Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1

Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1

Item# 108559
The Wayne 12V transfer pump is a portable and lightweight transfer pump you can take anywhere. Plugs into any 12V battery with alligator clips. The six foot suction hose and water suction attachment removes water down to 1/8in. Volts 12, Port Size in. 3/4, Self-Priming Yes, Amps 15, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 x 8 x 7, Max. Total Head ft. 40, Suction Port in. 3/4, Flow GPH 340. Corrosion-resistant chrome-plated bronze volute 3/4in. chrome-plated bronze connections fit standard garden hoses Convenient on/off switch on power cord Easy to use alligator clips for power connection Removes water down to 1/8in. when water suction attachment is used 30-ft. max. discharge height Designed for water transfer only Self-priming Rubber impeller
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 of 17(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Review 1 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Item

,
October 18, 2014
By JFree
from Oakdale, Ca
"I bought this pump to transfer water from a 100gal holding tank in my truck to the holding tank in my RV for when I go on long trips that require me to dry camp. It worked fantastic after I mounted it to my tank and attached the water hose it transferred 60 gals in about 5 min's saving me a lot of time and trouble. I would recommend this pump to anyone needing to move large amounts of water or liquid fast."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats a Bucket

,
July 22, 2014
By pappy123
from Maine
"I use rain water to water my organic garden and this pump gives me the ability to attach a hose and wand and provides enough pressure to spray 15 to 20' depending on the chosen output. I use it for all kinds of transferring of water from here to there. Great little tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for long

,
January 8, 2013
By Ted124
from Ct
"I bought the pump to pump water and it worked for the first season. During the winter after I had put it away, I went to use it and it would not run. I took it apart and the brushes for the electric motor had seized up. They were not making contact. I would not recommend to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

satisfied with product

,
August 15, 2012
By Labman
from bolton, ny
"i rigged up this pump on a dock with a 12v battery to pump out a boat when needed. it works great and i am quite satisfied with the product. i especially like the included switch and the included suction end which basically drains the water close to the floor. thanks"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pump failed

,
June 21, 2012
By DCobb
from Louisviile, KY
"I bought this pump in March and used it a few times to pump water from my trailer tank to my sprayer--maybe 1000 gallons total over 2 months. It worked fine. But then last week (early June) it failed. Took a look but can't really figure out what might have gone wrong. Very frustrating."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for hot tubs or pool covers

,
December 9, 2011
By messyhottub
from PA
"Bought the pump to drain off my pool cover and my hot tub. Unfortunately, the "Easy To Use" directions on the side of box are misleading. They state - "1. Attach suction hose and place in water. 2. Attach garden hose to pump and place in desired discharge area. 3. Connect to power source. " The Instructions in the box say add one tablespoon of vegetable oil to both inlet and outlet to prime pump (you can view them from this page - go read it). I thought it was self priming! Once you drop the inlet hose into the pool, guess where the oil goes! I now have a sheen of cooking oil on my pool cover and in my hot tub. When running, it is a good little pump, but it is not what is advertised."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The pump that gets the job done

,
June 7, 2011
By FarMasselink
from Caledonia, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We needed a pump out on our property to transport water from rain barrels and 350 gallon totes to water troughs for our animals. We do not have electricity run out there and everything runs on solar panels and 12v deep cell batteries. So we needed a 12-volt style pump. We went through 12 pumps from HF, and for not even double the money tried this pump (recomended by a NT rep). The pump works just as good not (6 months later) as it did right out of the box. It has an extra long cord with a shut-off switch so you can hook it up to your truck or spare battery, set the pump/hoses up, and then turn on the pump. When it's full, turn the switch off and put away without wasting water (that is a premium when you don't have a well and it's collected via rain). I know that this sounds like a 'duh' thing to have on a pump, but let me tell you there are not any other pumps out there with these features straight from the factory. On top of it, the price was very reasonable. Hope this helps someone who may be deciding between this pump and others. take quality with a less GPH over a high GPH to get the job done fast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne 12V pump

,
June 6, 2011
By DanOat1per
from Sandia Park, NM
"This pump is functioning well doing exactly what it was purchased for. I mounted it to the top of an 1100 gallon rain colletion tank that supports a vegetable garden and some landscape. It easily pumps water 50+ feet and maintains good pressure. I run it 15 to 20 minutes and it does not get hot. Good pump for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump

,
November 16, 2010
By stewtk
from Clay Center, KS
"Works excellant for the application. Sucks all the water out better than a sump pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed!

,
October 3, 2010
By Firefighter09
from Albany, NY Area
"I've got a 40 gallon water bladder that's supposed to drain by gravity into my travel trailer when I fill it on the roof of my pick-up. Well, it always took forever to refill the tank by gravity, plus I have a roof rack for our three kayaks that always seemed to be in the way. Just received this pump two days before I left for the NA$CAR race in Dover, so even though I didn't have the kayak rack on, I decided to try it anyway. (The water supply is almost a 1/4 mile from our site.) With the bladder in the truck-bed instead of the roof, this unit pumped the bladder completely dry in no time! I picked up a 10' piece of white (potable water) hose to go between the bladder and the pump, and then I easily filled my tank if less than half the time it used to take! It worked so well that I filled two neighboring campers, as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pumps great

,
September 1, 2010
By Paydirt
from Powder Springs, GA
"This pump works and operates as it should. Emptied my kids pool and watered the lawn in no time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS

,
August 30, 2010
By GREYWOLF
from LIBERTY, SC
"WORKS JUST AS GOOD AS I NEEDED IT TO. DID THE JOB PERFECTLY. BEST PUMP I'VE EVER BOUGHT."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Pump

,
August 23, 2010
By JHan
"Did It's job well. I just followed the instructions on priming it. Pumped water through a 50 foot hose with a 5 foot rise. pumped fast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Boondocking

,
November 17, 2008
By Mytemike
from Bitterroot valley, MT
"We boondock (camp in an RV away from water and electricity) often, and this pump has proved to be invaluable for emptying our drinking water containers from the pickup and get the water into the trailer. Very fast, although we have not gotten the rated flow. Takes a little longer to empty a fifteen gallon drum than the pump was rated to perform, but still very fast and wonderful self-priming.
Moving water in remote areas is where this baby shines. Love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wayne 12V portable water pump

,
November 17, 2008
By gatorintennessee
from Harrogate, TN
"Possible I bought this under the wrong impression. From the specs, I believed it would lift water vertically at least 6 feet. It will NOT. Wanted to draw water out of our river to irrigate / water my garden or to fill 55 gal. drum for transport. Would not draw the water up a sloping bank (6 feet vertical) 18 feet up the slope. Powered it from my 4 wheeler. Could be very handy if I can think of another use. Still working but got hot when used probably because water never entered the pump. Not saying it is a bad product, just didn't work for my need."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for watering trees

,
August 11, 2008
By Treegrower
from Oregon
"Bought this pump to pump water from a storage tank to recently planted trees. Water 75 trees at a time. Works very well and allows me to use several times before needing to recharge battery . Very easy to hook up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wayne 12 Volt Transfer Pump - 3/4in. Ports, 340 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# PC1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12Volt pump

,
August 11, 2008
By SMC1
from Denver, Colorado
"Worked first time out of the box and has worked every time sense. I like the idea that there are parts to rebuild the pump included should they be needed at some point."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.