Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"

"Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"

Item# 108102
"The Watersource frostproof yard hydrant features a shutoff valve that operates below the frost line to supply running water, even in the coldest weather. Cast iron head can be secured with padlock. Passes all Federal and State low lead standards lead content Brass connecting rod provides smooth, easy, leakproof operation will not rust or cut into packing Nylon valve seat provides perfect leakproof seal and can be easily replaced Rod, plunger, seat and linkage are replaceable without digging"
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Review 1 for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant

,
May 15, 2012
By MrHany
from Richmond, Va.
" Works fine! It was easy to install! It was ordered online, shipped to the local store, and I was notified via email that it had arrived. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No problems so far

,
January 16, 2012
By S007
from Erie, PA
" Installed this unit during the summer of 2010, and and very happy with it. Installation was pretty straightforward. It has worked just fine for 2 summers now, and survived 1 northern PA winter. (We do put an insulated box over it for the winter just for insurance and to make it easier to see and avoid with vehicles.) Only "problem" is that when the water comes on, it comes on full force and will blow my bucket across the yard, but that's more a function of my water pressure, and attaching a hose solves that issue. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

water hydrant

,
June 7, 2011
By horses
" Had a problem with the water flow. Woud no shut off. Call northern, They refer me to watersource. The person on the phone told me to adjjuust the nut on Hydrant. Didn't work . called back. told me to keep adjusting. Didn't work. The last time I called he tells me. I must of adjusted to much. But I just did what he told me to do.Sits in barn useless,cost to much to send back. "
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Leaky, not Squeaky

,
July 20, 2009
By FarmerJoeIndiana
from INDIANA
" I have five of these hydrants...2 are "down" with leaks. One plunger is pitted and leaks, another failed completely. Northern and Water Source list these units as having replaceable plungers, BUT WHERE DOES ONE GET PARTS?? "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant Review

,
July 13, 2009
By Mewd
from Sadieville, KY
" Note of interest: I am not a handyman, but a handywoman.
When my old frost-proof yard hydrant became inoperable, I immediately went to my Northern Tool catalog for a replacement. I had the Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant installed in quick order as it came with easy to read and follow instructions. This hydrant operates smoothly and efficiently and delivers promptly each and every time, with no sign of leakage. I recommend the Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant to anyone installing a hydrant for the first time, or replacing an existing hydrant. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hydrant for cold Michigan

,
November 17, 2008
By Horsedad
from S.E. Michigan
" Easy to use even my young daughter has no trouble getting water for her horse.
We have one inside the barn and one outside in the pasture and they have not frozen in the very cold Michigan winters.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

yard hydrant

,
July 10, 2007
By swepper
from Quincy, CA
" The best water valve when you live in cold country. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Watersource Frostproof Yard Hydrant - With 4-Foot Bury Depth, Model# YH4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frostproof Hydrant

,
July 9, 2007
By capsr
from Avoca Pa.
" It is a very good shut off, well made and top quality. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.