Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine

NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine

Item# 109163
NorthStar's semi-trash pump has a quiet and dependable 160cc Honda GX160 engine and silicon carbide mechanical seals that resist corrosion, wear and heat better than a standard seal. The long-lasting, high-end silicon carbide seals that are specially suited for heavy-duty applications such as pumping contaminated and abrasive fluids. FCD45 cast iron impeller and volute reduce vibration and wear on the mechanical seal and engine, allowing them to last longer for semi-trash operations. HP 5 1/2, Impellers Cast iron, Max. PSI 42, Max. Suction Lift ft. 23, Flow GPH 10,010, Check Valve Yes, Engine Displacement cc 160, Engine Type GX160, Fits Hose Dia. in. 2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 x 16 x 16, Discharge Port in. 2, Engine Honda, Suction Port in. 2, Volute Cast iron, Seals Silicon carbide, Self-Priming Yes, Solid Handling in. 5/8, Start Type Recoil, Max. Total Head ft. 98, Run Time 2 hrs., Fuel Capacity gal. 0.82. Multidirectional discharge puts fluids where you want them Strong 23-ft. max. suction lift FCD45 cast iron impeller and volute last longer for semi-trash operations Silicon carbide seals are 2 times harder, 15 tougher, and 50 stronger than common aluminum oxide seals Uses standard NPT threads for attachment flexibility Utilizes a check valve to hold a prime while the pump is not running Fully welded industrial 1in. steel roll cage with durable DuPont Black Wrinkle TGIC Polyester electrostatic finish holds up to jobsite abuse Full frame protection All sheet metal parts are cut using a state of the art CO2 laser Includes FREE strainer Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Dependible Well Worth The Money!

,
February 4, 2014
By Appster
from Central Pennsylvania
"I am a swimming pool professional and we've used these semi trash pumps since 1996. We've gone through three of these since then. They are abused and used hard and we are surprised at how they withstood all the wear and tear. 70% of their use has clean water running through them. The other 30%.... well, lets just say that we are amazed for "semi" trash pumps what they can do. We've definitely got our money's worth out of them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump

,
February 4, 2014
By mc44
from Northern California
"I have had this pump for a few years now and it still performs as well as when it was new, I pump from a pond and a stream and it has never failed. It takes a minute or two to prime but otherwise it's a very reliable tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2" Honda GX160 semi trash pump

,
September 17, 2013
By bigd65101
from Jefferson City, mo
"totally blown away, this pump worked great, watering my deer food plots( 2 acres ) didn't take no time at all . drawing water from a creek about 10' off a bridge into a 400 gallon container ,then I pumped out the container on the ground., very impressed I also used the 2" fire/fog nozzel with 75' of discharge hose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPER RELIABLE, well worth the money

,
September 17, 2013
By PBMLando
from Paramaribo, Suriname (South-America)
"There are cheaper pumps out there, but you will surely not regret buying this one: I've been using this pump for 2 years now to pump waste vegetable oil, it NEVER let me down and starts at the first attempt sometimes even after a week of sitting. It is strong and very reliable. It will suck small debris in and when its clogged it only takes 5 minutes to open it up, remove the debris and continue pumping. Very easy to maintain needs little maintenance, its very forgiving ;-) Seems fuel efficient too. Buy it with confidence, you will be happy you did. Either you spent the few extra bucks on this or you spent half your time fixing and trying to start another brand of pump. Time is money, I'll stick to the Northstar with dependable Honda engine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pump ever

,
August 27, 2012
By CommFleet
from topeka, ks
"It started on the first crank. Puts out more water than the other 3 cheap water pumps I have that are the same size. It only took about 10 seconds after it started to start pumping the first time when water entered from the suction tube/hose. I can tell this pump is going to last a long time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little pump does a big job

,
January 16, 2012
By AquamanNC
from Franklinton, NC
"This pump has worked will for me every time I needed it to. I work at industrial site on spill response team and only have good things to say about this pump.
The only thing I did not like was the wheel package, I would not buy again. It was not designed correctly and always needs to be adjusted
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great versatile semi-trash pump

,
October 18, 2011
By Kimobo
from Lahaina
"We have 2 of these semi trash pumps, the first is over 12 years old and still running strong. It is a very versatile pump that we use for everything from draining swimming pools and koi ponds to emergency flood water removal. The motor is strong and reliable and still starts on the second or third pull even after sitting for months unused.
The 2" connections are very versatile and can be hooked up to standard fire hoses to get the water well away from flooded areas or to use waste water where it is needed for irrigation. It handles very muddy water with small rocks and has never clogged. It is very easy to maintain, I think we have only replaced one part on the old pump which was easy to get from Northern. It is a reliable winner, I would recommend this very versatile pump to anyone for a broad range of jobs.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pump

,
October 10, 2011
By ble431
from Ulster county, NY
"Living in the north east I was in need of a good pump and this is the one!!!! I was able to save my basement from the flood water with this pump.started every time on the 1st or 2nd pull,the self prime feature is great. Very good pump!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

,
March 14, 2011
By gregcasedc
from Ohio
"Nice pump just as it was described to be. Replacing a much used and abused North Star pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump

,
March 14, 2011
By JohnLL
from Duluth,MN.
"Powerful trash pump with a dependable Honda engine. Used for spraying calcium chloride."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trash pump

,
November 24, 2010
By stash199
from Junction City, WI
"By far the nicest little trash pump for the money. Using it for concrete washout materials and handles the pumping action very good. Well worth every penny."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5***** North Star Semi Trash Pump

,
August 31, 2010
By Sparow
from Pierz MN
"Pump out a basement to watering a garden from a creek or pond, or pump a septic tank and it will a large water tank fast.
The greatest thing about the pump other than it many uses is it quality and dependability !
I bought one a few years ago and it is used a lot , I did not have a problem with it ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water Pump

,
August 30, 2010
By Yogi
from Summit Ms
"This is a good durable pump. I use it to irrgate my grass fields when we have a lack of rain, this means that the pump will run 15 hrs a day pumping water from our pond to the fields using fire hoses.
The only draw back is it needs a bigger gas tank so it will run longer between refueling
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump man Pump

,
August 24, 2010
By WIDETRAC
"Have had this pump about three months. Bought it hopeing to not need it. Am building a twenty five acre pond with drainage from about three hundred acres. The past two months have been a prelude to Noas Ark. The pump has burned two hundred and fifty + gallans of gas and kept the water in the basion. Might have to buy another one before I finish but so far it spins like a top. Off hand I can't tell you haw many gallons have been pumped But for conversation, a one inch rain is between five and six thousand gallons per acre. The pump has to pump one hundred and sixty five hours at ten thousand gallons per hour to get rid of three hyndred acres worth. YES I RECOMEND IT. Very good head pressure and great discharge"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SemiTrash Water Pump

,
June 1, 2010
By tlokvig
from California Gold Country
"We bought this 2" pump for fire protection and it has plenty of pressure using 1 1/2" fire hose. We haven't had a fire yet, but the pump has proven very useful for pumping out the pond. It starts easily, even after sitting for months at a time. Just be sure to add fuel stabilizer to the gas. I would recommend this to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Semi-Trash Pump - 2in. Ports, 10,010 GPH, 5/8in. Solids Capacity, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar semi-trash pump (Honda powered)

,
June 1, 2010
By DrMike
from Florida
"I needed a reliable semi-trash pump to install pilings and to repair existing dock pilings. Prior pumps had issues with reliability and ease of starting.
For that reason I purchased this pump and found it to be very useful and efficient at providing the needed capacity with dependability. This meets these requirements very well.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.