Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506

Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506

Item# 1053
The Concentric/Haldex 2-stage pump can give you faster cycle times and higher possible pressure with a small engine. Excellent for use on log splitters. 85 efficient. GPM 2.9, 13.6, Material Cast iron, Weight lbs. 10, Stage 2, Usage Open center hydraulic systems, Max. PSI 3,000, Rotations Per Minute 3,600, Shaft Diameter in. 1/2, Shaft Type Straight keyed. GPM 13.6 Shaft 1/2in. Inlet 1in. Outlet 1/2in. NPT Minimum 6 HP or larger gas engine, direct drive only For use with open center hydraulic systems 1st Stage 13.6 GPM@650 PSI 2nd Stage 2.9 GPM@2500 PSI Maximum Pressure 3000 PSI Bolt Circle 2.83in. 4 holes spaced 2in. on center Hole Diameter 344in. Shaft Size 1/2in. x 1 1/2in. Woodruff Key 1/8in. Rotation Clockwise
Average Customer Rating:
4.963 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 27(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Review 1 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPER STRONG PUMP

,
July 15, 2014
By TractorMike
from Harrah Ok.
"We have been using this pump for 2 seasons on our custom built log splitter ( about 75 ricks per season) without a problem. It is strong,smooth and fast with it's 2 stage set up.Very pleased with it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Performance

,
April 23, 2014
By caenative
from Chapin, SC
"Exact replacement fit. Easy installation. Flawless initial startup. Performs very well. Recommend this pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it

,
January 16, 2014
By mrpilotron
from Nebraska
"I just replaced the aging pump on a Yardman 27 ton log splitter that was so worn out it wouldn't split anything bigger than 4 inch diameter. The Yardman part number had been discontinued and replaced with another part number that had similar specs (11GPM). I found that part available several places online for between $371 and $768. I compared the photos to the photos here at Northern Tool and it looked like the exact same pump. I opted for a slight upgrade by going for this 13 GPM pump because the 11GPM pump from Northern Tool uses a 3/4" inlet port and the old pump uses a 1" inlet. This 13 GPM pump had the required 1" inlet port which made installation a bit easier, but I'm not sure I did myself a favor since this pump is a bit too big for my little 5hp motor. It pushes the ram a little faster, but it also requires a bit more oomph from the engine. If I run into a very thick log, I have to bump the lever a few times to keep from killing the engine. That's what I get for using a pump that's rated for 6 hp on a 5 hp engine. It still works great and once I figured out to bump the lever a few times, I think it actually splits faster due to the higher flow when not loaded. As far as fit is concerned, the old pump used long bolts that go all the way through the pump housing. This pump uses short bolts that just clamp the flange. All the holes lined up perfectly and the only thing I had to change was using shorter 1.5" bolts. I also had to purchase a new half coupling with a half-inch diameter hole (conveniently also sold by Northern) because the old one had a 7/16 hole. Also, the old pump had an O-ring style output port where this pump uses pipe thread. I found that the O-ring adapter that came off the old pump actually works on the new pump, but the threads are a bit loose. I'm planning to replace it with the proper fitting one of these days, but for now it's working without leaks.
Bottom line: This pump was very easy to adapt into my old log splitter and saved me a boatload of money over buying the "correct" pump from the normal channels."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent spilter pump

,
September 18, 2013
By 45ton
from Minnesota
"This is a great pump for a spilter. It will push through any wood you have. I run a 10 hp on the pump with a 6 inch diameter cylinder and a 14 inch high wedge this pump never let me down highly recommend it for a spilter pump"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic pump

,
October 14, 2012
By chibear5434
from Poplar, WI.
"I just replace a single stage pump in my wood splitter with this pump and I can't believe the difference. I can split wood with big knots and it just pushes it through. I am vary pleased with this pump and would recommend it to anyone that wants to get the job done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

,
January 16, 2012
By woodpigs
from Lake Tahoe, NV.
"I purchased one, to replace my old log splitter pump.
My old pump had the same mount holes, so I only spent 15 minutes to replace the whole thing. With a Honda 5 HP engine it runs GREAT. After a year+ & over 25 Cords it runs like new!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

haldex hydraulic pump

,
January 9, 2012
By mike43
from new buffalo michigan
"i orderd the 13.6 gpm 2 stage pump with the help of a customer assistance personal and got the right one and have had very good luck with this pump it gave me the right gpms that was needed to run my log spliterand it was a direct fit for the one that i was replacing"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hydraulic Pump

