Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"

"SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"

Item# 1038752
"Light commercial duty. Ideal for driveways and small parking lots. Heavy-duty sealed ball-bearing motor with in-cab variable speed control and direct-to-battery wire harness. Ultra-smooth hopper interior and auger fight material bridging by channeling it to the stainless steel-lined hopper throat providing an even flow of material without the need of expensive auger add-ons or vibration kits. Not for use with sand. Mounting Hardware Included Yes, Spread Radius ft. Up to 30, Spinner Material Poly, Frame Construction Steel, Variable Speed Yes, Overall Dimensions H x W x D in. 45 x 24 x 22, Volts 12, Recommended Media Salt, Hopper Material Thermoplastic, Load Capacity lbs. 300, Mount Type Hitch. Fold-away feature - simply release hitch pin and spreader folds away for easy access to rear door or tailgate Not for use with sand"
Average Customer Rating:
3.926 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 of 27(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Review 1 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tailgate spreader

,
December 20, 2015
By
from Seattle, WA
This product is very good quality. Assembly was easy enough and the wiring wasn't too difficult. We're using it to throw granular ice melt and it does okay with that.
The only issue we had was the plug in connections at the hitch are both black and if the unit is plugged in incorrectly, the motor will run backwards. We painted one of the lines white for ease of getting it right in low light.
Overall, quality construction and a reasonable price make this product a good buy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little speader

,
November 16, 2015
By
from Ofallon MO
I bought this spreader last year for our company. We plow 2 lots and we didn't have one prior to this. We just used a push behind spreader. And our Lots are big!. I was a pain in the rear, I would take about 3-4 hours to salt our 2 lots. I read the reviews prior to this and was a little concerned with some of them that I read, but took a gamble. I am glad that I like to gamble. the unit did not come put together. Which wasn't a big deal, look at the price! It took about 30min. to put together and about 3 hours to wire it into the truck. It has been sitting since last winter with salt still in it, which I chewed my employees for do this and not a lick of rust yet. WOW! My previous jobs I have used Meyers, Western, ETC. I am amazed how well this it holding up. I gave it a 4 because of the salt that does build up around the back of the thrower and the shield, but when I am done using the spreader I just knock off the salt and I am done. I do not clean my equipment but 1 time a year after I am completely done using it. So for the price you cant beat it. Just make sure you know what you are doing before you go and buy a spreader, this unit is almost half the price of that name brand spreader. I was looking at some of them and make sure that they come with a controller so you can throw as much or as little salt as you want.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salt Dog pro spreader

,
October 19, 2015
By
from Central KY
Spreader arrived within three days of ordering. Installed on a 1500 Silverado pickup, salt spreader is well made and easy to install with a few hand tools. Took less than two hours to assemble and install, however make sure all is correct before ever putting a wrench on a bolt to tighten up because if a bolt is in the wrong place or you need to take it loose, forget it it will break before the nut will loosen up. Can't wait till the snow flies! Northern tool is the place with quality products at the cheapest prices. I saved $700.00 on this unit by ordering thru northern tool instead of purchasing locally so was a little skeptical. WAY TO GO NORTHERN TOOL! Keep up the outstanding work!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but not great

,
February 13, 2015
By
from chicago
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
holes didn't line up to install bolts but nothing a handyman cant make work. I had to cut a inch off of bottom of hopper so holes would line up on back of hopper. even after cutting I had to drill new holes. its no bid deal. I found a lot of salt falling on my bumper after a night of salting so I made a rubber shield. and added 2 27w round led flood lights to better control salt spread. no more salt on bumper and much less wasted salt. I used the vibrator wires at salter and cut wires in cab and ran to a switch and led on plow controller . this salter works good but it does ride low and can be damaged by frozen snow.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saltDogg speader

,
February 8, 2015
By
from Pontiac MI
This saltDogg works like a champ. It throws the salt just where I want it to go. I LIKE, I LIKE
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Salt Dog salter

,
December 15, 2014
By
from MI
assembled quickly
other than hardware missing
works well for small low volume applications
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Salt Dog Salt Spreader

,
December 10, 2014
By
from Texas
We salt commercial parking lots and various locations across town during times of icy road conditions. The product worked great. The speed setting worked great on the Controller.It ranges from 0 being off and 9 being max speed. 9 was way to fast for what I was doing. I spread about 240 lbs of ice melt in 3 minutes on that setting. I did carry a can of the spray liquid deicer because traveling from location to location I would get ice build up on the spinner and it would not start sometimes. I would de ice it and it would work great. The hopper left no spare product and all product feed right to the auger. I wished the hopper had a hinge on one side of the lid. Especially when the wind is blowing 20 mph. Be nice not to have to chase it around if it blows off while you are filing it. We drove 60 MPH on the hi-way to a few locations with no problems. As the tie downs wear I may secure it with another strap when I'm driving just to be safe. I have a four door long bed truck. The wiring harness was a little short of going from the tailgate under the truck and back through the fire wall. I had to re-rout back under the cab and come through the back and down the rocker panels and then under the dash to the controller. It took me about 4 hours to install. All the parts where there and the instructions told you what to do. They could be better though. I used a heavy duty zip ties for under the chassis to hold everything. The kit does not include these. All in all we loved the product. What was taking 6 guys 17 hours to do, three guys did in 4 hours. Much easier and faster.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Salt Dogg Spreader

,
November 10, 2014
By
from PA
Great salt spreader. Shipped quickly and was easy to install. The plastic hopper arrived cracked, but still usable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SaltDogg # TGSUVPROA

