Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine

NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine

Item# 106470
Using a dependable Honda GX160 engine with Oil Alert, this NorthStar high-pressure water pump is ideal for sprinkler systems, remote area firefighting and washing down equipment. Uses standard NPT threads for attachment flexibility. NorthStar uses long-lasting, high-end silicon carbide seals that are specially suited for heavy-duty applications. Fully welded frame with durable DuPont Black Wrinkle TGIC Polyester electrostatic finish holds up to jobsite abuse and protects engine and pump. Impellers Aluminum, Engine Displacement cc 160, Engine Type GX160, Max. Total Head ft. 214, Pump Housing Steel, Run Time 2-2 1/2hrs., Discharge Port in. 2, Engine Honda, Fits Hose Dia. in. 2, Flow GPH 8,120, Seals Silicon carbide, Max. PSI 94, Max. Suction Lift ft. 26, Suction Port in. 2, Volute Cast iron, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.95. Designed to push water long distances or to great heights Strong 26-ft. max. suction lift Engine has an adjustable throttle to control pressure Silicon carbide seals are 2 times harder, 15 tougher, and 50 stronger than common aluminum oxide seals Fully welded industrial steel roll cage holds up to jobsite abuse All sheet metal parts are cut using a state of the art CO2 laser Uses standard NPT threads for attachment flexibility Utilizes a check valve to hold a prime while the pump is not running Includes a free 2in. suction strainer
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
August 23, 2014
By 2014fd
from Idaho
"Very fast shipping from NT. I have a 350 gal spot fire moble tank that we keep full in the summer. It mounted very easy and the first pull started right up. We have used the pump 5-6 times to water the garden and it has worked great. We have the unit incase of fire but it's makes watering easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swell Machine

,
August 10, 2014
By BucketMouth
from Arizona
"For a little pump it puts out a good stream of water. Make sure you have a fine screen around your strainer the impeller has small slots and will fill up quick if you don't."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of pump in a small package

,
July 26, 2014
By Outpost22
from Oregon
"With typical Honda efficiency, this motor starts on the first pull every time, which is quite important to me as this application is for a fire fighting trailer. Water output is very good, capable of discharging a 15 gpm fire nozzle to a distance of about 80'. Priming and draining are amazingly easy thanks to the quick drain and fill ports on the pump. Simply lie a screwdriver across the slots and turn. The plugs come off easily allowing quick priming or draining as necessary. The provided suction strainer is cheap and flimsy, but I have no use for it anyway as I draw from a 250 gal. water tank.
All in all a very good unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pump

,
May 12, 2014
By tazsummit
from Blackfoot, Id
"The pump works great the main problem with it is with the rubber feet it has it moves all over the place. but it pumps great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 2" High Pressure Water Pump

,
April 20, 2014
By Big1011Guy
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this product to pull water out of a creek/river to feed my Gold Prospecting Equipment so I can separate the dirt and rocks from the gold in my dredge equipment sluice box. This water pump worked above and beyond my expectations with no problems at all -- and it starts on the first pull. With my present setup I run the pump a little above idle and get sufficient water flow - If I ever decide to go with bigger equipment this pump will be able to handle it with no problem at all. Highly Recommend and Very Very Satisfied Customer.
Big1011Guy
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Value, High Performance Pump

,
February 4, 2014
By N1B1
from Lac La Ronge, SK. Canada
"I bought one of these three years back to run a cottage sprinkler system. The pump starts easy and moves a lot of water through a four sprinkler head system.
I joined a group of neighbors June 2013 and we built a community water supply system. This was the pump we chose to quickly fill six 1000 gallon tanks, the furthest over 500 feet from the lake shore and 50 feet higher. We ran a 2 inch main line and then ran a 1.25 inch feeder line between every second cottage. So three ot the 1.25 inch lines feed 6 cottages.
We installed ball valves at each tank so they can be filled individually or as a group; several check valves keep the weight of water off the pump. We are virtually maxing out this pump with a fifty foot lift and over 500 foot run. We are able to fill the tanks relatively fast, our wives can start the pump and shut it down; all stake holders in this system are happy.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy start pump

,
November 12, 2013
By Tex5450
from Texas
"This pump works. I have used the pump for about four months, no problems. I ran 500ft of pvc plus 30ft of blue hose to get water to a pond that was going dry across fence from pond with windmill. Cows needed water and this pump saved me from hauling water and or moving cows. Might add it is 10 / 20 ft uphill to pond, pump would run two and a half hours on tank of gas with good water output...would fill and run over five gal. bucket in three seconds so good flow. I have used the pump for over 40 hours run time, cost is little high with gas price but saved me in the long run by keeping cows in pasture on grass I could not bale. Will use again next year to keep pond full if no rain.....GREAT PUMP AND EASY START."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump!

,
August 28, 2013
By TK51
from Georgia
"I purchased this high pressure pump to aid with flooding on my property. South Georgia has had huge amounts of rain this year and I have quite a bit of standing water on various parts of my acreage. I attached 300 feet of 2" hose to this pump and a SIME River irrigation gun to help disburse the water, allow for greater absorbtion in the pastures and less run off. At first, I had my doubts that this unit would have the power to do the job--- I was wrong!! It's a great system works flawlessly and because of it's power, the irrigation gun throws water in about a 200 foot circle. Not only is it helping to eliminate the excess water in areas where I don't need it, but it is putting it where I do need it! This pump is worth every cent and the price thru Northern is great. Fast shipping, very easy set up and the pump started on the 2nd pull. It continues to run well and starts on 1st-2nd pull every time. I have been running the machine for several hours/ day for the last week and will continue to use it not only for flood control but also for pasture irrigation! Great system!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pump saved my garden!

