Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"

"Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"

Item# 103732
"Heavy-duty salt spreader from Buyers Products lets you easily distribute salt or other free-flowing materials to make sidewalks safe in the winter. Spreader Type Broadcast, Spread Radius ft. Up to 6, Hopper Material Poly, Assembly Required Yes, Frame Construction Black powder-coat, Wheel Type Pneumatic, Wheel Size in. 13 x 4, Hopper Dimensions L x W in. 24 x 20, Load Capacity lbs. 100, Foldable No, Recommended Media Sand, salt/sand mix, free-flowing granular material, Adjustable Deflector Yes. Large pneumatic wheels push easily through snow and slush Flow regulator on handle Carbon steel axle Stainless steel gears Carbon steel linkage Includes hopper screen and poly rain cover"
Average Customer Rating:
3.575 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (40 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
9
28 of 40(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Review 1 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent title.

,
March 7, 2016
By
from Pittsburgh, Pa
Great product for the money. Have had $500.00 ones that only lasted one winter.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Thoughts on this....

,
February 12, 2016
By
from Palmyra, Pa
Unit was easy to assemble and operate. Used it twice so far and did a nice job. Making the the job of salting walks for the six schools in our district a little more enjoyable job. Bought this for myself to use, in hope that the School District will get one for each school.
Only thing,in single digit cold morning when unloading the spreader off the truck, make sure the hopper is empty or have help. The Plastic wheel hub cracked when it hit the pavement. Will see how easy it is to get replacement parts. I understand that the plastic will hold up better to the salt than steel, so be carefull. But all the other support staff are jealous.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salt spreader

,
February 7, 2016
By
from Bremerton, WA
We purchased 3 of these spreaders to test out. After several uses we find that these are a great working salt spreaders and have ordered 15 more. The only flaw we have found is that the set screw that holds the open gears together could be a bit bigger. However, once tightened they work great. We would highly recommend this salt spreader.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing on the market

,
January 28, 2016
By
from Illinois
This product was everything I expected. It spreads salt evenly. Easy to put together! It is just great! I wish more snow would fall so I can use it every day! I am thinking about buying another one so my wife can share the fun with me!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gears gets stuck

,
December 22, 2015
By
from PA
The Gears gets stuck. axle freezes after one winter due to no GREASE FITTINGS to grease up axle at end of winter.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
December 21, 2015
By
from New Hampshire
Easy to assembly. Has a large hopper and cover so salt does not get wet. Very easy to use and does an large area before it needs to be refilled
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional Spreader

,
November 19, 2015
By
from Western, MA
Immediately noticed the quality of construction, minor assembly gives a good review of how the spreader works. Waiting for the snow and ice to prove my thoughts of operation.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
December 4, 2014
By
from St. Louis, MO
this product is easy to use, works great, awesome product for good price
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

salt spreader

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Browning,Mt.
this has probably been the best salt spreader that I have bought. it is about 1 1/2 years old and it is holding up very well. I would buy it again. we use it all most daily in the winter to salt out handicap parking areas and the front walk so it gets a lot of use. what I like about it is that it has a screen in the bottom of the hopper to screen out chunks and it hold almost 150 lbs. of salt and the discharge is adjustable.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

trouble

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Clarksville,Tennessee
Got the product and was excited to have a good salt spreader. I have always went the cheapest way I could but I saw this was a num. One product so took a chance spent the money and lost. The wheels were locking up whenever I was going the mechanics of it keep catching. Not a good experience and now I get to look at it everyday in the garage. Don't recommend
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrated

,
January 19, 2014
By
from PA
Assembly was easy but first use was disappointing. Only one wheel is bolted to the axle allowing the spreader to always pull in that direction. When looking at the axle to see why it was pulling I found the one plastic wheel is cracked. So unfortunately not a good experience.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent spreader

,
December 22, 2013
By
from NH
Going on second year of use on driveway and parking lot of retail store. Works great with no problems. Does a nice job of spreading rock salt.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salt Spreader

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Midland, MI
Very nice product. Worth the money. Easy to operate and not bulky
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Good

,
December 18, 2012
By
from Cohoes NY
I bought my ice buster last year and had problems right from the start with the wheels jamming up and salt getting stuck up in the hopper. Even after repeated lubrcations It is still useless now as it has jammed up and the gear has broken. I would not recommend this product to anyone. It looks good but does not get the job done. Very diappointed.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great spreader

,
January 18, 2012
By
from Kankakee, IL
We have had this spreader for 3 years at our plant and it still works great! It just needs some minor maintanance because of salt corrosion. (washing and lubeing) We did not have enough area to justify a truck mounted spreader but way to much for a small spreader. This one can fit a bag and a half of salt. The only thing that can be a pain is when the salt is extra chuncky but that is an issue with any spreader. The wire mesh on top keeps the chunks from entering.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall good spreader for the money.

,
January 17, 2012
By
from Lower Burrell, PA
Spreader arrived quickly and undamaged. Assembly was not complicated and did not take long. The spreader has been in service commercially now for over a year and I am very happy with it. I used to use the cheaper smaller spreaders to try to save money. After wearing out three of them rather quickly it was time to upgrade. Overall good spreader for the money. I will buy another one eventually when this one wears out.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ice buster

,
January 17, 2012
By
from NH
Works well with salt as most spreaders. Very challenged spreading sand. Opening limits even flow.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so good spreader

,
December 29, 2011
By
from Bend, Oregon
Bought one of these last year. It has been a probelem right from the get go. The border gards really don't work. I have to string them up with bungee cords to hold them up for large area spreading. The unit is not terribly sturdy and needs frequent tightening. Now, after about 30 uses it is nearly useless as the gear unit jams repeatedly. My recommendation: Spend a few more bucks for better spreader. It looks good on the truck though.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need new after 3 winters

,
October 22, 2011
By
from Saint Marys, PA.
I received this as a birthday gift 3 winters ago. Looks like I need a new 1 for this winter season. Can not get unlock / unfrozen from the rust. Was a Excellent for 1st winter. Then down grading each winter after that.
NEED TO KEEP LUBRICATED SO RUST WILL NOT BUILD UP.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# IB100B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Brooklyn, NY
Used for snow . Spreader did work good. but you can not with rock salt. also i would use lock tight on all bolts to help it last.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.