Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689

Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689

Item# 1012
The Concentric/Haldex 2-stage hydraulic pump can give you faster cycle times and higher possible pressure with a small engine. Excellent for use on log splitters. 85 efficient. Stage 2, Shaft Diameter in. 1/2, Material Cast iron housing, Usage With open center hydraulic systems, Weight lbs. 8.9, GPM 11, Rotations Per Minute 3,600, Shaft Type Straight keyed, Max. PSI 3,000. GPM 11 Shaft 1/2in. Inlet 3/4in. Outlet 1/2in. NPT Dimensions 5.5in.L x 3in.H x 4in.W Minimum HP 5 RPM Requirement 3600 For use with open center hydraulic systems only 1st Stage 11 GPM@650 PSI 2nd Stage 2.9 GPM@2500 PSI Maximum Pressure 3000 PSI Bolt Circle 2.83in. 4 Bolt Holes Spaced 2in. on Center Bolt Hole Diameter 344in. Rotation Clockwise
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (56 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
55 of 56(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Review 1 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A PIECE OF EQUIPMENT!!

,
September 27, 2013
By JackieB
from Big Springs, CA
"Very basic installation and you're up and running. Excellent hydraulic power for my wood splitter with a 3" cylinder. I use a 7hp engine which is perfect; you can use a 5hp but that's the very bottom end for this pump; I tried it. I am very familiar with these pumps within my trade as a small engine mechanic. I have been using this particular pump for eight months; log rounds as big as 3', yeah feet across; sure it will push the pump to the max, but it gives me nothing but trouble free power. Certainly isn't a automotive product; not a toy for playing in the sandbox, more like something you would expect from the real engineers of power; a piece of equipment. I can't say anything about this pump that isn't up to my expectations, because if you want more power go with the bigger pump and engine. I also built a much larger splitter with the 16gpm pump on a 10hp engine. As a small engine mechanic; when its pump failure, or detent valve failure, I recommend and install Northern pumps everytime!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump for my tractor !!

,
December 19, 2012
By Sputterput
from Arizona
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have a 1972 Allis Chalmers 720 19hp Hydrostatic tractor with an ARK700 front end loader bucket. The tractor runs great but it would barely lift a full bucket of dirt. I put this new pump on and not only does it lift a bucket of dirt, but It easily lifts the V8 engine I replaced in my truck! It fit perfectly and I had it changed in less than an hour!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hydraulic pump

,
October 8, 2012
By Graybeard
from Jersey Shore
"Was a simple replacement for my aging log spltiter , bolted right in place where the old one was plenty of power its been working great for about 2 months now and has split about 4 cords."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy Pump

,
August 14, 2012
By Mobilt
from Eau Claire, WI
"Well Built pump its heavy duty and worth the money. Good pump for the price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haldex 11gpm

,
May 15, 2012
By chejense
from Sacramento Ca.
"Well built cast pump should last a long time. I havent installed it yet because waiting on adapter but cant wait to see it in action"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
January 16, 2012
By arlene
from glenwood iowa
"this pump does everything i need it to do it is a good buy, i am useing it on a log splitter with 5 hp briggs engine"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haldex Hydraulic Pump

,
January 9, 2012
By JHILL
from New Bern, NC
"The pump is for our log splitter. It came very quickly, which was good because my husband was in the middle of log splitting, and it was very easy to put on. It has worked fine ever since, and the cost was reasonable. We will use Northern Tools again!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter hydro pump

,
June 13, 2011
By thueman699
from Alexandria, MN
"I am pleased to say that Northern Tool saved me a huge labor bill when I needed to replace an old worn out pump on an old homemade log splitter. The tech department asked the right questions and gave the best advice on which pump and couplers to buy. Everything was correct and the splitter works like a new one. Tech support was helpful, efficient, courteous, and professional. Thanks to Northern and be assured I will use your friendly services again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
May 1, 2011
By droop
from v.t.
"brought this to replace to old vicker's vane pump on my home-made splitter. what a wonder hooked it to a b&g 205cc engine and away it went, love it when the second stage kicks in bull's through anything.. only down fall was the tube inlet they should have a pipe thread inlet rather than having to clamp a hose on it.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK PUMP

