Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP

Item# 10898
Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump drains pool covers, flooded cellars and boat bilges with 23ft. maximum lift. Screened inlet draws water from within 1/8in. of the bottom. Tough, non-corrosive polypropylene pump body. 110 Volt Motor has built-in thermal overload. Not for continuous use short-duty pump only. Includes 1/2in., 3/4in. and 1in. hose adapters. Discharge Port in. 1, Suction Type Bottom, Max. Suction Lift ft. 23, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 x 4 x 10 1/2, Impeller Shaft Vortex, Power Cord ft. 10, Flow GPH 1,268, Amps 2.5, Volts 110, HP 1/8, Pump Housing Polypropylene. Clog-preventing, vortex-style impeller Tough, non-corrosive polypropylene pump body 110V motor with built-in thermal overload Permanently sealed motor is pre-lubricated with oil Durable epoxy powder-coat finish and stainless steel rotor shaft Dimensions 6in.W Bottom x 4in.W Top x 10 1/2in.H Not rated for potable water Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (124 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
33
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
118 of 124(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Review 21 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sump pump

,
May 15, 2012
By Larryd36
from western ma
"This sump pump picks up almost all the water. It is very easy to hook up. Great for a small water problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the little pump that could

,
May 8, 2012
By MJfarms
from New Hope,Ms
"This little pump works great,I needed to drain a 30k pool to do maintence .This little pump I just drop in pool and it pumped for 2days and it never stop a beat.Id buy this pump again, but the way this pump works, I dont think I'l need one for awhile."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Pump

,
May 7, 2012
By tikiBarber01
from Miami, Fl
"Pump has thus far done what it needs to do w/o problems."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Housewife friendly!

,
January 16, 2012
By Kewpie
from Pgh, PA.
"I bought this pump to drain our portable hot-tub. I was amazed at the quality and weight. I had previously used above ground pool cover pumps and they were very expensive and not nearly as powerful. The only thing I had trouble with was the connectors. I would have loved one to screw on the garden hose but I cut an old hose to fit and connected it up. Next came the real shocker as I wasn't ready for how powerful this pump was, the water shot out of the hose so fast with such force that It took me a few minutes to get it under control. Well I ended up all wet but happy that the hottub emptied in a few minutes, wow a real time saver!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pump for the money.

,
January 12, 2012
By Drift
from Sunshine State
"Good pump that will NOT give you sticker shock. Have used it off and on for over 6 month, without a problem.
Thinking about turning it into a "poormans" solar pool heater with some black PVC pipe. Should be enough for a small (1500 gal.) above-ground pool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rating the pump

,
January 9, 2012
By pumpitup
from Maine
"Pretty simplistic pump: attach hose, and plug it in. Connections are somewhat poorly designed, and I question their longevity. However, it still gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little pump

,
January 9, 2012
By nthpkjv
from Fort Worth, TX
"This pump is just what I needed. Small enough to fit into a 6" pipe to pump out water from leaking gate valves. Works great but it will get clogged with mud if it gets in the dirt. Just clean it out if it does. This pump has saved me a lot of time and labor. I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for the price

,
November 9, 2011
By Roger
from N. Kentucky
"I have had one of these for 3 years. I do not like that it pumps out the top, as the hose then has to bend over 90 degrees and usually kinks. I purchased a metal 90 and screwed it onto the pump outlet to get hose going horizontal. This worked... however after one year the extra strain broke the plastic hose connection on the pump. I glued it back on three times with epoxy over the next two years. Finally it broke and cannot be repaired. I am buying a replacement pump as this is a good price for a powerful pump, and I will be more careful this time as I tended to move it around using elbow as a handle, which strained the plastic. I also own a more expensive W***E pump that pumps from a bottom connector that can be positioned horizontal and this makes it easier to stand up on pool cover without the top weight of the hose pulling it over all the time, but it is not as fast or powerful as this pump at twice the price. I have two uses for two pumps and will get this one and realize that I have to be careful with the plastic top hose attachment point which is the only bad part about this pump. This will easily pump up from basement about 8 feet with garden hose attachement, and push water 150 feet. Rated at 4 stars for top weak plastic hose attachment point, but pump works just fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump - 21.13 GPM, 1/8 HP, 1in

,
October 20, 2011
By 123pic
from NJ Shore
"received pump today, right on time. Rained last nite and got about 3". Took the pump out of the box, plugged it in and a half hour later pool cover was empty. Just what I wanted. Next time I'll use a 1and a half inch hose, not a garden hose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welbuilt Submersible Pump

,
October 13, 2011
By meidingr
from Fallon, Montana
"I am not as satisfied with this pump as the one I bought years ago. The one I had before sucked the water from the bottom. You could get more water out. This one sucks to about a 1/2 inch, but has the holes around the edges by the bottom. Not as good..."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wel-built submersible pump

,
October 11, 2011
By mustangerforever
from medford nj
"I use my pump to control amount of water in my ponds which have 2 waterfalls. I do this when there is excessive water due to heavy rains. I live in the northeast and this year waterfall has been expecially high. The pump does what i purchased it for and at a reasonable price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

,
October 10, 2011
By davehu
from dallas, tx
"bought this to drain some small ponds. the plastic hose coupling broke as soon as I tried to tighten it, but after NT gave me a replacement it worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy pump

,
June 16, 2011
By poolchange
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"Good price for a utility pump. I use it to empty out kids swimming pool during the summer. Does a great job. I hook up a sprinkler to the hose and water the lawn where needed. Two birds with one pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Built Pump

,
June 14, 2011
By bts8361
from Michigan
"Does an excellent job draining my pool cover. Then I use it to run the waterfall in my ponds! Works great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Submersible Pump for pool cover

,
June 14, 2011
By JGsPool
"I have an in ground pool, bought this to remove the water from the cover, I placed it on the cover, walked away came back 20 min. later water was gone. Only 1 problem, should clearly state on the box that the pump comes with the different sized hose adapters, the store manager and I looked for the proper attachment for 15 min. before i opened the box and realized that they are included. I would recommend to anyone with a pool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
June 6, 2011
By miacat
from East Texas
"Have been using this pump about 4 months with 20 hours of operation a month. I am pumping water from a pond to a garden 235 feet with a lift of 12 feet. I average about 130 GPH . works great so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

,
March 21, 2011
By MJL1
from Alpharetta, Georgia 30022
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had 15" of water under my deck. Plugged in the pump and out came the water. The convenience of hooking up a garden hose lets you send the water wherever it needs to go. The pump drains down to the last 1/8" of water. It's a bargain pump that does the job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump

,
November 16, 2010
By Car1
from New York
"Pump is great, I purchased it to empty my pool cover and it does the job well. It can empty the cover in under 1 hour."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Submersible Pump

,
September 13, 2010
By mikegfromtennessee
from tennessee
"Good pump, I use it to empty my pool. Takes a couple days but its ok because I don't want to drown m neighbor that lives below me. Will use it next spring to drain the water off the cover when I open it for the season."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strange use for pump

,
August 30, 2010
By 1stYooper
from UP of Michigan
"We use this pump as a source for watering plants in our greenhouse. It runs for an hour or more at a time with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.