Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160

Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160

Item# 108790
This Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump drains flooded basements, empties water-filled boats and removes water from stock tanks and flat roofs with its 1/6 HP motor. Features thermal-overload protection to prevent burn out. Oil-less motor design for environmentally safe operation. Impeller Shaft Impact resistant, Discharge Port in. 1 1/4, Max. Total Head ft. 20, Power Cord ft. 9, Volts 120, Volute Impact resistant, HP 1/6, Flow GPH 3,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 1/4 x 5 3/4 x 10 3/4, Max. Suction Lift ft. 17. Oil-free thermally protected high-efficiency motor Impact- and corrosion-resistant housing, volute and impeller Pumps within 3/8in. of the surface 1 1/4in. NPT discharge port 3/4in. adjustable discharge adapter connects to standard garden hose Easy-access handle for complete portability UL and CSA listed Not designed for continuous use
Average Customer Rating:
4.95 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Review 1 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pricing and quality

,
August 18, 2014
By mistrd
from Charlotte, NC
"Wayne pumps have a reputation for excellent quality. Northern has priced this product better than any other on the net. This and quick store delivery is why I continue to buy from Northern!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garden water

,
July 1, 2014
By Padro
from Pierre Part, LA
"We live next to a canal and my wife uses it to water all yard plants and vegtables. Nothing like fresh water for watering. It is light weight, quiet with plenty of volume. Had not had it for long but so far so good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne RUP160. Excellent value with versatility.

,
June 6, 2014
By Wes5030
from Greensboro, GA
"This pump is used for rainwater distribution and for transferring water from fish tanks (up to 3000 gallons)
to outdoor trees, ornamental shrubs, and flowers. It is also used to clean the bilge of an old deck boat.
This pump is fast, powerful, and economic. I can exchange 1000 gallons of water in my aquaponic system in 20-30 minutes while watering outdoor plants through 50 ft. of hose and a sprinkler. This pump will drain a bilge down to and inch or so of water without worry about small particulates.Great pump for the money.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST PUMP EVER!!!!

,
November 30, 2013
By JPS11
from INDIANA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This such a good pump it pumps a ton of water really fast! Also use a lay flat house to pump more water.
Really happy with it
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pool Pump

,
September 17, 2013
By Waterboy123
from Tucson, AZ
"Got this pump to empty my above ground pool, the pool is 18' x 52". I used my garden hose connected to it and watered all of my plants over a 6 week period. The pump did a great job watering all of my plants. If anyone reads this and wants to get one, DO IT, you wont go wrong."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An very awesome pump

,
August 13, 2012
By 1oftehmany
from Duluth GA
"Looked at the reviews, thought that maybe I would get some work out of it from what was said but I had no Idea I would get this much. I use this pump in a small lake at my home to water my garden. Not only do I water my veggie garden but I water all of my flowers and have about an ac. and lots of flowers beds so I was more than elated. An added bonus, I hooked the pump up to a hose and a sprinkler and I was off an running , no need to stand and water I could actually walk away come back a half hour later and job done, the pressure was enough to do this, unbelievable. If my basement floods again I am good there also. This pump is still running very well in a lake with little to no attention for about 4 months, well worth the money and no labor factor. Easy hook up and if I can do it anyone can. Great pump, just great!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sub pump

,
August 13, 2012
By gtlumpy
from Vancouver, WA
"Great little pump. I have been running it in my fish pond 24/7 for the last month, to the filter. Not one problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Little Giant

,
April 11, 2012
By Tuskadero
from Cottonwood, Az
"I attached a 100' garden hose to this Little Giant and it pumped 35,000 gallons from a 6' deep pool out over a 5' wall. I did this over a 5 day period running it about 4 hours daily. I don't know what else you could ask for. Enjoy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what I need

,
June 7, 2011
By keninapex
"I bought this to pump vinegar through my tankless water heater as part of its yearly maintenance. It works like a champ! I picked this model because, for this job, it is important to use a pump that contains no oil."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Submersible Utility Pump

,
March 22, 2011
By Pond
from Williamston, MI
"I bought this pump last year to circulate water in my water garden. I started the pump in April and ran it none stop until the following November. The pump ran flawlessly and I will put it back in service this spring. Very dependable and available at a great price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the Buck

