Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine

NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine

Item# 10632
This efficient, lightweight NorthStar Water Pump is powered by a 19.8cc Mitsubishi engine with technologically advanced 2-stroke design. Built with a long-life carbon mechanic seal that resists corrosion, wear and heat better than a standard seal. Delivers 1742 GPH. Dimensions L x W x H in. 11 3/4 x 9 3/4 x 12 3/4, Solid Handling in. 1/8, HP 08, Start Type Recoil, Flow GPH 1,742, Max. PSI 50, Engine Type 2-stroke, Suction Port in. 1, Engine Mitsubishi, Max. Total Head ft. 98, Discharge Port in. 1, Run Time 33 min., Engine Displacement cc 19.8, Check Valve Built-in, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.15, Seals Carbon ceramic mechanical, Port Size in. 1, Max. Suction Lift ft. 26. Long life carbon ceramic mechanical seal resists corrosion, wear and heat better than a standard seal Portable, lightweight design Aluminum die-cast pump parts Includes handle for easy transport Built-in check valve Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (56 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
55 of 56(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump for a garden

,
August 20, 2012
By jstub
from milan, MI
"This is a great pump for watering a garden. The Mitsubishi motor is very powerfull for its size and the pump has plenty of head presure to run 3 sprinklers all at the same time. One of my sprinklers has a 150 feet long garden hose and still has good presure when the motor is at half throttle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value!

,
August 20, 2012
By duane9835
from Michigan
"This is a great little pump! A bit on the noisy side but well worth the price... Fills my 300 gallon water tank for my garden in about 10 minutes!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Water pump

,
August 15, 2012
By jogarey
from Camp Wood, Texas
"I have purchased two of these pumps. They are an excellent performer and a great value. I pump out of the river, and these pumps have never failed to perform perfectly. Easy starting"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very light weight

,
August 13, 2012
By IJF250
from Indiana
"Great little light weight pump. Start's right up each time and does very well. The male pipe threads on the pump housing could be of better quality but other than that very satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little workhorse

,
May 14, 2012
By Texkanvalley
from KS
"Last summer, when it never rained, I used this pump daily for weeks on end to pump water from my pond to keep my lawn alive. It never missed a beat. I modified the suction pickup to a full 1" and can run three large impulse sprinklers on 5/8" hose. Never have any trouble starting it. I can't imagine a better pump for my porposes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding pump

,
January 16, 2012
By beau92
from Fayetteville, TN
"Have owned this for over 2 yrs. Outstanding pump. I pump out two cisterns several times a year, with a good bit of heavy sediment on the bottom. The manual says it will pump up to 1/8" particles, which it certainly does well. I also use the pump for transferring rain water to stock animal tanks, nearly weekly in the summers. So it gets lots of use and never given me any trouble. I run it at about 1/2 throttle to maximize engine life (the manual also recommends less than full throttle). It must be manually primed with about 1 gal of water. I keep a roll of Teflon tape handy for the input-output lines. The hose connections are 1" NPT, but it comes with a garden hose adaptor (handy for output side). Recommend getting the 1-in Apache suction hose -- DO NOT use garden hose to pull the water as it will collapse and ruin your pump. The fuel is 50:1, which is nice since I use Stihl equipment with same fuel-oil mixture and requires no separate oil. It will run approx. 45 min to 1 hr on one tank at half throttle. The pump is extremely light weight, which I needed to carry up and down steep terrain here in TN. The engine is very easy to start and has an on-off switch, making it easy to instantly stop. The pump has a convenient water drain plug at bottom. The pump is relatively quiet. I admit that it dropped off my ATV on steep terrain when the cord broke, tumbled a ways, but its construction took the beating and hasn't shown a sign of problems after my goof."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard working and reliable

,
October 17, 2011
By rhenn
from Davidson, NC
"I'm finishing the 2nd year with this pump. Use it to draw water up 12 ft. from a creek, and pump it through 1-1/2 inch PVC across 300 ft of flat ground, and then a six foot rise at the end into five 275 gallon totes. In this application, I disconnect the discharge, prime it well (using foot valve), start the pump, get a full draw going, and then reconnect the discharge before throttling up. If I get a solid prime and keep the intake clear, I can get all five totes to about 80% full on a single tank of gas.
This guy works hard and runs well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact and Powerful

,
October 10, 2011
By jetit
from Lake City, Michigan
"Originally I was a bit skeptical about purchasing this pump but after using it all summer transferring water for herbicide spraying I am quite pleased with it. It hardly uses any gasoline at all and I found priming to be quite easy. Where I have it located on the tank trailer I can quickly throttle it up or down to avoid overfilling while mixing. I was going to purchase the cheaper gas model but Northern was out of stock. I am glad that I bought this one as it pumps pretty fast. 2 cycle is not a problem as we always have mix for our saws and trimmers."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Water Pump

