Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15

Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15

Item# 10808
Protects your home against flood damage Every homeowner with a sump pump should consider the possibility of a power failure, which is most likely to occur when its raining. Sounds an alarm when your AC-powered sump pump fails. This 12V standby system takes over automatically to help protect against flood damage when the power fails. Max. Total Head ft. 10, Flow GPH 1,750, Discharge Port in. 1 1/2 or 1 1/4, Volts 12. Float switch for automatic operation Pump housing is lightweight and will not corrode or rust Pumps 1750 GPH at 4ft. 720 GPH at 10ft. Pump has a built-in check valve that keeps water from returning to sump basin Works with most brands of pedestal and submersible sump pumps Battery reverse signal ensures correct installation Automatic controls keep battery charged Works off deep cycle battery marine battery recommended 12 Volt battery not included Battery case to protect the battery
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (6 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 of 6(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15
Review 1 for Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Basement saver

,
September 1, 2011
By gearhead1972
from Brewster NY
"I purchased this pump about 6 years ago for my mothers basement after a power outage left me staying up all night bailing out the sump for her. It has worked flawlessly for 5 of those years. For the last year the original deep cycle was dead, and she hasn't lost power. This past Friday before hurricane Irene came I went and got a new battery. Sure enough her power was out for almost 24 hours during the storm. This was the first time in 6 years that we got to really test the run time on this unit. It kept her basement dry the whole time, and the meter light had not turned red yet. I have now been asked by a few of her neighbors, that got flooded to install these for them.
Great unit, don't hesitate to buy this
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

defective unit Wayne ESP-15 battery backup

,
July 14, 2010
By BrianInMA
from MA
"Purchased a Wayne Backup Sump Pump — 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15. Tested the unit before being installed. the units control board is defective X2. The controller has the pump on always regardless of the switch, and the battery indicator shows the battery low all the time (cook the battery much?). Glad it was reviewed before it was installed. Wayne will not send out a replacement with 1st having the defective unit returned. will return the unit and find another manufacturer that tests the product before it ships..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

back-up sump pump

,
May 24, 2010
By rickjeep
from Kentucky
"I purchased this product after an ice storm last year that left us without power for 2 weeks. As the ice melted, I made good use of a generator I had to buy in a hurry to keep my basement from flooding. Now, I have piece of mind that my basement will stay dry if power ever fails me again thanks to this pump. Haven't even had to use it yet but just the thought of it makes me feel better. It does a good job of pumping the water out of my sump during testing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real basement-saving product.

,
April 25, 2008
By Gory
from Story City, Iowa
"I see now that I ordered this pump exactly one year ago tomorrow, on 4/26/07, and kept putting off the installation until 3/9/08. Had the battery on trickle charger all winter to keep it alive. Installation was challenging, but only because of having to work in the sump. I used the Wayne pump in a temporary mount ( duct taped to a two-by-four ) to keep the sump drained while I reworked the plumbing. Managed to end up with a fairly tidy piece of work. Tested OK, and then began to wonder if it would ever see any action.
Yesterday it saw plenty of action. Almost three inches of rain and the float switch on the main pump failed. My wife asked me when I got home from work, "What's that beeping noise I keep hearing?" Well, it was the Wayne pump saving our finished basement and all the stuff in it from becoming a flooded junk pond.
I really like my Wayne Backup Sump Pump. Really."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy install

,
March 9, 2007
By jarnett
from Stockbridge, MI
"This was so easy to install. My reason for purchasing this was to avoid the high cost of a standby generator. now I can rely on this pump to protect my basement if i'm not home. my cost for a generator to run what is needed is about $4,000 less. p.s. buy a good battery!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wayne Backup Sump Pump - 1750 GPH, 12 Volt, Model# ESP15
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

wayne backup pump

,
March 7, 2007
By buddyv
from richmond va
"I bought this for my mothers basement for when the power goes off. We have not had the option to use it yet but anticipate a good product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.