Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK

Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK

Item# 100301
Prepare up to 10 circuits to be powered by a portable generator safely and efficiently. Completely prewired and easy to install next to your home load center. Meets all National Electrical Code requirements. UL listed. U.S.A. UL Listed Yes, Watts 8,000, Amps 30, Circuits qty. 10, Volts 240. Manual indoor surface-mount 10-circuit transfer switch 10-circuit 8000 Watt 30 Amp prewired transfer switch Accommodates generators up to 8000 Watts continuous output Built-in mounting brackets Tie bars for 240V circuits Watt meters Prewired/built-in junction box Resettable push-button UL489 circuit breakers 10ft. 30 Amp power cord 30 Amp Raintight power inlet box Extra 20 Amp plug end
Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Review 1 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer Switch

,
October 29, 2012
By 108farm
from Connecticutt
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"So easy to hook up. Almost fool proof. Just follow the easy to follow directions or CD. Have tested it out before Sandy comes ashore and it works great. The wires are plenty long enough to reach any breaker. Having a generator and transfer switch takes a lot of worry out of
any bad weather..
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real lifesaver!

,
May 14, 2012
By Buzman
from Richmond, Va.
"I bought this about 7 yrs. ago and had an Electrician set it up, both inside my attached garage right next to two new big circuit breaker boxes. He also installed the outside waterproof generator connection box.
It didn't take him to long to do it and he said that it was a real nice set up. Everything worked as stated the first time!!
I have used this about 9 or 10 times during power outages w/o any problems. About 3 times a year I hook up my generator to it and switch over to generator power. Real easy hook up and switching. The wattage gauges come in handy as a monitor when switching to heavy load water heaters etc.
I am very satisfied with this kit and in no time my wife and teenage son were able to do everything!
I highly recommend this kit for anybody that wants peace of mind and ease of use in connecting a generator to power your home. This switch also protects Power Co. Linemen when they are working on the power lines around your neighborhood! Many of my neighbors using generator power, had to shut theirs down, sometimes for many hours, because they didn't have a transfer switch kit like I did!
My homeowners Ins. also gave me a small discount for this installation, since it would potentially save them big claims for food spoilage and/or burst water pipes from no heat.
There are different Reliant brand transfer switch kits available through Northern Tool & Equipment,
that have more or fewer circuits, this size worked OK for us. In retrospect, I probably should have got the 12 circuit kit for a little more versatility, but no problem with this 10 circuit kit
Happy and not worrying about power outages!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
9out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No electrician needed

,
May 7, 2012
By ArtM
from Crompond, NY
"I found the DVD and install instructions well written...although you still need to understand some basics about electrical to do this safely....consult with an electrician if you lack this knowledge. Otherwise I installed this unit successfully and everything worked well. 4 stars because the instructions were for the 6 ciruit unit requiring some interpolation to install this 10 circuit unit."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality, easy to install, easy use

,
May 7, 2012
By xgregx
from Cheshire, CT
"This is a great unit. I installed it to use with my Briggs and Stratton 5000 Watt portable generator. I was hesitant to do the install myself, but after watching the installation videos on the Reliance controls website I realized how easy it was. The hardest part was finding a good time to turn off the power main without bugging the wife! If you can work a screw driver, a wire cutter/stripper and drill you can install this.
After hooking it up, I was able to power my oil fired furnace and hotwater systems, lighting, computers etc.
I have not had to use it for an outage, but it worked great when I tested it.
If you plan on using the remote inlet box, the only thing you'll need is a length of 10 or 12 ga 4 strand wire to run from the remote inlet plug to the switch itself. I got some from my local hard ware store.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wyoming Rural Power Backup

,
March 18, 2011
By HomeownernearLaramie
from Laramie, WY
"Have this system as a transfer with a Generac XP8000e gasoline generator for one year now. It is able to handle the load from well pump, kitchen, refrigerators/freezers, furnace, lights, pellet stove, and electronics. It is a well-built, sturdy transfer switch. Even has a gauge needle to show the load on the system/generator. When a well pump or refrigerator motor starts up, you can watch the needle jump (this is fun for an engineer).
This system is top of the line if you are not going to invest the $7000-8000 for a standby system with automatic switches. Very easy to operate once installed, even in the dark during a snowstorm. Power doesn't fail when it is nice outside, so invest in a dependable system like this one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install with simple to follow instructions

,
March 14, 2011
By mike1nwWisconsin
from NW Wisconsin
"Very easy to install this transfer switch. It even came with a video that gives detailed step by step instructions. I would only recommend installation by a do-it-yourselfer, if you are experienced working with electricity, otherwise hire a professional. It only took me 1.5 hours to install and a good portion of that was just getting the switch properly mounted on the wall at the proper location. Haven't actually used it yet, as this was my first step in being prepared for a power outage. I still need to get a generator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance 10 circuit transfer switch kit

,
August 30, 2010
By vtchuck68
from Hartford, Vermont
"I am an electrical contractor and I installed a Reliance 10 circuit transfer switch kit for a friend/customer a few years back. They have lost power several times since then for several days at a time and the system has performed very well. Since the 10 circuit panel allows so much of the house to be connected to the generator, they said their biggest problem is knowing when the utility power comes back on."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliance Controls 10 Circuit Transfer Switch

,
February 22, 2010
By Terryd
from Northern Virginia
"Installed this handy little unit a while back, and it proved it's worth during a recent 3 day power outage. Once the snow had passed, I wheeled out my 5.25 KVA portable generator, plugged it into the transfer switch, and was able to keep the furnace(propane), well pump, septic pump, water heater and sundry other things going. It would have been a pretty uncomfortable few days otherwise.
This unit + a fairly modest generator is an excellent compromise when you cannot afford (or justify) spending > $10,000 on getting a full house generator and transfer switch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer switch

