Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"

"NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"

Item# 106470
"Using a dependable Honda GX160 engine with Oil Alert, this NorthStar high-pressure water pump is ideal for sprinkler systems, remote area firefighting and washing down equipment. Uses standard NPT threads for attachment flexibility. NorthStar uses long-lasting, high-end silicon carbide seals that are specially suited for heavy-duty applications. Fully welded frame with durable durable black wrinkle TGIC polyester electrostatic finish holds up to jobsite abuse and protects engine and pump. Volute Cast iron, Seals Silicon carbide, Max. Total Head ft. 214, Engine Type GX160, Engine Honda, Max. PSI 94, Discharge Port in. 2, Impellers Aluminum, Flow GPH 8,120, Engine Displacement cc 160, Run Time 2-2 1/2hrs., Fits Hose Dia. in. 2, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.95, Pump Housing Steel, Max. Suction Lift ft. 26, Suction Port in. 2. Designed to push water long distances or to great heights Strong 26-ft. max. suction lift Engine has an adjustable throttle to control pressure Silicon carbide seals are 2 times harder, 15 tougher, and 50 stronger than common aluminum oxide seals Fully welded industrial steel roll cage holds up to jobsite abuse All sheet metal parts are cut using a state of the art CO2 laser Uses standard NPT threads for attachment flexibility Utilizes a check valve to hold a prime while the pump is not running Includes a free 2in. suction strainer"
Average Customer Rating:
4.926 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 27(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Review 1 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

will not beat it for the money

,
November 19, 2015
By
from iowa
great pump and engine. we use this with a 1 inch hose with a spray nozzle on the end for a wash down. good pressure and flow. engine starts first pull everytime.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Home Protection Fire Pump

,
September 28, 2015
By
from Silverton, OR
Pump 2" intake is plumbed to a portable 280 gal poly-tank w/hard suction hose, coupled 2" NPSH. Discharge is reduced to 1" NH Forestry hose & fog nozzle. The pump & tank are trailer-mounted for deployment. Built & designed to "buy time" for Volunteer Fire Dept. response to rural residence. When properly deployed, this system will provide some exposure protection, put down a "wet line" and help to protect property until more manpower & resources arrive.
Nothing will help a rural/urban interface situation better than a defensible space, proper structure preparation, land clearing of combustibles and an escape route is absolutely necessary.
This pump has the capability to expand the level of protection with the addition of a foam eductor, to allow application of foam/wetting agents. The pump can easily flow more GPM with a larger discharge line & larger water supply or draft site.
This pump is a great tool to take protection to the next step. Starts easily, runs & pumps as advertised. It provides a "Peace of Mind" during fire/ dry season.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump

,
September 11, 2015
By
from Gillette, Wyoming
This High-Pressure Water Pump is being used on a fire suppression Water Tender for fire fighting. This pump is fantastic and does its job supplying high pressure water to the 1-1/2" fire hoses with out any problems. The Honda engine starts with just one pull of the starting rope and provides plenty of power to the water pump.
I highly recommend this item to anyone who needs a reliable High-Pressure Water Pump that works flawlessly.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Firepump.

,
August 16, 2015
By
from Spokane WA vic.
Excellent flow, pressure and reliability for fire protection. Reaches tall trees and roofs easily with a good nozzle. Pumps well at 1/3 to 1/2 throttle. Use full throttle only for long runs/high head.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Hi Pressure water pump

,
June 22, 2015
By
from Harrison, ID
We use the pump to lift water from the creek on our property to the yard and landscaping at our house (about 1/4 mile away and 80 feet higher). The pump started on the first pull. We had to back flush the 1 1/2 in. line a couple of times to get the air and debris out. After that the pump does the job flawlessly. We usually run 3 or 4 sprinklers with plenty of pressure and volume. A great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal!

,
February 12, 2015
By
from Mount Olive, MS
A good price on a great little pump.
We are using this on a fire truck for fighting brush fires, pumps great.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as stated

,
January 20, 2015
By
from Greensburg IN
We use this pump to pull water out of a supply and wash the tracks of our equipment and it works just as the description stated.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How To Use

,
November 3, 2014
By
from Browns Valley Calif
Read Rview About How It Was Difficult To Get Pump To Prime. Found Out On My Own Experience That It Was Not As Difficult To Do. First Fill The Pump As Instructions Indicate But Leave The Cap Off .Have Your Suction In The Water And Then Start Your Motor .As The Pump Draws Water In From Your Water Source It Will Begin To Come Out Slowly From The Uncapped Hole. As You Begin To Throttle Up The Water Will Then Start Shooting Into The Air Throttle Down Turn Off Motor Put Cap Back Restart You Now Have Prime. The Suction Hose Was 12 Feet Down In Sump And The Pond That Was Being Filled Was More Than 100 Feet On Upgrade. The Pump And Motor Performed Very Well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
August 23, 2014
By
from Idaho
Very fast shipping from NT. I have a 350 gal spot fire moble tank that we keep full in the summer. It mounted very easy and the first pull started right up. We have used the pump 5-6 times to water the garden and it has worked great. We have the unit incase of fire but it's makes watering easy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swell Machine

,
August 10, 2014
By
from Arizona
For a little pump it puts out a good stream of water. Make sure you have a fine screen around your strainer the impeller has small slots and will fill up quick if you don't.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of pump in a small package

