Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.

Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.

Item# 109955
Provides dependable service Perfect for a number of water transfer applications on the farm, at the construction site and at home. Easy-mount, compact design. Cast iron electric pump has a powerful 110 Volt, 1/2 HP motor. 1in. inlet and outlet ports. Image shown is representational only actual pump color will vary. Self-Priming No, Impeller Shaft Cast brass, Max. PSI 55, Suction Port in. 1, Volts 110, Flow GPH 720, HP 1/2, Amps 2.75, Max. Suction Lift ft. 20, Max. Total Head ft. 110, Pump Housing Cast iron, Dimensions L x W x H in. 10 1/4 x 5 5/8 x 6 1/8, Discharge Port in. 1. Single phase 1/2 HP motor runs at 3400 RPM Easy to mount Moves up to 720 GPH Durable cast iron construction Pump is not submersible Not for continuous duty use
Average Customer Rating:
4.317 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (104 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
5
92 of 104(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Review 1 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Depends what you are using it for!

,
June 8, 2014
By iamionman
from Arizona
"I have a fountain, with an external pump, which has some additional water features that require more pressure to get them to function properly. Pumps I have used in the past have adequate "GPH" flow rating but are unable to create the requisite pressure for the other water features.
I tried this pump because it was rated @ 750 GPH and 55psi deadheaded. As it turned out the pump was doing the job. All water features were functional.
The downside: The thing makes a loud shrill high pitch noise when under load (doesn't make the noise with no back pressure).
So the pump works as advertised but the shrieking noise it makes under load negates the soothing cascading water effect one looks for in a fountain. Good pump, but not for this application!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pump for the right application!

,
February 4, 2014
By gumby
from Vermont
"I use this pump to feed my reverse osmosis booster pump for processing maple sap. It worked flawlessly. The system does have to be purged and glycol added to prevent both freezing and seizing of the pump. I was skeptical as to what the performance would be, but am very pleased in the use I have for it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PUMP

,
February 4, 2014
By msus123
from FREDERICKSBURG, TX
"I use this pump to transfer water to holding tanks and it has never failed"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Second try, no joy.

,
May 13, 2013
By Anonymous
from Idaho
"After purchasing a different pump (from this site) and only getting a year of use...I offer a similar review of this pump.
Cast iron. Moving water. Do the math. Even if you keep this pump drained between use, no matter its initial performance, oxidation (rust) will prevail and take its toll. TEFC motor a plus but does not offset cast iron pump construction.
Save your money and buy something not cast iron. Not worth the money if you only want to buy one in your lifetime. I've already bought two, shame on me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Questionable

,
May 11, 2013
By lassie
from North Dakota
"Nice little pump. The first one I ordered worked perfect the first year for watering my garden out of a 1000 gallon holding tank. The second season, I had to take it apart to free it up since it was stuck from sitting idle over the off season. The 3rd season was the same results. I took it apart to inspect it and found that the inner bearing was all rusted up from water getting in the bearing. I decided to order another one for the next season thinking maybe we just ended up with a defective one. Well, the next one had very similar issues. The first season the start capacitor blew up. So I took the capacitor out of the old one that I kept just in case I wanted to fix that one. I got through the season with that one. The next season it was stuck tight as a drum. So I got it freed up and it is very noisy and rough running, just like the first one. I am sure the inner bearing is all rusted up also. I will look for something different this time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this pump!!

,
April 23, 2013
By FarlinFarmer
from Jefferson, IA
"This pump is a great value. Once primed, this thing really hums. I would recommend to anyone wanting a mounted pump system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Pump

,
April 23, 2013
By JWfromNC
from NC
"Have used this pump for over a year in different setting but always with water. So far has not let me down."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

water pump

,
May 18, 2012
By Utah
from Utah
"A great pump once u understand that it needs to be fed and cannot lift more than a few inches or if u use it to recirculate fluids. I use mine to lift water over twenty feet for irrigation. and no problems. and have been very happy so far"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-built pump on therapy pool

,
May 8, 2012
By VINNIE1
from Louisiana
"I have been using this pump to circulate heated water in my therapy pool since Feb 2012 with excellent results. This is the third pump I have tried in the last six months and the only one that has performed as advertised.
Quality built product, cool and smooth running with no problems.
Do not confuse this pump with cheap copies that look like it but do not work.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Noisy

,
May 7, 2012
By BillCanada
from Stephenfield, MB.
"I used this pump to circulate water 4-6hrs a day through 1" tubing to heat the water in a pool. The pump was very noisy right from the start and after a few weeks it would not restart on its own after being shut off overnight, I would have to give the cooling impeller a spin. The next year it was seized solid even after putting oil in the pump over the winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wel-Built Clear Water Pump

