Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA

SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA

Item# 1038752
Light commercial duty. Ideal for driveways and small parking lots. Heavy-duty sealed ball-bearing motor with in-cab variable speed control and direct-to-battery wire harness. Ultra-smooth hopper interior and auger fight material bridging by channeling it to the stainless steel-lined hopper throat providing an even flow of material without the need of expensive auger add-ons or vibration kits. Not for use with sand. Recommended Media Salt, Spinner Material Poly, Spread Radius ft. Up to 30, Variable Speed Yes, Volts 12, Overall Dimensions H x W x D in. 45 x 24 x 22, Hopper Material Thermoplastic, Load Capacity lbs. 300, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, Mount Type Hitch, Frame Construction Powder-coat steel. Fold-away feature - simply release hitch pin and spreader folds away for easy access to rear door or tailgate Not for use with sand
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
16 of 19(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Review 1 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SaltDogg # TGSUVPROA

,
February 6, 2014
By yonder
from Weston, WV
"Unit is very well made, and was easy to assemble. It took me only 45 minutes to put it together, everything was there. Assembly instructions were very though. It seems to me the spreader is very heavy duty, and should do a good job. I installed the unit on my Kubota RTV. We have a long asphalt driveway, so the next heavy ice storm we will see."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little salter

,
September 17, 2013
By Jake14
from Minnesota
"Easy assembly. Does what it says
Pro's - Quick, easy access to salter
Con-Need to use rock salt or it will pour out as you add
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tailgate spreader

,
January 16, 2012
By lightning
from thousand islands new york
"I have had this spreader for 2 years, used it on my tahoe as i have a paved drive way with a hill,works great,now using it on my side by side,(helps weight it down for traction)no problems so far as i have lots of hours using the spreader."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

SALT SPREADER

,
January 16, 2012
By CPLJOE
from JERSEY SHORE, PA
"THE SPREADER CONTINUES TO GET CLOGGED. YOU CAN IMAGINE HOW MUCH OF A PAIN IT IS WHEN THIS HAPPENS. YOU LITERALLY HAVE TO SHOVEL IT ALL BACK OUT. IT ALSO HANGS TO LOW TO THE GROUND ON A STANDARD 1500 TRUCK. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT. ALSO IT IS WAY OVERPRICED FOR THE QUALITY YOU RECEIVE"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bang 4 your Buck

,
March 21, 2011
By Dot68
from Plymouth,WI
"This spreader works great & is very easy to take on and off the truck. Unit is compact and very easy to service."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tailgate salt spreader

,
March 14, 2011
By CRvineyard
"The salt spreader was easy to assemble and connect to electrical system. I have a 1,600 foot hilly driveway, and this spreader met my expectations for ease of use anddistributing the salt evenly. I can load up 6 to 7 bags of salt in the hopper and with the speed on "3", have an even spread of salt across the entire length and 12 foot wide driveway. At approx. 75 lbs. the spreader can be easily taken on/off from the receiver hitch. With the exception to a few times when the controller indicates a fault, this spreader has been very reliable. The variable speed is a huge plus. The hopper / spreader have not clogged on me at all, which is a relief since several friends have unpleasant experiences with spreaders they had purchased. Although is is only one season, the snow/ice during winter of 2010-2011 was brutal, and I am very pleased with how this spreader performed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Salt Spredder Value Now & Next Year

,
November 23, 2010
By okmoocow
from Tishomingo, OK
"We bought seven of these last year to install on our Superminitrucks for parking lot winter maintenance . They worked out so well that we bought another couple this year. We install & sell these on our fleet vehicles of which we sell to our corporate accounts. We have had very little to non problems with these units & that is a blessing when you are reselling. For the money I have not found a better unit & will continue to purchase these models, Both Northern Tool & Buyers have been very helpful in all regards to any issues we or or customers have had. Service after the sale is always to be considered when making a purchase, & when you get the best deal & the service as well , it is a no brainer.
Mike FHTC
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

DRDIRT

,
November 16, 2010
By DRPLOW
from ASHEVILLE NC
"IT WAS EASY TO PUT TOGETHER ONLY TOOK ABOUT 2 HRS. TO PUT TOGETHER AND WIRE ON THE TRUCK LOOKS TO BE WORTH THE MONEY JUST WAITING ON THE SNOW"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the price for small-med properties

,
August 30, 2010
By Anonymous
from PA
"We used this salter last year on our self storage facility, we have about 1 mile of drive aisles and roadway. Had to fill the hopper 2-3 times depending on the coverage we wanted. Slower speeds work better unless you are moving fast. The burst feature is very handy when you want to drop extra salt on a hill.
If you are plowing i recommend removing the salter as it tends to bounce around, also if you happen to back it into a snow mound you may have to re adjust the spread deflectors.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fair for the price

,
February 16, 2010
By rldcon
from Western Pa
"The spreader works fair for the price. I would not recommend it for a large lot or put a full hopper of salt. It seems to work Ok but it would be better if you could control the rate of salt. At lower speeds it doesn't broad cast very far but the salt lasts longer. If you speed it up to broad cast wider it will chew through salt in a hurry because the auger runs at the same speed as the spreader. The hook up part was easy and had plenty of wire for my full size truck."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent spreader

