Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP

Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP

Item# 108981
Portable pump drains pool covers, flooded cellars and boat bilges. Maximum lift is 23ft. 21.13 GPM. 1in. outlet. Tough, non-corrosive polypropylene pump body. 110 Volt Motor has built-in thermal overload. Includes 1/2in., 3/4in. and 1in. hose adapters. Not for continuous use short duty pump only. Volts 110, Impeller Shaft Vortex, Flow GPH 1,268, Power Cord ft. 10, Pump Housing Polypropylene, Amps 2.0, Dimensions L x W x H in. 11 x 8 x 8, HP 1/8, Discharge Port in. 1, Max. Suction Lift ft. 23. Pumps up to 1268 GPH/21.13 GPM Pump starts when water reaches 18-19 inches Pump stops when water lowers to 6-7 inches Operates in minimum basin diameter of 22in. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Pump

,
September 17, 2013
By NewEnglandGuy
from Newington, CT
"I bought this pump because it used to say that it pumps to 1/8" from bottom. (The version of this pump without the float switch still says that.) The issue is crude float switch that starts too late and stops too soon for my application. I disabled the switch and put my own on it. Now it pumps all the way down to 1/8". Have never seen a pump go lower. Good value if the float switch fits your application."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Submersible pump

,
August 13, 2012
By Ricks49
from Elsinore UT
"I use this pump to pump water from a barrell in my basement that my washing machine dumps into this way I can use the water to water my lawn it has worked perfectly for this application with the float switch I don't have to worry about running it dry or the barrell flowing over it is really a worry free pump"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

use for pump

,
January 19, 2012
By LSG1
from USA
"I am using this pump for ground water drainaige in a low area of my yard. I sunk the pump in a bucket in this area next to my house. If I didn;t have this pump drain, in heavy rains the area would flood toward my back door. Works great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

submersible pump

,
October 10, 2011
By Teddy74
from Hillsborough New Jersey
"I purchased this for water in the basement...I have not had the opportunity to use it for that yet...[thank goodness for no flooding] but Ihave pumped out the pond with it....And it did a fast and efficent job...I would highly recommend it toanyone..."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

dependable

,
June 6, 2011
By bone76
from Plattsburgh, NY
"I have 2 of these pumps in my shop 1 is used multiple times a day to pump out the shop sink sump. Very easy to clean if items get into the propeller. The versitlity of the adaptors for the outlet are very use full to change the pump over for a veriety of uses & applications. Very dependable is 2nd pump in the spring it gets put into an old crack sump hole that backs up into the basement & is left in there for 2-3 months running as needed by the float. The only thing I would like to see different is the ablity to set the float to shut off at a lower water level the sink sump carries about a 7" water level at all times and can get stale smelling."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little workhorse

,
August 24, 2010
By JadaJ
from Wyoming
"This little pump is very easy to use, doesn't get clogged, and runs like a top. I use it to empty out a 50 gallon cistern type barrel in my crawl space. This is my second one actually. I killed the first one after seven years. I still feel guilty, it really wanted to keep running !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful, works great

,
June 1, 2010
By BurtB
from Great Smoky Mountains, TN
"Highly recommended! Works great and priced right!
We had a need to drain a large amount of standing water from the basement of my mother's house. Caused by a leak in her boiler on the heating system.
Started using a snow shovel and buckets, but soon found that it was going to be painfully slow to do it by hand.
Bought the Submersible Pump from Northern, and it made short work of the project.
Due to the amount of debris in the water I did have to clean the intake on the pump a couple of times during the draining operation, but that was not a problem with the pump just the sorry state of my mother's basement."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little pump

,
October 19, 2009
By PAdutch
from Lewisburg, PA
"I've used this pump to empty out my spa and now have it installed in a tub that catches dehumidifier condensation. It moves water pretty effectively and has been reliable. The only issue of note is that it requires 15-18" of liquid to get the float up high enough to kick it on. Just make sure the well where it is sitting is high enough to accommodate that level. Good pump for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hard working pump

,
July 20, 2009
By Jobdone
from Tujunga, CA
"This is a hard working pump. Our home has a septic system, our laundry water over taxes the septic system. So I have deverted this drain line to a tank that then gets pumped out to water the grass after every laundry load. The grass loves it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work horse

,
April 27, 2009
By Wildflower
from Riverside CA
"I bought one of these 10 years ago. I have a downspout that clogs/overflows on those rare occasion when we get real rain in Southern CA. Gutter covers and other gadgets have not stopped it. I get water penetration on my enclosed patio when this happens so after going out at 2 AM to clear downspouts on a rainy night one particularly rainy winter, I put a trash can under it with this inside - instant sump, rest on rainy nights.
The pump works every time. I clean it once a season and use it sometimes for other projects. I check periodically to make sure it is still available because I don't ever want to be without it.
The float does have to go all the way up to activate the switch and sometimes it will not shut off if the float falls down against the wall of the container. Still the pump has not burned out when it took me a few hours to discover it working dry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

submersible pump works great

,
March 17, 2009
By 6422
from Albany, NY
"This submersible pump came pre wired and with an assortment of hose fittings. Worked great right out of the box. Added my hose and a heavy lead cord. Its been in continous use all winter, runs about 20 minutes every 4 hours depending on the amount of rainfall we have. It has been pumping discolored water (no sand). I can pull it out of the submerged 55 gallon drum to remove debris (leaves) with the discharge hose that mounts verticaly off pump, saving space in a narrow hole. Froze the discharge hose one night, but the pump still worked good the next day!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pumping out a hole

,
April 24, 2008
By VABeach
from VA Beach, VA
"I bought this item to remove pooling rain-water from one area and dispense it in another. The pump worked flawlessly over the 6 month time-frame that I required it, needing only occasional clearing of the filter/netting. The only modification I had to perform was to shorten the float-pump switch cable. I needed the pump to actuate earlier than it does out-of-the-box. The switch does not activate until the float is nearly vertical. In my case, it needed about 24" of pooled water before it would automatically activate. I needed it to active at 12"-18", so I had to shorten the cable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump

,
October 29, 2007
By fift1ford
from Salem, MO.
"Northern Industrial Submersible Pump W/Float Switch-1326 GPH,1/8HP,1in. is an outstanding little pump, it is a little work horse easy to use simple to run. I would recommend this item to all my friends. This little pump is worth two times what I payed for it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump

,
October 8, 2007
By Vic3
from San Diego, Ca
"Use this Item in a garage as a laundry sink pump out works well"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pump

,
July 10, 2007
By billymac
from ANDERSON, INDIANA
"GREAT LOW COST,LOW MAINTANCE PUMP."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/8 hp submersible pump

,
July 9, 2007
By bigdig36
from Salyer, California
"This is an amazing little pump, I have one in a 25 ft. well to fill a 1000 gal tank. I didn't think it would work so well but when I tested it, it put out over 4 gpm. Though it is advertizing "not for continuous use", I have used it for over 12 hrs at a time with no problems. When I first used it on the well there was a lot of mud in the bottom, the little pump handled the mud easily, this is the second pump I have ordered (for a neighbor)."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Submersible Pump with Float Switch - 1in. Port, 1268 GPH, 1/8 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUMP W/FLOAT

,
November 16, 2006
By GKTJ1944
from LIFELONG MICHIGAN RESIDENT, RETIRED
"USED AS PRIMARY PUMP FOR WATER CROCK, FUNCTION IS PERFECT. BOUGHT TWO, ONE WITH FLOAT AND A SISTER WTHOUT AS A SPAIR"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.