Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"

"NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"

Item# 106470
"Using a dependable Honda GX160 engine with Oil Alert, this NorthStar high-pressure water pump is ideal for sprinkler systems, remote area firefighting and washing down equipment. Uses standard NPT threads for attachment flexibility. NorthStar uses long-lasting, high-end silicon carbide seals that are specially suited for heavy-duty applications. Fully welded frame with durable durable black wrinkle TGIC polyester electrostatic finish holds up to jobsite abuse and protects engine and pump. Volute Cast iron, Seals Silicon carbide, Pump Housing Steel, Max. Suction Lift ft. 26, Engine Type GX160, Engine Honda, Max. PSI 94, Max. Total Head ft. 214, Discharge Port in. 2, Suction Port in. 2, Impellers Aluminum, Flow GPH 8,120, Engine Displacement cc 160, Run Time 2-2 1/2hrs., Fits Hose Dia. in. 2, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.95. Designed to push water long distances or to great heights Strong 26-ft. max. suction lift Engine has an adjustable throttle to control pressure Silicon carbide seals are 2 times harder, 15 tougher, and 50 stronger than common aluminum oxide seals Fully welded industrial steel roll cage holds up to jobsite abuse All sheet metal parts are cut using a state of the art CO2 laser Uses standard NPT threads for attachment flexibility Utilizes a check valve to hold a prime while the pump is not running Includes a free 2in. suction strainer"
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Review 1 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Firepump.

,
August 16, 2015
By
from Spokane WA vic.
" Excellent flow, pressure and reliability for fire protection. Reaches tall trees and roofs easily with a good nozzle. Pumps well at 1/3 to 1/2 throttle. Use full throttle only for long runs/high head. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Hi Pressure water pump

,
June 22, 2015
By
from Harrison, ID
" We use the pump to lift water from the creek on our property to the yard and landscaping at our house (about 1/4 mile away and 80 feet higher). The pump started on the first pull. We had to back flush the 1 1/2 in. line a couple of times to get the air and debris out. After that the pump does the job flawlessly. We usually run 3 or 4 sprinklers with plenty of pressure and volume. A great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal!

,
February 12, 2015
By
from Mount Olive, MS
" A good price on a great little pump.
We are using this on a fire truck for fighting brush fires, pumps great.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as stated

,
January 20, 2015
By
from Greensburg IN
" We use this pump to pull water out of a supply and wash the tracks of our equipment and it works just as the description stated. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How To Use

,
November 3, 2014
By
from Browns Valley Calif
" Read Rview About How It Was Difficult To Get Pump To Prime. Found Out On My Own Experience That It Was Not As Difficult To Do. First Fill The Pump As Instructions Indicate But Leave The Cap Off .Have Your Suction In The Water And Then Start Your Motor .As The Pump Draws Water In From Your Water Source It Will Begin To Come Out Slowly From The Uncapped Hole. As You Begin To Throttle Up The Water Will Then Start Shooting Into The Air Throttle Down Turn Off Motor Put Cap Back Restart You Now Have Prime. The Suction Hose Was 12 Feet Down In Sump And The Pond That Was Being Filled Was More Than 100 Feet On Upgrade. The Pump And Motor Performed Very Well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
August 23, 2014
By
from Idaho
" Very fast shipping from NT. I have a 350 gal spot fire moble tank that we keep full in the summer. It mounted very easy and the first pull started right up. We have used the pump 5-6 times to water the garden and it has worked great. We have the unit incase of fire but it's makes watering easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swell Machine

,
August 10, 2014
By
from Arizona
" For a little pump it puts out a good stream of water. Make sure you have a fine screen around your strainer the impeller has small slots and will fill up quick if you don't. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of pump in a small package

,
July 26, 2014
By
from Oregon
" With typical Honda efficiency, this motor starts on the first pull every time, which is quite important to me as this application is for a fire fighting trailer. Water output is very good, capable of discharging a 15 gpm fire nozzle to a distance of about 80'. Priming and draining are amazingly easy thanks to the quick drain and fill ports on the pump. Simply lie a screwdriver across the slots and turn. The plugs come off easily allowing quick priming or draining as necessary. The provided suction strainer is cheap and flimsy, but I have no use for it anyway as I draw from a 250 gal. water tank.
All in all a very good unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pump

,
May 12, 2014
By
from Blackfoot, Id
" The pump works great the main problem with it is with the rubber feet it has it moves all over the place. but it pumps great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 2" High Pressure Water Pump

,
April 20, 2014
By
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I use this product to pull water out of a creek/river to feed my Gold Prospecting Equipment so I can separate the dirt and rocks from the gold in my dredge equipment sluice box. This water pump worked above and beyond my expectations with no problems at all -- and it starts on the first pull. With my present setup I run the pump a little above idle and get sufficient water flow - If I ever decide to go with bigger equipment this pump will be able to handle it with no problem at all. Highly Recommend and Very Very Satisfied Customer.
Big1011Guy
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Value, High Performance Pump