,
December 15, 2009
By NATAS
from North Jersey
"Purchased this spreader last Dec, and will only work with halite rock salt, anything else either clogs, or binds up. Very important to keep dry, or it will bind up. Able to load 7-8 50lbs bags in it. Motor recently starting giving me problems 12/5/09 and talked to distrubutor and he told me he would replce the motor at no cost, thank god. I read some reviews where some people complained about it not spreading more then 7ft.. You have to adjust the metal plates behind auger, spread them out wider and it will throw salt 30 ft, no problem. I also recommend using a tarp to cover your entire tailgate and past the rear bumper, so you keep salt off your truck and protect it. I use a 10x12 tarp and a pro-net where I tuck the tarp in between net and tail gate so it doesn't blow out of the truck, then just pull tarp out and down and cover entire rear of truck (past bumper) this way no salt will get on your trucks rear anywhere. I also use fluid film and lithium grease and apply generously to the motor each time before going out plowing, so that motor stays protected. Then clean entire spreader with warm water and dish soap, to get all of the salt residue off."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Salt Spreader

,
July 20, 2009
By 0000000
from Ohio
"I purchased this unit for doing small parking lots and driveways, Overall performance has been Good, I used the mounting hardware that came with the unit but had to made some custom brackets so I could use it on my dump truck tailgate, the bolts that came with it was the only problem I had because iI bolted a couple parts together and then needed to remove but it wasnt possible without breaking the bolts, Also the variable speed controller dosent work to good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buyers tailgate Spreader works Great!

,
April 21, 2008
By msr5
from MIlwaukee ,WI
"I used this tailgate spreader all of this harsh Wisconsin winter. It worked very well. We have other trucks with different commercial spreaders on them. This Buyers unit did a very comparable job to units costing three times as much. I used it for sidewalks and small apartment parking lots. No problems with binding up at all. Nice spread coverage as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Spreadin' the news!!

,
April 14, 2008
By Westernflyer
from Ickesburg, PA
"The Buyers HD Pro Tailgate Salt Spreader was a little more complicated to hook up than I had expected, but after getting it wired up and assembled it was well worth it. The control box is easy to understand and the spreader itself worked great for what I had gotten it for. My only regret is that we didn't have more icy conditions so I could use it more. I'm looking forward to next winter already!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SALTER

,
February 5, 2008
By JOHN000
from TORONTO ONTARIO
"BOUGHT THIS ITEM 2 YEARS AGO. GREAT FOR MY 900 FOOT DRIVE & PARKING LOT. YES I USE BAGGED SALT & FILL TO TOP WITH 320 LBS. OF SALT. THE CONTROLLER HAS BOOSTER TO COVER LARGE AREA, THEN BACK TO REGULAR FEED. I HAVE TO WATCH FOR LARGE CLUMPS OF SALT BUT SMALL ONES BROKEN BY SPREADER. THIS IS A VAST CHANGE FROM HOW I USED TO HAND APPLY SALT, PRICE WAS EXCELLANT. NO MECH. PROBLEMS AFTER 2 YEARS USE. I JUST ATTACH TO MY SUV PLUG IN & GO. I THANK NORTHERN FOR THIS PRODUCT & WILL CONTINUE TO USE"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salt Spreader

,
January 14, 2008
By EPAR
from Cropseyville, NY
"Easy installation and excellent directions. Have a plowing business and am very satisfied with the ease of operation and dependability."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyers Heavy- Duty Tailgate Salt Spreader

,
January 14, 2008
By Bloomfield
from Bloomfield, NY
"I really like the idea of this unit and it's price but when it came time to use it i was very disappointed. This unit is suppose to be able to spread up to 30 feet and it would be very lucky to spread 7 ft. I think this product needs to be evaluted a little better. The unit was very easy to install and use but it just doesn't do what the add says. Not only that but anything over 100lbs in the hopper would cause it to bind up and jam."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mediocre at best

,
December 31, 2007
By Waltron
from Twin Cities, Minnesota
"This spreader is by no means works with #1 rock salt or similar sized material like the box says. The only think I have found that this will successfully spread is the expensive dry, bagged salt. Any moisture and you're dead in the water. Needs some sort of vibrator to shake and agitate the contents. If someone sits in the bed and shakes the hopper back and forth, you're in business. The controller is nicely designed, easy to install directions. The wire included is too short to be effective on any fullsize truck. There is not enough wire to make it from the cab to the spreader, and 10 feet too much from the battery to the cab. If you don't mind spending $50 every time you fill the spreader, it's for you. All in all, mediocre at best."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SaltDogg Heavy-Duty Professional Tailgate Salt Spreader, Model# TGSUVPROA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tailgate Salt Spreader

,
March 6, 2007
By Anonymous
from Kansas City, Mo.
"I have a 250 car parking lot that I used this spreader on during at least 5 snow storms this winter. This spreader was easy to install on my pickup and very easy to take on and off. It functions well, is easy to load and holds 300 lbs. of salt. It also has a wide spread pattern that kept the usage of salt to a minimum. I would recommend this unit to anyone looking for a spreader for a small to mid-size parking lot. Thank you NORTHERN TOOL!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.