Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50

Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50

Item# 109268
This unique Wayne utility pump passes 1/2in. solids such as leaves, pebbles, and other debris without clogging. 1 1/4in. discharge is adaptable to garden hose thread with rotating adapter included. Max. Total Head ft. 15, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 3/4 x 6 3/4 x 10, Discharge Port in. 1 1/4, Solid Handling in. 1/2, Suction Type Bottom, Thermal Overload Protection Yes, Flow GPH 2,500, HP 1/2, Impeller Shaft Glass reinforced thermoplastic, Volts 115, Power Cord ft. 8, Pump Housing Glass reinforced thermoplastic, Volute Glass reinforced thermoplastic. Pump has thermally protected, oil filled motor to prevent overheating Durable, corrosion-resistant, reinforced thermoplastic motor housing, volute and impeller Vortex impeller can pass up to 1/2in. solids for quick water removal 1 1/4in. NPS discharge for large volume water removal Bottom suction design removes water down to within 1/8in. of surface 3/4in. adjustable discharge adapter connects to standard garden hose Easy-access handle for complete portability
Average Customer Rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
25 of 31(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Review 1 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the pump

,
September 27, 2014
By nizhoni
from nm
"watering my animals right now. only reason I had to replace was the cord did not stand up to my 150 lb dog chewing it"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little pump

,
July 21, 2014
By CCSI1
from Roanoke, VA
"I got this to pump water out of my pool through a makeshift solar heating system to heat my pool water. It pushes about 18 ft of vertical head plus about two hundred feet of water hose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pump

,
May 24, 2014
By Shineon
from Mississippi
"Simple to use. Product did a great job. Pumped out swimming pool in minimum time. Only thing I would want changed, the cord could be a little longer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good water pump

,
February 4, 2014
By TC89
from Sealy, TX
"Got this pump to move some water from one water tank to another in my shop and it worked great. Also, after a very heavy rain left several inches of water standing in a driveway, I decided to try it to move the water and it worked really good. Saved me from having to buy another pump for this purpose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little pump

,
February 4, 2014
By wjamwhitis
from Indianapolis, In
"I bought this to pump out rain water that floods our patio on heavy downpours. This pump is quick and pumps the water down to 1/8 of inch, which is real nice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Used less than 12 times and died

,
February 27, 2013
By PBBR
from Baton Rouge, LA
"Used this pump to lower water level in pool after heavy rain storms. Probably used less than a dozen times typically for less than an hour. Died today (electrical ground fault). Out of warranty (one year). When I originally ordered, Northern upgraded to this model which appeared to be better than the Welbilt I wanted. Anyway, no more Wayne submersibles."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

water mover

,
October 16, 2012
By oldcoach
from Cherokee, TX
"I bought this pump to transfer water from one rainwater callection tank to another. It has performed as advertised and is very easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Getting the job done fast

,
January 16, 2012
By Honeybear
from California
"I had been looking at this pump for some time wanting to drain my unused swimming pool during the winter and spring so the wild life wouldn't take over. Several leaves often blow into the pool and it is more work keeping up with it than I wanted to put in during cold and wet weather. This pump lowered into the deep end and attached to the garden hose (or the inch and a half hose I bought with it) works without any problems and a rope I tied to the top of it allows me to take it in and out as needed. It hasn't plugged and keeps the pool down to the level I need to keep it clean. I've had others in the past and this is by far my favoite."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pump for the price

,
June 14, 2011
By NeverEnoughTools
from Southampton, NY
"I bought two of these to have on hand in case my basement ever floods. I ended up using one to clear some water that my washing machine leaked on the floor when the drain tube backed its way out of the drain line (not sure why this was not attached better). The pump performed well - cleared the water in a couple minutes down to about 1/8" and I vacuumed up the rest with a shop vac. I would like a pump that clears down to less than 1/8" but have not been able to find one. Northern Tool salesman was helpful in finding this one vs. others which won't even start without 1" or more of water submersion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Submersible pump

