I would highly recommend it over the others..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.