Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity

Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity

Item# 103183
Sturdy Ultra-Tow hitch-mounted carrier can handle up to 500 lbs. of cargo for your next family vacation or firewood run. Large 20in. x 60in. steel mesh floor and 6in. sides hold cargo securely in place. Heavy-duty, all-steel 5/8in. dia. tubular construction. Sturdy 2in. square tube has 14in. drawbar to mount carrier to 2in. Class 3 receiver hitch. Carrier folds up behind tailgate when not in use. Material Type Steel, Mount Type Receiver hitch, Platform Size L x W in. 60 x 20, Receiver Size in. 2 in. Class 3, Finish Type Powder-coat, Foldable Yes, Application Cargo carrier, Assembly Required Yes, Capacity lbs. 500. 500-lb. cargo capacity Easy to install, just bolt 2 pieces together Includes safety reflectors Zinc-plated steel with weather-resistant black powder-coat finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 of 30(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Review 1 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble

,
June 14, 2014
By vlxcw1
from Ellensburg, Wa
"Easy to assemble. Rails are great to hook bungy cords to. A little heavy, so it's a 2 man job to intall. Great additional storage for the motorhome."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy cargo rack OK for veh. with clearance

,
June 11, 2014
By Cartozen
from Boulder, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Good design, sturdy. I used in on Prius with hitch adapter in its folded storage position and strapped water proof river boat bag to it and a bicycle. Seemed to be better option than a rocket box. It is not good for small cars in the fold-down position (the way its suppose to be used). SUV's & trucks likely will have no problem. vehicles with 1.25" hitches that need extension increase the no clearance to road surface when opened, let alone loaded! Suggest that manufacture offer an auxiliary 'z' extension to raise above hitch mount as an option."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rack

,
June 3, 2014
By CJnokomis
from Sarasota, fl
"Easy to put together. Sturdy construction. Looks like it will hold up. Exactly what I wanted and a great price. Wanted the fold up option especially when parking in the parking lot. Hope that it lasts for years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

STRONG UNIT & EASY ASSEMBLY

,
May 27, 2014
By LOOOSER
from Elk River, MN
"I INSTALLED THE UNIT ON THE UPPER TIER OF A DOUBLE RECEIVER HITCH ON MY MOTOR HOME. I THEN BUILT A RAMP UP TO IT & LOADED MY HONDA ELITE SCOOTER. IT HOLDS IT GREAT & SEEMS PLENTY STRONG ENOUGH. I ONLY WISH I WOULD HAVE KNOWN THEY HAVE A 50" ALUM CARGO HAULER ALSO. IT IS LIGHTER & RUST FREE. WORKED WELL FOR MY NEEDS."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A functional carrier

,
May 27, 2014
By AJBike
from CT
"We bought this carrier to move my daughter home from college and it worked great. Easy to assemble, easy to install and gave us more room in the car for the long trip."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good cargo carrier

,
May 23, 2014
By CLR55
from texas
"I needed a cargo carrier that was versatile enough to fold up when I needed to get into a tight space without removing it. This does that. Well constructed, easy to assemble and does what I need it to. And the price was better than what I found for comparable carriers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Almost a quality product, almost!

,
May 7, 2014
By DrSparky
from NM
"Well constructed and light weight so mounting and dismounting is easy. The hinge point however is the 'Achilles heel' because is allows over-extension of the joint under load. Therefore, the load angles the platform down almost a foot at the rearmost point. It only drags on the pavement when driving on uneven roads but I wonder if the weakness will worsen with use to the point the hinge fails. This engineering weakness sabotages what would otherwise be a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Addition

,
May 4, 2014
By rkf1953
from Vernon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great addition to your RV, truck or camper when you need to take all the extras that come along. Rack is made well and is easy to assemble."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb.

,
April 27, 2014
By Louiegi
from Dover AR
"Product is weak. Load must be centered. Product is also subject to side bend when even brushed against brush or any debre along the side of vehicle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
March 22, 2014
By Thane
from Fort Leavenworth, KS
"Needed to make some space for gear and my Honda CRV was getting pretty full. This carrier worked great for our recent trip to Colorado, allowed us to carry all our gear and no problems on the 1300 mile round trip.
Balancing our gear on it was easy (I had purchased a TrailerStar Products Poly Storage Chest Truck Box from this site which fit perfectly), and no worries.
It requires a 2inch hitch (our Honda has a 1 1/4), so I had to purchase a 1 1/4 to 2 inch converter.
Overall great product at a reasonable price, would recommend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent rack for price, some flaws.

