Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"

"Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"

Item# 109268
"This unique Wayne utility pump passes 1/2in. solids such as leaves, pebbles, and other debris without clogging. 1 1/4in. discharge is adaptable to garden hose thread with rotating adapter included. Max. Total Head ft. 15, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 3/4 x 6 3/4 x 10, Suction Type Bottom, Volute Glass reinforced thermoplastic, Discharge Port in. 1 1/4, Impeller Shaft Glass reinforced thermoplastic, Power Cord ft. 8, Flow GPH 2,500, Volts 115, Solid Handling in. 3/8, Thermal Overload Protection Yes, HP 1/2, Pump Housing Glass reinforced thermoplastic. Pump has thermally protected, oil filled motor to prevent overheating Durable, corrosion-resistant, reinforced thermoplastic motor housing, volute and impeller Vortex impeller can pass up to 3/8in. solids for quick water removal 1 1/4in. NPS discharge for large volume water removal Bottom suction design removes water down to within 1/8in. of surface 3/4in. adjustable discharge adapter connects to standard garden hose Easy-access handle for complete portability"
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
32 of 38(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Review 1 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Utility Pump

,
May 20, 2015
By Pumpdude2015
from Milo, Ia
" I use the Wayne bottom suction pump to empty the pool in the fall. I like the bottom draw as it will take nearly all the water out thus saving me extra work to get all the water out for winter storage winterization. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Light Weight Pump

,
May 6, 2015
By Chorus
from Oak Lawn, IL
" I used this pump to empty a hot tub. It took an hour and 10 minutes to empty 300 gallons of water. I attached the pump to a garden hose that was 80 feet long. Next time I'm going to use a tee and attach two hoses for faster results. It's light weight so it didn't scratch my hot tub and it pumps to a very low level. Only a towel was needed to get the rest of the water. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUMP

,
March 25, 2015
By PDK13
from CHARLESTON, WV
" THIS PUMP WORKS VERY WELL FOR THE APPLICATION I NEEDED IT FOR. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pump, short cord :(

,
March 22, 2015
By BackcountryHomeowner
from North Michigan
" Used 10+ times, in temps from -20 to 90+ and this little pump moves water! Accidentally let it sit on sandy bottom with vegetable matter; never stopped flowing. Only issue; the cord is 10' and needs a wall outlet >:(. Use a HEAVY duty extension cord or you will have issues ( lesson learned! ). Still works like the first time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Pump

,
December 21, 2014
By Plumber859
from Kentucky
" Pump is good for small jobs. Works well in tight places. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerful, high quality, great value

,
December 11, 2014
By bronze
from Syracuse, NY
" This is a very powerful pump that is well made and a great value. I highly recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good look

,
November 7, 2014
By rprater
from Michigan
" I havent really tried it out in deep water but last night i had like maybe inch or less of water in my basment and you heard it sucking it up. I know i have to have more than an inch for it to work. So far it seems like a good product. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the pump

,
September 27, 2014
By nizhoni
from nm
" watering my animals right now. only reason I had to replace was the cord did not stand up to my 150 lb dog chewing it "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little pump

,
July 21, 2014
By CCSI1
from Roanoke, VA
" I got this to pump water out of my pool through a makeshift solar heating system to heat my pool water. It pushes about 18 ft of vertical head plus about two hundred feet of water hose. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pump

,
May 24, 2014
By Shineon
from Mississippi
" Simple to use. Product did a great job. Pumped out swimming pool in minimum time. Only thing I would want changed, the cord could be a little longer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good water pump

,
February 4, 2014
By TC89
from Sealy, TX
" Got this pump to move some water from one water tank to another in my shop and it worked great. Also, after a very heavy rain left several inches of water standing in a driveway, I decided to try it to move the water and it worked really good. Saved me from having to buy another pump for this purpose. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little pump

,
February 4, 2014
By wjamwhitis
from Indianapolis, In
" I bought this to pump out rain water that floods our patio on heavy downpours. This pump is quick and pumps the water down to 1/8 of inch, which is real nice. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Used less than 12 times and died

,
February 27, 2013
By PBBR
from Baton Rouge, LA
" Used this pump to lower water level in pool after heavy rain storms. Probably used less than a dozen times typically for less than an hour. Died today (electrical ground fault). Out of warranty (one year). When I originally ordered, Northern upgraded to this model which appeared to be better than the Welbilt I wanted. Anyway, no more Wayne submersibles. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

water mover

,
October 16, 2012
By oldcoach
from Cherokee, TX
" I bought this pump to transfer water from one rainwater callection tank to another. It has performed as advertised and is very easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Getting the job done fast

,
January 16, 2012
By Honeybear
from California
" I had been looking at this pump for some time wanting to drain my unused swimming pool during the winter and spring so the wild life wouldn't take over. Several leaves often blow into the pool and it is more work keeping up with it than I wanted to put in during cold and wet weather. This pump lowered into the deep end and attached to the garden hose (or the inch and a half hose I bought with it) works without any problems and a rope I tied to the top of it allows me to take it in and out as needed. It hasn't plugged and keeps the pool down to the level I need to keep it clean. I've had others in the past and this is by far my favoite. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pump for the price

,
June 14, 2011
By NeverEnoughTools
from Southampton, NY
" I bought two of these to have on hand in case my basement ever floods. I ended up using one to clear some water that my washing machine leaked on the floor when the drain tube backed its way out of the drain line (not sure why this was not attached better). The pump performed well - cleared the water in a couple minutes down to about 1/8" and I vacuumed up the rest with a shop vac. I would like a pump that clears down to less than 1/8" but have not been able to find one. Northern Tool salesman was helpful in finding this one vs. others which won't even start without 1" or more of water submersion. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Submersible pump

,
November 16, 2010
By Delta275
from Schenectady, NY
" I have used this pump to empty water from my above ground pool cover. I wanted to ease the weight on the cover so when the water freezes the ice will not be to heavy during the winter.
The pump has to pump at a lift rate of 3 feet and empties the water quickly.
I highly recommend this pump and it proves that big things can come in little packages.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

cuts off

,
August 2, 2010
By shoot1
from Madison,Al
" I installed this pump in a small pond and it will run for about 5-10 minutes and then shut off. It will stay off for about 5 minutes and then start running again. I guess its the thermal protection, but I dont understand why the pump would be getting hot in 3' of water under no load to speak of. Northern tool was great when I called them and sent me a replacement pump. I installed the replacement pump and it is doing the same thing. I have ordered many pumps from Northern and have been extremely happy with all of them except this one. I have never used this brand of pump before and I believe I am going to order a different brand. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works on ponds!

,
June 27, 2010
By justduckie
from Custer, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Although domestic ducks and geese do not need ponds, lakes or a stream: I thought it would be nice to provide them all the comforts of home, before I made them a comfort of my home. I had set up two, forty gallon sheep waterers that do have a two inch drain plug. This pump works faster than a two inch drain plug and gravity. I have very high water pressure that is regulated down for the house, but is not for the outside spigots, it is neck and neck with this pump, but the pump wins every time! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump - 1 1/4in. Port, 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump for the Money

,
June 1, 2010
By rhnsc
from Greenville, SC
" I bought this pump six months ago to remove water from a swimming pool cover. It does an excellent job and seems to pump at a higher rate than the pump it replaced which was rated at 3500 GPH. The cover and integral handle appear to be very sturdy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.