Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit

Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit

Item# 1073
Reliable Built-in cross-over relief valves set at 2500 PSI. Power up, gravity down. 4-way valve system makes unit ideal for power angle-type plow blade usage. Float position allows plow to contact road obstructions without damage. Fully assembled, complete with controller cord. 12-month warranty. Many more applications. Max. Flow GPM 1.6 GPM at 1450 PSI, Remote Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 17 3/4 x 9 x 6 5/8, Duty Cycle 10, DC Volts 12, Remote Length ft. 10, Reservoir Capacity 3 qt., Compatible With Angle-type plow, Bypass Valve Full system bypass set at 1800 PSI. Solenoid Operated Draws 175 Amps @ 1.6 GPM Relief Valves Left, Right Set @ 2500 PSI Load Check 3 Ports Note Can not be used on snow plows with integrated pump and lifting cylinder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Review 1 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great hydraulic pump

,
February 8, 2014
By dudley1
from mt
"great pump used it to replace old cable operated snow plow pump i have used it for two years plowing parking lots the only addition i added was a flow control valve so the plow would not slam to the ground i would highly recommend this product"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump!

,
January 21, 2014
By Jmass
from Tully, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This pump works very well and does everything it claims to do. It lifts and angles my Fisher MM1 plow quickly and with ease. This plow had a belt driven pump on last pickup truck which is why I needed this pump. Install went smooth but took some planning and time to do it right. I mounted the pump on the passenger fender under the hood of my 2000 Dodge Ram 1500. The instructions could have been a little easier to follow for some people but I had no trouble figuring it out. The instructions are a one page blueprint showing unit dimensions, wiring and hydraulic circuit. A mounting template for the bolt holes would have been nice, but I drilled the first hole then put the second hole 3&5/8” center to center away per the dimensions on the instructions and it was spot on the first try. Also the instructions should recommend what gage wire should be used to supply the main power to the pump. I wired the pump with some 4ga. car stereo wire I had laying around, but I feel like this is too small of a gage wire for what this pump needs and I will be re wiring it later with at least 2ga. and I plan to install a high amp fuse as well to protect my truck against a dead short. I just replaced my truck battery with a 1000 CCA battery, and a new 117A alternator before installing the pump and my headlights still dim a lot and my trucks blower motor slows down a lot as well. The up down port on the pump comes straight off the top of the pump (not off the front of the pump like the angle ports) and I had to install a standoff fitting and then a 90 degree fitting to get the hose coming off the pump the right way so it would not rub the hood of the truck. I overfilled the reservoir (which was easy to do) and some fluid leaked out as others have said, but that seems to have stopped. I didnt see a reservoir drain for fluid changes either. Don’t forget to shut the pump off by centering the up down rocker switch or it will drain your battery. As others have said an ON indicator light would be nice. I may add one myself later along with a headlight switch, wiring, and headlight changeover relays to switch from truck to plow lights. Overall a great product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haldex 12 volt DC Snowplow Unit

,
January 9, 2012
By lytning
from Gray, ME
"Living in an area of extreme winter climate I can not stress enough how important it is to have reliable parts. The Haldex 12 volt DC Snowplow Unit fits all my requirements. It's quick and easy to install. No special order fluids are needed for use or maintenance. Uses less battery power than I anticipated. Sturdy enough to handle my heavy reinforced 8 foot plow blade with rapid quick and easy lifts. I highly recommend this unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haldex 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit

,
March 14, 2011
By SCHDRS
from Catskills, NY
"I recently purchased the Haldex 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit; I mounted it under the hood of my '79 F-150. Install was easy, wiring it up and running the hydraulics was even easier. I'm located in the Northeast and have been plowing quite a bit with it; mostly rough dirt roads; the truck and plow take some serious abuse and the pump is holding up as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Seemed like a good idea

