Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH

Item# 10901
Drill-powered pump uses an electric drill to deliver up to 650 GPH and push water 50 feet. Fits a standard garden hose, but does not have threads to attach to a hose. 5 1/2in. from inlet to outlet, 3 1/2in. thick x 3in. high. In the event your electric drill comes into contact with the water source in any way, be sure to unplug the drill before retrieving it. 2000-3000 RPM Maximum Drill should have at least 350W rating Hose diameter required: 20MM Maximum inlet head: 6ft. vertical above surface Maximum pumping head: 50ft. Delivery pressure: 28 PSI 3/4in. fittings on both inlet and outlet 5 1/2in. from inlet to outlet 3 1/2in. thick x 3in. high With repair kit and suction strainer Can be used with: Fresh water Sea water Organic solvents Motor oil Insecticides Liquid fertilizers Liquid Temp: 35-220° F
Average Customer Rating:
3.792 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
19 of 24(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Review 1 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

,
December 4, 2006
By JohnL
from California, MO
" I didn't have high expectations of this unit at first, I was looking at gas based pumps but for my use I couldn't justify the cost. I found this handy gem, and let me tell you, am pleasantly surprised by how well it does work. It flows 2x faster than my house outside faucet. It requires atleast a 3 amp electric drill, I tried my cordless 14.4v drill, not fast enough. I use it to fill my stock tanks from a tank out the back of my truck, I use it every other day so far. It does self prime itself, I've never had to prime it. I'm using a 400 inverter tied to a 12v deep cycle battery since I have no power in the fields for the drill, I've pumped more than 200 gallons at once and it never gets warm or shows any sign of overuse. I'm using 3/4 car heater hose about 3ft on each side, slips on perfect. I think its a perfect Christmas or Birthday gift, any farmer or home handy man will thank you, its been such a timer saver, Thank You Northern! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

transfer pump

,
November 6, 2009
By Gregg123
from plymouth ma
" I ordered this to change the oil on my snowmobile,(no drainplug) it works great "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pump Review

,
October 22, 2009
By Jonmondo
from Nashville, TN
" Did not have any luck with this plastic unit, did not work as advertised. Failed very quickly. Would not recommend this portable drill powered unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

,
March 24, 2009
By miked5
from Whitinsville, MA
" I recently purchased this pump. It was everything the reviews said it was and more. I bought it for a few reasons. The first, was to empty the water on my pool cover. Lightning quick! The second was to empty my boiler and my hot water heater. AMAZING! I am now looking for more uses for this great little pump. Works great with an 18 volt cordless drill set on fast speeds. Even comes with a rebuild seal kit. What will they think of next? Highly recommended for any farmer, or handyman looking to move water when corded pumps are an issue. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great!

,
November 18, 2008
By jpeg
" I use this to pump waste vegetable oil and it works great. The only drawback is that when the oil gets thicker, the pump slows and drains the battery in my cordless drill faster. Pumps at a decent flow rate. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drill Pump

,
November 18, 2008
By Zopilote
" I have tried 2 other small drill pumps and they either wore out very fast or did not pump very well. This pump really moves the water and it has held up well. Good drill pump for the price! "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill pump

,
November 18, 2008
By 12mikewin
from Spokane Washington
" We use the pump topump used cooking oil for our bio desiel venture.Since useiing the pump it has meet all of our needs. It has past all our expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for small jobs

,
November 17, 2008
By GoUtes
from Salt Lake City, Utah
" I was looking for an easy way to drain a large fountain in my backyard and this little pump did the trick. A little tricky on the self-priming, but once it was going it pushed a remarkable amount of water and wasn't clogged by the bits of leaves and debris in the water. I ran it with my Makita 18 volt cordless drill and it ran like a champ. At that price and ease of use you can't beat it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

drill pump

,
August 12, 2008
By clod
from Arkansas
" This drill pump tore apart almost imeditaly when I started using it. I was using it to transfer light oil and had installed the proper screen to protect the pump from damage but the sudden introduction of fluid caused two of the inner spline guides to break. Upon examinating it seemed that there was not enough support to hold the blade guides in position. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value

,
August 4, 2008
By Campertime
from Green River, Wy.
" After reading some of the not so good reviews, I thought that It might not do the job. But after buying a drill that met the specs, It worked even better than I hoped. Pumped 5 gallons in 30 seconds into my camper. A must have item. Great price, great service from Northerntool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't pump oil at all