,
January 9, 2012
By Rollo
from Portola, CA
"We purchased this pump for our woodsplitter. It works great! We split 7 cords of wood in two days without a problem. We also purchased the hydraulic ram and we will be purchasing a new 10 gallon tank this year. Northern has been our "go to" company for a variety of items over the years. Thanks for providing excellent products and service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Log Splitter

,
October 11, 2011
By RexAllan
from Colorado
"I bought this pump to replace a somewhat smaller pump on a burned-up log splitter I've been restoring, even though the manufacturer told me it was too much pump for the Briggs 675 engine I was running. As it turns out, the Briggs runs it without any trouble, even at 7,000 feet. The trick was to lower the "initial loading pressure" to around 450 psi, to keep the engine from stalling when the ram first meets resistance. At that point the 2nd stage kicks in very smoothly. This is a well-built pump that can be adjusted to run with a small engine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Splitter Pump

,
March 22, 2011
By MattfromMaine
from Moosehead Lake, Maine
"Bought this pump for a log splitter I had. Worked great, no problems. Very easy to replace old pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hydraulic pump

,
March 15, 2011
By shopman1
from Billings, MT
"I bought this pump for a log splitter i built, and it worked great. I had to build my own mounts to fit the motor, but once i got it put on it worked great. I couldn't be happier with this pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best pump around

,
March 14, 2011
By goose60
"my old pump lost its get up and go put the new one on now the wood pile just falls apart but my 6hp moter is all most to small but it will SPLIT WOOD"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model#

,
November 19, 2010
By dwagg
from Laurel, Montana
"I was really impressed with how easy it was to install. It seemed to double the splitting power. The two stage capability kicked in at lower rpm's and split the bigger, heavier stuff. It seems to use less fuel because the splitter is not at full throttle all the time. It is much better than the factory pump. I would recommend this product to anyone. I don't have anything negative to say about it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pump

,
February 23, 2010
By swamper
from Pa
"Casing cracked in after about 18 months with very little use.
2nd pump purchased worked great and still does after 5 years.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood splitter

,
February 22, 2010
By Pilgrim
from Alabama
"Great for a 8-10 horsepower wood splitter. I would recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
btarl
Lafayette CA 
 
Please wait while more information about btarl is loaded.
Additional information about btarl could not be loaded.
Pump Leak
September 9, 2012
"The input oil line is a pressed in 1" OD steel tube. Due to the vibration of the motor on the log splitter the rather ridged hose from the oil tank loosened the steel tube and caused a constant leak. Really a shame the steel tube was not threaded in the pump housing. I just purchased a second pump as there was no way to repair the first. I will use a less ridged hose for the oil supply line hoping not to have this happen again."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Quality

,
February 22, 2010
By SteveP1
from Springfield, IL
"This was one of the components I purchased from Northern in the overhaul of a home made log splitter (yeah, a major overhaul - the only thing we did not replace was the engine). I used this pump to convert the log splitter from a weak belt driven pump system to a direct drive pump system. It mounted on the direct drive coupling kit perfectly which let me couple it to the Briggs& Stratton engine. The log splitter now has plenty of log splitting power thanks to this two stage pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerfull for the price

,
February 16, 2010
By SWSofMT
from Missoula, MT
"I bought this for a log splitter I built and it exceeded my expectations. I originally had a 3.5 horse motor mounted on the splitter and thought it was underpowered but didn't know if it was the pump or the engine. I broke down and bought a 5 horse Workhorse motor from Northern and now nothing will stop the splitter. If a piece of wood is particularly tough, the 2nd stage of the pump kicks in and slows the ram while increasing the power. Excellent pump and the price was way better than what I could get something similar for locally."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haldex Hydraulic Pump

,
February 15, 2010
By Ell123
from North Tonawanda NY
"Very nice pump, used on my log-splitter plenty of power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pump used to run a motor

,
October 19, 2009
By tomd90
from lakewood,ca
"this pump is working good for me as Im using it to run a motor but I fond it better to use the plumming lay out that there paper work sad to use.sceen on intake and filtter on return line to tank"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Concentric/Haldex Hydraulic Pump - 13.6 GPM, 2-Stage, Model# 1001506
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splitter Pump

,
March 23, 2009
By Vintage
from Colorado
"Replaced the pump on my splitter, powered by an 11HP Briggs, and the performance doubled. The two stage works great. No firewood is safe."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.