,
February 6, 2014
By
from Weston, WV
Unit is very well made, and was easy to assemble. It took me only 45 minutes to put it together, everything was there. Assembly instructions were very though. It seems to me the spreader is very heavy duty, and should do a good job. I installed the unit on my Kubota RTV. We have a long asphalt driveway, so the next heavy ice storm we will see.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little salter

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Minnesota
Easy assembly. Does what it says
Pro's - Quick, easy access to salter
Con-Need to use rock salt or it will pour out as you add
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tailgate spreader

,
January 16, 2012
By
from thousand islands new york
I have had this spreader for 2 years, used it on my tahoe as i have a paved drive way with a hill,works great,now using it on my side by side,(helps weight it down for traction)no problems so far as i have lots of hours using the spreader.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

SALT SPREADER

,
January 16, 2012
By
from JERSEY SHORE, PA
THE SPREADER CONTINUES TO GET CLOGGED. YOU CAN IMAGINE HOW MUCH OF A PAIN IT IS WHEN THIS HAPPENS. YOU LITERALLY HAVE TO SHOVEL IT ALL BACK OUT. IT ALSO HANGS TO LOW TO THE GROUND ON A STANDARD 1500 TRUCK. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT. ALSO IT IS WAY OVERPRICED FOR THE QUALITY YOU RECEIVE
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bang 4 your Buck

,
March 21, 2011
By
from Plymouth,WI
This spreader works great & is very easy to take on and off the truck. Unit is compact and very easy to service.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tailgate salt spreader

,
March 14, 2011
By
The salt spreader was easy to assemble and connect to electrical system. I have a 1,600 foot hilly driveway, and this spreader met my expectations for ease of use anddistributing the salt evenly. I can load up 6 to 7 bags of salt in the hopper and with the speed on "3", have an even spread of salt across the entire length and 12 foot wide driveway. At approx. 75 lbs. the spreader can be easily taken on/off from the receiver hitch. With the exception to a few times when the controller indicates a fault, this spreader has been very reliable. The variable speed is a huge plus. The hopper / spreader have not clogged on me at all, which is a relief since several friends have unpleasant experiences with spreaders they had purchased. Although is is only one season, the snow/ice during winter of 2010-2011 was brutal, and I am very pleased with how this spreader performed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Salt Spredder Value Now & Next Year

,
November 23, 2010
By
from Tishomingo, OK
We bought seven of these last year to install on our Superminitrucks for parking lot winter maintenance . They worked out so well that we bought another couple this year. We install & sell these on our fleet vehicles of which we sell to our corporate accounts. We have had very little to non problems with these units & that is a blessing when you are reselling. For the money I have not found a better unit & will continue to purchase these models, Both Northern Tool & Buyers have been very helpful in all regards to any issues we or or customers have had. Service after the sale is always to be considered when making a purchase, & when you get the best deal & the service as well , it is a no brainer.
Mike FHTC
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

DRDIRT

,
November 16, 2010
By
from ASHEVILLE NC
IT WAS EASY TO PUT TOGETHER ONLY TOOK ABOUT 2 HRS. TO PUT TOGETHER AND WIRE ON THE TRUCK LOOKS TO BE WORTH THE MONEY JUST WAITING ON THE SNOW
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the price for small-med properties

,
August 30, 2010
By
from PA
We used this salter last year on our self storage facility, we have about 1 mile of drive aisles and roadway. Had to fill the hopper 2-3 times depending on the coverage we wanted. Slower speeds work better unless you are moving fast. The burst feature is very handy when you want to drop extra salt on a hill.
If you are plowing i recommend removing the salter as it tends to bounce around, also if you happen to back it into a snow mound you may have to re adjust the spread deflectors.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fair for the price

,
February 16, 2010
By
from Western Pa
The spreader works fair for the price. I would not recommend it for a large lot or put a full hopper of salt. It seems to work Ok but it would be better if you could control the rate of salt. At lower speeds it doesn't broad cast very far but the salt lasts longer. If you speed it up to broad cast wider it will chew through salt in a hurry because the auger runs at the same speed as the spreader. The hook up part was easy and had plenty of wire for my full size truck.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent spreader

,
December 15, 2009
By
from North Jersey
Purchased this spreader last Dec, and will only work with halite rock salt, anything else either clogs, or binds up. Very important to keep dry, or it will bind up. Able to load 7-8 50lbs bags in it. Motor recently starting giving me problems 12/5/09 and talked to distrubutor and he told me he would replce the motor at no cost, thank god. I read some reviews where some people complained about it not spreading more then 7ft.. You have to adjust the metal plates behind auger, spread them out wider and it will throw salt 30 ft, no problem. I also recommend using a tarp to cover your entire tailgate and past the rear bumper, so you keep salt off your truck and protect it. I use a 10x12 tarp and a pro-net where I tuck the tarp in between net and tail gate so it doesn't blow out of the truck, then just pull tarp out and down and cover entire rear of truck (past bumper) this way no salt will get on your trucks rear anywhere. I also use fluid film and lithium grease and apply generously to the motor each time before going out plowing, so that motor stays protected. Then clean entire spreader with warm water and dish soap, to get all of the salt residue off.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Salt Spreader

,
July 20, 2009
By
from Ohio
I purchased this unit for doing small parking lots and driveways, Overall performance has been Good, I used the mounting hardware that came with the unit but had to made some custom brackets so I could use it on my dump truck tailgate, the bolts that came with it was the only problem I had because iI bolted a couple parts together and then needed to remove but it wasnt possible without breaking the bolts, Also the variable speed controller dosent work to good.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.