Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader

Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader

Item# 103732
Heavy-duty salt spreader from Buyers Products lets you easily distribute salt or other free-flowing materials to make sidewalks safe in the winter. Hopper Dimensions L x W in. 24 x 20, Hopper Material Poly, Load Capacity lbs. 100, Assembly Required Yes, Foldable No, Spreader Type Broadcast, Adjustable Deflector Yes, Frame Construction Black powder-coat, Wheel Size in. 13 x 4, Wheel Type Pneumatic, Spread Radius ft. Up to 6, Recommended Media Sand, salt/sand mix, free-flowing granular material. Large pneumatic wheels push easily through snow and slush Flow regulator on handle Carbon steel axle Stainless steel gears Carbon steel linkage Includes hopper screen and poly rain cover
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
8
21 of 32(66%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Review 1 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

salt spreader

,
February 4, 2014
By d3854
from Browning,Mt.
"this has probably been the best salt spreader that I have bought. it is about 1 1/2 years old and it is holding up very well. I would buy it again. we use it all most daily in the winter to salt out handicap parking areas and the front walk so it gets a lot of use. what I like about it is that it has a screen in the bottom of the hopper to screen out chunks and it hold almost 150 lbs. of salt and the discharge is adjustable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

trouble

,
February 4, 2014
By bird33
from Clarksville,Tennessee
"Got the product and was excited to have a good salt spreader. I have always went the cheapest way I could but I saw this was a num. One product so took a chance spent the money and lost. The wheels were locking up whenever I was going the mechanics of it keep catching. Not a good experience and now I get to look at it everyday in the garage. Don't recommend"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrated

,
January 19, 2014
By JWF301
from PA
"Assembly was easy but first use was disappointing. Only one wheel is bolted to the axle allowing the spreader to always pull in that direction. When looking at the axle to see why it was pulling I found the one plastic wheel is cracked. So unfortunately not a good experience."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent spreader

,
December 22, 2013
By GMC55
from NH
"Going on second year of use on driveway and parking lot of retail store. Works great with no problems. Does a nice job of spreading rock salt."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salt Spreader

,
April 23, 2013
By DLM4961
from Midland, MI
"Very nice product. Worth the money. Easy to operate and not bulky"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Good

,
December 18, 2012
By Hens
from Cohoes NY
"I bought my ice buster last year and had problems right from the start with the wheels jamming up and salt getting stuck up in the hopper. Even after repeated lubrcations It is still useless now as it has jammed up and the gear has broken. I would not recommend this product to anyone. It looks good but does not get the job done. Very diappointed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great spreader

,
January 18, 2012
By MrSalty
from Kankakee, IL
"We have had this spreader for 3 years at our plant and it still works great! It just needs some minor maintanance because of salt corrosion. (washing and lubeing) We did not have enough area to justify a truck mounted spreader but way to much for a small spreader. This one can fit a bag and a half of salt. The only thing that can be a pain is when the salt is extra chuncky but that is an issue with any spreader. The wire mesh on top keeps the chunks from entering."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall good spreader for the money.

,
January 17, 2012
By retrotom
from Lower Burrell, PA
"Spreader arrived quickly and undamaged. Assembly was not complicated and did not take long. The spreader has been in service commercially now for over a year and I am very happy with it. I used to use the cheaper smaller spreaders to try to save money. After wearing out three of them rather quickly it was time to upgrade. Overall good spreader for the money. I will buy another one eventually when this one wears out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ice buster

,
January 17, 2012
By woods2
from NH
"Works well with salt as most spreaders. Very challenged spreading sand. Opening limits even flow."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so good spreader

,
December 29, 2011
By trombonedan
from Bend, Oregon
"Bought one of these last year. It has been a probelem right from the get go. The border gards really don't work. I have to string them up with bungee cords to hold them up for large area spreading. The unit is not terribly sturdy and needs frequent tightening. Now, after about 30 uses it is nearly useless as the gear unit jams repeatedly. My recommendation: Spend a few more bucks for better spreader. It looks good on the truck though."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need new after 3 winters

