Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP

Item# 10898
Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump drains pool covers, flooded cellars and boat bilges with 23ft. maximum lift. Screened inlet draws water from within 1/8in. of the bottom. Tough, non-corrosive polypropylene pump body. 110 Volt Motor has built-in thermal overload. Not for continuous use short-duty pump only. Includes 1/2in., 3/4in. and 1in. hose adapters. Discharge Port in. 1, Suction Type Bottom, Max. Suction Lift ft. 23, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 x 4 x 10 1/2, Impeller Shaft Vortex, Power Cord ft. 10, Flow GPH 1,268, Amps 2.5, Volts 110, HP 1/8, Pump Housing Polypropylene. Clog-preventing, vortex-style impeller Tough, non-corrosive polypropylene pump body 110V motor with built-in thermal overload Permanently sealed motor is pre-lubricated with oil Durable epoxy powder-coat finish and stainless steel rotor shaft Dimensions 6in.W Bottom x 4in.W Top x 10 1/2in.H Not rated for potable water Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (122 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
116 of 122(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bang for buck, light duty pump

,
February 7, 2014
By byourhandyman
from North Bay, California
"Great for occasional use in dewatering and transfer of water. I've owned several of these pumps over many years. Good for emptying small pools and hot tubs, light duty in sumps, etc. After a period of time they get a little moisture inside and wont work well in a GCFI outlet. Easy to clear clogs by removing plastic screen from bottom, but recommend putting basket made of window screening around the pump if there is going to be any any dirt or debris in the water. After 2-4 years the motor burns out if used regularly and hard."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backup Pump

,
January 16, 2014
By RetiredJB
from Hyattsville, MD
"I have had my pump for a number of years, don't remember when I bought it. It has been a reliable pump. Last night I loaned it to a neighbor to drain his sump pump hole. He dropped the pump and broke off a chunk of the base and it no longer pumps water. I recommend this pump for anyone, because of its reliability. Just don't drop it on a concrete surface.
btw - This was my first purchase from Northern Tools and I recommend them to everybody.
I now have an excuse to upgrade to the pump with the automatic switch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump for the Money

,
September 17, 2013
By BillyD
from Pittsburgh, Pa.
"I bought this pump to empty water out of some holes I dug for a footer. It worked perfectly without any trouble. I did have to put a screen around the intake to keep out any small rocks bit having done that, the pump got all the water out in very short order."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a real workhorse

,
July 25, 2013
By GARRYG
from elkins park pa
"I believe this product for the money is a great buy! I have had it for 3 years and no matter the treatment this works and works. Easy to clear clogs by three screws on the base. Don't hesitate TO BUY THIS PUMP"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It keeps going and going....

,
July 10, 2013
By Luckyfly
from Texas
"I use this pump to aerate my pond. Other pumps will
last about 6 months, if I am lucky. This pump has been
going 24/7 for 14 months. It is nasty and covered in
green algae but it is still going strong!! This is a very
good water pump! I bought 2 more for backups but I may
never get to use them!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pump

,
May 29, 2013
By 1591
from il
"Just recieved this pump and used it for draining our swimming pool filled with Silver Maple leaves and the seed spiners. The vortex design of the bottom plate is designed to keep junk from cloging the upper screen plate and does just that. Cleaning is simple with the removeable plate and screen. I would recomend this product to anyone for light duty applications."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built Wel-Bilt Pump!

,
April 23, 2013
By DeepinnaheartaTexas
from Beautiful Downtown Bartonville
"This little pump is a work horse! It'll drain my 500 gallon hot tub in no time. The package includes everything you need to get your water moving. Highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pump

,
April 23, 2013
By dandydon77
from Houston, TX
"I've went through a few of these and they gave me my monies worth."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
April 23, 2013
By AlleyB
from Grand Rapids MI
"Baement had only a few inches of water after heavy rains. This product is just what I needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What it says.

,
October 15, 2012
By 88345mm
from Ruidoso, NM
"So many times you buy the cheapest and it breaks down. Here is a pump that IS cheap, but it still does what it says it'll do.
I could just write out the description again. It does lift about 23 feet, and flows better than I expected at that height.
End of the day: This is the pump I hope for after reading the description.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little pump

,
October 15, 2012
By pjl2
from Melbourne, FL
"Bought and used for about 3 months now. This small pump really moves water quickly. Came with all the adapters for connecting everything from 1" discharge hose to common garden hose. Built in screen keeps larger debris from getting through to block flow. Great little pump, especially for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

digger

,
August 20, 2012
By diggerd
from salyer,ca
"These are the most surprising little pumps, I have a shallow well on our property (23ft deep) with this little pump. The pump runs sometimes 24 hrs per day filling a 1500 gal tank which we then pump to the garden and lawn. The pump sits on the bottom of the well and gets all of the water and a little silt also, I bought an extra pump for a spare which I havn't had to use yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

real workhorse

,
August 15, 2012
By JEFFSR
from va beach Va
"worked really well pumping flooding out from underneath my deck. we had several days of severe rain and this pump emptied out all that backed up water in a few hours. it was reaqlly amazing with a 3/4 in hose i expected it would require days not hours. excellent craftsmanship excellent peformance excellent price and value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product !!!

,
August 14, 2012
By Rocket11
from Reidsville,NC
"Received this pump very quickly. Was able to hook my hose pipe up to it and pump the water out of my pool in no time. Very well made pump. Highly recommend. Thanks Northern !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

,
August 13, 2012
By hogs
from oregon
"More powerful than expected. Transfers water from rain catcher to garden easily. Leaves very little water left in the bottom of whatever you are using."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Temp Work

,
August 13, 2012
By klsghweghj
from Greenville, S.C.
"I'm fixing up a swimming pool and I already had it drained, but rain water would build up in it and so I bought this pump to get the rain water out. I made sure that the pump never ran dry and would only run for a few hours at a time. After 2 months, and with about 40 hours of run time on the pump, it died.
Pros:
While it worked, it pumped water out very quickly.
Cons:
It died after about 40 hours of run time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pump

,
August 13, 2012
By Stearman
from League City, TX
"I bought this pump to put inside a water barrel to provide more pressure than gravity-feed when watering plants from the barrel. It comes with all the proper fittings to connect to the discharge easily, and works just great. The price is good, too. The pump appears to be solid enough, but I haven't had it in service long enough to rate its durability. But, so far, so good. I will be buying others for this same use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great General Use Pump!

,
August 13, 2012
By Schrank
from Greenville, WI
"Bought this pump to perform flushing maint on a tankless water heater, of which it does a fanstastic job. Plenty of flow rate and can handle the backpressure without heating up or stalling the impeller. Solid build quality and the various attachments are a bonus. Granted the connections are plastic, but for the price this thing is a bargain deal. Just be careful with the plastic bits and it'll last for yrs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sump pump

,
May 15, 2012
By Larryd36
from western ma
"This sump pump picks up almost all the water. It is very easy to hook up. Great for a small water problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Water Pump - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the little pump that could

,
May 8, 2012
By MJfarms
from New Hope,Ms
"This little pump works great,I needed to drain a 30k pool to do maintence .This little pump I just drop in pool and it pumped for 2days and it never stop a beat.Id buy this pump again, but the way this pump works, I dont think I'l need one for awhile."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.