Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine

NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine

Item# 1108
This NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter is powered by a quality Honda GC engine. The 4in. x 24in. cylinder splits logs up to 25in.L in either in a vertical or horizontal position. Features a 2-stage Concentric pump, which decreases cycle time by delivering high flow/low pressure when there is no resistance and low flow/high pressure when cutting through a log to reduce travel time and increase productivity. Uses a horizontal-shaft engine, engineered for a long life. Add the exclusive NorthStar 4-way wedge wings Item# 1143, sold separately to quarter logs in one split instead of three. Pump Concentric 11 GPM, 2-stage, Oil Reservoir gal. 8, Fenders No, Tire Size 4.80 x 8, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Log Cradle Yes, Jack Stand Yes, Cylinder 4 in. x 24in., Engine Displacement cc 160, Engine Honda GC, Max. PSI 3,000, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Low Oil Shutdown No, Ram Force Tons 22, HP 5.0, Pre-assembled Assembly required, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Continuous Force Tons 18.8, Ball Coupler in. 2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 89 x 43 x 41, Lights No, Log Lift No, Cycle Time sec. 13, Wedge Yes, auto return wedge. 2-stage pump allows the log splitter to achieve the same pressures as a single stage pump, while using less horsepower Auto-return wedge Patented log stripper clears log from retracting wedge Industrial-grade full beam construction Coupler for 2in. ball High speed tires for towing 8 gallons hydraulic oil not included Log cradle centers the log on the wedge and prevents it from rolling off Included engine guard protects engine from split logs Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (63 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 of 63(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 4, 2014
By b25hf4u
from Richmond, VA
"Bought this last fall, runs great on the Honda engine.I have yet to find a piece of oak it can not split. The engine starts well and I have put about 30 hours on it and split several cords for this winter. I would highly recommend this unit, before buying this I read reviews from several competitors and felt the extra cost of the Honda engine was well worth it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By loonymike
from saint joseph minnesota
"this splitter is everything I could ask for. It is so good even my friends want to borrow it. very easy to use in either vertical of hortizontal position. would recommend it to anyone. Mike..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

,
February 4, 2014
By mackman1
from Albemarle, NC
"I looked at almost every wood splitter on the market before buying this one. For the price its the best one I could find. No complaints at all. Engine is nice and smooth, and starts on the first pull every time. Power is good too. I've split logs 35 inches across with this splitter. I got the wings too. They work good for smaller stuff, but I have to take them off to split bigger wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT LOG splitter!!!

,
February 4, 2014
By HOJ99
from nj
"WOW should have bought this years ago!!! I replaced an old small splitter and I never knew what I was missing until I got this one. Used it many times over the past year split up perhaps 30 cords so far very powerfull and reliable that engine starts on the 1st pull almost every time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

logging

,
February 4, 2014
By foxhound
from Summerfield,NC
"OK the log splitter have is great it so easy to run I love it.easy to start the Honda engine the splitter is 22 ton it is excellent I can run the auto return control valve easy i can know find things I do not like about the splitter.thanks you northertool for a great splitter I love it great job!!! Thanks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fine machine

,
January 16, 2014
By FGH7
from central California
"Got it in December 2013 assembled it with the help of one good mechanic but could have done it myself. We have
an overhead hoist, very helpful considering weight of
I-beam. Fastenings are all metric, built in China but well done. Understand from Northern they designed and supervise manufacture. Torque settings are supplied in instructions which are easy to follow. Could estimate torque when necessary, hoses require open end wrench.
Have split half cord already, works as expected very well.
Recommend this splitter to anyone, maybe a bit light for professional business use but great for farm, ranch or estate. Easy to use.
I had a Northern splitter previous, about same size which lasted for regular occasional use for over 20 years.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

22 ton log splitter

,
September 19, 2013
By bagsterk
from Ashuelot NH
"What a great machine ez to assemble ez to use. I have split 10 cords of red oak and black birch without a single problem looking forward to many trouble free years of service. I have not found any thing this machine will not split"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 22 ton splitter