,
October 22, 2011
By SnowShoveling
from Saint Marys, PA.
"I received this as a birthday gift 3 winters ago. Looks like I need a new 1 for this winter season. Can not get unlock / unfrozen from the rust. Was a Excellent for 1st winter. Then down grading each winter after that.
NEED TO KEEP LUBRICATED SO RUST WILL NOT BUILD UP.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader

,
March 14, 2011
By stimpy
from Brooklyn, NY
"Used for snow . Spreader did work good. but you can not with rock salt. also i would use lock tight on all bolts to help it last."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work great

,
March 14, 2011
By IceBuster
from Wausau, WI
"this salter works very well, fully adjustable deflectors to put the salt where you want it, large capacity hopper allows you to do more work with less down time filling it with salt"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor product

,
January 31, 2011
By johnpl
"Would not recommend this product. Constantly not working for one reason or another ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

spreader not built for durability

,
January 23, 2011
By dirtdoctor
from cuba mo
"This is my second spreader I have purchased and they work fine for one season with moderate usage with only one 50 lb bag of ice melt, I wash my spreaders after each use and spray with lube to prevent rust, however I have had the gear housing strip out, the plastic retainers that hold the flow valve stripped out, also the flow valve linkage fell off . I feel for the money they are pricing for a one seson spreader"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

salt spreader

,
November 23, 2010
By cb14
from Chicago,il.
"Okay for a homeowner,clogs easily and too large to store in the off season.I like a handheld better."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Spreader

,
June 3, 2010
By spreaderman
from Maryland
"This is a good salt spreader. Works fine in cold weather unlike many lawn/garden spreaders that freeze-up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Spreader

,
February 19, 2010
By Frank418
from CT
"The spreader appeared to be top quality when it came out of the box. Not long into its first use, the arm that controls the amountof material to spread fell off. after that the left wheel of the unit continually locked up.That was the first use! After that storm we made some adjustments and lubed everything up.I used it myself the next storm and the wheel still locks up. worst part, I didnt buy 1 to try I bought 2!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
snowjob1
Phila,PA 
 
Please wait while more information about snowjob1 is loaded.
Additional information about snowjob1 could not be loaded.
owner
January 16, 2012
"I purchased 2 of these spreaders last year and found them to work very well. Have had many others in past with questionable results. It must be noted that you are working with salt and calcium products which are very corrosive to almost everything, with patience and diligent care on all snow and ice removal tools they will last several seasons, without that not much lasts past one or two."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a nice spreader

,
February 17, 2010
By Leary
from Indianapolis, IN
"The spreader arrived much sooner than promised, which was a real blessing, because I needed it as soon as it arrived. Assembly was fast and easy.
The spreader works as well as any other, which is to say that I'm pleased with its performance. What I'm really impressed by - what makes this spreader stand out - is the quality of its construction. If I had any criticism of it at all, it would be that the deflector rod brackets are of a thinner material than is found anywhere else on the spreader. This does not affect its performance at all. The brackets are entirely adequate for their purpose, and the only reason the brackets seem thin is because of the way the rest of the spreader is over-built.
I also appreciated the use of locking nuts instead of lock washers. We operate 2 spreaders, and I'll replace the older one with one of these when it finally quits working."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ice Buster Walk-Behind Salt Spreader
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spreader

,
February 15, 2010
By procut
from michigan
"Sprerader came on time , box looked like it fell off the truck,ups driver left his phone # so if I wanted to send it back.But it went together ok . The handle seems to be loose on the bolt that the customer has to install,I will likley install another bolt to stop handle from wobbling from side to side. Bagged salt doesnt flow as good as I had hoped it would you have to manually bounce it up and down to get salt to flow. But overall its ok for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.