Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive

Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive

Item# 100770
The Klutch Air Impact Wrench delivers the power, performance and torque to tackle just about any jobs you encounter. A combination of 630 ft.-lbs. of torque and 6000 BPM work together to remove lug nuts, loosen stubborn and rusted nuts and bolts, remove crank pulley bolts and more. Cold forged striking hammer increases torque output and extends tool's life. The Klutch Impact Wrench has a 1/2in. bolt capacity, but the large output torque allows this wrench to unfasten a 1in. bolt with socket on the anvil. Tool Length in. 7 7/8, Tool Weight lbs. 4.62, Variable Speed Forward/reverse, Working Torque ft.-lb. 50-600, Inlet Size in. 1/4, CFM at Load 4.8, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Noise Level dB 90, Operating PSI 90, Reversible Yes, Case Included No, Average Air Consumption CFM 4.5, Drive in. 1/2, Hammer Mechanism Twin clutch, Impacts Per Minute IPM 6,000, Standard Bolt Capacity in. 1, Max. Reverse Torque ft.-lbs. 630, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 615, Speed - No Load RPM 7,600. Heavy-duty composite housing Dual hammer design for maximum durability Cold forged striking hammer increases torque and extends tool life Forward reverse power regulator 615 ft.-lbs. max. forward torque 630 ft.-lbs. reverse 7600 RPM no-load speed
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (46 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
40 of 46(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Review 1 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive

,
February 8, 2014
By hotrodinok
from Clinton,OK
"i use this Air Impact Wrench every day at work it has lots of power and light weight .Can't beat the price for a 1/2 inch gun have just brought one for my home"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good sofar

,
February 4, 2014
By Abhandyman
from Boyne city mi
"Good power and balance for the price take lug nuts off with no trouble and saves my hands"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the home mechanic

,
December 18, 2013
By EthanR
from New Mexico
"You can't beat this gun for the price. Sure, it's not an Aircat or an IR, but it is less than half the price of those guns. If you like to wrench on your own vehicle on the weekends, this gun will serve you just fine. Keep it oiled."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not hardly

,
October 14, 2013
By herc296
from texas
"no torque settings, even my cheap cp gun has a torque setting.
no speed setting, once again my cheap cp gun has a speed setting.
the box it came in says around 900 ft lbs of torque, ain't no way this thing has more than 300. Failed on the first attempt to remove a nut. With 900 ft lbs it should have either broke the socket, stripped the nut or twisted the bolt off. I will be returning it tomorrow.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nothing special

,
June 14, 2013
By rubberneck
from cape coal fl
"for the price its a good gun. i work at an automotive dealership and i am constantly taking tires off. This gun lasts about 3 months. one time it lasted just 1 month. i bought the 2 year warrenty with it so im fine with it breaking. it just one day decides to lose power. when its working its a great gun. but if ur gunna buy it, better get the warrenty and be prepared for at least 3 replacements a year. im on my 4th one and its been since last october..not even a year."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly strong for the price

,
April 23, 2013
By Farmer247
from Staples, MN
"I bought this impact as a second impact for my service truck. It surprisingly worked as good and had more power than my more expensive model. Maybe it wont last as long but I have used it on a weekly basis for over a year giving it just a drop of oil each time as to not over or under lube the tool and it has yet to let me down.
In taking the wheels off of our 9670STS Deere combine it took out bolts that our 3/4 impact could not. Again not something you would expect from a tool priced at this level.
It is now the first impact I reach for and as far as I am concerned has paid for itself and the next two already."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old Mans Friend

,
October 16, 2012
By treeking
from missouri hills
"Farm maintenance projects seem to have gotten a lot more difficult as years pass. Nuts are stuck on bolts a lot tighter and rust has a better grip than it used to.My new Klutch Air Wrench has given me back what maturity stole.
Great balance and power. Very smooth trigger operation.
Makes removing frozen blade bolts a snap.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very good