,
March 14, 2011
By PAX2000
from APPOMATTOX, VA
"THIS IS THE THIRD PUMP IN EIGHT YEARS. THIS PUMP IS MADE OUT OF SOFT MONKEY METAL AND KEEPS SHEARING ITSELF AND LOCKING UP. NO REPAIR POSSIBLE, MUST BUY A NEW ONE EACH TIME. IT ALSO BUST ITS HOUSING AND COUPLING. SO YOU GET TO REPLACE THEM EACH TIME AS WELL."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-10points
4out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
dmr369
northern california 
 
Please wait while more information about dmr369 is loaded.
Additional information about dmr369 could not be loaded.
to junk pump
November 19, 2011
"do you have a filter? my junk pump is 15 years old now, and we heat with only wood. good luck"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

,
August 31, 2010
By rhaz
from London, OH
"Purchased to replace an existing pump on a log splitter. I also purchased a new adapter bracket. Pump installed easily using the bracket. The 2 stage significantly decreased cycle time allowing me to increase productivity. The pump performance has been great providing sufficient psi to my ram to split most anything I have set on the log splitter. I have recommended this pump to anyone who has inquired about splitters or pumps."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump.

,
May 26, 2010
By Randy1956
from Philipsburg ,Quebec.Canada
"This pump has a very good GPM , better than it`s Canadian counterpart.
Would buy this pump again without hesitation.
Thank you Northern Tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

11gpm 2stage pump

,
May 24, 2010
By tinknocker
from Mars P.A.
"I built a log splitter using this pump and other parts from northern tool.Its run off a 6.5 h.p motor.The pump works great.Its very powerful for such a small package.All the partsworked great.Im very pleased with all my purchases.Its nice to see there are things still made in the U.S."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pump

,
February 23, 2010
By medic8852
from Lexington, IL
"Pump was a replacement for a single stage pump on an old speeco log splitter. bolted up with no modifications and was up and running in no time. Cuts splitting time down consideranly. Would highly reccomend this pump if you are needing a replacement for your splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality easy to install pump

,
February 22, 2010
By Guninstructor
from Venice, CA
"I purchased one of these pumps for a hydraulic forging press build I did last year and the pump works great. The biggest hassle with this is figuring out what electric motor to hook it up to. My recommendation is to get a reversible motor because the pump will only rotate in one direction and you do not want the pump to show up and realize that your motor turns in the opposite direction from the pump. With a 56c 2HP 1850 rpm motor and the 56c adaptor to install the pump on the motor, this unit works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

11 gal. 2 stage pump

,
February 15, 2010
By bigbobb
from Arcanum,ohio
"I am using this pump on my homemade log spliter.
It works great. and i got it for almost $80.00 less through northern the i could have locally. I think if you need a pump or anything else . Go to northern tool first .
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exc. Logsplitter Pump

,
January 22, 2010
By Sublette
from New Mexico
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The factory spec sheet which came with this pump rates it at 10.07 GPM, not 11 GPM as listed in the catalog, but it still delivered plenty of volumetric capacity for my logsplitter. I coupled the pump to a 5hp 1-ph. electric motor, 3450 rpm, to drive a 3.5 inch cylinder. The resulting no-load cycle time is 7 sec. on the 24" split stoke and 5 sec. on the return stroke, with plenty of 2nd stage power to split thru knots, stumps and crotch wood. On the downside, the pump is noisy, and the bracket I ordered for it had a bolt circle which was not concentric with the center hole, so I returned the bracket and fabricated my own. The pump itself still earns five stars in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

OEM replacement

,
December 19, 2009
By GBag
from the Hudson Valley of NY
"In 2004 I bought a log splitter. Since then I have processed well over 1850 cords of wood many times running full 10 hr days. This is the same pump that comes with the TWP1. Unfortunately the reservoir became contaminated with water & I didn't catch it till it was too late and the original gave up the ghost (stopped shifting). I tortured this pump & it stood up well. I had no problem getting another and I'm going to get the original rebuilt for a spare."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greate Replacement Pump

,
November 2, 2009
By MWG1
from Massachusetts.
"I bought this pump as a replacement for my Mighty Murc Wood Splitter. Pump fit perfectly and worked with no problems. Although I probably could have gone up to the 13 gpm pump, this one performs very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 11 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001689
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter pump

,
October 22, 2009
By tim104
from Wadsworth, OH
"I bought this pump to convert my splitter from tractor controlled to self controlled. I was a little concerned about it having enough power to bust through those real knotty logs, but it does great. The pump is a two stage pump, so when you hit a tough log it pushes right through. This is a great pump for the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.