Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity

Item# 103183
Sturdy Ultra-Tow hitch-mounted carrier can handle up to 500 lbs. of cargo for your next family vacation or firewood run. Large 20in. x 60in. steel mesh floor and 6in. sides hold cargo securely in place. Heavy-duty, all-steel 5/8in. dia. tubular construction. Sturdy 2in. square tube has 14in. drawbar to mount carrier to 2in. Class 3 receiver hitch. Carrier folds up behind tailgate when not in use. Material Type Steel, Mount Type Receiver hitch, Platform Size L x W in. 60 x 20, Receiver Size in. 2 in. Class 3, Finish Type Powder-coat, Foldable Yes, Application Cargo carrier, Assembly Required Yes, Capacity lbs. 500. 500-lb. cargo capacity Easy to install, just bolt 2 pieces together Includes safety reflectors Zinc-plated steel with weather-resistant black powder-coat finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.553 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
34 of 38(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Review 1 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ease of assembly

,
September 10, 2014
By Plymouthman
from Connecticut
"Haven't been able to use this yet, but it was easy to assemble and fit onto the back of my travel trailer bumper
Easily.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item

,
September 4, 2014
By beringlis
from baltimore MD
"We love our cargo carrier. We have used it for the past month and have had no problems."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cargo Basket

,
August 29, 2014
By JBH19792
from Tomball, Tx
"Very easy product to put together, took about 5 minutes. Very sturdy product. I bought to use on an ATV but have already found it handy when the truck is overloaded and you need to fit that "one last item"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good for the Price

,
August 29, 2014
By Mule001
from Lancaster, PA
"Used it once. Loaded it heavily and drove a long distance. It worked very well. The tongue seemed too long so I drilled a new hole to pull it closer to the liftgate. Even with the new hole it could be safely folded up and it seemed more stable that way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb.

,
August 27, 2014
By klfcountry
from Texas
"Great product and great price. This is a well built carrier looks good and works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cargo carrier

,
August 13, 2014
By bravesfan
from west virginia
"great product work great gave extra room inside my vehicle"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Carrier for the Price!

,
August 12, 2014
By HappyTravels
from Atlanta, GA
"I recently purchased this carrier for a beach trip. It worked wonderfully! The folding capability is great. It can bounce a little if empty, but it was never an issue for us."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

National Park Vacation

,
July 31, 2014
By Hello2u
from Richmond, KY
"Drove 5680 miles, visited 19 states and 8 National Parks. The cargo carrier was perfect! No problems and worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble

,
June 14, 2014
By vlxcw1
from Ellensburg, Wa
"Easy to assemble. Rails are great to hook bungy cords to. A little heavy, so it's a 2 man job to intall. Great additional storage for the motorhome."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy cargo rack OK for veh. with clearance

,
June 11, 2014
By Cartozen
from Boulder, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Good design, sturdy. I used in on Prius with hitch adapter in its folded storage position and strapped water proof river boat bag to it and a bicycle. Seemed to be better option than a rocket box. It is not good for small cars in the fold-down position (the way its suppose to be used). SUV's & trucks likely will have no problem. vehicles with 1.25" hitches that need extension increase the no clearance to road surface when opened, let alone loaded! Suggest that manufacture offer an auxiliary 'z' extension to raise above hitch mount as an option."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rack

,
June 3, 2014
By CJnokomis
from Sarasota, fl
"Easy to put together. Sturdy construction. Looks like it will hold up. Exactly what I wanted and a great price. Wanted the fold up option especially when parking in the parking lot. Hope that it lasts for years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

STRONG UNIT & EASY ASSEMBLY

,
May 27, 2014
By LOOOSER
from Elk River, MN
"I INSTALLED THE UNIT ON THE UPPER TIER OF A DOUBLE RECEIVER HITCH ON MY MOTOR HOME. I THEN BUILT A RAMP UP TO IT & LOADED MY HONDA ELITE SCOOTER. IT HOLDS IT GREAT & SEEMS PLENTY STRONG ENOUGH. I ONLY WISH I WOULD HAVE KNOWN THEY HAVE A 50" ALUM CARGO HAULER ALSO. IT IS LIGHTER & RUST FREE. WORKED WELL FOR MY NEEDS."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A functional carrier

,
May 27, 2014
By AJBike
from CT
"We bought this carrier to move my daughter home from college and it worked great. Easy to assemble, easy to install and gave us more room in the car for the long trip."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good cargo carrier

,
May 23, 2014
By CLR55
from texas
"I needed a cargo carrier that was versatile enough to fold up when I needed to get into a tight space without removing it. This does that. Well constructed, easy to assemble and does what I need it to. And the price was better than what I found for comparable carriers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Almost a quality product, almost!

,
May 7, 2014
By DrSparky
from NM
"Well constructed and light weight so mounting and dismounting is easy. The hinge point however is the 'Achilles heel' because is allows over-extension of the joint under load. Therefore, the load angles the platform down almost a foot at the rearmost point. It only drags on the pavement when driving on uneven roads but I wonder if the weakness will worsen with use to the point the hinge fails. This engineering weakness sabotages what would otherwise be a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Addition

,
May 4, 2014
By rkf1953
from Vernon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great addition to your RV, truck or camper when you need to take all the extras that come along. Rack is made well and is easy to assemble."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb.

,
April 27, 2014
By Louiegi
from Dover AR
"Product is weak. Load must be centered. Product is also subject to side bend when even brushed against brush or any debre along the side of vehicle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
March 22, 2014
By Thane
from Fort Leavenworth, KS
"Needed to make some space for gear and my Honda CRV was getting pretty full. This carrier worked great for our recent trip to Colorado, allowed us to carry all our gear and no problems on the 1300 mile round trip.
Balancing our gear on it was easy (I had purchased a TrailerStar Products Poly Storage Chest Truck Box from this site which fit perfectly), and no worries.
It requires a 2inch hitch (our Honda has a 1 1/4), so I had to purchase a 1 1/4 to 2 inch converter.
Overall great product at a reasonable price, would recommend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent rack for price, some flaws.

,
February 8, 2014
By Rambohunter
from St. Bernard,LA
"Sturdy if load balanced or centered, mine has gap between one side & center tube, so it flexes if loaded on that side. It is painted except for inside the open ended tubing which is not, will have to paint somehow to prevent from rusting from inside out. Will change out pivot bolt with one that has a nylon insert locknut , paint, and figure out how to close the gap. Good rack, just needs a little help on getting 'right', but worth it at the sale price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra-Tow Premium Folding Cargo Carrier - 500-Lb. Load Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks good, works fine.

,
February 4, 2014
By Mark13
from Kansas
"Looks good mounted, very sturdy. Mesh bottom and taller rails around the edge offer more secure carrying.
Folding function is nice, but will only work if the face of your hitch is flush with the back of your vehicle. Some (mine included) are set back under the bumper a couple of inches, which prevents it from folding. That's not a product problem, obviously, I'm just pointing it out. (Adding a short extension tube fixes that.)
Overall I'm very happy with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.