Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter

Item# 1102
Use your tractors hydraulics and 3-pt. hitch to power this splitter — no separate engine or pump required. Comes complete with all hardware to attach to Category I tractors. This item does not fit NorTrac tractors. Includes 4in. x 24in. hydraulic cylinder with 4-way Prince control valve. Heavy-duty I-beam construction to ensure long lasting use. 2500 Max. PSI and 15.7 continuous tonnage. Comes fully assembled. Connection hoses to fit tractor not supplied. U.S.A. Ram Force (Tons): 15.7, Continuous Force (Tons): 15.7, Operation: Horizontal, Engine: N/A, Motor: N/A, HP: N/A, Low Oil Shutdown: N/A, Wedge: Cast Steel, Cycle Time (sec.): N/A, Automatic Cylinder Return: Yes, Cylinder: 4in. x 24in., Pump: N/A, Max. PSI: 2,500, Oil Reservoir (gal.): N/A, Fuel Capacity (gal.): N/A, Hoses: Connection hoses to tractor not supplied, Log Cradle: Yes, Log Lift: No, Jack Stand: N/A, Ball Coupler (in.): N/A, Tire Size: N/A, Lights: N/A, Fenders: N/A, Pre-assembled: Yes, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 71 x 34 x 27 Attaches To Class I Tractors Extra Heavy Duty I-Beam Construction 15.7 Continuous Tonnage Recommended 11 GPM From Tractor 2500 PSI 4-Way Prince Control Valve 4in. Bore, 24in. Stroke Open Centered Control Valve 2500 PSI Relief Setting Auto Return Valve Feature: Forward Direction: Spring Back To Neutral Return Direction: Spring Back To Neutral Rust-Resistant, Baked-On Glossy Black Finish Comes Complete With Hardware To Attach To Cat. 1 Tractors Connection Hoses To Fit Tractor Not Supplied
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Review 1 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
April 23, 2008
By Tomwilly
from Garrrison .Ky
"I have ran other log spitters with 4 cycle engines, this one outperforms those. Their is no noise or vibration that the 4cycle models have. It does not advertise it but your 3 point hitch will lower the splitter for larger pieces."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar 3-Point Log Splitter

,
June 17, 2008
By Halfcell
from Oklahoma
"I am using the log splitter on a John D. 790 tractor about 1200 rpm, I just un-hooked the two quick connects for the front bucket and hooked up the splitter. I use a bungy to hold the Hyd in the open on the tractor. The splitter works great, not real fast but fast enough.. Makes splitting logs so much easier, told the wife I needed to put a seat on the spliter, I would run it and she could feed the logs, she did not think that would work......wonder why........great splitter get one and you will not be dissappointed. A+"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter

,
April 21, 2008
By maddad
from Belfast, Maine
"Nothing slows this splitter down! No matter how big or how hard the wood, the splitters speed never changes. My tractor is a 1981, J.D. 9500, 32 horse power and the splitter uses the on board hydralics. Unquestionably the best splitter I've ever used, and I've split alot of wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter

,
January 28, 2008
By natem
from Stonington, CT
"I purchased this splitter for my 20 hp compact tractor. I was a little weary at first because in the specs the recommend a 11gpm pump but mine does 7.50gpm. When the splitter arrived i took measurements for the hoses and got them hooked up and the splitter works very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sweet machine

,
January 22, 2008
By rong8071
from cumberland furnace tennessee
"This log splitter was more than i would have thought i have rented gas splitter but this put them to shame. I wish i would have purchase this year ago.Have recommended it to my friend with tractors dont know if them bought one but that there lose. thanks great product"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 3-Point Log Splitter

,
January 21, 2008
By FourfingeredJack
from Naselle, Washington
"I have split probably 10 cords of wood with my Northstar splitter attached to my
Yanmar Tractor and it has't missed a beat. I love it! I attached it to the front loader hydraulics with 2 quick disconnects so all I have to do is attach the 3-point hitch and the disconnects and I'm ready to go. The tractor only has a 5.5gal/min pump so its a little slow but it gives me time on the return to stack the split pieces and enjoy the process. I would hardily recommend this model.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 POINT LOG SPLITTER #1102

