Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"

"Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"

Item# 1096002
"The Fill-Rite diesel fuel transfer pump delivers diesel fuel or light oils. Not to be used for dispensing gasoline, alcohol, or waste vegetable oil to be used for biodiesel fuel. Self-Priming Yes, Nozzle Type Swivel, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 1/8 x 3 3/4 x 5 1/8, Bypass Valve Yes, Max. Suction Lift ft. 6.5, Seal Type Lip, Outlet Port in. 3/4, Discharge ft. 8, Amps 20, Flow GPM 10, Hose in. x ft. 3/4 x 8, Watts 4, Max. Total Head ft. 30, Inlet Port in. 3/4, Speed RPM 2800, Duty Cycle 30 min., HP 1/5. Compact, high flow, 12 Volt design delivers up to 10 GPM Flow, at 20 Amps & maximum suction lift of 6.5ft. Includes 8ft. suction hose with strainer to prevent contaminants from entering pump and 8ft. discharge hose with manual nozzle Cast iron body makes it durable through all types of weather Uses a 1/5 HP, 2800 RPM motor that delivers high performance. Has a 30 minute duty cycle & is self-priming so the motor will not burn out when running dry Includes a bypass valve & lip seal for leak protection. Includes a 6.5ft. power cable with battery clips & a 30 Amp inline fuse Features a 3/4in. NPT inlet & outlet ports"
Average Customer Rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (31 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
24 of 31(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Review 1 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unit transfers fuel quickly and is east setup.

,
January 9, 2016
By
from NC
We had 2 previous pumps that kept giving issues. These are far superior!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Water transfer from stock tanks and creeks

,
May 15, 2015
By
from Nebraska
I used one that a rancher had bought to fill his sprayer out of the stock tanks so he didnt have to go all the way back to the ranch to fill. It worked great! This may not be what they were made for but that is what I am going to use mine for while out spraying thistle for ranchers and farmers so I can be more efficient doing my job. A person has to make sure not to leave the hose in after filling spray tank as it will suck back into the hose and you dont want that to happen.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
By Fill-Rite Product SupportJuly 8, 2015
Dear NEMoose,

Thanks for the review. I just want to point out that the FR1614 is a cast iron pump, and if you leave water sit in the pump, the pump casting will start to rust, and that will cause the rotor to bind in the pump casting. Just be sure that you flush the water from the pump using some diesel fuel. This will prevent the pump from rusting.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel Transfer Pump

,
April 13, 2015
By
from hamilton, oh
Works exactally like they said it would. This is a must have item for a trucking company!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Usefull Product

,
September 19, 2014
By
from Upstate NY
This pump works very well and moved 5 gallons of diesel into my tractor in no time at all. Note: I got this to use for pumping from traditional 5 gallon cans and the filter screen provided for the suction end won't fit into the can opening. Be careful after using it as some fuel stays in the device/hose and will spill if you're not careful.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Kinston. NC
This pump set is reliable and fill a need for light weight portable and a powerful pump. Standard fitting allow for options.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pump works.

,
October 15, 2012
By
from DC
I found the insides bushings fused to the pump after about a year of use. I recommend the 12 Volt DC, 10.5 GPM, Model# DPD045A. Pump.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

I went through three of these pumps in a year!!!!

,
September 2, 2012
By
from NE
These pumps wear out quickly even with very little use!!! Beware!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel pump

,
January 12, 2012
By
from Wiggins Colo.
It is a very well built unit. Works with any fuel and does a good job.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy pump

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Nuevo Casas Grandes, Chihuahua.Mexico
In my opinion it is a great item because you just have to put the suction hose into the barrel, connect it to the battery and it's done.If you don't need fuel just leave your barrel at home,shop or any where,it's not necesary to carry every time a big tank on the bed of your truck.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

WVO Pump?

,
March 14, 2011
By
from San Diego,CA
It works well with WVO if warm but struggles if cold or thick with contaminants. Opening the Nozzle to get it going helps but I had to figure this out for myself.
The memory in the hoses is a problem and they need to be longer as does the power cable.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer pump

,
February 28, 2010
By
from Clarksburg, MD
I bought it for vegtable oil but ended up using it to transfer my heating oil from tank to tank. It worked great and the volume was more than expected. Nice pump! I will probably end up using it for my veggy oil once I need it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

POWER PUMP

,
February 24, 2010
By
from Morrisonville, NY
I purchased this pump about a year ago.with no problems. I have let a couple of friends borrow this pump and they were very pleased with the performance and how fast it transfers fuel. As a result they have purchased the same pump from you. Thank you. Hope to continue doing business with you.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Good, but leaks

,
July 13, 2009
By
from LaConner, WA
The pump is excellent, but the discharge hose fittings on both ends leak (drip) no matter how tight the clamp is tightened. I have added another clamp to each end which helps, but still have an occasional drip.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tuthill 10gpm pump

,
March 23, 2009
By
from maurice louisiana
I use this pump to transfer jet-a from aircraft to fuel transporter . I have been using this pump for over 5 years and have only changed the hoses. the pump is still going strong.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

leaks

,
November 28, 2008
By
from cailfornia
hoses leak poor quality clamps, rubber insulators on battery clips fell off, power cables could be a bit longer for pump to sit on ground from a p/u truck. generallly satisfied.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Little Pump...Big Power

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Southern, Illinois
This is a great little pump to transfer WVO hot or cold. The fuse and fuse holder are underated and will need to be replaced with a larger guage wire but works perfect after that.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great portable pump!!

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Slapout,Al.
I love this pump,it's very light and portable.The pump is a bit noisy,but really gets the job done quick.The only draw back is when you release the nozzle while filling,the pump jumps with the change in pressure,so you have to make sure it doesn't vibrate off of where you have it sitting.I give this pump overall an A+ ,I would buy it again for sure!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not for Grease unless it's hot...

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Northampton, MA
I bought this to transfer wvo and it just couldn't handle it. I have to heat the grease up before this will move it and then the hoses that are supplied don't handle heat so they collapse. This would probably be great for diesel but if you're planning on using it for grease find something a little stronger.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer pump

,
November 17, 2008
By
from Murphys California
Have used pump for transfering Bio Diesel to WVO and pump has never missed a beat. Motor spools right up with no needed priming. Great tool and a handy one to have around when moving fuels from one place to another.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Fill-Rite Diesel Fuel Transfer Pump with 8-Ft. Suction and Discharge Hoses - 12 Volt, 10 GPM, Model# FR1614"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

WVO

,
November 17, 2008
By
from Johnson City, TN
This pump is good when it works. Had this pump about 2 months and used it for pumping WVO. The brushing in the motor went out. Positive note: The warranty got me a new pump.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.