Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H

Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H

Item# 11040
This Chicago Pneumatic 1/2in. heavy-duty air impact wrench with Dyna-Pact oil bath clutch to deliver smooth operation and extended durability. Delivers power and economy for general repair, transmission work, exhaust systems and body shops. Inlet Size in. 1/4, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 425, Average Air Consumption CFM 3.7, Tool Length in. 7 1/2, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, CFM at Load 15, Standard Bolt Capacity in. 9/16, Variable Speed Yes, Tool Weight lbs. 5.1, Working Torque ft.-lb. 25-310, Drive in. 1/2, Speed - No Load RPM 8,400, Max. Reverse Torque ft.-lbs. 425, Reversible Yes. One-hand pushbutton forward/reverse power regulator 4 positive power settings Ultimate power in reverse Handle exhaust with 360 air inlet swivel Applications Overall automotive service, body shop, farm, light truck work, etc.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Review 1 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The gun that won't give up!

,
April 24, 2013
By POL3INAROW
from Chi Town
"Hello, purchased this model c.p. Impact gun over 15 years ago and it still performs as well as day 1! I use this gun every day in my business to repair boats/atv's/wave runners, so the intended torque is perfect for what I do. I have used this gun on other projects and it has faired well on heavier equipment. I have worn out three covers already and the gun just keeps performing. It is a little light on torque for automobile/truck work, but perfect for what I purchased it for. Also have a larger torque capacity c.p. gun just in case but seldom use it. I would most definately reccomend this to anyone who understands what it is capable of!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of power

,
January 16, 2012
By butcho
from Minnesota
"Works well and lasts a long time. Breaks loose whatever I use it on. The last one I had lasted 20 years so I bought another one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great impact wrench

,
October 12, 2011
By ArcticEd
from Pennsylvania.
"I bought this to replace an impact that i bought a couple years ago from a "Tool Truck" dealer... After a couple rebuilds (at almost $100 a pop) it died again and instead of another repair, I bought the CP. It's more powerful, well balanced and has had no issues at all.
Northern Tool's service was blazing fast and I had my new impact in no time at all... A great deal all the way around!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well, manual not so good

,
December 11, 2010
By palu
from Syracuse, NY
"I purchased this tool for occasional use with a compressor rated at 3.8 CFM at 90 psi. In switching my car from summer to winter tires, the wrench performed well. Lug nuts that had been hand-torqued to specification spun off easily. Some of the nuts that had been put on by a repair shop required several seconds of hammering before they began to loosen. Spinning the nuts back on at full power happened so quickly that I couldn't avoid over-torquing. The lowest of the four forward power settings proved perfect for seating the nuts, leaving about an eighth of a turn for a torque wrench to bring them up to spec. I didn't try the two intermediate settings.
The manual recommends checking the clutch oil periodically, but it doesn't identify the access plug, and the parts blowup doesn't show anything that looks like an oil reservoir. I was able to identify the access plug with the help of a knowledgeable friend, but it's screwed in so tightly that I have been unable to loosen it with an ordinary Allen wrench.
The manual says that, for safety reasons, a quick-disconnect coupling should not be attached directly to the tool. This contrasts with the advice for similar tools of other manufacturers (see for example the Northern Tool impact wrench manual available on line), and may be an important disadvantage to users outside a professional shop environment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the price.

,
August 30, 2010
By bryant99
from Danville,IL
"This is my favorite impact wrench.I use this over my other one.Very easy to use.It has real good tork when untightening lug nuts and even tightening and where you need tork.Really can't find anything that I don't like.Its never let me down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality impact wrench

,
October 19, 2009
By Nealsdad
from Dracut, MA
"I bought this impact wrench several months ago for home shop use and have used it many times. It is very solidly built, and produces more than enough torque to get the lugs off of my 3/4-ton pickup. I use a few Chicago Pneumatic tools at work and have overall had great experiences with them. This impact wrench is very much recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Impact Wrench

,
March 17, 2009
By ArcticCatGuru
from MN
"I bought this wrench mainly for rotating tires on my vehicles. It has no problems ripping lug nuts off, and the adjustable torque settings are nice so that you can put the nut back on tight, then finish up with a torque wrench. I've had other cheap impacts that won't touch a lug nut. Don't waste your money on a cheap model. The high torque rating and low air requitements make it a great choice for the average garage air compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid addition to my tool chest

,
December 10, 2008
By rockydav
from MN
"I bought this after careful review. It was light, powerful, quiet and consumed little air. In addition, I would consider it rather inexpensive. I was at first very disappointed. It took forever to take my suspension bolts off. I went back to the directions and noticed that it required a 3/8" line. I swapped out my 1/4" line with a 3/8" line and presto, it came to life. After this I couldn't stop smiling. It saved me so much time. Its true, it is powerful, quiet and light. I only wish I would have purchased this tool earlier as it is the most useful tool for working on cars I own. Oh, my small compressor was able to handle it just fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good wrench

,
November 18, 2008
By 55tbird
from Southern Indiana
"I have had it 5 years without any problems.
It's not very pretty any more but it still works like a champ.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT POWER

,
April 21, 2008
By CROWNIE
from Garland, Texas
"Got in a tight spot while working on my truck and my old impact would not even budge the bolts I needed lose . Went to Northern and picked up this impact and WOW what a difference .. spun right off.. lots of power and torque for a great price. Best impact I have ever owned..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, 3.7 CFM, 425ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# CP734H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Impact Gun

,
February 18, 2008
By Gulp
from Independence, OR
"Purchased on recommendation from a professional machinist who has used the CP734 model for many years with the Oregon Department of Transportation. He recommends no other 1/2" gun - Period.
The gun is polished smooth with a rubber hand grip that feels excellent in the hand. The gun initially feels heavy for its size but the weight is properly balanced. Sockets lock positively and the trigger is variable for easy teasing. The gun has 4 forward power positions (each of which have significant torque difference) with full power in reverse 100% of the time. It hits hard. For people who understand torque, 425ft/lbs is nothing to sniffle at - that will bust a lot of stuff... and for 100 bucks, you can't go wrong.
My only 2 criticisms with the CP734H model (previously correct on the earlier CP734 model) is:
1) The exhaust port is plastic.
2) The gun does not ship with the protective rubber cover.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.