,
October 30, 2007
By dazoff
from SOUTH CENTRAL VIRGINIA
"I HEAT WITH ONLY WOOD FROM MY FARM. THIS LOG SPLITTER DOES WHAT IT SAYS. I HAVE SPLIT ALOT OF WOOD AND HAVEN`T HAD A MINUTES TROUBLE IN THREE HEATING SEASONS"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Impressed

,
October 29, 2007
By mikemac
from Baltimore MD
"The splitter is up to the task of splitting any piece of wood that I feed to it. It sure is better than using the maul. The only two down sides are that my stove handles wood that is slightly longer than the lenght of the splitter. And the splitter could move a little faster. The last point may have to do with the size of my hydraulic pump and not a short coming of the splitter. I use a 29 HP John Deere tractor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Machine

,
July 11, 2007
By Jimmer
from upper Michigan
"I use my splitter on a 29 hp Kabota. It has way more power than needed. I normally run at 1500 rpm, but it works fine at idle, just a bit slower. The splitter is well built. all I needed to set it up was a couple of quick change hydrolic hose connectors. My neighbor and I have been using it for 2 years now without any problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than Expected

,
July 9, 2007
By cloverbee
from New Hampshire
"I ordered the product while it was on sale for one hundred dollars below its normal price. When it arrived I went to pick it up and was suprised to find that there was no packing material around it but it is so beefy that it did not seem to matter.
Because of its relaitively low tonnage rating I was expecting it to stall out on some of the harder or knottier pieces that I had but it didn't. It instead cut through them like butter. The only downside to this machine is that it is not a fast as some of the higher tonnage splitters.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar 3 point horizontal Log Splitter

,
July 9, 2007
By dougie
from central VT
"I was amazed that this works as well as it does. It doesn't go fast, but it just keeps on going. Nothing has slower it down! I just wish I had gotten one sooner!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter for the money

,
May 26, 2007
By scott99
from MO
"Good product, well built, adequate power and speed. Cycle time on my NH TC45D (1500 rpm) was 12 sec each way. I split 18 inch oak with ease. I bought mine on sale ($100 off), I don't think you could build one for what I paid for it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3-pt. log splitter

,
March 20, 2007
By zimmie
from Grafton, Wv
"this is a great product, it will split stuff 24" dia. no problem !!
the only thing it needs is a stronger support from the H beam up to the top 3 pt hook up. The two thin supports do not hold up well with the moving around of the tractor. Both sides on mine where they attach to the H beam cracked, I had to reweld them after 3 wks. I also added a couple of down supports in there to stiffen it up a bit. They should do that any how because the top bracket holds all the weight. Other than that, it is GREAT !!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great asset at the woodpile

,
March 9, 2007
By Bilbur
from The high desert of southeastern Arizona
"When the 3-point tractor mounted splitter arrived it was a blistering cold day and about a cord of dry wood was waiting to be split.
I anticipated the need for hydraulic hoses and bushings and had them on hand when the splitter arrived. Making the two connections was performed quickly and the splitter tested out fine. In less than a half hour I was ready to split wood.
Because of the cold I used heavy oil to lubricate the slide and the rail and went to work. During warmer days a thick bearing grease works well also. Just make sure the slide stays greased.
I quickly found that the tractor could idle and supply all the pressure and volume required to operate the ram. A nice feature is the auto-trip on the four way valve when the ram is returning. You can be loading a log and the hydraulics take care of themselves.
A tractor three point hitch allows an unadvertised feature; the splitter does not have to operate in a horizontal position. Using the tractor implement center point cylinder, I tilted the splitter so the ram is elevated and the splitting wedge is touching the ground. Logs load easier, slide into position and your feet are not subjected to split wood bouncing off your toes.
I'd guess that I had the whole cord split in an hour, maybe a bit more, but an one-man opeartion is easy with the splitter. Splitting hardwood or softwood makes no difference. This hydraulic ram is capable and pushes the wood through the wedge with ease. A word of warning: watch out for knots in the wood. Burl logs or with branches growing through the log will split suddenly and fly apart. The splitter hydraulic control is positioned behind the ram and places you safely away from the operations. Remember to stay behind the splitter.
Would I get another splitter in the future? Sure in a heartbeat - if this one ever wears out. Why I waited so long to get a three point splitter I'll never know."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NorthStar 3-Point Horizontal Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

,
March 7, 2007
By Gary1
from Nebraska
"This log splitter works through the logs without any effort. I split everything where we cut if the logs are to big I let the splitter down and split from the ground."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.