,
September 17, 2013
By GearyH
from Texas
"This splitter cuts down splitting time from weeks to hours. I have used this on very hard woods such as oak and mesquite, up to 24 inch diameter mesquite. The verticle possition allows you to split large diameter logs by yourself without having to lift and the horizontal position lets you go through smaller logs quickly. Plan to spend half a day assembling it, and it would be helpful to have help taking the crates off your truck when you get it home. This is a hard working splitter and you will probably run out of gas before it does!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 22 Ton log splitter

,
September 17, 2013
By 123terry
from Fort Mill, SC
"I bought this log splitter last fall . I decided to buy one because by the time I have to rent one 5 or 6 times I could have paid for one anyway. It is easy to use and a lot better than splitting wood by hand. I have an outdoor fireplace and use a good bit of wood. I split and burn all types of trees . I have had no problems with this log splitter so far. I would definitely recommend this log splitter for do- it- your- selfers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

,
July 23, 2013
By garandguy
from Georgia
"This is a general review of all splitters. I have had mine for 2 years and it has been great. However, I had a flat tire recently which required removal of the tire from the axle. I discovered that there was almost no grease on the bearings & one was stuck to the axle. If you have one and tow it around a lot you would be advised to repack the bearings . This situation originated at the factory because I rarely take it off my property & when I do I haul it on a trailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

God splitter, bad customer service model

,
January 11, 2013
By SplitWood
from Boston
"I really like this splitter. The working height is perfect and it has all the power needed to get through whatever you put in front of it. The assembly instructions were just ok - there were a few instances where the instructions were just wrong. Also, the specs call for 8 gallons of hydraulic oil and that's wrong too. Buy 7 and save more than just a few bucks. The only thing that I don't like is the outrigger leg design as it's awkward for one person to get the rear leg lifted for transport. All that said, I'm happy with my purchase...mostly.
Here's the rub. One of my must-have features was the four-way wedge option. After four calls to customer service, a shipment of new bolts to install the wedge "wings", and now a shipment of a replacement wedge, maybe next week I'll actually be able to make four-way splits. Turns out that two of the wing mounting holes in the primary wedge were not bored out to the correct diameter and the bolts were too big to pass through the holes. So that appears to be a manufacturing defect. Ok, it happens but it's annoying.
Here's what I think the "real problem" is: If you call "Customer Care" on a Saturday, there are no techs available -- they only work Mon-Fri. They, of course, needed the serial number from the splitter in order to send me parts so I had to be at home on a weekday in order to make that happen. I have to believe that most people work for a living so true "Customer Care" would mean having the right resources available to troubleshoot problems when customers are at home. To make matters worse, when I placed my first call to Customer Call on a Saturday, I was told to call back on Monday and that I'd have to tell my story all over again because they weren't setup to take that information in Customer Care. I asked to speak with a Supervisor and she finally agreed to take my information and she said that she would get back to me on Monday. That didn't happen so I had to make yet another call.
It just shouldn't be this difficult."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

22 TON Log splitter North Star

,
October 18, 2012
By ADARICK
from MN.
"I got the splitter late summer of 2012 and split about 4 cords. it ran about 1/2 hour on a 1/2 gal. of gas, it worked great .But some bolts were missing,the coupler hub came lose, so I put a second set screw in with loc tite. Also the bolts for the wedge slide are to short ,they should have 1 to 3 thread past the nut , they don't even go thru the nylock."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

22 ton north star

,
October 15, 2012
By Leo25
from Rutherford, NC
"The 22 ton North Star wood splitter is a tough machine. I've only had this wood splitter for a few weeks and I have to say I've never ran one like it. The five horse power Honda engine doesn't even struggle while busting through large pieces of wood. I've not seen a piece of wood this splitter wont split. If I can get the log rolled up to it, the splitter will split it. Great product!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality and good value

