Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity

Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity

Item# 103183
Sturdy Ultra-Tow hitch-mounted carrier can handle up to 500 lbs. of cargo for your next family vacation or firewood run. Large 20in. x 60in. steel mesh floor and 6in. sides hold cargo securely in place. Heavy-duty, all-steel 5/8in. dia. tubular construction. Sturdy 2in. square tube has 14in. drawbar to mount carrier to 2in. Class 3 receiver hitch. Carrier folds up behind tailgate when not in use. Application Cargo carrier, Material Type Steel, Mount Type Receiver hitch, Capacity lbs. 500, Receiver Size in. 2 in. Class 3, Assembly Required Yes, Platform Size L x W in. 60 x 20, Foldable Yes, Finish Type Powder-coat. 500-lb. cargo capacity Easy to install, just bolt 2 pieces together Includes safety reflectors Zinc-plated steel with weather-resistant black powder-coat finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 21(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Review 1 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
March 22, 2014
By Thane
from Fort Leavenworth, KS
"Needed to make some space for gear and my Honda CRV was getting pretty full. This carrier worked great for our recent trip to Colorado, allowed us to carry all our gear and no problems on the 1300 mile round trip.
Balancing our gear on it was easy (I had purchased a TrailerStar Products Poly Storage Chest Truck Box from this site which fit perfectly), and no worries.
It requires a 2inch hitch (our Honda has a 1 1/4), so I had to purchase a 1 1/4 to 2 inch converter.
Overall great product at a reasonable price, would recommend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent rack for price, some flaws.

,
February 8, 2014
By Rambohunter
from St. Bernard,LA
"Sturdy if load balanced or centered, mine has gap between one side & center tube, so it flexes if loaded on that side. It is painted except for inside the open ended tubing which is not, will have to paint somehow to prevent from rusting from inside out. Will change out pivot bolt with one that has a nylon insert locknut , paint, and figure out how to close the gap. Good rack, just needs a little help on getting 'right', but worth it at the sale price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks good, works fine.

,
February 4, 2014
By Mark13
from Kansas
"Looks good mounted, very sturdy. Mesh bottom and taller rails around the edge offer more secure carrying.
Folding function is nice, but will only work if the face of your hitch is flush with the back of your vehicle. Some (mine included) are set back under the bumper a couple of inches, which prevents it from folding. That's not a product problem, obviously, I'm just pointing it out. (Adding a short extension tube fixes that.)
Overall I'm very happy with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
February 4, 2014
By tjhsleepy
from Estero, FL
"The carrier is an excellent addition to transporting the overloads or items like bags of dirt that you can keep from causing a mess inside the vehicle. I used it recently for two full-size golf bags and secured with straps. The carrier does pivot on the hitch so balancing the load is necessary. The carrier is build well and should last for many years. I especially like the fold-up feature when not in use. I installed an extender hitch post so that whether the carrier is down or up, the back SUV back hatch door can be used without hitting the carrier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Good for some minivans

,
January 9, 2014
By blongtadave
from Chattanooga, TN
"I purchased this as well as a Hitch for our 04 Toyota Sienna. Due to the low hitch and extended pole on this product for folding, the end was about 2 in off the ground. We couldn't make it out of our driveway. I had to purchase a Hitch riser to make it work and even then it was still low. On my old mini van it would have worked but this one sits lower due to the fold in seats.
The product was easy to put together and seems well made, just understand that it sits out farther and lower than a regular hitch- haul device.
I would also suggest getting some reflective tape for the under side for times when you have it folded up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great price and solid

,
September 29, 2013
By avwood1
from Raleigh, NC
"I bought this on sale last night so I can take coolers out tailgating. It only took about 15 minutes to assemble and works great. You couldn't buy a better carrier for the price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cargo Hitch Carrier

,
September 17, 2013
By BCH1229
from Elk Rivet, MN
"Great product, sturdy and holds lots of weight. Recommend this product to friends."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought and installed in less than 30 minutes

