Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"

"NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"

Item# 100107
"This NitroCat 1/2in. square drive impact wrench with 1295 ft.-lbs. of torque and Kevlar composite body outperforms anything in its class It is used by many NHRA Top Fuel race teams. Kevlar adds high strength and durability to the 1200-K, making this tool a valuable addition to your air tool work force. Noise Level dB 86, Variable Speed No, Case Included No, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Hammer Mechanism Twin clutch, Reversible Yes, CFM at Load 4.5, Average Air Consumption CFM 4, Drive in. 1/2, Impacts Per Minute IPM 950 under load, Operating PSI 90-120, Speed - No Load RPM 8,000, Tool Length in. 8 1/4, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 1,295, Inlet Size in. 1/4, Working Torque ft.-lb. 200-900, Tool Weight lbs. 4 1/2. Twin clutch mechanism creates a high-torque initial impact Durable Kevlar composite housing with ergonomically designed handle Suited for heavy-duty frame work and work on medium- to heavy-duty trucks Tuned exhaust muffler technology allows discharged air to pass without back pressure, retaining more power and reducing noise Through-the-handle exhaust keeps debris away from face Patented Quiet Technology 86 decibels Easy operation flip lever forward and reverse"
Average Customer Rating:
4.843 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (51 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 of 51(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Review 1 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crankshaft pulley

,
July 13, 2015
By
from Fayetteville, NC
" While replacing timing chain on Chevy Colorado I could not remove the crankshaft pulley bolt. After trying two cheaper impact wrenches and a 1" ratchet with breaker bar had no luck. Purchased the Nitrocat 1200-k not wanting to spend to much but hoping it would work. This tool worked better than expected, at first I thought something was wrong with it because of how quiet it was but then I saw the bolt turning and it came right out. Have a few more things to test it out on but sure it will perform nicely. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great impact!

,
June 16, 2015
By
from Westfield, IL
" I love this impact. I own a semi and this has saved me skinned knuckles and a great deal of effort. Just changed the rear shocks, took less than 1/2 hour. What is amazing is this is so easy on your hands, I thought it wasn't getting enough air because if feels like it is barely hammering and then I snapped the bolt. It is deceptive as you are looking to feel the power and your really can't. This was a great buy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nitro Cat air impact 1,200 -k

,
April 8, 2015
By
from Piqua,Ohio
" gentlemen, this put my Craftsman to a sham took the wheels of our big trucks like know tomorrow what power it has and the weight of it was light. great tool to buy if you want to get those rust bolts off also. buy it or you will loose out on it. order was fast also. happy happy.
thanks
Doc the Builder
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tool

,
February 14, 2015
By
from New York
" This is an excellent tool. Quiet and powerful. An Excellent value! This tool loosened nuts that would not break free with a Snap On Impact Gun. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible wrench

,
November 19, 2014
By
from Russell, Iowa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" My Family & I assemble over 700 grain augers annually, and run a 1/2" impact wrench almost continuously all day, handing it back and forth to each other in an assembly line environment. We generally where out a wrench in four to eight months and never bother with warranty, feeling we have gotten our use out of them. We usually operate on 125 to 150 psi., but on 100 or more ft of 3/8" hose. Since buying our first Aircat, which was a 1000TH a couple years ago we don't get any other brand, even if we find it on sale. We have found the Aircat 1200K will outlast anything else we have tried with the exception of the 1000TH which is a little calmer, but will still out-power the 2135 guns from IR, and outlast them. Also, they are sealed well and don't get your hands covered in oil, like the above mentioned IR high end guns which will in a short time leak enough to leave your hands looking like you are working on a Diesel. The reverse dial works well and is in a good position to rarely get knocked into reverse while using the wrench. The only down side these tools have is the trigger control is for the most part either on or off, with it being very difficult to just nudge a smaller bolt or in a difficult position
The 1200K is flat out the most powerful wrench we have ever used, including many 3/4" guns. In a normal environment I believe a truck or heavy equipment mechanic can expect many years of service. I believe it is too powerful for a tire shop or auto service shop, unless set on low or the compressor is at 100 psi or so.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
November 1, 2014
By
from Savage, MT.
" Quiet and powerful! Really a great air wrench so far. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Tool.