,
October 10, 2011
By margadkra7490
from St. Maries, Idaho
"Great all around pump we use it for watering our stock. Even running 250 feet of hose on it, the pressure holds up decent. No need for a foot valve, this pump holds its prime very well even sitting on the slope of the pond and getting knocked around by the geese. I did suck a fish into the pipe once, it flushed out on its own but decreased the pressure for that watering, but it really didn't hurt the pump. Very reliable and highly recommend!! The only complaint I have is the pipe handle for the pump is soft metal. When holding the pump down to start it I slipped and and put too much weight on it. This caused it to bend slightly. I was able to bend it back, but it softened the metal even more. It would be nice if it had a little bigger gas tank for my application, but with it's small tank running full bore it will run a half hour. Probably would run a little longer if it didn't have to pump through so much hose. This little pump is highly recommended starts every time even in cold weather."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Pleased

,
July 28, 2011
By SnowCamp
from Snow Camp, NC
"Purchased a couple of weeks ago. Once I figured out what it took to get it pumping, I was very pleased. Filled a 275 gal (1000 L) tank in about 35 minutes using 100 ft of 3/4 inch hose with about 15 ft of total lift. Used 2/3 of a tank of mixture. Excellent pressure at the end of the 100 ft of hose. At least 40-50 lbs. Not super-pump, but it's a 1" pump. Motor starts quickly and easily. Pump not quite so much. Figured out I needed to reduce the suction lift as much as possible, disconnect the output., and, of course, prime the pump before starting the motor. Once it 's pumping, I throttle back, connect the output hose, re-apply throttle and off she goes. Now that I understabd what's required, it's quick and easy..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done, reliably

,
June 13, 2011
By creamcity
from Milwaukee, WI
"I have had this pump for two seasons now, and use it to transfer rain water into storage tanks for watering gardens. I pump about 1000 gallons every three weeks during the season. It has worked perfectly and reliably. I use it with a 1 1/4 pickup hose, and a garden hose for the outflow. It's two stroke so it's a little loud, but it's nice being able to adjust the throttle. It also works well for watering directly from a water tank or spraying water and irrigating."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

5 yr old pump

,
March 14, 2011
By HarryH
from Caribbean
"Bought this new & now have 5 years on it. Here are the pro's & con's
Pros: light weight; strong pump; good self priming; nice strainer design at end of suction hose to protect the pump.
Cons: Bottom Tube stands are rusting away; engine difficult to start if left standing for 3-4 months; no fuel cut off valve to drain the carb which would help for easier starting after long storage times; can't find a carb overhaul kit;"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

north star water pump 1742

,
March 14, 2011
By mervin
from fruitvale british columbia
"if you need a little pump for any purpose and want all the performance and reliablility with out a huge price tag then this is the pump you want, thank you northern tools,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water pump model# sem-25L

,
November 23, 2010
By cussewagoman814
from Saegertown Pa.
"I use this pump to apply salt brine to our anti skid pile of sand, to keep it from freezing as hard.I have it hooked up to a sprinkler head. I let it run till it runs out of gas,than i move the sprinkler head and gas it up again.This is a real good starting pump & runs great. Putting the salt brine through it is hard on it, but it keeps going.I had this pump about 4 years know with no problems.I rinse the pump out when done with it,And dump oil in the pump when done using it. Great little pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

North Star water pump

,
November 16, 2010
By Waterpump
from Minnesota
"pump is handy in size and use. works great and is durable. i would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

water pump

,
August 28, 2010
By lineman140
from canton nc
"I bought this pump 3 months ago and I must say it is the best purchase I have ever made.The pump is very portable and has alot of presure.I use this pump to water my cattle and irrigate my lower field and it has not missed a beat,this pump is great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised!!

,
July 6, 2010
By RAJR
from Rebuck, PA
"Neat little pump. It's nice and small so you can take it along like it was a lunchbox and then hook it up and start it in 30 seconds. I have the Mitsubishi motor and it runs pretty quite. I have 100' of 5/8" garden hose on the discharge and it pumps great; I'm sure a full 1" hose would do better. It does loose pressure with a 15' rise and 50' of 5/8 hose but I'm just watering plants on a 1/2 acre garden so it's just right for me. It will put lots of water if you can keep the hose short and full size. GREAT PUMP!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small pump works great

,
June 1, 2010
By Jeff789
from Chicago Suburbs
"I use this pump to pump water out of my back yard after heavy rain storms and from my rain barrel to water plants.
It works great for both large and small jobs. I've run it for hours at a time. It's small and easy to store.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Little Pump

,
May 31, 2010
By Pcorm00
from Bay City, MI
"I purchased this pump for use at my guest house in Haiti. We use it to pump water from a hand-dug well to the 250 gallon roof tank. It works great! It uses very little fuel and pumps the water fast. I also use it to water my garden. Being light-weight, I had no problems with packing it along with my other personal items in my check-in bag."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1742 GPH, 19.8cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Was Just Shocked!

,
May 27, 2010
By smajna
from Chepachet, Rhode Island
"I knew the pump was small, but was I shocked when I opened up the package on how small this pump really was. Doubts, doubts and more doubts crossed thru my mind. Was this little pump going to do the job. Should I have purchased a more "manly sized" pump? I had done my calculations, but I was second guessing myself. I needed to pump from a pond 450 feet away (40 foot uphill) to a new garden that my wife and I put in. I plumbed the pump in, pulled the starter and the little pump got to business. I jog up to the garden and was greeted by a strong stream of water jetting out of the 1 inch poly pipe that I had run from the pond. The pump is generating enough water pressure to power 4 tower sprinklers that are covering a garden that is 60' by 100'. Just AWESOME!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.