Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680

Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680

Item# 108106
Penetrates all types of soil, delivering a combination of easy driving, effective sand control, corrosion resistance and strength. Three-step bonding method prevents screen from pulling back. Material Stainless steel, Pipe Diameter in. 1 1/4, Length in. 38. Threaded octagon shoulder prevents turning while driving forms a hole large enough to allow clearance for pipe couplings 1 1/4in. inner diameter
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Review 1 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
October 8, 2012
By davea1
from Lodi, WI
"The sand point worked great, and went down with no problems. Of course I have a sand environment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

be forewarned...good product...BUT

,
July 1, 2012
By Bill997933
from Florida panhandle
"This item is well constructed and tough. If that was all there was to it, it would be great. But be forewarned, I found this wellpoint to be impossible to drive into my sandy Florida ground using manual methods like sledge hammers and post drivers. It drove down 4 feet and then nothing more could be done manually. If you really want to get to a depth of ten, fifteen or twenty feet you are going to need a commercial grade well point driver, truck or PTO mounted, like a Crowder Rhino PD 140 (at $2450 a pop)....so before you buy any well point materials check first at your local rental store for a heavy duty well point driver system for rent and site your wellpoint in a location easily accessible to heavy equipment. Otherwise you are likely to have a lot of fine wellpoint materials but no well. These things are impossible to drive without proper heavy duty commercial wellpoint driving systems. Then it can be done in half a day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DIYS Sandpoint

,
November 26, 2010
By Wise
from Three Forks, MT
"I have searched all over my local area to find a replacement well point for an old sandpoint well at my house to design and build a new sprinkler system. After days of calling around and visiting stores I finally gave up. A few weeks later while flipping through the Northern Tool Catalog I found not only the 11/4 well point but the stainless couplers and a drive cap, I live in an area where the water table is shallow with topsoil, cobble, and gravel. This product is perfect for such conditions where a do it your selfer can install a well point and avoid thousands of dollars paying for a professional. As always products are made for certain applications, and this product is not made for installation in areas of large or solid rock. This product is well made and is a perfect match for my 1/2 hp irrigation pump. I look forward to many years of cheap water for my yard. Thanks to Northern Tool for having products that are hard to find and making ordering a no hassle process.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality and price

,
February 22, 2010
By KansasCajun
from Kansas
"This Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point worked out perfectly, and the price was very competitive as usual at Northern Tool. I have driven many wells in my lifetime and I have to say this was the very first that I did not have a problem with the well point. I drove it over 20 feet at the first location and I wasn't happy with the amount of water available, so I pulled it out of the ground and moved locations. Pulling a well point from the kind of ground we have can cause a lot of problems, including damage to the screen. I have to say that this point was just as good the second time as the first. We started getting water at about 16 feet, I continued to drive the point another 8-10 feet and the water eventually rose to within 11 feet of the surface. Now we have a producing well with excellent water. I can tell you that it is always good to go with Northern Tools, they have not let me down yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for rocky ground

,
November 2, 2009
By MarchHare
from Deserts Of Utah
"I tried to use this to put in a small shallow well in very rocky ground. In a Word..Dont..
got down about a foot, stopped dead, moved over got down about 18" same story, moved to a third location same results.
by this time I had damaged the threads on the top of th initial shaft.
But would recommend this for you guys in fairly rock free areas, but a bolder pile that I am no, just skip all the hassle and hire a driller.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drive Point

,
October 19, 2009
By grounder
from Stras. Ohio
"Product worked great, in ground and working fine. Highly recommend"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gator

,
July 20, 2009
By Hydo
"Used 1 1/4 drive point, cuplink, pipe and drive cap. Teflon on the threads and pipe wrenchs to tighten it up. And in 3 hrs time the drive point stripped, This should not be used in New England, ground to hard for this product. Was very dissapointed with this product."
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall Good Product

,
August 18, 2008
By Don08
from Virginia
"Product worked as promised in desc. No complaints."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

gardening like crazy

,
January 16, 2008
By Anonymous
from Ocean County, NJ
"I have recommended this easy to use, well made wellpoint to friends.
the only caveat added, is the lack of locally available footvalves to fit this application. going with the 2" drive point is the best idea and I will order that size next well I drive.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Point

,
October 29, 2007
By Powerstroke
from Santa Clara, NY
"Very impressed with quality.Spike head is bonded very securely to the pipe, unlike others I've used."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Watersource Stainless Steel Well Point - For 1 1/4in. Pipe, Model# WP3680
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well point

,
July 9, 2007
By vinnie
from Red Bank New Jersey
"Well made solid great weight for driving through hard soil and clay."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.