Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump

Item# 108982
Hand-powered hand well pump provides an inexpensive way to draw well water from up to 23ft. Threaded for 1 1/4in. pipe. Total height is 54in. Spout to Base in. 9 3/4, Max. Suction Lift ft. 19 1/2, Water Flow 22 oz./2 stroke, Inlet Spout in. 1 1/4. Rubber piston cup Pump is 26 1/2in. Mounting base 9 3/4in. Bolt hole diameter 1/2in. 4 mounting holes Does not include any hardware to attach to base 22oz. water flow forever
Average Customer Rating:
3.381 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
14 of 21(67%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cast iron pump

,
June 16, 2014
By jcsnooks
from orlando, FL
"Good draw and flow. The kids love it. They play for hours with it. Here in Florida I need a drinkable water source when the storms knock out power for days at a time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used as part of a water display

,
June 11, 2014
By Polarrob
from Polar Caves, NH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We pulled out the pumps guts and ran a pump through it and used it as a water feature for our wishing well, looks great and works well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cast Iron Hand Pump

,
January 23, 2014
By AFIWoodcrest
from Pennsylvania (w)
"We have been using Northern's cast iron hand pump for over 10 years intermittently in our garden to pump water from a cistern. The pump was inexpensive and is likely cast steel, not cast iron, judging from the extent and nature of the corrosion on its non-painted surfaces.
We never had any of the 'infant mortality' problems noted by some other reviewers: no castings broke, and the pump seals worked adequately for over 10 years until recently. It stopped working last fall and we have now removed it and are attempting to dismantle it in order to install new seals and gaskets. It's quite rusty, but if it can be disassembled non-destructively and we can get new seals, we will remove the rust with a wire brush, lube it, reseal it, reassemble it, paint it, and put it back on top of the cistern. Northern's customer service has provided us a list of repair parts, but we're not sure if they can be obtained easily. Annual maintenance, which we did not do, would improve the pump's longevity and performance. In any case, the pump is attractive, mechanically simple, and has been a good value for a small amount of money. We will replace it outright with a new one if fixing it becomes problematic.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

I got what I deserved.

,
October 7, 2013
By AndyNYC
from NY
"I did not listen to the previous reviews
My new home was built last July and the builder installed the pump even though he told me that it had bad reviews. The pump worked for the remainder of the summer and promply died.
I contacted a handy man who examined the pump and said probably some part corroded over the winter and that I should buy a new one. I contacted customer service who told me that warranty had expired. They then referred my question as to why they continued to sell a defective product to a higher level. I never heard from them again.
I reread all the warnings in the reviews. This should have been sufficient. So what did I do? I bought another pump, insalled it and it broke down after a few weeks. So I got what I deserved,
PS - The second handyman came to the same conclusion and gave the same advice as others on this site, namely it does not hold its prime."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cast Iron Hand Pump

,
August 13, 2012
By JimBobby
from Vestavia, Al
"It works very well but will not hold a prime overnight. This is no problem if you keep a half gallon jug of water close by to prime the pump. I am pumping water from a spring up a hill about 15' and it does a good job with that. I use 20' of hose from the spring to the pump and it handles that great.
This is a good practical tool with memorabilly in the use of it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time and money

,
March 6, 2012
By RKendall
from Miami, Florida
"Ordered this twice. One arrived with the handle based snapped in two. The other broke as it was being installed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+26points
30out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Top Plate Broke

,
March 1, 2012
By Hillsboro
from Hillsboro, NM
"After four months the top plate of this pump simply broke in half. What use is this?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No Manual

,
July 25, 2011
By Anonymous
from Grafton Ohio
"Well''' I can tell you I installed my new big green pump this weekend.
I primed it, cause thats what I do. It would be nice if a user manual
was included, alot of problems could be avoided, Like the cup turning
inside of Housing, Mine turned right away and the rubber cup was disfigured, luckly I had a spare from my old pump. Here's the problem
you must take cup and piston out of housing and retighten the rubber cup
mine was loose from factory, allowing the cup to move, I installed my old tightened one and the pump is now flawless. The rust inside does not even matter if the cup is tight, pumps with ease now .Do not try to force the handle , cast iron will break very easily, Donot over tighten any of the Bolts and nuts 20 #s torque is enough, They Need a user manaul Folks !!!!!!! The Pump looks good next to my Big John Deer, I love Greennn!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this pump!