,
November 16, 2010
By Delta275
from Schenectady, NY
"I have used this pump to empty water from my above ground pool cover. I wanted to ease the weight on the cover so when the water freezes the ice will not be to heavy during the winter.
The pump has to pump at a lift rate of 3 feet and empties the water quickly.
I highly recommend this pump and it proves that big things can come in little packages.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

cuts off

,
August 2, 2010
By shoot1
from Madison,Al
"I installed this pump in a small pond and it will run for about 5-10 minutes and then shut off. It will stay off for about 5 minutes and then start running again. I guess its the thermal protection, but I dont understand why the pump would be getting hot in 3' of water under no load to speak of. Northern tool was great when I called them and sent me a replacement pump. I installed the replacement pump and it is doing the same thing. I have ordered many pumps from Northern and have been extremely happy with all of them except this one. I have never used this brand of pump before and I believe I am going to order a different brand."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works on ponds!

,
June 27, 2010
By justduckie
from Custer, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Although domestic ducks and geese do not need ponds, lakes or a stream: I thought it would be nice to provide them all the comforts of home, before I made them a comfort of my home. I had set up two, forty gallon sheep waterers that do have a two inch drain plug. This pump works faster than a two inch drain plug and gravity. I have very high water pressure that is regulated down for the house, but is not for the outside spigots, it is neck and neck with this pump, but the pump wins every time!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump for the Money

,
June 1, 2010
By rhnsc
from Greenville, SC
"I bought this pump six months ago to remove water from a swimming pool cover. It does an excellent job and seems to pump at a higher rate than the pump it replaced which was rated at 3500 GPH. The cover and integral handle appear to be very sturdy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne's submersible pump.

,
May 31, 2010
By chickenplucker
from Talmo, GA
"I bought the "Wayne Submersible Pump" on 5-23-10. Received it on 5-26-10. Put it into action on 5-27-10. I was amazed at the quality of this pump. It did every thing they advertised and more. BUT THE BEST PART is the price. I went to several other stores, look at the same pump. Their prices range from $100.00 or more. You can't beat the prices and quality of the products you buy at Northern Tools. W.Waters/GA"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Pump

,
May 24, 2010
By canadiancityfarmer
from British Columbia Canada
"The pump was a good item but I was disapponted by how it quit working in about four month of purchase. I contacted Northern Equipment and was suggested another pump to better serve my needs. Northern Equipment took the other pump back at their cost and I am very happy with Northern Equipment service and would suggest to my friends to search their web site for any friends needs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Submersible Utility Pump-2500 GPH

,
February 17, 2010
By durangosp
from Long Island, New York
"I've had this Wayne Pump now for 3 years and it hasen't failed me yet?? I never seen a pump that moved water so fast!!! I purchased cheaper ones in the past and had to wait forever for them to empty water where I was working at the time! This pump is a great buy, you pay a little more but you'll be glad that you did."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wayne 1/2 hp pump did the job

,
July 20, 2009
By jbass49
from Cleveland Oh
"I bought this product from Northern tool hoping I could remove ground water from my back yard . I have used it several times and it worked great every time.the pump arrived in a few days, and there was no damage ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

wayne 1/2 hp pump

,
July 20, 2009
By petro
from maine
"this pump is weak at best, i have a much stronger 1/3hp. was a great deal price wise. but was not superior than the smaller pump i was using. im back on the smaller pump and this sits in the box, waste of money, but used so i cant return it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Submersible Pump

,
July 20, 2009
By GARainman
from Marietta, GA
"Used this pump to empty a 55 gallon drum of rain water through a 50ft hose to my garden. This pump emptied the barrel in just a few minutes leaving only a quarter inch of water. Also the rain water had some sludge from organics off the roof and pumped this debris without any trouble. Great pump for the money.
Word of caution. Do not use the power cord to pull or lower the pump. Use a small diameter nylon rope."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grain Elevator Tested

,
July 13, 2009
By NDFarmer
from Coleharbor, ND
"We had water in our grain elevator boot for the first time this summer after all of the moisture we've received. We've pumped the boot out every few days all summer long. The water that needs to be pumped out is mixed with kernels of grain, dirt, and sludge. This pump has been excellent at handling the job and we've only used a garden hose to connect to it! For the money it's done a fantastic job. I'd recommend it to anyone."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.