,
August 14, 2014
By
from Birnamwood, WI
" This gun is very good. It out does all other 1/2 in. drive guns in the shop. Very quiet and strong. Nice and comfortable to handle. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power, power, power! End your frustrations now!!

,
August 9, 2014
By
from Central MN
" This is a great tool! I struggled for a couple of days to get some corroded fasteners off of my vehicle using all means and methods to no avail. Finally I decided it was time to go buy the big gun. I connected this tool up to my home compressor using about 100 psi and zip zip zip off they came with no struggle at all. Save yourself the frustration and just buy it. You won't be sorry. It has more than paid for itself in repair costs and shop visits. Happy camper. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power and then some

,
May 9, 2014
By
from Clinton,TN
" I struggled for 4 days on and off trying to remove nuts and bolts from a mower deck. I had tried 3 different impact wrenches, one mine, 2 more that belonged to my neighbor, and finally a 30" breaker bar, All this done after applying Kroil penetrating oil. I went to Northern tool this morning after seeing the NitorCat was on sale and reading nothing but positive reviews and bought one. Brought it home, hooked it up, squeezed the trigger and without a grunt the bolts were off. I could hardly believe my eyes. This air tool is a winner and a "must have" if you work with a lot of hard to remove bolts. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful wrench

,
February 7, 2014
By
from Eastern Idaho
" Wrench has excellent torque especially with 175 PSI. Impact wrench has a comfortable hand grip, has unique sound while operating. Controls are placed so you can operate with one hand. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1200 impact

,
February 6, 2014
By
from Tx
" The 1200 nitrocat air pact wrench is a very reliable air tool to have in the shop. It is light weight and easy to maneuver a round when u working in tight places the 1200 has plenty of torque for most of ur jobs in the shop. One thing it could use is a few more torque settings & a little easier forward and reverse button. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic impact

,
February 4, 2014
By
from North Dakota
" have had since Christmas been a fantastic unit so far great torque great speed easy to use
I have been using impact wrenches for 40 years this one compares to the big name truck units at a lot less cost.
Nothing like the busting power this unit has
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bet impact for the money

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Midlothian, VA
" This is the best impact gun for the money. It is strong and lightweight and should last the average user a very long time. I have had mine for years. It removes every nut and bolt and has not had any problems. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Overall

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Burnsville, MN
" We use this gun in our shop at work for assembling bridges and holds up better than any gun in it's price range. So i have bought this for my shop this past year and it has done everything i need. Plenty of torque and not too heavy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great impact wrench!

,
November 14, 2013
By
from Hillsboro, TX
" We've bought and are using several of these impact wrenches. They never give problems and never give up. Definitely name brand quality for a lot cheaper price! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW

,
September 22, 2013
By
from Amherst,OH
" This thing is the hand of GOD at 175psi nothing stands in its way. I've loosened things that shouldn't have loosened like they do. This is also the first gun I have ever seen consistently crack snapon impact sockets. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great impact

,
September 17, 2013
By
from SD
" This is by far the best impact I have used and has always gotten the job done. It is quiet and has a lot of power. Very seldom do I find a lug nut it cannot break loose. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT

,
July 25, 2013
By
from U.P. Michigan
" I couln't be more pleased with this impact wrench. It had no problem removing 3/4" bolts (320 lb-ft of torque spec.) that had sat for many years outside with painted-over threads, using 3 HP air compressor at < 120 psi. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong, quiet and lightweight

,
April 23, 2013
By
from FL
" This gun is quiet, strong and reliable. I use it to work on heavy equipment in the field. It gets the job done without any fuss. This is the second Aircat/Nitrocat I have owned. The first one lasted about 6 yearson the job and still works today. I use it around the house. I only replaced it because I needed more power. Overall excellent gun! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NitroCat Kevlar Composite Impact Wrench - 1/2in., Model# 1200-K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Virginia
" this is a quality made tool that is lighter, more powerfull and definately quiter than any of my Craftsmans... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.