,
March 21, 2011
By TXUKSKI
from Dripping Springs, TX
"I just purchased this pump for cleaning out two 10k water collection tanks. The pump had no problem handling the 10 ft lift and the sludge at the bottom of the tank. It also picked up all the water to within 1/4 inch of the bottom of the tanks.
Moved the water out quickly in 20 minutes. When i siphoned the water out it took 4+ hours. This is definitely the pump that could.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Emptied Leaf & Algae Filled Pool Quickly

,
August 30, 2010
By pilot210
from Saratoga, CA
"This little gem worked great to drain the last several feet of water from my pool. There were lots of dead leaves and it was emerald green from algae growth, but I was able to lower this baby into the deep end and pump out into my sanitary sewer drain to legally empty the pool. It had no trouble priming from the bottom of my 9' deep pool and driving 100' of 1 1/4 " hose to reach the washing machine drain. The filter kept leaves from clogging the intake. It pumped probably 5-7 thousand gallons in a half day. It wasn't able to get the last inch or so, but that was fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 300

,
August 24, 2010
By roger100
from Elmira New York
"This is the pump to have to pump water from my spring to water my garden, grapes, apple trees"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump, especially for the money

,
May 31, 2010
By MikeSC
from South Carolina
"I bought this pump to transfer water from a creek to my pond. That is alot to ask. All sorts of debris and continous pumping for weeks on end. After 2 months still going strong."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little performer

,
July 20, 2009
By jfs2010
from Decatur, GA
"Bought this pump to help move water between my collection of rain barrels in the front and back yards. It can empty a 42 gal trashcan in under 10 minutes. The only issue I had (operator error) was learning that I needed to lower it into the barrel sideways so that the air trapped in the pump would leave. Otherwise, the pump would go but no water could get through because of air bubbles trapped. Once I figured that out, no problems at all. Highly recommend this unit for residential use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump

,
November 20, 2008
By jdweather
from Arkansas
"I am very impressed with this pump. I don't know much about pumps - just bought this one to maintain my pool level after winterizing the pool pump/filter system. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of water moved by this product. After a big rain, I lowered the level of my 16' by 32' pool about 3 inches in an hour. I expected 1/6 HP to be much slower."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect

,
August 11, 2008
By CabanaBoy
from Trumbull, CT
"The pump works great. The only thing that would make it perfect would be the addition of an on/off switch on the power cord. I use it for pumping out my boats after rain storms, and not having a switch is a pain."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Pump for the Price

,
April 21, 2008
By DanGa
from East TN
"I purchased this pump to replace a smaller pump I used to drain my front yard koi pond. The smaller pump took forever and quickly wore out. This pump is great. It pumps a high volume and doesnt have a problem with leaves and twigs on the bottom of the pond. It actually costs less than the small pump I bought at the home improvement store. I just wish I had bought this earlier. My pond is over 7000 gallons. This would handle a much larger pond easily."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The quickest way to drain & refill a fish tank

,
April 21, 2008
By Vader
from New York, NY
"I have a 90 gal. freshwater tank with a large turtle in it. I used every pump both manual & electric that was advertised as tank water changers. Either way it was either a long slow messy heavy process. It ended up to be a 4 hour ordeal. Finally, one day, I called Northern Tool & asked if they could recommend a pump for my needs. The Customer Service Rep. recommended this pump; with the keyword being oiless. I now attach a potable garden hose to the pump, place the pump in the tank & have the other end drain to the toilet bowl. In approximately 10-12 minutes, 85 gallons of water are gone. I then simply place the pump in a clean garbage bin in the bathtub, place the hose in the tank & let her rip. My family & I are still amazed at how quickly & efficiently this is. No long wait, no lifting & spilling water. It's simply amazing. The only drawback is when you place the hose end in the empty tank to refill it, you do need someone to hold the hose as the pressure can shoot the hose right out of the tank. If you're alone, there is always a way to weight the free end down. If you have a fresh water tank of 20 gallons or more, this is the pump to use. Northern Tool, this item is terrific. "Paddles" & I both thank you!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 3000 GPH, 1/6 HP, Model# RUP160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Water Pump

,
April 15, 2008
By PoppaGator
from Panama CIty, Florida
"The Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump has proven to be an excellent product for my pond skimmer. I have a 25' x 20' koi pond and decided to add a skimmer and filter to the biofilter I am running with two smaller pumps. The new pump was easy to install into the skimmer, and it is so powerful that it sucks all the floating debris into the skimmer. Without a doubt my pond is cleaner than its ever been."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.