Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15

Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15

Item# 10882
1/5 HP motor is oil-cooled and thermal-overload protected to prevent burn out. This unique utility pump passes 1/2in. solids such as leaves, pebbles, and other debris without clogging. Drains water to 1/8in. of surface. Solid Handling in. 1/2, Discharge Port in. 1 1/4 or 3/4, Flow GPH 1,740, Suction Type Bottom, Volts 115, Volute Glass reinforced thermoplastic, Pump Housing Glass reinforced thermoplastic, Amps 6.2, HP 1/5, Impeller Shaft Vortex, Max. Total Head ft. 15, Power Cord ft. 8. Thermally protected motor Bottom suction design removes water down to within 1/8in. of surface High capacity 1 1/4in. NPT discharge port Quick Disconnect 8ft. power cord 3/4in. adjustable discharge adapter connects to standard garden hose Easy-access handle for complete portability UL and CSA listed
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Review 1 for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect power

,
January 17, 2012
By osuwyo
from Kansas City Metro
"The VIP15 provides the perfect amount of suction for my application, swimming pool, at an affordable price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump at a Great Price

,
January 9, 2012
By MBax
from Glen Allen, VA
"Bought this pump to drain a 15 ft. diameter swimming pool for the season. The pump handled the job in quick time without any problems. The pump design allowed the most possible amount of water to be removed from the pool liner, only leaving me with about a quart of water to drain by hand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Pump

,
August 5, 2009
By TeeMac17
from Gibsonville, North Carolina
"I had a couple of projects that continued to collect larger amounts of water before I could complete them. One was a 9000 gallon Koi pond, the other a small banked race track. The low end of the track would always retain water (several thousands of gallons). When I needed to darin both of these projects so I could continue working this pump did the task with no problem. Normally it would drain both projects within a18 hour span. I would definately recomend this product to anyone that needs a fairly cost cost pump to do a high volume job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wayne pump

,
July 20, 2009
By hardwarejunky
from Pittsburgh PA
"I have an inground swimming pool and this pump is ideal. It's quiet and very efficient . I purchased 3 of these pumps. I was always lending one out and when I needed mine it was lent out. . My Dad also has a pool and loved this pump so I bought him one as well . I have found other uses for this pump also. It's great for pumping out or filling fountains or ponds laundry tubs hot tubs etc. I replaced my gas engined pump with this pump and never looked back. My neighbors are glad that I am using this pump as it's so quiet, that they never hear it. It's a cinch to use. I highly recommend this pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 15, 2008
By arizona
from Arizona
"I harvest rain water and use the pump to push the water from my storage tanks out into my irrigation system. Works great so far, Does just what I wanted to do"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wayne Submersible Utility Pump

,
July 9, 2007
By bryce
from Seattle, WA
"Very nice small duty pump. Abiltity to suck up small particles without plugging is a big plus."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wayne pump

,
July 9, 2007
By Chetty
from Western New York
"I am using this pump to supply water to my garden. The water level is 8 feet below the surface and another 8 feet deep. The water has to go 25 yards to a collecting tank through a garden hose. There is enough pressure at the end to use a spray nozzle that will spray about 10 feet. This pump does what I intended it to do. price was right and my veggies are prospering. What more is there to say."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wayne Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 1740 GPH, 1/5 HP, Model# VIP15
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wayne Submersible Utililty Pump Model# VIP 15

,
March 6, 2007
By FWEISELE
from Kelso, WA
"I purchased this pump to remove water from my shop basement and to replace the Simer 2305-03 utility pump. The Simer was installed for about 12 months and had reached a point where it would not run without a manual twisting of the impeller.
Environment: The pump sits on a concrete floor in the back of the shop basement in a clean space visable from the entry door. The basement floor slopes from the entry door to the back which is 32 ft away and this allows water to stand in the back of the basement.
The basement is built of concrete and is used to store the yard and lawn tools and equipment. Therefore the floor is subject to having dirt and grass clippings on it. I Usually manually start the pump and check on it peridocally until the water is removed and than manually unplug it.
I liked the discharge location near the base of the pump, this location allows the discharge hose to lay flat along the floor as compared to the Simer, which has its discharge location at the top fixed in a vertical position. Additionally the Wayne discharge swivels from vertical to horizontal which I appreciate. The electrical cord length is sufficient to keep the connection near the 7 ft. ceiling of the basement. The top briefcase style handle is better designed and allows for a full hand grip as compared to the "T" style on the Simmer.
I have had the Wayne in service for 2 months. The pump preformance is quiet and capacity sufficient to clear the basement when pumping.
Dislikes: First the pump will not pump down to the 1/8' as advertised, and sitting in 1/2" of water it will not start pumping without priming and this is very inconvenient. The pump looses it prime at about 1/2" and will continue to run until the thermal switch shuts it down. when I come back to unplug it there is from 1/2" to 1" of water still on the floor.
I would not buy this pump again and I am in the process of acquiring another Simer. This pump requires too much "babysitting" to be useful to me. It would be ideal for a recessed sump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.