Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"

"Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"

Item# 103181
"The Northern Industrial adjustable gantry crane is ideal for shops where level lifting is essential. Gantry crane is NOT to be moved while loaded. Trolley and hoist not included. Material Type Steel, Flange Width in. 2 27/32, Product Type Adjustable height gantry crane, Crane L x W in. 94 1/2 x 47 1/4, Load Capacity lbs. 2,000, I-Beam to Ground in. 94 1/2-141 3/4, I-Beam H x W in. 4 3/4 x 1/4, I-Beam Length ft. 86 5/8in. All-steel construction Adjusts from 8ft. 3.5in. to 12ft. 8in.H to accommodate low roofs or overhead beams 7ft. 10in. wide between vertical beams Ideal for maintenance, manufacturing, repairs, and other material-handling tasks Can go where forklifts often can't Lighter weight means that the unit works well where there may be floor capacity restrictions Quick disassembly and assembly for easy transport within a job site or from site to site Super strong 5' swivel casters easily moving unit Do not move while loaded"
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crane is Great

,
January 6, 2016
By
from Texas
Easy assembly with two people. More capabilities than a cherry picker hoist in the shop. very satisfied.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but could be better

,
October 21, 2015
By
from California
Great design and concept. Sloppy welding job and details. Poor manual - a good picture of the lifting mechanism would help in the assembly. Once assembled, does the advertised job ad a good price, but could look much better and operate more smoothly if manufacturer paid more attention to details. Few adjustments - like different bolts and some filing - help, given what you get in the box. Takes 2 people to assemble.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adjustible Gantry Crane

,
October 10, 2015
By
from Athol Mass
Went together easily. instructions were good but were not really necessary, required a short time to complete
assembly. The unit was of good quality, all bolt holes lined up perfectly. All parts were there and could be easily identified.
The unit works well in my garage or outside as necessary. It is easy to move around and has proven to be more useful than I anticipated
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

gantry crane

,
August 30, 2015
By
from englewood fl
Product was delivered as described. decent piece of equipment for my needs. great for lifting small to medium projects,like engines and tools.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite tool

,
August 4, 2015
By
from Homestead, FL
This thing is too cool. I'll hoist my hot water pressure washer and/or generator into the back of my truck with no problem now. I probably also have an off frame truck restoration project in my near future. This will be indispensable for that. It's easy to use and I have no fear of taking on a lot of projects that require heavy lifting.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I needed

,
July 10, 2015
By
from Killeen,tx
I have used.It with 2 1500 lb electric hoists to disassemble a truck
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it does

,
May 8, 2015
By
from Republic of Texas, Texas
To start with..I have to agree with everybody else, the instructions SUCK...best to look at either the pics on here or the video...Good construction..Heavy Duty, I got the 1 Ton...cant find anything wrong with it other than mentioned above..going to use in my Man Cave for engine pulls...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

,
January 21, 2015
By
from San Antonio
Product is easy to assemble and works very good for our use here in our panel shop. We use to move control panels around and lift and crate.
Very good product for the price...
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product, Poor Instructions

,
January 4, 2015
By
from Tampa FL
Instructions were OK, had to do a lot of looking at the diagram to figure out the missing instructions. Works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crane

,
July 22, 2013
By
from Michigan
Went together in less than an hour. Although the instructions were not written very well and should have had a detail on the lift mechanism I figured it out from some pictures online. Works great for what we use it for with a chain hoist attached.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right Tool for the Job

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Tampa, Florida
The Gantry's assembly was straight forward and went together quickly. It is the right size for loading into vehicles and takes everything I can throw at it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product-Worthless Directions

,
December 8, 2012
By
from GA
Nothing wrong with the crane although fasteners should be upgraded to resist rust during long exposure to salt air...there were several fasteners with surface rust.
My compliant involves the absolutely worthless directions. The writer did not have a good command of technical English and the single line drawing lacked detail and clairity. In addition to a better line drawing of the entire crane, there should have been a detailed drawing of the mechanism for raising and lowering the vertical supports. NT, you can do better.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
July 14, 2009
By
from Mineral Wells, TX
I purchested this product several mounths ago and found it to work quite well. It was easey to put together and has worked well with heavy loads and light ones.
It is easy to move around the shop.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gantry Crane

,
November 19, 2008
By
from Villa Rica, GA
Excellent product for the price. Works great for what we use it for. I would recommend this item to anyone in the market.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Gantry Crane 2000lb capacity

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Tennessee
This product was very easy to assemble. Very easy to work with and is very stable and solidly built. Wheels move easily and adjustments to height are easy to make. Overall this gantry crane has many uses. I use it a lot to remove the hard top from my Jeep Wrangler. Makes it a one man operation.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Northern Industrial Adjustable Gantry Crane - 2,000-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gantry Crane 2000 lb

,
August 11, 2008
By
from Iowa
Very good value, rugged should last forever. I priced the material to build one similar it would be more than double. I use it for a frieght elevator to the basement. I am very satisfied.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.