,
March 5, 2011
By Rad01
from Fairfield, ME
"Bought it, installed it, didn't work correctly, no operators manual, returned it. Unhappy with this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

irvman358

,
February 22, 2010
By Irvman358
from Killingly, CT
"I was tired of leaking manual control manifolds so I decided to go with this electric over hydraulic system. I installed this control pump on my truck and discovered that my alternator did not have enough amperage to power this pump without drawing all the power out of my battery. I had to get a higher out output alternator. The electric part of this unit stopped working so I took it to my local auto electric place and the guy told me that every connection in the electric motor was sloppy loose. It works fine now and works great with with the control box, easy to install overall. The system requires 175 amps so be prepared to provide power somewhat close to that."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How I survived the Big One

,
February 22, 2010
By Helper
from Dunkirk, MD
"I purchased my Haldex hydraulic snow plow power unit several years ago. It has always performed well. It wasn't until this year, 2010, the year of record breaking snow fall that the true value of this product showed it's strength. With over 24" of snow on the ground from just one storm, I had no problem clearing my driveway and some of the neighbors as well. Haldex would have been proud of their product and Northern should be too. for selling such a great unit. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. You could be the Hero in your neighborhood.
Great Job, Thanks !!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snow Plow Pump

,
November 3, 2009
By Screwy
from NorthWest Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I love this pump but it has a couple of drawbacks.
1. I would recommend a extra tank, in my application it was blowing oil out.
2. It would be nice if the control box would have a lighted on/off switch on it, if you forget to center the down switch it will draw your battery down
It was easy to install.
It came in very handy last winter.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

maybe you'll need it....

,
March 2, 2009
By towmotor
from Rhode Island
"...but be ready to fix it!
Within two storms, I had to replace the solenoid. I replaced it with a starter solenoid for a 2000 Ford Ranger . It's a third the price and as close as your local auto parts store.
Now, the thing is leaking fluid like a sieve. Loose fasteners?, Bad O-rings/seals?
Who knows?
Nothing like quality wrench time in the snow...
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shorty

,
April 15, 2008
By shortstuff
from Westport Ma
"I would recommend this pump to all my friends. It works well and does the job it was designed to do. I only wish their would stock more replacment parts such as motors."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So simple

,
January 22, 2008
By Patheat
from New Hampshire
"I switched my plow to a another truck and the original hy-dro system would not fit.So i ordered the Haldex system, it arived during a snow storm. I had the unit up and plowing in less than two hours, that was 2yrs ago and its still going strong. Just bought a new truck and the dealer thought i was nuts for taking it out of the old one Going to keep for a back up!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect fit

,
January 14, 2008
By tbones
from Youngstown Ohio
"This pump and controller combo was the perfect fit for my replacement needs,
It fits perfectly under the hood and mounting was easy. I have already recommended the unit to some people I know. Thanks again
TBone
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great snow plow unit

,
January 14, 2008
By DONORTH
from North Dakota
"I found it easy to install and it works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Concentric 12 Volt DC Snowplow Unit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

plow unit

,
November 6, 2007
By bigtire
from Defiance ,Ohio
"I purchased A Barnes snow plow unit three years ago and installed it under the hood of my ford ranger 4x4 pickup. I had to move the washer reservoir to another location and fabricate a bracket to mount it. It was very easy to hook up and came with detailed wiring instructions and a pre-wired control box.I have used the unit for the last three winters and so far, it has preformed flawlessly. I have had a few occasions when it was extremely cold(-10 or below) when the plow would not go down right away. I attributed that to moisture in the Hyd. system due to condensation and remedied the situation by adding a little dry gas to the fluid. The unit is very responsive and the plow goes up and down and swings with much authority.I guess if I had to criticize it, I would say that the price seems a little steep . I wanted a electric over hydraulic system and was going to build my own from components, but when i started pricing what i would need, the Barnes system turned out to be a bargain. This will be my forth winter with the unit and I am thinking about ordering a extra solenoid or two just in case one decides to quit working. I figure it has worked so god up till now that something has to go wrong sooner or later."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.