Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester

Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester

Item# 100300
Simple plug-in tester gives quick, accurate digital readouts of Watts or Amps for refrigerators, dehumidifiers, space heaters, microwaves, holiday lighting, coffeemakers, hair dryers and more. Essential for calculating power needs for home transfer switches and emergency generator needs. Easy to use First, plug appliance or light into AmWatt. Second, plug the AmWatt into any 15A electrical outlet. Then just turn ON the appliance or light. Application Appliances, Display Shows Digital readout, Measures Watts or Amps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 of 24(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Review 1 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Appliance Load Tester

,
October 10, 2014
By Skip4Product
from Dallas, TX
"Model: THP103B. Great product. Easy to use. Does exactly what I wanted. Well constructed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester - A Winner

,
October 8, 2014
By MikeCase
from Carmichael, California
"This product is not a fancy load tester. It is very simple and it accurately measures load in amps and watts. It is great for calculating potential loads on your portable generator and any other power supply that has limitations. I tried the Kill-A-Watt and found it very complicated and as a result, I hardly ever use it. With the Reliance Amwatt, I simply plug in my appliance and plug the tester into the power source and it displays watts and amps being used. That's it. Nothing fancy, but it does exactly what I needed it to do, and it does it without complicating my life. Highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Idiot-resistant load testing

,
October 8, 2012
By PrairieDog
from Iowa
"Very simple to use, accurate, watt or amperage tester. Plug the 120 Volt item in, set switch for watts or amps, and read the value.
It was useful to me to compare the load of several natural spectrum lamps. The values ranged from 22 watts to 78 watts for basically the same function.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Half the price!

,
October 9, 2011
By JimyC
from Warwick, R.I.
"The Amwatt unit is the same thing that the big generator people want you to spend twice as much for. It's usable for any generator or houshold power loading info you may need. They both look identical. My guess is that they're both made by the same Co. This unit is simple to use.and accurate.How can you go wrong for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliancd Load Tester

,
November 23, 2010
By Heifey
from Lewiston, ID
"Nice Unit. Easy to use and very protable. Always wanted something like this as appliance wattage ratings are not always what they say on the tag. This gives you a true reading. Interesting, I found that halide lights on dimmers actually take more power on low than they do on high. Probably because you are running a cold filament. Other things on dimmers or speed controls take almost as much on low as on high. Never would have thought! I love my new little toy! I am configuring our home to run on less energy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
May 24, 2010
By sparky364
from Mt Morris illinois
"Very pleased with product. I am an electrician and use this product quite often, very useful in finding pros or cons with new and used electricial devices."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have for generator owners and energy audit

,
February 23, 2010
By Tightlines
from Phoenix, AZ
"The Reliance AmWatt is a great little device! It's a must have for generator owners wanting to determine generator load and it couldn't be simpler to use. Just plug it inline with whatever device you are measuring and the two position switch will change the display from Amps to Watts. It doesn't get any easier.
While I purchased this as a companion device for my generator, to my surprise it has been very useful around the office, garage and at home in detecting high energy use appliances and tools. A "Do It Yourself" energy audit if you will.
Buy this...Use it and maybe you'll see a smaller electric bill next month."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised...

,
February 15, 2010
By CaptainNice
from NH
"I obtained one of these to assist in setting up a bunch of computer equipment that needed uninterruptable power supplies. Work very well for sizing the systems after additional disks were installed as well as for accurately figuring the amount of power displays, printers, etc would need."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

reliance load tester

,
October 19, 2009
By Anonymous
from Minnesota
"found item to be very useful when trying to rate items for use with generator and also inverters
had the load tester checked out by a electrican with his expensive tester, found to be accurate.
learned that different items are listed with wrong wattage use on them, light bulbs, small elecrtical things, etc
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Load Tester - It's a good item!

,
July 18, 2009
By HollyforTom
from Butler, PA
"We used this in our home to find out what was taking so much electricity. We thought it had been an older fridge we had in our basement. Lo and behold, an older box fan was the culprit. This tool comes in very handy.
Thanks for the opportunity to submit a review!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Electrical Current Measurements

,
August 12, 2008
By MobileBob
from Mobile, AL
"I purchased several generators after hurricanes Ivan and Katrina to ensure that my family would have power after any ensuing storms. I purchased this Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester to determine the electrical requirements of each of our many electrical appliances to verify that we had ample provisions for the next power outage. The Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester was simple to operate and provided accurate stable wattage and amperage readings for each appliance. I now have a plan for loading appliances on my generators to ensure that the generators are each loaded within their mid-range and not overloaded providing maximum life of the generators while maintaining maximum comfort for my family. The Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester is a simple and accurate device that I will never be without."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy device

,
April 14, 2008
By Noter
from Indianola, IA
"I bought this to measure and calculate electrical load maximums for my emergency generator. The tester works great and is a must have for anyone that wants to maximize utilization of their backup generator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gadget

,
January 23, 2008
By clevername
from Hamilton, VA
"I bought this see how much it costs to run various items around the house. It works great but it would be really nice if it would also display in kilowatt hour to make $$$ calculations easier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Tool

,
January 22, 2008
By krakus
from Allen Park
"A good tool to check the efficiency of an old appliance and compare it to a new one, in as to how much money you'd save on your electric bill, buying a new appliance"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

load tester

,
January 14, 2008
By mikepe
from vermont
"works very well when planing a generator purchase couldnt be easyer to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

load tester

,
October 30, 2007
By BryanD
from Neb
"I bought this to be able to test apliances to find out if the problem is the circuit is overloaded or the circuit breaker is bad. So far no tripped circuits so I have just been testing out of curiosity. It seems to work well although I don't have anything to check it against."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go Green Must Have

,
October 8, 2007
By DrCrypto
from Mineral, VA
"If you want to go Green and cut down on your carbon footprint, this item will tell you exactly how much wattage each appliance is using. It is a must have.
If you have a portable generator and want to do a wattage check so you will know that you do not want to overload your generator, this is a must have."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

not very accurate

,
October 8, 2007
By shotgun
from park ridge'n.j.
"not very accurat'in my estimation.Jumps all over the place."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it!

,
September 28, 2007
By MrTommy
from Carson City, NV
"We do a lot of dry and boondock RV'ing. I've got dual 6 volt batteries charged by three solar panels on the roof. This runs a 3500 watt inverter which in turn runs everything in the trailer except the A/C. I bought this tester to measure the power needs of everything that needs the 110/120 power. This way I'm not overtaxing the inverter, or killing my batteries. The load tester does the trick. It's quick and easy and so far, I've had no problems with it (about four months).
Now I've started checking everything in the house as well. I hate to say it, but it's just plain fun to see how much power EVERYTHING uses."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reliance Amwatt Appliance Load Tester
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Load Tester

,
September 21, 2007
By Lena
from Pequot Lakes, MN
"I found this product to be definately worth the money. Works great to find out what wattage and amps I will need for a generator. I have had this product for over three months now and I have not experienced any problems with it, and I have tested almost everything in my house. My husband loves to use it to test his computers to gauge what power supply he will need. That in itself has saved us lots of time and money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.