Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine

NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine

Item# 110900
This NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter's multi-patented design gives you premium components and exclusive features that let you save time, increase performance and work effectively. You can count on NorthStar to bring strength, durability and innovation every time. The backbone of this log splitter is an industrial-strength I-beam with heavy plate steel reinforcement. The patented wedge design, made with alloy steel, maintains consistent split and has a unique curve that reduces initial contact area for maximum penetrating force. Add the optional NorthStar Wedge Wings Item# 110910, sold separately to make each stroke more efficient. Auto-return wedge saves time and effort when splitting. The premium hydraulic system is protected by a quad filtering system that uses four different components to protect the hydraulic system from contaminants. Large hydraulic oil reservoir allows fluid to cool, reducing wear and allowing fluid to last longer. Slide-action self-leveling pivot makes it simple to switch between horizontal and vertical split. Designed to be easy to use in both orientations. Continuous Force Tons 27.8, Ball Coupler in. 2, Fenders Included, Cycle Time sec. 14, Cylinder 4 1/2 x 24, Dimensions L x W x H in. 90 x 45 x 45, Engine Honda GX200, Engine Displacement cc 200, Log Cradle Tables, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Gross Torque 9.1 ft. lbs. @ 2,500 RPM, Hoses High pressure w/wire braid, Jack Stand Yes, Lights No, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Log Lift No, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Oil Reservoir gal. 8.5, Pre-assembled No, Pump 13 GPM, Ram Force Tons 30, Tire Size 8, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Max. PSI 3,500, Wedge 8 1/2in.H. Honda commercial GX200 series engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve, low oil shutdown and steel fuel tank American-made Concentric pump and Brand valve Heavy-duty steel-reinforced hose NorthStar hydraulic cylinder with premium Halite seals Auto throttle control to save fuel, reduce noise and prolong engine life Patented log stripper clears logs from retracting wedge Engine guard protects against falling logs and debris Heavy-duty log tables prevent logs from rolling off when split Adjustable jack with oversized wheel and 2in. coupler
Average Customer Rating:
4.881 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (118 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
118 of 118(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

100 hours and going strong

,
August 11, 2014
By bobbova
from Southbury, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had added an hour meter to this 30 ton splitter when I purchased it and have just hit 100 hours of use, so looks like I will be replacing the hydraulic fluid shortly. I have been able to split all kinds of woods without any issues. The Honda motor rules, 1st pull every time! I can't come to guess how many cord I have split, but I probably average 6-15 cord a year. Guessing I have had it around 4 years. I just added the optional wedges, so I can't comment on them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splits anything

,
February 6, 2014
By BrockMcGarry
from Western MA
"This splitter has not met the log it can't split yet. The four way attachment makes quick work of the correct diameter logs. It can be a bit tricky with the four way when you are splitting big stuff. The idle when not in use is a great gas saving feature... just remember not to shut it of when it is engaged. The Honda starts with one easy pull. I love this thing!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJune 27, 2014
The new line of NorthStar Log Splitters have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Time

,
February 4, 2014
By 74aggie
from East Texas
"This splitter is a hoss ! First time I used it to split several cords of oak and it never missed a beat. Since then, I have cut several acres of oak and it has preformed flawlessly. I put it up for a year and it started on the 3 rd pull. I used it on very large diameter logs without a hitch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star 30 ton wood splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By JK557
from DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
"Outstanding the only trouble I have is keeping it home every time I turn around somebody has borrowed it. Very dependable splitter"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 30 Ton Log Splitter with 160cc Honda

,
February 4, 2014
By Poppa41
from Drasco, AR
"Excellent splitter - works good through burls or knots in wood and is easy to use in both the vertical and horizontal positions. Very adequate in power to split the most challenging, dense hardwoods. The honda motor is dependable and easy to start and the trailer is easy to maneuver by vehicle or by hand. This is a great splitter!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By jw68
from pamlico beach,nc
"great,love it & s0 do my shins & toes& my back,dont know how many less times i gotta bend down & pick up part of a log,oh & my ears 2"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
February 4, 2014
By mk13
from WI
"It has split everything that i put to it. Great splitter!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Manstyle

