Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive

Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive

Item# 100700
"This Wel-Bilt twin impact wrench features rugged chrome moly construction and features a twin hammer mechanism that drives 1/2in. bolts with ease. Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 450, Average Air Consumption CFM 5.5, Speed - No Load RPM 7,000, Working Torque ft.-lb. 25-300, Hammer Mechanism Twin, Standard Bolt Capacity in. 1/2, Tool Length in. 7 1/2, Tool Weight lbs. 5.5, Variable Speed Yes, Reversible Yes, Case Included No, CFM at Load 5.5, Impacts Per Minute IPM 6,000, Inlet Size in. 1/4, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Drive in. 1/2. 12 speed control settings, 6 forward and 6 reverse Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies"
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
1
8 of 14(57%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive

,
August 15, 2014
By ryanX724
from minnesota
" i like this Impact gun. i dont use it 24/7, but i think it will last me a long time.. i would like it even more if it had came with a case to keep my tool safe & clean. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not last

,
December 23, 2013
By farmeron
from Catskills, NY
" I bought this item on sale in the fall of 2011 for winter/spring tire change-overs on our 4 cars. It got through the first year doing the job, but started "skipping" in the second year. I would press the trigger and air would rush out around the trigger and it didn't turn. I could eventually get it going again, but by fall of this year, for its second birthday it worked so infrequently, that I gave up on it. I tried it again this past weekend and it worked fine to change a set of tires. How do I get it fixed if it doesn't fail all the time!
I thought I was buying a decent tool from "Northern Industrial" - Recommend you spend more, get a better one. Maybe. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wel-Bilt Air Twin 1/2" drive Impact wrench

,
October 8, 2012
By kabar1950
from Houston
" I have found Northern Industrial tools to be excellent values, and this 1/2" drive impact wrench is no exception. It has plenty of power for loosening fasteners. I advise oiling it before each use, but I have had no problems with it. It retains impact sockets with no problem, and removing the sockets is easy. (I have owned a different brand of impact wrench and it was difficult to remove sockets from the drive, which was a constant irritation.) Impact wrenches are pretty basic. They either run fine, or not at all. This one runs great. My only criticism is hardly a criticism at all, and that is that this wrench is pretty heavy--- but that's pretty much what one expects from an impact wrench. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect handyman wrench

,
August 13, 2012
By barbarian
from South Hill,VA
" this is the perfect impact wrench for backyard mechanic or wood working projects. light weight and compact "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool

,
January 9, 2012
By 123joe
from Missouri
" Works quite well, lots of torque. You need a pretty big compressor to keep up with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wanted to like it, but just could not

,
October 27, 2011
By Bullmoose44
from North Carolina
" I bought this knowing it was on the low end of the line, but I liked the specs and it does okay if the load is not too high. The main problem is the air comsumption...it is so frustrating trying to keep it running. The specs say 5.5 cfm and this is much higher than the better quality guns. I have a 60 gallon compressor and the gun does not want to work half the time...plus the torque adjustment seems to do nothing. It will not remove the lug nuts from my GMC pickup and has not been up to the task on several projects.
I wanted to make it do for my garage, but the low price is not worth the lack of performance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done for weekend warrior

,
March 21, 2011
By Bigsection
from Jordan, MN
" Hey, my first review, product was priced right for a brake job, I was using an under powered air compressor and it had trouble on extremely tight nuts. I have yet to pull out my large compressor and truly test its strength, but I have no doubt it will work for the home garage projects.
I wouldn't recommend for prefessional use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5

,
March 19, 2011
By Trinisheppy
from Caribbean
" Simple, light weight & easy to operate with little or no effort. Vibration level a bit high but alltogether tolerable. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Air Twin Impact Wrench

,
March 17, 2011
By dannysteel
from Harrison, Michigan
" This is a very well made and dependable impact wrench that gets the job done it was intended to do, and it works as good as similar tools costing twice the price. This is another one of those great buys from Northern Tool that you'll be proud to own. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unreliable

,
March 14, 2011
By Donotbuy
" Very unreliable. Works some of the time. Other times it just blows air.
I would not buy it again, not even if on sale.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not quite strong enough

,
February 13, 2011
By Rombo
from North Carolina
" Bought this and it wasn't quite strong enough to take off lug nuts. Returned it and got the Klutch which was stronger, but cost more. It worked great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owned this for many years

,
December 26, 2010
By marksavoid
from Big Island, Hawaii
" I bought this unit because I needed a powerful wrench to use when my regular impact couldn't handle. It has never failed me. For the price, there is nothing better. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

better than a hand wrench but fairly finicky

,
December 1, 2010
By nickster
from SF, CA
" small, compact driver that does well enough for the price but is a bit troublesome to use all day long. I'll use it for now and keep my eyes open for a more professional one down the road.
does have enough power to undo stubborn lug nuts, though is a bit slow.
there are torque settings on the gun but the directions don't say what their specs are, nor have I found much difference in any of them. the biggest problem with the driver is that the forward/reverse switch doesn't lock in place so it constantly rattles out of the selection you put it into. I end up having to rest my thumb on it while using the driver to keep it functioning, otherwise it goes into 'neutral' and loses power and vents air. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Air Twin Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

impact wrench

,
September 13, 2010
By Thai
from Florida
" I needed a medium duty impact wrench to do automotive maintenance. If your looking for an economical wrench with horsepower to do minor auto repair this tool fits the bill. For the price you can't go wrong. Don't forget the air line lubricant. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.