Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump

Item# 109936
This lever action pump drum is for use with applications varying from water, alcohol, gasoline, diesel, kerosene, lubricant, water-based chemicals and acid and alkali solutions. Use with 5-, 15-, 30- and 55-gallon drums. Made of polypropylene material. Oz. Per Crank 350cc. Polyproplene Material - Use With Water, Alcohol, Gasoline, Diesel, Kerosene, Lubricant, Water Based Chemicals and Acid/Alkali Solutions Use With 5, 15, 30 and 55 Gallon Drums 24 GPM Self-Priming Pump Cylinder O.D. 1 1/4in. Pump Cylinder I.D. 7/8in. Spout End O.D. 7/8in. Spout End I.D. 5/8in.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
9
23 of 33(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

failed quickly

,
July 18, 2013
By NBW1234567890
from Texas
" This item worked well and used it just once.
The next time I used it, some months later, I could not get primed after several minutes. In the recycling bin it went. It was used on water only.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too flimsy

,
July 14, 2013
By DaktariEd
from AZ
" We used this on 55 gallon drums of water.
It broke after just a day or two. Quite a waste of time and $.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well if you treat it well

,
November 17, 2012
By barrelbung
from WNY
" I have used these pumps for years for gasoline barrels. They prime quickly. If not, a bit of lube will get them going after extended storage. Pump rate is high and they have survived the test of time for me. Just pump gently and they will work fine for years. If you pound on the lever like an ape - I can see that it might break.. They are a great value and rivals the performance of much more expensive pumps. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good general purpose pump for the money!

,
October 8, 2012
By Partsman1978
from Northwest Wisconsin
" Works well.
Have pumped two 55 gallon barrels of Bar and Chain oil through this pump.
Have a second one that pumps out some used diesel engine motor oil. Both work as advertised. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lever drum pump

,
May 14, 2012
By leepenn1
from Crawford, Co.
" Worked great removing liquid fish fertilizer from 55 gal drum. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made

,
July 5, 2011
By bigtinlb
" Handle broke in half after using pump for water out of a rain barrell. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pump works, but not well

,
March 14, 2011
By Cajun
from Louisiana
" The pump works only after pumping many times to get the fluid to flow. However, for the price, I give it two stars. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very good

,
February 2, 2011
By Angler8
from Dayton, Ohio
" Used this pump once or twice this past summer. It worked fine, no problems. Today (Feb.2,2011) after an Ice strom and no electric power tried to use it to pump fuel from a 30 gal barrel for my generator. It just would not pump at all. This is not the time to have a pump quick working for you. I'm now looking for a replacement. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Product ExpertMerchandisingMarch 2, 2011
Thank you for your input, we appreciate your feedback. We want to take this opportunity to respond to your inquiry from the manufacturer. If the pump was not used for a period of time, please lubricate it before using in order to enhance performance.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
November 16, 2010
By customer56
from pa.
" Pumped and pumped, tried to prime and it still would not pump!!! As far as im concerned its a piece of junk. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont think of getting this

,
November 16, 2010
By Fireguy2
" I did not even get a 55 gal drum filled before the pump stopped working. I tried to get it a part to clean and check it out, but could not. It is not work the little money they are asking for, its totally plastic and is nothing but junk "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

life gets easier

,
September 3, 2010
By logey
" the employees here at the humane society must use various chemicals for cleaning purposes and they love the ease of operation with this pump. I ordered the first one on a trial basis and they liked it so much I just ordered a second one. Thank you Northern Tool. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Value

,
May 26, 2010
By tyb525
from Fairmount, IN
" When I first bought this pump, I thought the cheapness might mean it wouldn't last long. I was wrong. I've been using this pump for almost a year now to pump gas from a 30 gallon storage drum. I use it about once a week to fill 5 gallon gas cans. The pump works great, and I was very pleased with the volume of gas pumped per stroke. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

oil pump

,
May 25, 2010
By haymaker
from massachusetts
" i got this pump and
put it on a 55 gallon drum of #30 bar and chain oil. i use it to fill one or two one gallon jugs to take down to fill the resevoir on my wood processro. this inexpensive pump does the job nicely. this oil is fairly thick especially in the unheated garage in the winter and this pump has no trouble delivering the oil.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

barrel pumps

,
February 15, 2010
By kev48
from southern Ohio
" Bought two pumps, use one for diesel motor oil and the other for hydraulic fluid. They both work great !! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rain Barrel Hand Pump

,
January 10, 2010
By Robert10101
from New Jersey
" This pump is a piece of junk! It worked for only 1 season, just 1 season! Now it doesn't work at all! I brought my rain barrel into the basement, filled it with fish tank water when we need to do a water change in the tank and assumed and hoped I'd be able to use my barrel water to hydrate my houseplants all winter. Well, that's not going to happen thanks to this junk plastic. Do not buy this product! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Little Pump

,
November 2, 2009
By Marcd
from East Hartford, CT
" We are using this pump to pump water out of a rainbarrel connected to our downspouts. It works very well. Only one nit to pick - if the output is lower than the fluid level (we attached a hose to ours), a siphon will start. It would be better if there were a siphon break on it. For the price, though, you can't beat it. It has lasted two years so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works but some issues

,
October 20, 2009
By ed12780
from Tri-States, New York
" Bought this so that my wife could fill up the John deere diesel tractor (her toy!) without waiting for me to come home and lift the 5 gallon can and pour into the tank. I added a length of hose for the discharge end and
it pumps up really easy and quite a bit of diesel with each stroke.
Two problems
1. It is really made for barrels of material so the pump suction end is too long for a standard 5 gallon yellow plastic
can. You have to pump and hold . Too bad they didn't think of making it so that it could be screwed into those refill
containers.
2. After you are done pumping and filling the tank, there is still quite a bit of diesel fluid left in the pump and the hose and suction line. Seems you spill more than when you do it the old fashion way of lifting the can up and aiming the spout at the fill opening.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lever action drum pump

,
October 19, 2009
By mattrs3
from Clewiston, Fl
" We bought this to transfer fuel to our hunting buggy. It has worked perfectly and we have had no problems with it. I have had pumps before that worked only twice and then leaked. This has worked great for me since I bought it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
March 24, 2009
By SapMan
from Moultonboro, NH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Pump works very well. I use it to pump maple sap into evaporator for maple syrup. I easilly added an extension hose (3/4 ID) to the nozzle giving me more flexibility. Self priming is an excellent feature. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Lever Action Drum Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great hand pump

,
August 21, 2008
By parkhills
from Vinita, OK
" pump very usefull in different drums and tanks. easy handling.
strong and durable
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.