,
July 26, 2014
By
from Oregon
With typical Honda efficiency, this motor starts on the first pull every time, which is quite important to me as this application is for a fire fighting trailer. Water output is very good, capable of discharging a 15 gpm fire nozzle to a distance of about 80'. Priming and draining are amazingly easy thanks to the quick drain and fill ports on the pump. Simply lie a screwdriver across the slots and turn. The plugs come off easily allowing quick priming or draining as necessary. The provided suction strainer is cheap and flimsy, but I have no use for it anyway as I draw from a 250 gal. water tank.
All in all a very good unit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pump

,
May 12, 2014
By
from Blackfoot, Id
The pump works great the main problem with it is with the rubber feet it has it moves all over the place. but it pumps great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 2" High Pressure Water Pump

,
April 20, 2014
By
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I use this product to pull water out of a creek/river to feed my Gold Prospecting Equipment so I can separate the dirt and rocks from the gold in my dredge equipment sluice box. This water pump worked above and beyond my expectations with no problems at all -- and it starts on the first pull. With my present setup I run the pump a little above idle and get sufficient water flow - If I ever decide to go with bigger equipment this pump will be able to handle it with no problem at all. Highly Recommend and Very Very Satisfied Customer.
Big1011Guy
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Value, High Performance Pump

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Lac La Ronge, SK. Canada
I bought one of these three years back to run a cottage sprinkler system. The pump starts easy and moves a lot of water through a four sprinkler head system.
I joined a group of neighbors June 2013 and we built a community water supply system. This was the pump we chose to quickly fill six 1000 gallon tanks, the furthest over 500 feet from the lake shore and 50 feet higher. We ran a 2 inch main line and then ran a 1.25 inch feeder line between every second cottage. So three ot the 1.25 inch lines feed 6 cottages.
We installed ball valves at each tank so they can be filled individually or as a group; several check valves keep the weight of water off the pump. We are virtually maxing out this pump with a fifty foot lift and over 500 foot run. We are able to fill the tanks relatively fast, our wives can start the pump and shut it down; all stake holders in this system are happy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy start pump

,
November 12, 2013
By
from Texas
This pump works. I have used the pump for about four months, no problems. I ran 500ft of pvc plus 30ft of blue hose to get water to a pond that was going dry across fence from pond with windmill. Cows needed water and this pump saved me from hauling water and or moving cows. Might add it is 10 / 20 ft uphill to pond, pump would run two and a half hours on tank of gas with good water output...would fill and run over five gal. bucket in three seconds so good flow. I have used the pump for over 40 hours run time, cost is little high with gas price but saved me in the long run by keeping cows in pasture on grass I could not bale. Will use again next year to keep pond full if no rain.....GREAT PUMP AND EASY START.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump!

,
August 28, 2013
By
from Georgia
I purchased this high pressure pump to aid with flooding on my property. South Georgia has had huge amounts of rain this year and I have quite a bit of standing water on various parts of my acreage. I attached 300 feet of 2" hose to this pump and a SIME River irrigation gun to help disburse the water, allow for greater absorbtion in the pastures and less run off. At first, I had my doubts that this unit would have the power to do the job--- I was wrong!! It's a great system works flawlessly and because of it's power, the irrigation gun throws water in about a 200 foot circle. Not only is it helping to eliminate the excess water in areas where I don't need it, but it is putting it where I do need it! This pump is worth every cent and the price thru Northern is great. Fast shipping, very easy set up and the pump started on the 2nd pull. It continues to run well and starts on 1st-2nd pull every time. I have been running the machine for several hours/ day for the last week and will continue to use it not only for flood control but also for pasture irrigation! Great system!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pump saved my garden!

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Upstate,New York
This is a great pump and it far exceeded my expectations.Within an hour of opening it I hooked it up to 500' of 11/2'' hose and proceeded to run a very large impulse sprinkler to irrigate my 1 acre garden.The wetted circle was aprox.200'.This pump has run flawlesly and starts on the first pull every time.The pressure from such a small pump is incredible A great value for the money.I would highly recommend this pump.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar/Honda powered Irrigation pump

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Atkinson, NH
I needed an irrigation pump to replace an old one, probably underpowered for the job. My garden irrigation system includes running 8 pulsing, rotating sprinkler heads connected with 1" poly pipe to a gas pump at a pond 25' lower. I added a 2" suction, 25' 2" discharge to a gated manifold I built to the 1" poly. The new pump has performed above my expectation powering all 8 heads at once.
I also added a timer with a connection from ground to the On/Off switch connection allowing me to set the run time.
Highly recommended.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irrigation pump

,
July 4, 2012
By
from Heber Springs, AR
Bought this pump to irrigate about 25 acres of pasture. It arrived in 3 days. It usually starts on 1st pull. Seems to have plenty of flow and pressure and fairly easy on gas (about 2-2.5 hrs run-time at full throttle). It is sucking creek water about 10' straight up and then pushing through 600' of lay-flat hose to drive a Sime Hidra 1-1/2" sprinkler head. I'm getting almost a 200' wetted circle and about 1" equivalent rainfall in 2 hrs of run-time. It's been running almost non-stop for the last 2 days except nighttime. Don't forget to fill with oil on arrival and service it frequently. These small Honda engines are terrific. Only downside is that the "manual bag" was missing from the box so I have no rubber feet on it yet (it's sitting on dirt anyways) and I didn't get a printed manual but I just downloaded it above. Get the manual for the engine also ... search for "honda gx160ut2qx2" on northerntool.com website. That's the only place it told what motor oil to use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar High-Pressure Water Pump - 8120 GPH, 94 PSI, 2in. Ports, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!!

,
October 17, 2011
By
from Castle Rock, Wa
This pump works flawlessly. Its everything advertised and more. Couldn't ask for a better solution to my needs
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.