,
September 7, 2012
By guyfromga
from georgia
"I bought this gun for using on my cars and the first time I used it was 2 remove a cv axle bolt and it worked like a champ, but after about 15-20 days it lost power (oiled every day) so I exchanged it and the same thing with the 2nd one. Don't buy this gun spend a little more and get one of the IR's from Northern Tool"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Recommended

,
August 31, 2012
By JMan8
from NC
"I bought this product and it worked great when i recieved it for about a month i used it and then suddenly it froze up. I would not recommend this to anyone if i buy something i expect it to last"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great air tool

,
August 15, 2012
By 9000
from houston tx
"this air 1/2 '' impact has gone above and beyond the call of duty. it operates in a very hot and humid shop, never misses a beat. we used a torque wrench to confirm the tightness of the lugs to aluminum wheels. well worth the money.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tool

,
August 13, 2012
By Colemaker
from Jax.FL
"Well made product for the price and well made. Has plenty of torque and good balance."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this inpact driver is varry good

,
August 13, 2012
By chloe1777
from sun prairie wi.
"it tacks the bad wones off it tacks the hardist lugnuts off"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good tool, not great

,
May 15, 2012
By mech1967
from Middle TN
"Worked good for about three months. Not much power anymore. Will have to rebuild it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/2 inch klutch drive

,
May 14, 2012
By 1hycoman
from ringgold va.
"this impact wrench has got the torque that our shop along with three other shops that we use this in has what we need to get the job done we have used ingersol rand and also air cat they do not come close to being as efficient as this one does and powerful and the replacement plan that comes with this item can not be beat"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent buy for the money.

,
May 8, 2012
By a1b2c3d4
from ND
"Bought this wrench for work where it gets used on all sizes of bolts. The amount of power is impressive for what the impact cost. It is not quite as powerful as a tool truck gun we have at work, but that cost 6 times as much. The forward/reverse is hard to use one handed. The trigger pulls nicely to vary the amount of power."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just an average torque wrench

,
May 8, 2012
By tomanytoys
from Annapolis, Md.
"Bought this tool specifically because of the 450 ft.-lb. reverse torque rating. Don't believe it. I recently ended up using a 1/2" flex handle and a cheater pipe to loosen brake caliper bracket bolts rated at 220 ft.-lb. factory installed.
It's a light duty tool for home garage use. Can't say how long it will last.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Klutch Heavy Duty 1/2 Inch Air Impact Wrench

,
May 7, 2012
By Poughkeepsie
from Lady Lake, FL
"We have been utilizing these tools in our service area for some time now. The Klutch impact wrenches have proven to be dependable, durable and provide adequate torque and power. I would recommend these for general mechanical shop duties to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Over Rated

,
March 23, 2012
By MiniMax
from Canada, QC
"After reading most if not all the reviews I was convinced that this impact would suit my needs. Well, I was wrong. I'm not saying that it's not a good impact but it is certainly not as strong as advertised. I recently removed my winter tires that were torqued last fall at 110ft/lbs for which this impact struggled removing at least two out of the 24 bolts. I have a 5hp/60 gal. compressor and have purposely upgraded my hose from 1/4 to 3/8 inch so my level of expectation must have been a little high. I was hoping for an unstoppable impact. I guess I will have to pull some more money from my pocket to achieve that. I got this job done but I'm sure it won't remove the two main bolts of my lower control arm for which these bolts sits on rubber bushing and the reason why I ordered this tool in the first place.
Looks like a good impact at a reasonable price, it's just my expectations that were a bit too high which is why I would still recommend it to a friend but not without warning them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this awsome!!!

,
January 16, 2012
By trickey
from Claremore,OK
"Use two of these impacts daily 10 hrs 4 days a min have way more torque than our old ones will be purchaseing two more soon, nice grips on handle we have lots of oil over every thing and the grips help make it nice not to slip out of your hands,"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Klutch Heavy-Duty Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power to spare

,
January 9, 2012
By smuckie
from Oxford Ohio
"I used this on a Ranger leaf spring shackle bracket and it's a beast, took off bolts that my old impact wouldn't even come close, will have to be careful tightening bolts with it, it will strip out the threads on a 1/2" bolt with no problem"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.