,
July 5, 2010
By ParkDept
from Indiana
"Got this for a town park, top casting broke the first day. Welded top casting and piston cup turned inside out that same day . Cannot find parts for this pump. Rubber cup is way too small for piston and cylinder. If you tighten piston the rubber cup squirts out. Again, do not buy this pump, it is junk. Doesn't deserve one star."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Pump

,
June 1, 2010
By cmm023
from Mount Holly, NC
"We have an old well in our front yard and I wanted to use it for watering flowers and other things without running power to it this pump was perfect. It looks as if it was put their for decoration adds beuaty to landscape it also smooth action on handle and was very easy to prime, I have to give 5 stars. LOVE THE PUMP!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

so why green?

,
February 22, 2010
By Wizz
from Redmond
"Well made pump, heavy construction, seems to be a fair quality for the price. Looks and works great i just wish it didn't come so green. The only positive to the bright green coating is that it did keep the pump from rusting and unfortunately it didn't fade a bit as i had expected, so I painted mine. Nice product though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Pump

,
February 15, 2010
By BlueJay
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
"This pump is featured as one that will pump water for up to 19 feet. It is defective from the beginning. First - the piston cup tumbles over in the pump cylinder and is quickly torn and ripped and never hopes to pump again. I ordered a replacement - it cost more thatn $20.00 because you can't simply buy the rubber cup. You have to buy the cast iron piston along with it. That one also tumbled and is useless, now. The cylinder wall is not very smooth so that encourages the piston to tumble. Probably the biggest design flaw, is that the piston and cup are so short that it easily tumbles. This pump, as designed, will never pump water. And I think it costs too much just to be a pretty garden decoration. I plan to have a machines shop make me a new piston apparatus from a chunk of nylon. I will make it longer than the one that came with the pump. I may have him put in a nylon insert cylinder so that it, too, will be smooth allow pumping water. This product should not be sold as a functional pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Can't wait to use it!

,
July 24, 2009
By backyard315
from SE Massachusetts
"I received the pump a week ago, but I'm still driving my well point. I'm down 28' and nothing. If I don't hit water soon this will be a yard ornament and that will be OK because the pump will look great in the garden. I have it assembled in the garage and can't wait to use it. The box arrived damaged, with some nuts and bolts missing. I was able to replace then locally."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality Control Needed for Hand Pumps

,
July 13, 2009
By GardeningFool
from New Brighton, PA
"This is the second hand pump that we purchased from Northern Tool. It is a unique pump that does not require an electrical hook-up. Last fall, we forgot to bring the original pump in before a hard freeze. One cast iron part split in two.
This spring we ordered a replacement. UPS returned the pump (refused to deliver) directly to Northern Tool because the packaging was severly damaged. We eventually recieved a damaged pump. However, in our case, the single piece we needed did not have noticable damage (i.e., no exterior damage).
Northern Tool Customer Service was very helpful. We reached an agreement for a discount of $25 in exchange for voiding our warrenty. Upon installing the pump, we found the inside of the chamber where the rubber seal is seated was improperly cast. We now have a pump that does not pump water. Looks nice.
Quality control at the point of manufacturing is very poor. It is a unique pump that when manufactured correctly is very servicable, attractive, easy to install and easy to use. In cold climates, the pump must be uninstalled for winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great pump

,
June 6, 2009
By wwb57
from Millstadt IL
"just instaled this pump and it's very easy to put together and i own an 1860's house and this pump goes real good together it wokes great and my well is 30 ft deep and no problem"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love It!

,
March 16, 2009
By Mers
"I love this pump - great product for the buck. The only thing I didn't like is the color is a different shade of green that it appears."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product!

,
November 18, 2008
By Shootergreen
from Houma. LA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This pump is well built and easy to use.
As a photographer, it's also a great prop!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good design, cheap construction

,
May 18, 2008
By steveintampa
from Tampa, Fl
"The pump works well, and the base and pump combination are great for the height.
The long stroke on the pump delivers more water than smaller pumps.
My only problem with it, is that is was simply not built to last. The metal is cheap and brittle, and the cup lasted about 2 years.
Trying now to get replacement parts. The cups were available, but the top bracket part that broke has been backordered for several months now. I may have to buy a complete unit to get back in action."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northern Industrial Lage Cast Iron Hand pump

,
October 8, 2007
By redred
from Roxboro NC
"We like ours . It brings back days when my Grandparents were alive and it was necessary for them to use one. We hooked it up with no problems. I would recommend this. When we have Visitors, they say where did you get that?. Then of course they have to try it out and they say "That is so nice." Hope you have as much
use and pleasure out of it as we have had.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Large Cast Iron Hand Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pump

,
August 12, 2007
By kasper
from Western NY
"I just installed this pump and it works well!
The box comes with no instructions but it is pretty easy to figure out. It justs
comes with a poorly drawn diagram
I use it for a small catch basin I have on a stream which holds about
44 gals of water. Great for the kids to play with and water plants.
Did have to wait 2 months for the product but it was worth it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.