Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62

Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62

Item# 10980
This Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump is compact with excellent motor cooling efficiency. Allows continuous duty operation at low water levels, plus extended dry run capability. Designed to pump sands and debris with minimal wear and clogging. V-ring system protects shaft seal from abrasives. Silicon carbide-faced mechanical seal. 2in. discharge bore. Includes 32ft. cable. Not for use in fish ponds. Amps 5.4, Flow GPH 3,810, HP 2/3, Impeller Shaft Vortex, Seals Silicon carbide, Volts 110, Max. Total Head ft. 39 1/2, Power Cord ft. 32. Patented oil lifter provides seal face lubrication down to 1/3 of the normal level and extends seal life by ten times Urethane rubber-coated impeller is more abrasion-resistant and lasts up to 3 times longer than a cast iron impeller Double inside mechanical seal with SIC faces provides a long operational life V-ring seal protector protects mechanical seal from abrasive particles Motor has built-in protector Discharge rotates 45 Pumps down to 3 1/2in. Surge Amperage 30.5 Continuous Amperage 6.1
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Review 1 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Submersible pump

,
June 4, 2014
By R17161
from Corpus Christi, TX
"Tsurumi Submersible Water Pump, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62, worked as specified. Would have given it a great rating if the product contained the threaded 2" fitting. Has been running for several weeks without any problems."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the pond...

,
September 6, 2013
By MikeFefPA
from Milford, PA
"I'm using this as a fountain pump with a 1-1/2" fire nozzle (from Northern) mounted on the top of a length of PVC pipe connected to the pump. I put the pump in a 5 gal. bucket surrounded with stone and sank it in my 1/2 acre pond (8' depth). It runs like a champ and gives me a 10' high spray - and about a 15' diameter pattern. In just 7 days, the aeration has noticeably cleaned up the pond. And it all cost significantly less than the fancy aeration pumps at those "pond" sites.
I know the oil in this pump isn't safe for fish but I plan to replace it soon. I figure I'll let it run a bit to burn in and then change it out with "fish safe" oil.
I can't speak to longevity because I've only had it a week, but it seems to be running solid so far. I have it running 24/7 at this point but might put it on a time clock once the water clears up.
I just ordered a second one for another pond on my property!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good pump - questionable service

,
September 14, 2011
By TBosch
from Baltimore, MD
"I ordered this pump for my home sump pump. I live in a very sandy area and my last pump burnt up because it got clogged. Installed this one with an external dual float controller, seems to be working just fine. Very quiet when it runs, but has plenty of power."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent and most reliable pump - ever!

,
August 31, 2010
By rfotx
"i bought this pump about 2 years ago and forgot i had it hence went around buying the smaller less expensive pumps but they could not keep up with my pressure washer in my reclaiming kit. As a trial resort i hooked up the Tsurumi pump one day to figure out its performance .... Wow! what a pump what great suction and to imagine that i had been keeping it unused for that long. I now even use it to empty my 600 gallon reservuor tank even the gravity dump cannot keep up with the tsurumi.
ricky
Houston Tx
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST PUMP FOR THE MONEY

,
June 1, 2010
By MARINEENGINER
from CALIFORNIA
"I ORDERED TWO PUMP BOTH WORK GREAT .... SO QUITE RUNNING
I LIKE THE ONES WITH THE FACTORY AUTOMATIC LEVEL CONTROL ..... NO FLOAT SWITCH ALL SOLID STATE. SEE TSURUMI WEB SITE
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality pump

,
May 26, 2010
By homecheapo
from Westchester County, NY
"I own 2 of these pumps and I have used them numerous times under extreme flooding conditions here at my residence, and I can honestly tell you that I am impressed with this pump's durability. Very reliable and is a must have for anyone living in a flood prone area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2" Pump

,
March 16, 2009
By Rental
from Ohio
"Contractors can abuse it and it still pumps. Good unit to make money with."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salvage Pump

,
November 17, 2008
By towcapn
from California, San Francisco Bay and Calif Delta
"We have 8 of these pumps in service. We can run 3 on on honda EU2000 Generator, as long as we do not start them all a once. We have one on each of our tow boats and 2 in our salvage trailer and 2 on our main salvage boat. I have never had one fail yet. They require very little service, mostly just a flush out and wipe down."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pond pump

,
August 18, 2008
By yosammie
from sikeston mo.
"bought this pump last summer , added 100 ft of cord to it ,rigged it up to golf cart tire , floated it out in our pond and it has been running almost nonstop since then. Makes a nice water fountain spray with the fire hose nozzle #108900 attatched. really ,we have run this pump almost non stop. works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

,
June 13, 2008
By jjgordan
from wisconsin
"purchased this pump last year...we have had property flooding etc.
this pump went nonstop for a month..and we are still using it again..flooding again.
excellent pump..
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tsurumi Pumps Submersible Water Pump - 2in. Port, 3810 GPH, 2/3 HP, Model# LB-480-62
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
July 10, 2007
By SoDarnHandy
from New Jersey
"This pump has proved to be worth it's weight in gold! It has been subjected to extreme use during heavy rainfalls, where it has had to run for 8 to 10 hours at a time. It just keeps running and pumping. It has also run in low water conditions and there was no problem with over heating. A great buy at the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.