,
August 13, 2012
By RRGG
from Upstate,New York
"This is a great pump and it far exceeded my expectations.Within an hour of opening it I hooked it up to 500' of 11/2'' hose and proceeded to run a very large impulse sprinkler to irrigate my 1 acre garden.The wetted circle was aprox.200'.This pump has run flawlesly and starts on the first pull every time.The pressure from such a small pump is incredible A great value for the money.I would highly recommend this pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar/Honda powered Irrigation pump

,
August 13, 2012
By Dbk1
from Atkinson, NH
"I needed an irrigation pump to replace an old one, probably underpowered for the job. My garden irrigation system includes running 8 pulsing, rotating sprinkler heads connected with 1" poly pipe to a gas pump at a pond 25' lower. I added a 2" suction, 25' 2" discharge to a gated manifold I built to the 1" poly. The new pump has performed above my expectation powering all 8 heads at once.
I also added a timer with a connection from ground to the On/Off switch connection allowing me to set the run time.
Highly recommended.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irrigation pump

,
July 4, 2012
By Rottweiler
from Heber Springs, AR
"Bought this pump to irrigate about 25 acres of pasture. It arrived in 3 days. It usually starts on 1st pull. Seems to have plenty of flow and pressure and fairly easy on gas (about 2-2.5 hrs run-time at full throttle). It is sucking creek water about 10' straight up and then pushing through 600' of lay-flat hose to drive a Sime Hidra 1-1/2" sprinkler head. I'm getting almost a 200' wetted circle and about 1" equivalent rainfall in 2 hrs of run-time. It's been running almost non-stop for the last 2 days except nighttime. Don't forget to fill with oil on arrival and service it frequently. These small Honda engines are terrific. Only downside is that the "manual bag" was missing from the box so I have no rubber feet on it yet (it's sitting on dirt anyways) and I didn't get a printed manual but I just downloaded it above. Get the manual for the engine also ... search for "honda gx160ut2qx2" on northerntool.com website. That's the only place it told what motor oil to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!!

,
October 17, 2011
By coffinguy
from Castle Rock, Wa
"This pump works flawlessly. Its everything advertised and more. Couldn't ask for a better solution to my needs"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good pump

,
October 10, 2011
By sirr
from Tesas
"I use this pump for irrigation, and have had no problems wit pretty continuouo use. It primes itself and runs two large sprinklers plus a large sprinkler on a 1.25 hose reel. I adjust the engine speed to maximize run time. It could use a larger gas tank."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump....

,
July 16, 2011
By Tumbleweed
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
"Temporary pump for pasture irrigation has been the Initial use, and without issues. Starts easy, primes 2 inch hose from 4 foot static head. Good on fuel, and has sufficient pressure. Easy to transport, i. e., light enough to manually lift and carry. Could use a bigger fuel tank though."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High pressure pump

,
June 14, 2011
By rlg476
from Tennessee
"I bought this pump to irrigate 2 large garden plots from the creek that runs through our farm. I use a 2" foot valve (also purchased @ Northern) on the end of the suction hose, 2" discharge to a Nelson Big Gun that throws water approx 150'. Prior to getting the Nelson I used 2 Melnor sprinkler heads to accomplish the same coverage. The pump is excellent in all ways. I fill the tank and let it run until it runs out. Keeping everything watered during this mini drought.... Hoping for rain!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best pump for the money

,
December 2, 2010
By acg2285
from Tennessee
"I bought this to move water up the mountain. It did what I needed and more. It definetly passed my expectations. I would definetly recommend this pump. I will be using this pump to move water up 1,000 feet and then about 700 feet to irrigate 5 acres of crops."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star High Pressure water pump

,
September 1, 2010
By Steveinmedway
"Over the years I have tried several different pumps for watering my lawn and garden.
I live next to a river which is 97' below where my home is located and about 450' away. I purchased this pump in May of this year. I am pumping through a 2" hose with a fire nozzle on the end of the hose. I was pleasantly surprised at the pressure and volume that this pump can put out. I have roughly 15 hours on the pump and by my calculations, I have pumped over a 100,000 gallons of water.
Needless to say I have one of the best gardens, and the greenest lawn in
town. I am the envy of the town. Thank you for a product that does what you say it will do
SteveC
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
August 30, 2010
By Anonymous
from Lubbock, TX
"Starts the first pull every time. We push this pump to the MAX and it keeps delivering. Have owned for 8 months now and its seen five states worth of hard 8-12 hour days 7 days a week work. It's like Mike Rowe says, "Sometimes it just works." This puppy works every time. A+ from me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice pump

,
August 30, 2010
By ditchH2Oman
from WYO
"Pump works good. Engine runs smooth & quite. Built well.
Starts easily. Easy to prime. Use pump to irrigate 12 acres. Runs two - 160 ft. diameter field sprinklers at 1/4 throttle. Made a manifold and split into two - 1 inch lines. Not real heavy, I can lug it out to the pasture fairly easily by frame supports. Suction is suspended off bottom of small pit fed by ditch. Recommend suction screen. Great pressure. Perfect pump for my purpose.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.