Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150

Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150

Item# 10804
Wayne cast iron lawn sprinkler pump is built to give you many years of dependable pumping service. Designed to operate underground sprinkling systems, draw water from well, lake or ponds for watering, pool filling, or any other applications where high water volume is needed. Can be used as a portable sprinkler or water transfer pump. Pump should be installed in a basement, garage, tool shed or pump house. Discharge Port in. 1 1/2, Flow GPH 4,790, Volts 115/230, Self-Priming Yes, Suction Port in. 2, HP 1 1/2, Max. PSI 50, Max. Suction Lift ft. 25, Port Size in. 1 1/2, 2. Continuous duty pump has single stage motor Self-priming pump Dual voltage available 115/230, factory wired for 230V with easy conversion switch High-efficiency square flange motor is thermally protected to prevent overheating Rugged cast iron pump housing Stainless steel shaft for durability Can supports up to 8-10 sprinkler heads at 100ft. Glass reinforced thermoplastic impeller and diffuser for corrosion-resistance Ceramic/carbon-faced seal for long life Easy access drain port Heavy-duty cast iron mounting brackets Motor Speed 3450 RPM UL and CSA listed
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 18(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Review 1 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump

,
June 29, 2014
By Sol1166
from Roswell
"Excellent product for the price. Easy to install. Works great! We use to water our property using stream water."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good solid pump

,
April 27, 2014
By philner
from mass.
"Installed about 2 weeks ago for lawn irigation with a long(250 ft) horizontal draw. seems to be a solid pump that's doing the job. wiring directions could be a little clearer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne pumps

,
February 4, 2014
By laros
from Lenoir, NC
"I use my Wayne Sprinkler Pump to pump water uphill from a creek to a 2 acre garden, Works great to keep lots of Veggies watered. It also is use to water our fruit tree's!
Great Pump!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

rapid pump failure

,
October 19, 2011
By DrMike
from Florida
"dThe duration of operation before failure seemed excessively short. At less than or 18 months, the pump, though still functioning, began to fail due to loadup on the shaft. Had to be replaced and did not live up to expectations."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse!

,
October 10, 2011
By YadkinFarm
from Winston-Salem, NC
"Super Pump - hooked to 1500 gallon rainwater cistern and used to water 11 acre farm! Fabulous value!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Motor is dead

,
April 10, 2011
By CaverJohn
from Henrico, VA
"The electric motor is dead after one season. I had pump covered with a small shed to keep the rain off during the watering season. For the winter I stored it in an enclosed building in Virginia. The pump worked very well for three months."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

water pump

,
June 1, 2010
By RWAB
from Rocky Point.N.C.
"I really have enjoyed this pump which i use to water my garden and my wife also uses it for her most important flowers beds.It has always done a great job for us and now i am going to purchase an additional one for another area of our property.This pump has been very dependable and would advise anyone to buy it ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Home owner

,
February 22, 2010
By Lawns
from Northern Wisconsin
"This pumps works great, I'm pumping three large impacts heads at over 400 feet. Incline is about 20 feet. Very nice that its 120v, If i could i would of gone with the 2hp, but that's 240. Easy to prime, clean and drain in the fall/winter. Do warn anyone that if it will be getting close to freezin to drain. Cast iron does not hold up well with ice water."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump!

,
July 14, 2009
By kljflkjdlkjdlk12
from Minnesota
"I bought this pump to pull water from a lake to feed lawn irrigation system. It's amazing...can supply 12 Orbit heads at once without a pressure drop. It allows for full lawn watering all at once; 1 big zone and no controller, just use a timer. Self primes, pulling water up 12 feet. Also put a 1.5 inch fire hose fitting and ball valve on the discharge prior to the 1 inch irrigation lines. Living in a rural area with a volunteer fire department, it's nice to have a high volume hose for peace of mind. Would highly recommend this pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pump

,
May 24, 2009
By jingle
from Groves TX
"I've been using this pump for about 15yrs drawing water from a shallow well to water a large garden & small orchard. I live on the Texas gulf coast, we have hot dry summers, this pump has always perform in an excellent manner. I feel certain that my old pump won't last very much longer, but when it goes it will be replace with a Model# WLS150."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works "GREAT"

,
August 12, 2008
By pricecc
from Baltimore, Maryland
"This pump works great it drains my 7 person spa in about 10 min's where it used to take about 6 hours to drain and I also use it to drain the pool. I have bolted it to a shop cart. and now all I have to do is wheel it out and plug it in. I makes my life a lot easer. "THANK'S" Northern and Wayne."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump

,
August 11, 2008
By tauge
from Bosque Farms, NM
"Pump works good. We use it for hose discharge around the yard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Supper

,
August 11, 2008
By Riverrat001
from southeast mo.
"I use it to pump water from the river by my home to feed 6 sprinklers. Ordering was a snap and i received it fast.. Thanks a lot"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice pump

,
August 11, 2008
By THEBUSHHOG
from Fallon ,NV
"This pump has been very dependible.. I use this pump to pull water from a irrigation ditch that is over 100 ft away. And it runs 9 sprinkler heads at one time for my yard with plenty of pressure. I highly recommend this pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware

,
June 9, 2008
By VALk
from Parkland Fl.
"The pump is well made , the motor is GE commercial . There is one huge problem though : the motor is not rated for outdoor installation .Wayne support recommended to install it in a shed . Down here in south Florida all sprinkler pumps are installed outdoors on a slab ,exposed to rain , and they all have sealed motors."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase in a long time.

,
April 29, 2008
By Thos
from Novelty, Ohio
"I called Wayne to find out if this pump could water my garden that was 250 feet away from my pond and had a rise of 20 feet. There technician was very knowledgeable and friendly but he only had data to support I think it was 150 feet. Her gave me good advise on hose size but couldn’t say for sure it would work. I bought it anyways and I cannot believe the water that comes out of that thing! Plenty of pressure and flow even at those long distances! This is a GREAT pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Sprinkler Pump Model# WLS150

,
July 9, 2007
By Eric01
from Palm Coast, FL
"My 1 1/2 HP Wayne sprinkler pump installed easily and has performed flawlessly. It supplies plenty of pressure to the four zones that are spread over the 1/2 acre of St. Augustine sod I planted all around my home.
A very fair price for a quality pump!
Thanks, Northern.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wayne Cast Iron Lawn Sprinkler Pump - 4790 GPH, 1 1/2 HP, 2in., Model# WLS150
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOWWW!!!

,
July 9, 2007
By manranch
from Columbus, Georgia
"Excellent pump, this is a solid well built pump. Currently using it to recirculate/aerate a pond. Used a firehose nozzle and I'm shooting water 40 feet upin the air and 60 feet across the pond. The instructions to wire it up for the "do it your selfer" were not there. For saftey reasons it reccommends you hire a qualified electrician. So I got an electronics technician buddy from work to hook it up and he told me that it was by far the easiest moter to swap between 110 volts and 220 volts he'd ever seen."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.