Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine

NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine

Item# 109171
This NorthStar extended run semi-trash water pump provides more than 8 hours of continuous pumping without refueling, up to 4 times the run time of typical pumps. It features a powerful, dependable Honda GX200 engine with Oil Alert that provides extra power, quieter performance and greater engine life. NorthStar uses long-lasting, high-end silicon carbide seals that are specially suited for heavy-duty applications such as pumping contaminated and abrasive fluids. Discharge Port in. 3, Self-Priming Yes, HP 4 7/8, Engine Displacement cc 200, Suction Port in. 3, Engine Honda, Volute Cast iron, Impellers Cast iron, Fits Hose Dia. in. 3, Max. Suction Lift ft. 23, Fuel Capacity gal. 3 1/2, Run Time 8 hrs., Flow GPH 15,850, Max. Total Head ft. 98, Engine Type GX200, Solid Handling in. 3/4, Dimensions L x W x H in. 21 7/8 x 18 5/8 x 20, Seals Silicon carbide. Provides more than 8 hours of continuous pumping without the need to refuel Fully welded industrial 1 1/4in. steel roll cage with durable DuPont Black Wrinkle TGIC Polyester electrostatic finish holds up to jobsite abuse Long-life silicon carbide mechanical seal resists corrosion, wear and heat better than a standard seal V-mount engine and pump isolation mounts for less vibration and extended life Silicon carbide seals are 2 times harder, 15 tougher, and 50 stronger than common aluminum oxide seals Long-lasting cast iron impeller and volute reduce vibration for semi-trash applications All sheet metal parts are cut using a state of the art CO2 laser Uses standard NPT threads for attachment flexibility Utilizes a check valve to hold a prime while the pump is not running Self-priming Optional wheel kit Item# 109172 also available Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
8 of 10(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall Good Design with one major flaw

,
April 1, 2014
By Defter
from Hanford, CA
"Pump runs great and does a fantastic job. I have owned this pump for approximately 4 years. After 2 years of pumping the volute inside the pump wore through the pump cover. North Star warrantied the issue and sent me a completely new pump - no questions asked (great customer service!!!). Recently the exact same problem happened again. Overall this is a great product, however realize that with heavy use you will be replacing/repairing the pump. Cost of parts is around 25 dollars and about a 1/2 hour of labor. Not going to break the bank, but definitely a design flaw."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Port

,
May 16, 2012
By shive
from NE Missouri
"Great little pump! It has performed flawlessly for two years now with heavy use spring through fall in a farm/ag setting. Had a small pump issue and NorthStar fixed it at a local service center free of charge. Can't ask for more. We are very please with it. Great value. We now have three for use in different areas!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap Honda Engine

,
March 20, 2012
By Fishinthemud
from Midwest
"Ran this pump 120 hours last year. Pump works great. "BUT" I changed the oil this year. Ran it 15 hours. And the rings seized up. Only 1.5 years old. Cheap Honda, give me a Briggs anytime."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works fine, if a bit underpowered

,
June 6, 2011
By YoYo
from Montana
"Pump starts & runs fine. Extended run time is critical for my needs. I also own a 2" pump and in comparing the two, I would say that this pump could use a bigger motor for full pumping performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap

,
June 3, 2011
By ShouldHaveBoughtLlocal
from Ohio
"Cheap Thailand made engine. Honda quality has gone way down hill. Arrived looking good but the fuel tank outlet fitting was busted off. Northern is nice about sending a part. All I need to do is easy out the stub, fix it and clean up all the gasoline on the floor. Pain in the neck!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

,
April 28, 2011
By Danielf
"Purchased pump as a backup for field drainage. As we are getting a lot rain I've run it t a week solid. Performs as advetised, no oil use yet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One tough package!

,
March 21, 2011
By pondmucker
"I used this to clean the muck off of the bottom of my pond and this monster went the distance. It moved slurried mud like it was nothing at all and purred like a kitten. A great value"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Man versus Pond

,
November 19, 2010
By Ed2010
from New Paris, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I initially purchased the 3" NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Water Pump to pump approximately 900,000 gallons of water(with some solids) from my pond to complete work on a residental geothermal system. This one project will cover the purchase price of the pump. My criteria for selecting this product was as follows:
1. High quality pump with a reliable long life seal arrangement.
2. Lightweight that one person could safely move it.
3. Dependable HONDA engine known to start easily and have low maintenance requirements.
4. Extended run feature to provide maximum operation between fuel fill-ups.
5. Ability to get parts in the future for a reasonable price.
6. High equipment value for money spent.
Over the past twenty plus years I have purchased many items from Northern. As a "do-it-yourself" kind of person I value great quality and highly reliable types of tools, and equipment. The purchase of this pump has met all the criteria described above.
Specifically the 3" NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Water Pump was delivered quickly in perfect condition. The easy to read manuals for both the pump and the engine provided key safety, operation and maintenance instructions for me as a first time pump owner. The pump has performed flawlessly and I would recommend to others. Attached please see pictures. The pump has approximately 50 hours on it at this time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 30, 2010
By TXwater
from Houston, TX
"Pump has plenty of power and purchased with suction accessory kit. Pump is used for industrial site to remove standing water after heavy rains and can work all day without refueling with no problems yet. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Extended Run Semi-Trash Pump - 3in. Ports, 15,850 GPH, 3/4in. Solids Capacity, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3in.semi trash pump

,
February 15, 2010
By waterpumper
from Rimersburg Pa
"bought this pump about 4yrs ago after I had my basement fillup with heavy rain water. My sump cold not keep up with what was coming in at the time. After being flooded once and losing a finished basement checked around foundthe best deal with you people ordered it with suction hose discharge hose and strainer. Had use several times afterwards always kept ahead of high water afterwards put suction line down in sump hole and let her sit pump slightly higher than idle. The one time took to creek to exercise it after about and hour change flow of the creek a little bit wthe suction of the pump did wonderful job for me well woeth my investment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.