Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"

"Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"

Item# 109268
"This Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump passes 1/2in. solids such as leaves, pebbles, and other debris without clogging. 1 1/4in. discharge is adaptable to garden hose thread with rotating adapter included. Max. Total Head ft. 15, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 3/4 x 6 3/4 x 10, Suction Type Bottom, Volute Glass reinforced thermoplastic, Volts 115, Flow GPH 2,500, Power Cord ft. 8, Discharge Port in. 1 1/4, Impeller Shaft Glass reinforced thermoplastic, Solid Handling in. 1/2, HP 1/2, Thermal Overload Protection Yes, Pump Housing Glass reinforced thermoplastic. Pump has thermally protected, oil filled motor to prevent overheating Durable, corrosion-resistant, reinforced thermoplastic motor housing, volute and impeller Vortex impeller can pass up to 1/2in. solids for quick water removal 1 1/4in. NPS discharge for large volume water removal Bottom suction design removes water down to within 1/4in. of surface 3/4in. adjustable discharge adapter connects to standard garden hose Easy-access handle for complete portability"
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (46 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
39 of 46(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Review 1 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product Labeling Misleading

,
March 24, 2016
By
from Fort Worth, Texas
The package says 2,500 gallons per hour. The fact is it took four+ days to drain my 12,000 gallon in-ground pool. Four days. The package says "filters debris." The fact is we had to clean the suction area out repeatedly just to get the pump to remove about 110 gallons per hour. It's very frustrating and disappointing when the product label is deceiving.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
February 10, 2016
By
from Alabama
This is a very good pump with an excellent price. It doesn't seem to have any problems taking care of thick heavy water or thin stuff.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump

,
December 27, 2015
By
from Adirondacks, NY
It works great and is quick. This really drains down close to the bottom of our hot tub. I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a good product that is reliable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good pump for a good price

,
December 19, 2015
By
from laurel,md
Have used these pumps for years for chemical sump pumps. They do break down over time but are very dependable for a couple of years. I have no doubt if I was using them in water that they would last twice as long.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wyane 1/2 horse Utility Pump

,
December 11, 2015
By
from Sioux Falls, SD
I've had this pump for over 8 years without any issues. My back yard will flood during heavy rains or other wet periods. The pump is moving the water a little over 120' to the street through 1 3/4" flex hose and sits down in a 4' sump pit. It has been ran when it was 100 and 15 degrees outside. It is not rated for continuous run but I have ran this for 3 to 4 days at a time when the water was really high and did not turn it off during that time. I used to run it without a float and have ran it dry many times for hours at a time. I now have a tether float attached to it so I don't need to worry about that. My only wish is that Wayne made the same pump in 3/4 or a 1 horse model. . I have smaller pine cones and leaves in the yard and it handles them without any problem. I highly recommend this pump, and at around $80 how can you beat that.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

value for the dollar spent

,
August 5, 2015
By
from Joshua, Texas
I needed this item to use to clean out water treatment tank that had accumulated sand and iron sediment. I used a Northstar 2 inch pump to drain all nut the last 12 inches. The Submersible Utility Pump took over and pumped all but the last inch of water and sediment. This greatly reduce the amount of labor to clear the treatment tank.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump

,
July 20, 2015
By
from minnesota
i love this pump. its slow for what im useing it for but that's ok. its getting the job done.. this pump should last me forever. yes i would Recommend it..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/2 HP SUBMERSIBLE PUMP VIP350

,
June 18, 2015
By
from THE BURG, PA..
HAD SAME PUMP FOR YEARS, LOANED IT TO A FRIEND, HE BURNT IT UP, NO FAULT OF THE PUMP. HE IS AN IDIOT. NEVER LOAN AN IDIOT ANYTHING, PUMP IS WELL WORTH THE PRICE. 10 STARS.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne Utility Pump

,
May 20, 2015
By
from Milo, Ia
I use the Wayne bottom suction pump to empty the pool in the fall. I like the bottom draw as it will take nearly all the water out thus saving me extra work to get all the water out for winter storage winterization.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Light Weight Pump

,
May 6, 2015
By
from Oak Lawn, IL
I used this pump to empty a hot tub. It took an hour and 10 minutes to empty 300 gallons of water. I attached the pump to a garden hose that was 80 feet long. Next time I'm going to use a tee and attach two hoses for faster results. It's light weight so it didn't scratch my hot tub and it pumps to a very low level. Only a towel was needed to get the rest of the water.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUMP

,
March 25, 2015
By
from CHARLESTON, WV
THIS PUMP WORKS VERY WELL FOR THE APPLICATION I NEEDED IT FOR.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pump, short cord :(

,
March 22, 2015
By
from North Michigan
Used 10+ times, in temps from -20 to 90+ and this little pump moves water! Accidentally let it sit on sandy bottom with vegetable matter; never stopped flowing. Only issue; the cord is 10' and needs a wall outlet >:(. Use a HEAVY duty extension cord or you will have issues ( lesson learned! ). Still works like the first time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Pump

,
December 21, 2014
By
from Kentucky
Pump is good for small jobs. Works well in tight places.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerful, high quality, great value

,
December 11, 2014
By
from Syracuse, NY
This is a very powerful pump that is well made and a great value. I highly recommend it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good look

,
November 7, 2014
By
from Michigan
I havent really tried it out in deep water but last night i had like maybe inch or less of water in my basment and you heard it sucking it up. I know i have to have more than an inch for it to work. So far it seems like a good product.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the pump

,
September 27, 2014
By
from nm
watering my animals right now. only reason I had to replace was the cord did not stand up to my 150 lb dog chewing it
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little pump

,
July 21, 2014
By
from Roanoke, VA
I got this to pump water out of my pool through a makeshift solar heating system to heat my pool water. It pushes about 18 ft of vertical head plus about two hundred feet of water hose.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pump

,
May 24, 2014
By
from Mississippi
Simple to use. Product did a great job. Pumped out swimming pool in minimum time. Only thing I would want changed, the cord could be a little longer.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good water pump

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Sealy, TX
Got this pump to move some water from one water tank to another in my shop and it worked great. Also, after a very heavy rain left several inches of water standing in a driveway, I decided to try it to move the water and it worked really good. Saved me from having to buy another pump for this purpose.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Wayne Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Water Pump - 2500 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1 1/4in. Port, Model# VIP50"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little pump

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Indianapolis, In
I bought this to pump out rain water that floods our patio on heavy downpours. This pump is quick and pumps the water down to 1/8 of inch, which is real nice.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.