Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B

SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B

Item# 1038751
For residential intermittent use only. For use with rock salt or calcium chloride. Not for use with sand. Ultra-smooth hopper interior allows material to flow through the gate, to the stainless steel-lined hopper throat providing an even flow of material without the need of expensive auger add-ons or vibration kits. Sealed ball bearing motor with in-cab on/off control. Frame Construction Steel, Hopper Dimensions H x W x D in. 30 x 21 x 19, Hopper Material Thermoplastic, Load Capacity lbs. 330, Adjustable Deflector Yes, Recommended Media Rock salt or calcium chloride, Spinner Material Poly, Spread Radius ft. 12-14, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, Volts 12, Mount Type Hitch, Overall Dimensions H x W x D in. 40 1/2 x 23 x 20 1/2. The adjustable spread path is designed for one-pass coverage of driveways and access roads Heavy-duty motor is housed in a sealed motor chamber Not for use with sand Includes 12V plug adapter
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
18 of 22(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Review 1 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

salt dog spreader

,
February 5, 2014
By stggcps
from Georgia
"Works great except with small material which continues to flow after the spreader is turned off because there is no gate that closes. You leave a trail as you turn around to make another pass."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the money.

,
October 15, 2012
By Hilguy101
from Borden, IN
"I bought the Salt Dogg Tailgate Salt Spreader at the beginning of the season last year. The assembly was very straight forward and relatively simple. I was taken by the heavy-duty attributes of all of the hardware..., attaching bolts, etc. I used it three times last season on the private road leading to my home that has some very steep hils. This equipment was very easy to operate and did the job wonderfully. Because of the smaller size of the unit, I am able to install and remove it by myself. I would highly recommend it to the private user. it does what it was designed to do.
steve
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great speader.

,
June 13, 2011
By sauce1
from Kansas City, MO
"I use this spreader to treat parking lots. I used it a full season and it performed as I expected. The assembly was a little time consuming but not difficult. It operates easily and dependably. Does not work well with small material because it will fall through. The controls are easily operated and very handy to have in the cab. Easy to mount in the receiver, fill, and with the tilt down feature it can be moved out of the way when needed. Someone put some thought into the design."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the best but works.

,
December 6, 2010
By Anonymous
from Newport, MN
"Used only a few times during 09-10 season. Works well with bagged dry rock salt. Most definetly wont work with bulk salt. Sold it this year and upgraded to a commercial grade tailgate spreader."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spreader

,
June 6, 2010
By waynev
from dunellen nj
"spreader works great year after year
the controler not the best but useable
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader

,
March 5, 2010
By BBury
from burnsvilee, mn
"Takes the work out of spreading salt! Easy to install on the back of the Jeep. Spreads uniformly"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's Junk

,
February 16, 2010
By Delphiwiz
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Salt constantly gets stuck
Motor has failed 2 times in a year
Ice forms in the gate opening requiring a lot of cleanup
Totally dissapointed"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spreader

,
February 15, 2010
By lightning
from thousand islands new york
"I needed this product as i sold my tractor with 3 point hitch mounted speader,it is light weight to handle and does the job,could use remote opening door to release salt,i would recomend this for the homeowner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Salt Leaks

,
January 10, 2010
By Arrowthrower
"It will not hold the salt in the spreader. If you put a bag in there you better plan on using the whole thing. I remove salt commercially and this spreader is junk. I don't recommend."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Owner of Salt Dog sander

,
January 7, 2010
By Anonymous
from Maine
"I bought this sander in the fall and did not use it until December 2009. The first snow storm we had I filled it up with rock salt. The rock salt would not slide to the auger and would not spread out of the container. I had to hit the side of the container to get the salt to spread. I then bought a vibrator for the salt dog. I then filled the salt dog with rock salt and drove to my parking lot to salt the parking lot. The salt settled down around the auger and when I tried to turn on the salt dog it blew out the fuse, so I could not spread the salt. I did not have a spare fuse so I spread the salt by hand. I then went home a replaced the blown fuse and tryed to start the salt dog with no salt in it and it just kept blowing the fuse. A piece of junk."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
July 22, 2009
By MaintSuperinIN
from Portage, IN
"This spreader was exactly as it said, and worked just as well.
I didn't need the big ones, and I needed more than a bucket of salt, and it still held more salt than I need at a time.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very flexible salt spreader

,
March 16, 2009
By Brett58
from Kansas City, Mo
"The swing down (at the hitch point) feature of this spreader makes it really convenient.
Easy to get bags of salt out of the back of our Suburban and refill without major hassle.
The assembly and installation was a snap as well.
The wired remote had plenty of length to reach all the way to the cigarette lighter up front for easy on and off while driving.
The unique design stops the flow of salt even when open as long as the motor switch was off.
The adjustable flow control allowed me to set the flow rate depending upon the need of the day.
We have a 1/2 mile long driveway with lots of steep areas and have to keep it clear or off into the gulley we would go. This capable tool has made our winter driveway clearing a breeze.
Brett"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

rock salt spreader

,
December 15, 2008
By logs
from Bromley,Ky
"I am disappointed, I only had this for 3 years and the motor is out which to replace it will cost me $170.00. I was expecting a lot longer use out of this unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spreader

,
November 19, 2008
By carter115
from Iowa
"Works well once you get it set the way you want, paid for itself quickly. Keep your ice melt very dry or will clog. I am satisfied with the product for the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best buy

,
April 15, 2008
By jenninri111
"this is an excellent buy i searched around for the best price and this was it sound construction excellent coverage no more slipping and flling or breaking my back i just load my truck and go!!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

,
April 14, 2008
By Zachary
from Northern, NY
"Apparently you need to have really clean, dry sand. I have thousands of tons of sand here that won't work, it packs in the bottom and won't feed down to the spreader. When I use clean sand that you buy in a bag it works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great but not perfect

,
January 16, 2008
By mclimo
from South of Boston, MA
"I was worried after I bought this that it wasn't going to meet my needs. I was wrong and the spreader is better than expected!
This is not a spreader for the pro's but great for home use. The flow gate is manual controlled and that is one of this machines down falls. Depending on the material in the hopper, a lot is wasted getting out of the truck, opening the gate, and then getting back in the truck. Not sure if it's worth the $200+ for remote control, but that it for you to decide.
I was really concerned that the spinner was going to be metal and would rust. Very surprised when I opened the box and found that it was plastic - so that won't be a problem.
Very easy to assemble, did it myself in about 45 minutes. Instructions could be a little clearer, I assembled mostly off the diagrams.
Can't beat the price! People are selling these on auction sites for $50-$100 more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By BML47
from MIDDLETOWN, NEW YORK
"WORKS GREAT, I HAVE A 800 FT DRIVEWAY AND SPREADS SAND PERFECT. THIS WAS VERY EASY TO INSTALL"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit

,
January 11, 2008
By HPRS
from Michigan
"This is a great unit for the price. It works great for my business and my personal use. Wish it had a speed control and cab adjust for spreader chute but hey, for the price it is a great unit and I would highly recommend it as well as Northern Tool for all your needs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SaltDogg SUV Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUV1B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
November 1, 2007
By MYVETT
from OHIO
"i do small parking lots and also large ones this spreader does a great job and it is easy to operate .i would reconmend it to any one starting out ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.