Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100

Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100

Item# 109258
Built to give you many years of dependable pumping service. The Wayne PLS series lets you water your lawn and garden with water pulled from a pond or lake, instead of from the city water system. Also a great tool for emptying or filling stock tanks and removing standing water from flooded areas and transfer water. Capable of supplying 2 or 3 sprinklers through 150 feet of garden hose. CSA listed. Max. Total Head ft. 180, Max. PSI 50, Suction Port in. 1, HP 1, Hose Adapters in. 3/4, Volts 120, Max. Suction Lift ft. 20, Flow GPH 720, Port Size in. 1, Self-Priming Yes, Discharge Port in. 1. Continuous duty pump Motor Speed 3450 RPM 120V totally enclosed, fan-cooled continuous-duty motor Stainless steel pump housing for durability and corrosion resistance Durable impeller Ceramic/carbon-faced seal for long life Safe and convenient on/off switch Includes 3/4in. garden hose adapters Convenient carrying handle For use with clear water only 3 power cord with three-prong plug
Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (58 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
56 of 58(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Review 1 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Things that are great about this pump

,
April 17, 2014
By Bone1
from Kansas
"I set up pump last night. No problems at all. Really easy. Attached approx. 25 ' suction hose with foot valve. Primed pump after attaching approx. 150 ' of garden hose and turned on. Worked great and waters my garden with as much pressure as I did with my rural water supply. I will pay for this pump in about 2-3 months from the rural water cost savings. Actually will water more frequently now that cost is almost nothing as my electrician says the pump would be a little comparable to running a refrigerator and I run that all the time. I will purchase a timer to set and the pump will be able to shut itself off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne PLS100 Sprinkler Pump

,
October 9, 2012
By Bern0001
from Stevensville, ON
"The Wayne PLS 100 sprinkler pump far exceeded my expectations. My lawn turned brown and started to look like a desert. Water is very expensive in my neck of the woods. Fortunately I have a creek in the back yard and after much research on the web, I settled on this pump. I set the pump about 10 feet from the bank at about a 5 foot lift. I had to use a 100 foot #12ga. extension cord for power. I used a 20 foot 1 inch hose attached to a Bur-Cam 1 1/4" Lake Strainer/Footvalve. This filter floats on top of the water so as not to disturb the mud bottom of the creek. The pump has enough pull/push to supply 2 sprinklers full throttle. It pumps 75 feet uphill about another 10 foot lift in a 3/4" hose to a valve header. From there another 125 feet in a 1/2" hose to the front lawn. Also from the header - I water the side and back of the house with 1/2" hoses. I now have one of the greenest lawns in our area. Because it was portable, I was able to put it away after use. Next year I will set it up in a more permanent way. Each time I set it up I had to prime the pump. I used a watering can to fill the 1" hose, then attached hose with a union to pump, then I filled the pump up through the discharge outlet and then attached the discharge hose. You must ensure all connections are air tight. I had no problem priming the pump each time I set it up. As I stated before, this pump has far exceeded my expectations and has run continuously for up to 10 hours in a day in the hot sun and has performed flawlessly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

,
October 8, 2012
By SJM23
from Durango, CO
"I bought this pump to use on a large water tank to supplement my well water for garden watering. It works great, pumps a lot of water, and I love it's portability and that it is so lightweight. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that the housing does get very hot when I pump over about 20 minutes. I have to turn it off and let it cool down. When the grass is dry, that could be a concern. Otherwise I am very pleased with it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pump!

,
August 16, 2012
By nick72126
from Arkansas
"This pump was easy to install and has performed great.I necked it down to a 5/8" garden hose and it has pushed water from my pond well over 180' and at least 20' lift. I am able to operate 2 sprinkler heads.Has kept my garden alive thru the worst drought in over 30 years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pump

,
August 13, 2012
By rfmag
from mo
"pluged it in, primed it, fliped the switch and it punped a 4x4 8ft deep well dry in less than a hour. worked great. It pushed the water up 20 ft thru 200ft of water hose. have used it evert day for a month to water my garden. no problems"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Pump

,
August 13, 2012
By WorkingEngineer
from Seattle, WA
"The pump is a high quality unit great for general use.
I would recommend this for 90% of lawn/garden applications and for light duty equipment cleaning!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump

,
May 14, 2012
By edie
from PA
"Works as it should. Did every thing I wanted it to. Good pump and very easy to use. Watered my 1/2 acrea sweet corn patch."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Booster Pump

,
April 19, 2012
By heplfullhenry
from South Carolina
"I purchase this pump about two months ago. Living in the hot dry South it gets plenty of workout. I purchaed the suction hose and the brass foot valve and I am very happy with the results. I have two 3/4" , 75 foot hoses and one 100', 1/2" hose on the pressure side. I can run two sprinkler heads with no problem. It is very easy to prime ( I have only primed it once) I would recommend putting a wye strainer on the inlet if you are pumping out of a stream."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

,
April 16, 2012
By Poorrichard
from Lenox, MA
"Purchased as a back up. Had it in storage for 3 or more years and when I finally had to use it when the pump I was using failed, this pump failed after running 20 minutes. Save your money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I hoped for!

