Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"

"Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"

Item# 103870
"All-steel frame features a quick-detach for easy installation, and is powder coated to resist corrosion. Ideal for farming, hunting, landscaping or grounds maintenance. 12V battery wiring kit allows easy on/off control from driver's seat. Adjustable flow gate controls amount of material being spread. Includes all hardware for installation and use. Spreading Width ft. 8-20, Spread-able Material Game feed, fertilizer, seed, Spreader Type Broadcast, Volts 12, Walk or Pull Pull, Gallons 15, Hopper Material Polymer, Assembly Required Yes. Versatile, durable 15-gallon polymer hopper mounts right to the back of your ATV Multipurpose design lets you broadcast seed, fertilizer or game feed not for use with sand, salt or cinder Adjustable shut-off gate regulates amount dispersed Easy mount/dismount, quick-detach mounting bracket Rugged polymer hopper steel frame and components Powder-coat finish Heavy-duty design"
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 of 15(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Review 1 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good spreader for the money

,
June 8, 2015
By
from Wisconsin
" I was happy with the product and how well it worked for my spreading needs. I used it for spreading fertilizer on my small fields and it worked quite well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Use is good for spreading fertilizer

,
April 19, 2015
By
from Kansas
" This product worked good for spreading fertilizer but was not any good for spreading native grass seed such as Big Blue Stem, Indian Grass, Little Blue Stem and Side Oats Gamma, all Prairie Grass seed. The seed would not feed down through the openings in the bottom of the spreader and there is no agitator to help the seed drop.
I would not recommend this for broadcasting Tall Prairie Grass Seed in the High Plains.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV Spreader

,
March 3, 2015
By
from TN
" very good product...mounts easy and spreads great! What more is there to say. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV Spreader

,
October 14, 2012
By
from OKC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I'm impressed,with the atv speader i purchased. I spread 2000 lbs of winter wheat,a 1000 lbs of fertilizer,and it did'nt miss a beat.My feilds look awesome.Really looking forward to deer season now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Got the job done

,
October 9, 2012
By
from Okmulgee, Oklahoma 74447
" This summer all seven of the ponds on our cattle farm were almost dried up. Got dozer and track hoe to dig them out.
My 15 gallon ATV spreader went to work spreading
seed: Fescue, rye, clover on all the dams. Then
we came back and spread triple 13 granular fertilize
over the seed. Did a great job. No problems. Bolted
right up to the ATV 12 volt system.
Would like to have a multi speed control for broader
spread and perhaps some recomendations for a
setting from the company for the various seeds and
fertilizers. Had to experiment but it worked well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

hopper

,
July 13, 2009
By
" Even after the unit was mounted on the 4-wheeler rack, it was still very flimsy. I rebuilt the mounting brackets to make it much more sturdy, plus made it a quick detach assembly so it is much easier to put on the rack. "
-8points
8out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Speader Prolems

,
October 8, 2008
By
from Missouri
" This spreader mounted on the rear frame of my ATV and with the weight of the material tipped down the spreader at angle which dispersed the material downward not outward at the distance expected. It also blocked very easily with almost any clump. This made for a problem to clear with 50-100 lbs of material in the hopper. Used one very long weekend and it already started to corrode. Would not recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ATV Spreader

,
April 21, 2008
By
from Burlington WI
" Didn't mount right up to my Polaris Sportsman. I welded up a custom mount.
Used it to spread salt on the driveway. Worked great! Flow gate handle could be designed better. I also put side deflecters on to control width.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to use

,
April 15, 2008
By
from Pleasant Hope, MO
" The spreader was easy to assemble and worked as advertised. I used it to spread pelletized lime on my wildlife food plots. The only dislike was that there was no way to adjust the spread width, other than that its a great spreader. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buyers ATV Spreader

,
January 16, 2008
By
from Germantown, NY
" The spreader was very easy and quick to install. It works well. The only drawback is that it uses the sand up very quickly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV spreader

,
January 14, 2008
By
from Wallace, Idaho
" We use it to spread fertilizer and seed. It's ease of use makes it an ideal addition to our equipment loan out program to local landowners. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

,
October 30, 2007
By
from Vicksburg, MS
" Works great! We used at the deer camp to fertilize and seed our food plots. Was so much easier than a handheld spreader. Broadcast the seed and fertilizer both over a wider area. Really slung it out there! We used one in the past that didn't have enough support on the bucket holding the seed and the weight of the seed was too much so we would have to bunge cord it to give it more support. This seeder was designed different and had a metal band around the seed bucket which gives it much more support than one we previously used. Main thing is if using to fertilize be sure and wash out good and spray with wd40 or some type of good oil lubricant to keep metal parts from rusting. Awesome product and would recommend to anyone who owns a four wheeler and needs to plant ! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

ATV SPREDDER

,
July 14, 2007
By
from Lincoln Nebraska
" The spredder mount was built for a steel rack and didn't fit well with a composit rack . The ajustment rod for the flow not very good deal should have a cable can not have on or use with sprayer on atv. Will get better with practice. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super time saver!!

,
July 9, 2007
By
from Beaver, PA
" This spreader is priceless when it comes to saving time. I use it to fertilize & seed our pastures that are too steep or too small to manuever the large tractor in. Prior to buying the spreader, we had to do them with hand spreaders while walking.
With the the various adjustments for seed or fertilizer flow & the easy on-off hook-up to the atv it is a one-man operation, plus in the winter, it doubles as a salt-spreader for the driveway & access roads on the property. I get exactly the amount I want broadcast at a good distance with even coverage. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 15-Gallon Capacity, Model# ATVS15"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

polaris mounting

,
November 16, 2006
By
from Minneapolis Mn
" because of the rack on the rear of my wheeler i had to modify the mounting braket for it to sit parralel to the ground. otherwise it works fantastic "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.