,
September 8, 2013
By Jersey68
from Fort Mill
"So far so good. Well built and easy to install. Should work great for deer during deer season. Nice and strong it hold my big but without issues!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

JUST RIGHT

,
September 7, 2013
By Hdz1
from Pearsall TX
"picked this up to haul around a canopy, chairs, umbrellas, ice chest to the beach, river, and sporting events. now I have lots of room. this would make a great gift as well"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for cargo, great for stepping

,
April 24, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I bought this to go on the back of my lifted Jeep for hauling the overflow of cargo when we go on camping trips. It works well for that, holding our big cooler, tent and chairs and having a nice rail to latch everything to. When we're not camping, I leave it on to use as a step. Very easy to get into the lifted Jeep's back seat this way, stepping on it and then into the back of the Jeep."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cargo Carrier

,
October 21, 2012
By NCRockT
from Southern Pines, NC
"I purchased this unit to carry several Rubbermaid bins to a recent event. Assembly was very simple and it worked great with my Jeep Wrangler. The rack is light enough to easily install and remove, which is important since the spare tire on the Wrangler requires that the unit be removed before opening the tailgate (which I had known when I purchased the unit). The high side rails ensured the bins stayed in place with two cargo straps across the top and a couple of bungee cords to ensure the lids were snug. I plan to use it often to augment the cargo space in my Jeep."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
13out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect

,
August 13, 2012
By juronamous
from Colchester, CT
"I bought this to provide more storage space for a week long, 1400 mile round trip with 4 adults and a one year old. We have a Chevy Traverse so it held us all comfortably, but very little room for our stuff. This cargo carrier was the perfect size, and when coupled with the Ultra-Tow Cargo Carrier Storage Bag held all our stuff. The only down side to it is that our bumper is to large so the carrier cannot fold up when not in use. It is light enough though so it can be taken off when needed."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

,
July 23, 2012
By BDA1
from S.C
"Bought today, put together in 10 min. No problems with assembly. Will test it out later and give an update. Seems very well made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Handy Item

,
May 16, 2012
By Gharrism
from Central New Jersey
"This cargo carrier was a great purchase. I went back and forth whether or not to get one that folds or a fixed carrier and was very glad I selected this folding one. I first used it on my Nissan Rogue which required a hitch receiver extender to allow it to fold up, but now have a Murano that allows it to fold perfectly and still will not come in contact with the door. I use this carrier for long trips, short trips and picking up random things at the hardware store that I would rather not have in the actual cabin of the car. Really allows for much more cargo area without cutting down MPGs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Folding cargo carrier

,
October 10, 2011
By Faceman
from La Vergne,TN
"I bought this for my brother to place on his blazer. He really likes it except he said it really need more powder coat on the metal. It's starting to rust a little already. It works great for his needs though like hauling gas, garbage and so forth."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb.

,
June 5, 2011
By DonnyFry
from Thunder Bay, Canada
"I spent a day building my own version and realized that I couldn't compete with this product for the price so I bought one.
I am very happy with it, especially that it folds up nicely behind the car and for allot of things I don't have to bother with my trailer.
Great quality and sturdy. I highly recommend it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific product

,
May 23, 2011
By Misky
from Orlando, FL
"I've had mine over a year and we've used it numerous times.
What I think makes this superior to others is it's deeper
and the bottom really offers tons to spots to attach the
bungie cords.
We've hauled from FL to NC and it worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
March 30, 2011
By Secureman
from Minneapolis
"I really like the size of this cargo carrier. I can fit a large cooler and other gear on it and it's all accessible when we are stopped on road trips. I also like the taller side rails that help hold gear in place. I have a small garage and I use the fold up feature to leave it attached so its ready to go the next day. Not sure how we got by with out it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice rack

,
March 21, 2011
By muxie2
"very happy with thiscargo rack .Very sturdy yet light weight enough to remove without any help. got 2 1 for front and 1 for back of jeep wrangler great for cooler and totes that won't fit any place in a jeep."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb.

,
March 14, 2011
By BlueFin
from Northern Wisconsin
"...Missing PARTS. Damaged during Shipping... designed Poorly..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.