,
June 26, 2008
By MARMC
from Virginia Beach
" Although the inlet and outlet ports are labeled, I couldn't find an arrow showing the correct direction of rotation. Regardless of which direction I operated my drill, it wouldn't self-prime transmission oil up a 6 inch lift - pretty poor.
I thought this pump was a positive displacement pump, but it doesn't seem to be, because air can be blown right through it, in both directions.
Maybe mine was defective, since others say they've had good results.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

it works

,
April 21, 2008
By rodman
from Texas
" The pump works ok. It is suppossed to prime itself, but I have had to prime it on occassion to get it to work. It will also not work with a dewalt 18vlt cordless drill, not enough rpm. I will say for the price it was worth the purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not perform to expectations

,
February 16, 2008
By pump101
from Warren, MA
" This is a "cheap" pump. Works well for water but do not expect it to push water through a 1-3um carbon filter. I tried using it for my WVO system and it is not even close to powerful enough. Then I tried for remote water filtering (after complete cleaning) and it could push water through a 10-15um paper filer but stopped dead at the 1-3um carbon. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great problem solver

,
January 15, 2008
By ahomack324
from Pennsyvania
" Most efficient and quickest way to get the water out of my row boat. Did the job in minutes. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drill powered pump

,
January 15, 2008
By Seminoletide
from Calera, AL
" This pump does not stand up very well to use. Plastic inside parts cannot take stress of drill rated appropriate to the pump. In my opinion, poor construction and not a value. Better off spending a little more money and getting a pump with a motor, either 12V or 110V. This product is definitely a "get what you pay for" item. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
January 14, 2008
By mechman
from Eastman, GA
" The drill powered pump is an excellent alternative to other high priced pumps. I use the pump to transfer liquids from drums to a tank. I have found it to be a fast efficient pump that gets the job done at a fraction of the cost. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worthwhile unit

,
December 12, 2007
By Hydrotom
from Everett, Wa
" I've seen drill pumps in hardware stores for about the same price, yet I doubt they could move 1/2 the volume of water in the same time. I ended up using this after some heavy rains gave me 6 inches of water in my crawlspace under the house. I had no trouble with priming etc (although I did go out of my way to prefill the lines with water & had a check valve to keep them filled).
I've seen others reviews where the main problem seems to be priming. I know this pump is a "Vane" design and to begin pumping it can require you to spin it at ~1000 rpm or faster so centrifugal force "throws" the internal vanes out against the housing. The power steering pump in my diesel truck would sometimes not deliver flow after I would start it until I reved the engine (and I know that too is a vane pump). So if your using a battery drill you may want to put it in higher speed mode (at least for priming) and give it full power (at least to begin with).
Another thought is the way you position the pump could help make priming easier also. If you look down the driveshaft or the ports on the pump, you'll see their centerline is slightly off from the main pump body. If you're mounting the pump so the ports and the shaft both run horizontally, having the pump positioned so those are in the "upper" part of the pump can help. That'll make it so gravity also helps the vanes go out when you need them to (by making down be the "outward" direction for them). If you have the ports aimed vertically, having the "In" port aimed down can help for the same reason, but with the shaft vertical gravity has no effect on the vanes movement.
Hope this helps.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for hunt camp shower

,
October 31, 2007
By SteveGA
from Georgia
" I
have tried several pumps and this is the only one that works well for
my hunting camp shower. I heat water and pump it up about 5 feet to a
holding tank till the temp is warm enough. This pump will lift better
than other drill powered pumps I have used in the past.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Powered Pump

,
October 30, 2007
By Raymundo
from Stanton, TX
" I use this pump to empty toilet bowls for thorough cleaning. It pumps very well powered by my Ryobi 18V hand drill. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Multipurpose Drill-Powered Pump — 650 GPH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sap sucking

,
October 27, 2007
By mariner
from maine woods
" I bought two of these for transferring maple sap from field tanks to my truck tank. Do not run them backwards or they will catastrophically fail! My fault. The second one works well with my 18v cordless drill. It will not self prime, but it may be a speed issue with the drill. Once it starts, it pumps very well, MUCH better than carrying five gallon buckets through the snow. For the price and mobility, you really cant beat it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.