,
October 11, 2011
By NYdavid
from Plattsburgh, NY
"I needed a pump to get water up 15 feet from the river 100 feet away to water my new lawn. This pump did the job as advertised - ran 2 sprinklers at a time 4 hours a day for 2 weeks - until we got rain ;-) Saved $1000 in city water/sewer charges just this year!
I should add the foot valve recommended worked like a charm, also. Never had a problem after the first priming.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backup pump

,
March 21, 2011
By AcworthEd
"I use this pump as a backup to pump from a lake to the garden and lawns. Very easy to use and set up. Just be aware - it does run hot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pump is a joke!!!

,
November 16, 2010
By Hostaking
"Bought all the recommended components, wouldn't stay primed long enough to work. Then I found out on the internet how many people had the same problem and how unresponsive, Wayne's customer service is!
Would only recommend this pump to someone I hated!
"
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

,
August 23, 2010
By Smookie
from Michigan
"I use this pump for the lawn. I have two hoses hooked up and it waters fine! There is so much power I only have to run it 30 - 45 minutes a day!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Irrigation Pump

,
August 23, 2010
By Bells
"I bought this pump during a very dry summer when I could not water my lawn sufficiently without the risk of running my well dry. I live on a river and can set up this pump with associated extension cords and hoses in about 10 minutes. The pump pushed the water through five 75 foot hoses and uphill about 100 feet with no problem. The river is tidal and the water has receded below the intake a few times, but the pump does not show any damage from running dry.
It does need to be primed twice to start up in my set up. I would strongly recommend buying the intake filter with check valve so you do not have to re-prime after power cycling, or between tide cycles in my case.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wayne sprinkler booster pump

,
August 23, 2010
By MrBumper
from Killingworth, Ct.
"This pump works great! The only problem was initilly connecting the 1" female suction hose to the 1" female pump intake with the adapters included with the pump. There was not one that would work. I found a 1"x6" stainless steel nipple and some teflon tape and I was in business. It does a great job irragating our garden from our stream 50' away."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impeccable performance

,
July 6, 2010
By coxt
"Impeccable performance. Works exactly as advertised. Not only that, but I called the manufacturer, Wayne Industrial Pumps, and the representative was knowledgeable, courteous, and professional. I described my irrigation needs in detail, inluding source (slow flowing creek), lift height from source ( 7 ft), distance from source to pump ( 2 ft), height from pump to garden ( 15 feet), and distance from pump to garden ( 150 ft). She recommended this pump so that it would not pump the creek dry.
We bought this for my dad as a gift. He's 94 and very, very active. He can easily manage this pump. He runs it 10 hours at a time, feeding two hoses on his flower gardens. The output flow and pressure is perfect. The pump is quiet. The switch is easy to use. The pump is light and has a convenient handle.
The folks at Northern Tool helped my dad a lot by recommending the purchase of 10 ft of 1 inch reinforced intake hose with a foot valve. It holds the prime VERY well.
Astonishingly, the basket/foot valve only has to be barely submerged in the creek. Even in only 3 inches of water, it works perfectly. It will not pump the creek hole dry of water. This had always been our problem in the past.
This forum was very helpful, as was the manufacturer, as was Northern. We had tried for years to come up with the right pump and now we have gotten it right. The key to buying the right pump is to believe the specifications and match them to your own situation.
Many thanks to Wayne Pumps and Northern Tools. Highly recommended!"
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pump

,
June 2, 2010
By bmw4mike
from albuquerque,NM
"I have two pumps, both work great, once I tighten all the fitting, I can get this pump running only have to prime once. great product"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Booster Pump

,
June 2, 2010
By Airwuf
from Taylor, AZ
"7 years without a hiccup doing yeoman service lifting from a buried 2500gal cistern to water horses at our remote high country ranch. It has worked flawlessly once primed and has never had any component replaced. Highly recommended for any stock watering or small plot sprinkling applications."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A solid pump.

,
June 2, 2010
By timfromabiquiu
from Abiquiu, NM
"Been using this pump to transfer water from my irrigation ditch to my orchard and garden for two years now. It's a solid pump but be sure to get a good foot valve for the intake or you'll be priming it before each use. The pump will shut off automatically if it gets hot, so I don't worry about it burning out. It's a keeper."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wayne Stainless Steel Sprinkler Booster Pump - 720 GPH, 1 HP, 1in., Model# PLS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Garden and emergency pump

,
June 1, 2010
By 1Gardenguy
from Souith Eastern Connecticut
"We use this pump to water our gareden andf blueberry patch from our stream. The intake lifts from the stream about 5 or 6 feet vertical and through about 100' of 1 1/4" intake pipe. The outlet side easily feeds two garden hoses with good pressure to run sprinklers as expected. With all the rain this spring in New England, the pump also helped pump water out of the basement. A good foot valve is a big help in our application."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.