,
November 3, 2009
By Watcher
from Miami, FL
"Very easy to install using supplied directions. Bought the larger switch so i could cover all areas of the house. Works well!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product

,
November 2, 2009
By FiremanK
from Michigan
"I agree with all the other reviews as well. When I installed this product it was soooo easy. I had no issues with the wire lengths - but my service box is not a very large one. Have had to actually use this twice to power my appliances during power outages and the electricians working on the line fixes commented on how much they like these transfer switches because they are basically user "dummy" proof. May get the larger one to do an upgrade."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good but one caution

,
April 2, 2009
By cephas
from NWPA
"Agree with other reviews about ease of instillation. When planning wiring I noticed that the wiring from the transfer box was not all the same length. Seems a couple of circuits were shorter. With my long main box this just meant to plan ahead to reach breakers. No problem. Also very minor but one screw in the outside outlet box was deformed, and needed to be cleaned out with a file for a screwdriver to catch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer Switch

,
March 16, 2009
By Bartlett
from New York
"Very well made. Excellent instructions. ALWAYS buy a transfer switch with a few EXTRA circuits for possible expansion of system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 Circuit Transfer Switch

,
January 3, 2009
By Mykicks45884
from Wapakoneta, OH
"I have installed 3 of these units for customers that wanted whole house units but didn't have the budget for one. For a very affordable price, I get them into a safe, easy to use, up-to-code means of powering their house in the event of an emergency.
Installation was easy. Just follow the colors and letters and your good to go. A typical installation takes me about 4-6 hours.
Some customers have stated that they have even had reductions in their homeowners Insurance because they have a means of back-up power.
Not to mention it increases the resale value and appeal of your home. Wouldn't you like for your next home to have a way to power up in the event of a power outage?
How about Norther Tool's service? The shipping was right on time and the packages were never damaged.
I will continue to use this product until it is not available any more. Lets hope that doesn't happen."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance transfer switch

,
January 1, 2009
By bphelojockey
from Clarence, New York (Buffalo)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Very detailed instructions on every aspect from calculating wattage to installation of the transfer switch.  Kit includes absolutely everything needed for complete installation, even the wire nuts!  The quality is exceptional and I am recomending this switch to my neighbors and freinds.  We just lost power due to a wind storm and ran the whole house for a day and a half in mid-winter.  I am no electrician, but I had no difficulty installing and using this transfer switch.  Absolutely worth every penny."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 circuit transfer switch

,
November 17, 2008
By farmereric
from warrenton,va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I was very pleased to see the quality of this reliance transfer switch when I took it from the box.easy instructions all material needed except # 10 awg 4 wire UFB cable to connect to weather proof power inlet box,and a couple of wire clamps.instalation was easy.I plan to use this as generator back up with my northern tool DPG6500, gen set which is also high quality as well,and as a way to connect my solar fed 240v inverter that I will put in a shed outside near this power inlet box so I can switch some of my home circuits to green power at my will.very happy with this company its nice to have some quality still out there."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliance Transfer Switch-10 Circuit-31410CRK

,
August 11, 2008
By HandyBob
from Smithe Station, AL
"Delivery was speedy, the instructions were easy to follow and detailed. I had no difficulty in installing the switch kit. Anyone who can identify black,red & green wires & can read the wire identification letters on the switch wires will be able to install this kit safely, in accordance with the National Electric Code (NEC). A test run proved the switch worked as advertized."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer switch success

,
April 14, 2008
By wd6203
from Mississippi
"This is a really fine product that is easy to install. Everything was included and the instructions are very clear. I would highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality and Very Simple to Install

,
January 24, 2008
By 10circuitTransferSwitch
from Newcastle, Maine
"I just completed the install and testing of my Reliance 10 Circuit Transfer Switch. I was impressed with the quality right out of the box and every thing you need is included with this kit (including wire nuts). The instructions were very clear (and I found instructional videos at the reliance website too). The installation took about 2 hours total. You need to know the basics of how a breaker panel works or this project is not for you. I am not an electrician, but a pretty solid Home Handyman. If you have changed a breaker in the panel, you can do this by yourself. I would highly recommend this to anyone. I am able to power all the critical circuits in the house including well (240), furnace, office, refrigerator, bed and bath lights, TV, Computer, Microwave when I coupled this with my 5500/8600 protable generator. Again, I highly recommend this kit!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 circuit Transfer switch

,
January 21, 2008
By Blockman
from SE Michigan
"Recently I installed the 10 circuit transfer switch. I am using this unti with the 8000 watt Northstar generator. It took a little over two hours to intall the switch and the outside remote plug. The intallation was very simple, and the Relience website has an excellent video showing all the steps. The wires are well marked on the switch, and they give you adeguate wire length to work with. The hardest part was drilling through the brick wall to feed the remote outside wire. I purchase 10/4-600amp (overkill) outdoor wire cord, and fed it into the switch box, everything else is supplied with the kit. After completion, I connected the generator and tested the system. Once the generator is running and connected, you go to the switch box and flip the switches from LINE to GEN and your up and running. With the electric start generator and switch, it makes it easy for anyone in our houshold to operate the system. The hardest part is figuring out what circuits you want to power. (Frig, Furnace, Microwave, Lights etc..)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reliance Transfer Switch Kit - 10 Circuit, Model# 31410CRK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

transfer switch

,
January 18, 2008
By DRpa
from OK.
"I purchased this 31410crk transfer switch kit in Dec. 2007 during an ice storm
and installed it in the dark. The switch works super and makes a very nice looking installation.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.