,
January 16, 2012
By BillBud
from Deltona, Florida
"I was looking for a pump to pump out the water in our pool. Most pool pumps are very expensive and this little pump was very well priced. I purchased one and removed the pool water with ease. It has performed very well and would recommend it to anybody. It has very good suction and is quiet running."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1 inch cast iron pump

,
January 14, 2012
By jw40
from new mexico
"i have 2 of these pumps,they have been working for going on 5 yrs now,,i riged one up to a preasure tank with a preasure switch and it will supply water to my whole water system at my place when i am having problems with my well...i have a series of valves in my pumpshed and with a 500 gallon pull behind tank..im never without water for verry long..this pump is a workhorse..ive seen other revues stating they had problems wiring it..it only has 3 wires...or 2 if you want to use it like that..come on...black= positive white=neautral...common..ground...negative..verry simple..if you cant wire this pump then you arent smart enough to use it anyway..i would recomend this pump to anyone that can figure out how to wire it...lol"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump for WVO

,
October 19, 2011
By Airthug
from Talking Rock, GA
"Have purchased 3 of these pumps for my BioDiesel processing operation. One pumps BioDiesel and the other two pump dirty waste vegetable oil. The price and 720 GPH capacity attracted me to the unit and I hard-mounted all three in my operation. I attached a photo of one to this review to show how I installed the WVO pumps. They are meant for water, but they pump oil and biodiesel just fine, no leaks, no hesitation, quiet and inexpensive. I have never found a better low-cost pump for transfering fluids, and i have shoped everywhere, from the internet, retail stores, and even commercial suppliers. When these die (if they ever do), I will happily replace them with the exact same pumps from Northern Tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

You usually get what you pay for...

,
October 12, 2011
By Hmmmm
from B'ham
"This is an inexpensive pump. If you deadhead it (stop the water flow while it's plugged in) the motor will burn up in a minute or two because the pump impeller has lost it's source of cooling and locked up. When the pump locks up, the motor will burn up shortly after. If you run water through the pump and then store it for more then a week or so you need to spray some WD40 on the impeller before you put the pump up. you should also make sure the impellor spins freely before you plug it in. if you watch these 2 things it is well worth the money. If you think you can treat it like an more expensive pump... OH WELL..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super pump

,
October 10, 2011
By ChrisI
from Cape Cod
"Very strong and well built, cast iron threads in pump body, not cheap plastic. Heavy and probably will last a very long time. Used the pump to recharge a solar system, plenty of lift power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

,
March 21, 2011
By toolz4me
from ME
"Has pumped hundreds of gallons of WVO without any problems. Much better than the "other" pump if you know what I mean."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Otis101
Mt Pleasant Pa. 
 
Please wait while more information about Otis101 is loaded.
Additional information about Otis101 could not be loaded.
Outstanding pump
June 16, 2012
"Great pump... I use it to top off my pool when it needs water. I put the hose in the creek and pump the water, up at least 20 feet above the pump and a distance of around 200ft to the pool and it works like a charm. And at this price I love it even more."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump

,
March 21, 2011
By aesis
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I fabricate small scale biodiesel processors and use three of these great little pumps on each processor. The quality of the pump is very good the part that most impresses me is the very exact and close tolerances internally. I have units out in public use that have been running every day for over five years without a failure yet due to workmanship or quaility of the pump. Kudos to Northern Tools for offering high quality parts and equipment at an affordable price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welbilt pump

,
March 14, 2011
By jmac55
"A well manufactured product that is being used for bio fuel refinement, from the time of ordering to delivery and final installation. This one of the finest pumps I have used.
Northern should be the one and only source for products for any entreprenauer, first class service from the first phone order to my front door. You can't beat it. Looking forward to placing more orders in the future.
"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Water Pump

,
November 16, 2010
By SASpro
from Eastsound ,Wa.
"This cast iron pump by wel-bilt has a wide range of uses,From well systems too irrigation distribution,Draining or removing water from flooded basements, The applications for this compact ,quiet 115 volt pump are endless,On the job or at home,easily stores in tool boxes or on the shelf in your garage. 50 PSI pressure in seconds,comes with sealed four foot water tight electrical cord,one inch inlet and out let for no restriction flow through of water,easily mounts too carry and tote along ,bottom flang mount, Can be mounted to any type of equipment, space saving size,Dont let the size fool you, this pump is rugged and can move water fast ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Cast Iron Clear Water Pump - 720 GPH, 1/2 HP, 1in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work horse

,
September 1, 2010
By jeffuel
from prairieville la.
"i use this pump for a biodiesel reactor and have had to replace it zero times before i used a similar pump which had to be replaced too often . since switching to the northern pump i havnt had to replace it in over 3 years thanks for the wonderful pump jeff"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.