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Lac La Ronge, SK. Canada
" I bought one of these three years back to run a cottage sprinkler system. The pump starts easy and moves a lot of water through a four sprinkler head system.
I joined a group of neighbors June 2013 and we built a community water supply system. This was the pump we chose to quickly fill six 1000 gallon tanks, the furthest over 500 feet from the lake shore and 50 feet higher. We ran a 2 inch main line and then ran a 1.25 inch feeder line between every second cottage. So three ot the 1.25 inch lines feed 6 cottages.
We installed ball valves at each tank so they can be filled individually or as a group; several check valves keep the weight of water off the pump. We are virtually maxing out this pump with a fifty foot lift and over 500 foot run. We are able to fill the tanks relatively fast, our wives can start the pump and shut it down; all stake holders in this system are happy.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy start pump

,
November 12, 2013
By
from Texas
" This pump works. I have used the pump for about four months, no problems. I ran 500ft of pvc plus 30ft of blue hose to get water to a pond that was going dry across fence from pond with windmill. Cows needed water and this pump saved me from hauling water and or moving cows. Might add it is 10 / 20 ft uphill to pond, pump would run two and a half hours on tank of gas with good water output...would fill and run over five gal. bucket in three seconds so good flow. I have used the pump for over 40 hours run time, cost is little high with gas price but saved me in the long run by keeping cows in pasture on grass I could not bale. Will use again next year to keep pond full if no rain.....GREAT PUMP AND EASY START. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump!

,
August 28, 2013
By
from Georgia
" I purchased this high pressure pump to aid with flooding on my property. South Georgia has had huge amounts of rain this year and I have quite a bit of standing water on various parts of my acreage. I attached 300 feet of 2" hose to this pump and a SIME River irrigation gun to help disburse the water, allow for greater absorbtion in the pastures and less run off. At first, I had my doubts that this unit would have the power to do the job--- I was wrong!! It's a great system works flawlessly and because of it's power, the irrigation gun throws water in about a 200 foot circle. Not only is it helping to eliminate the excess water in areas where I don't need it, but it is putting it where I do need it! This pump is worth every cent and the price thru Northern is great. Fast shipping, very easy set up and the pump started on the 2nd pull. It continues to run well and starts on 1st-2nd pull every time. I have been running the machine for several hours/ day for the last week and will continue to use it not only for flood control but also for pasture irrigation! Great system!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pump saved my garden!

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Upstate,New York
" This is a great pump and it far exceeded my expectations.Within an hour of opening it I hooked it up to 500' of 11/2'' hose and proceeded to run a very large impulse sprinkler to irrigate my 1 acre garden.The wetted circle was aprox.200'.This pump has run flawlesly and starts on the first pull every time.The pressure from such a small pump is incredible A great value for the money.I would highly recommend this pump. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar/Honda powered Irrigation pump

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Atkinson, NH
" I needed an irrigation pump to replace an old one, probably underpowered for the job. My garden irrigation system includes running 8 pulsing, rotating sprinkler heads connected with 1" poly pipe to a gas pump at a pond 25' lower. I added a 2" suction, 25' 2" discharge to a gated manifold I built to the 1" poly. The new pump has performed above my expectation powering all 8 heads at once.
I also added a timer with a connection from ground to the On/Off switch connection allowing me to set the run time.
Highly recommended.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irrigation pump

,
July 4, 2012
By
from Heber Springs, AR
" Bought this pump to irrigate about 25 acres of pasture. It arrived in 3 days. It usually starts on 1st pull. Seems to have plenty of flow and pressure and fairly easy on gas (about 2-2.5 hrs run-time at full throttle). It is sucking creek water about 10' straight up and then pushing through 600' of lay-flat hose to drive a Sime Hidra 1-1/2" sprinkler head. I'm getting almost a 200' wetted circle and about 1" equivalent rainfall in 2 hrs of run-time. It's been running almost non-stop for the last 2 days except nighttime. Don't forget to fill with oil on arrival and service it frequently. These small Honda engines are terrific. Only downside is that the "manual bag" was missing from the box so I have no rubber feet on it yet (it's sitting on dirt anyways) and I didn't get a printed manual but I just downloaded it above. Get the manual for the engine also ... search for "honda gx160ut2qx2" on northerntool.com website. That's the only place it told what motor oil to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!!

,
October 17, 2011
By
from Castle Rock, Wa
" This pump works flawlessly. Its everything advertised and more. Couldn't ask for a better solution to my needs "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good pump

,
October 10, 2011
By
from Tesas
" I use this pump for irrigation, and have had no problems wit pretty continuouo use. It primes itself and runs two large sprinklers plus a large sprinkler on a 1.25 hose reel. I adjust the engine speed to maximize run time. It could use a larger gas tank. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump....

,
July 16, 2011
By
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
" Temporary pump for pasture irrigation has been the Initial use, and without issues. Starts easy, primes 2 inch hose from 4 foot static head. Good on fuel, and has sufficient pressure. Easy to transport, i. e., light enough to manually lift and carry. Could use a bigger fuel tank though. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 2in. Ports, 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High pressure pump

,
June 14, 2011
By
from Tennessee
" I bought this pump to irrigate 2 large garden plots from the creek that runs through our farm. I use a 2" foot valve (also purchased @ Northern) on the end of the suction hose, 2" discharge to a Nelson Big Gun that throws water approx 150'. Prior to getting the Nelson I used 2 Melnor sprinkler heads to accomplish the same coverage. The pump is excellent in all ways. I fill the tank and let it run until it runs out. Keeping everything watered during this mini drought.... Hoping for rain! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.