,
October 13, 2012
By VAlover
from Ophelia, VA
"This log splitter is well-built and sturdy. The Honda engine starts easily and is relatively quiet. It has had enough power to split some pretty gnarly seasoned locust. It's well-balanced and easy switch from horizontal to vertical operation or to transport by vehicle or by hand around the garage. It's everything I wanted in a log splitter
I did, however, encounter two problems during assembly that should not have occurred, hence the four stars instead of five. First, the pivot piece was welded so crooked there was no way the assembly could continue. I am two hours by car from the store and had to spend an afternoon running back to get a pivot that was manufactured correctly so I could continue putting the thing together. Second, the factory uses a nylon 3/4 pipe X 1" hose barb bushing on the hydraulic fluid return line that leaks. Being nylon, there is no way to tighten it sufficiently to stop the leak. I replaced it with a brass fitting that doesn't leak. These are quality control issues that the factory needs to resolve.
I want to add that the Richmond store has a mechanic named Dan that was very helpful to me in resolving my problems and in giving me good advice for assembling the log splitter, such as giving me a list of the larger open-end wrenches that I would need and how to replace that bushing with a full tank of hydraulic fluid. Dan is the go-to guy in the Richmond store when you have questions or problems with mechanical equipment. He is friendly and knowledgeable and an asset to Northern Tool. Thanks in large part to Dan's friendly assistance in resolving these problems I am a happy owner of a great log splitter that should give me years of trouble free service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

22 ton Northern Star log splitter

,
October 9, 2012
By bobkegs
from Accord, New York
"I am very pleased with this splitter. Two of us had no trouble with assembly, it was quite straightforward.
The Honda engine is great...starts easily.
We have some very difficult wood to split around these parts, including elm, oak and cherry.
There is no wood that I could not split with this splitter.
I should have had this one years ago!
Great machine!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid, powerful splitter

,
August 14, 2012
By JPinVT
from Central VT
"This splitter seems really substantial, it was packed really well, I expect it will last my lifetime :). I have tested it on the gnarliest cherry I could find and the two-stage pump kicked in and powered right through it. You need a sense of humor to find all the pieces to put it together. Don't expect all the parts to be in the parts bag.... but all things considered it went together really well. I was able to assemble it myself granny-style with the help of a couple levers and jacks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is on great log splitter

,
January 26, 2012
By Daniel33146
from Ivoryton, Ct
"Before buying this log splitter I look at many different splitters . After seeing what junk was out there I then opening my Northern Tool Catalog and purchased the 22 ton splitter. On the day it arrived I was taken back to see how it was packed and the quality and the workmanship of this Log Splitter. This is a very heavy duty splitter no BS with this unit. It took me 2 hours to assemble it and no problem put it together. And then I started splitting logs and this splitter ran great. I give this splitter 5 stars.
Thank you Northern Tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big bang for the buck

,
November 30, 2011
By MikeFef
from Milford, PA
"I was totally impressed. For one thing, it's packed really well - mine had no dents or scratches in the paint (yet). It went together easily. And although most folks recommend having a helper, lifting the cylinder and beam isn't too difficult - especially if you "lever" it off the pallet. It's well built and the instructions are easy. Took me about 2 hrs to assemble taking my time. Love the Honda engine - easy starts! Did a day of splitting and it didn't seem to break a sweat. I have no idea why I waited so long to get it! I'll still keep my axe handy for odd jobs, but this is a treat."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

22 ton

,
November 11, 2011
By Logmeister
from Minnesota
"All works very well with this unit. Only 1 problem and that was one axle was not mfg correctly, resulting in obtaining a new Hyd tank. (axle is welded on) This was handled very well by Northern. I assembled it myself and thought it was very straight-forward. I split almost 7 chords in a few days and had no problems splitting very large diameter oak logs. Engine is very nice, starts easy even when cold."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22-Ton, 160cc Honda GC160 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

22 ton log splitter

,
October 26, 2011
By Tom250
from Richmond,VA.
"Excellent machine,splits any size of hard wood log.I have split about 2 cords so far.Have not had any problems with splitter or honda engine.Wish i had bought one sooner.I would recomend this product to anyone that is looking for a great log splitter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.