,
February 8, 2014
By Rambohunter
from St. Bernard,LA
"Sturdy if load balanced or centered, mine has gap between one side & center tube, so it flexes if loaded on that side. It is painted except for inside the open ended tubing which is not, will have to paint somehow to prevent from rusting from inside out. Will change out pivot bolt with one that has a nylon insert locknut , paint, and figure out how to close the gap. Good rack, just needs a little help on getting 'right', but worth it at the sale price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks good, works fine.

,
February 4, 2014
By Mark13
from Kansas
"Looks good mounted, very sturdy. Mesh bottom and taller rails around the edge offer more secure carrying.
Folding function is nice, but will only work if the face of your hitch is flush with the back of your vehicle. Some (mine included) are set back under the bumper a couple of inches, which prevents it from folding. That's not a product problem, obviously, I'm just pointing it out. (Adding a short extension tube fixes that.)
Overall I'm very happy with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
February 4, 2014
By tjhsleepy
from Estero, FL
"The carrier is an excellent addition to transporting the overloads or items like bags of dirt that you can keep from causing a mess inside the vehicle. I used it recently for two full-size golf bags and secured with straps. The carrier does pivot on the hitch so balancing the load is necessary. The carrier is build well and should last for many years. I especially like the fold-up feature when not in use. I installed an extender hitch post so that whether the carrier is down or up, the back SUV back hatch door can be used without hitting the carrier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Good for some minivans

,
January 9, 2014
By blongtadave
from Chattanooga, TN
"I purchased this as well as a Hitch for our 04 Toyota Sienna. Due to the low hitch and extended pole on this product for folding, the end was about 2 in off the ground. We couldn't make it out of our driveway. I had to purchase a Hitch riser to make it work and even then it was still low. On my old mini van it would have worked but this one sits lower due to the fold in seats.
The product was easy to put together and seems well made, just understand that it sits out farther and lower than a regular hitch- haul device.
I would also suggest getting some reflective tape for the under side for times when you have it folded up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great price and solid

,
September 29, 2013
By avwood1
from Raleigh, NC
"I bought this on sale last night so I can take coolers out tailgating. It only took about 15 minutes to assemble and works great. You couldn't buy a better carrier for the price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cargo Hitch Carrier

,
September 17, 2013
By BCH1229
from Elk Rivet, MN
"Great product, sturdy and holds lots of weight. Recommend this product to friends."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought and installed in less than 30 minutes

,
September 8, 2013
By Jersey68
from Fort Mill
"So far so good. Well built and easy to install. Should work great for deer during deer season. Nice and strong it hold my big but without issues!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

JUST RIGHT

,
September 7, 2013
By Hdz1
from Pearsall TX
"picked this up to haul around a canopy, chairs, umbrellas, ice chest to the beach, river, and sporting events. now I have lots of room. this would make a great gift as well"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for cargo, great for stepping

,
April 24, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I bought this to go on the back of my lifted Jeep for hauling the overflow of cargo when we go on camping trips. It works well for that, holding our big cooler, tent and chairs and having a nice rail to latch everything to. When we're not camping, I leave it on to use as a step. Very easy to get into the lifted Jeep's back seat this way, stepping on it and then into the back of the Jeep."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cargo Carrier

,
October 21, 2012
By NCRockT
from Southern Pines, NC
"I purchased this unit to carry several Rubbermaid bins to a recent event. Assembly was very simple and it worked great with my Jeep Wrangler. The rack is light enough to easily install and remove, which is important since the spare tire on the Wrangler requires that the unit be removed before opening the tailgate (which I had known when I purchased the unit). The high side rails ensured the bins stayed in place with two cargo straps across the top and a couple of bungee cords to ensure the lids were snug. I plan to use it often to augment the cargo space in my Jeep."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
13out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.