,
February 4, 2014
By Hitt
from NC
"Let's skip all the prissy talk and get to the point. I bought this splitter about 3 years ago. I've used it every Spring thaw since for busting my firewood. After its work is done it goes back in dry storage and sets till next wood tending season. Never, never had to pull the cord more than twice to start the machine and never, ever had a lick of trouble from it or its performance.
This is not a woodsplitter, this is truely a manstyle piece of equipment!
Its construction shames the competition to the highest degree, and the staff at Concord, NC's Northern Tool are such that I want to shop there & even encourage my pals to visit the store as well.
Truely a manstyle piece of equipment that paid for itself in reduced heating bills the very first year.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Log Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By westfield
from Wisconsin
"Purchased the 30 ton Northstar log splitter and boy did it make log splitting easy. I'm 58 yrs old and this unit really made my job easy! It handled just about any kind of wood and any size with ease. By far the most efficient unit I've seen and used. I have a friend that is a tree cutter as a trade and he too was impressed with this unit. I highly recommend that if your looking for a great log splitter that you really look at this unit. You won't be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent splitter

,
January 6, 2014
By Erdic
from Reston, VA
"I used this splitter to split 7 cords of wood, much of which was 30+ inch diameter green oak logs (18-25" thick), some with large knots, and this splitter didn't miss a beat. I burned 2.0 gallons of fuel in three days of operation @ 8 + hrs a day. My 60 lb. son could start this splitter it started so easily. Best splitter I've ever used."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gettin' The Job Done

,
December 3, 2013
By Woodchisel
from Texas
"I waited to write a review on this splitter. Well it's been 3yrs., an it hasn't missed a lick. The Honda motor has always started on the 2nd or 3rd pull after setting all year. It will split wood as long as you keep fuel in it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter

,
November 26, 2013
By ab921
from Northern MN
"After some initial unusual problems with the first machine I picked up from my store in Fargo ND I ended up with a splitter that works to my satisfaction. John and the crew at the Fargo store are an asset to Northern Tool. Friendly and courteous the way it should be.
I used my 30 ton splitter this morning for about an hour splitting some pieces of oak a maul wouldn't split. Worked great! I especially like the idle down feature with the ram returns to the retracted position."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

30 Ton Splitter

,
November 22, 2013
By Buddy1815
from Louisville KY
"After owning my 30 ton Northstar splitter for about 4 years now, I would like to say how pleased I have been with it. The machine will split any log you can manhandle up to it. I have had huge logs I have split. The Honda engine is easy to start except for a few really cold days. The only weakness I found was the throttle down cable. It's not out of the way enough and didn't last one season. I used the splitter without it but I ordered another one and received it today. The bolt that holds the wedge is also too small for the amount of force it takes. Overall I love my machine and would recommmend it to every one. Buddy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait?

,
November 3, 2013
By TheTed
from NC
"I bought a 20 ton Northern Tool log splitter 24 years ago. It has been a good machine but the time came to replace it. I shopped all the usual retailers and decided the 30 ton NorthStar was the best buy for the money. The store where I made my purchase didn't have any unassembled machines but they honored the unassembled price when I told them "that's one you if you put them all together." I commend them for that since I prefer to assemble my own machines.
My son and I set it up and split a face cord in a short time. It is an excellent splitter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A BIG surprise

,
July 23, 2013
By jpm123
from Chatham, VA
"This thing is a monster! After shopping around for a splitter and not finding anything worth the money I ordered this one. I was very impressed with the crate it was shipped in. The instructions advise to have a helper to assemble it but I'm short of help so I did it myself. I had to remove the Hyd. cyl. to get the beam on but with a good chain hoist and some luck I got it together. I believe this thing would split a steel bowling ball! I'm am going to install a trailer jack instead of the front outrigger to make it easier to drop the rear one. I am very impressed and satisfied. This splitter is well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Beast

,
April 29, 2013
By Jeffrey888
from Carlisle, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Had the splitter delivered to a friend's barn about 3 weeks ago and put it together myself in about 4 1/2 hours. One assembly step requires lifting the beam which is definitely a 2 person job. I was able to do it alone with a pulley which made it a piece of cake. I'm up to about 10 hours of use, 4 cords, and just split a very green 24-26" oak. So far it has split anything like a hot knife through butter. Very easy to maneuver from horizontal to vertical and with bigger logs that's a must. Engine starts in 3-4 pulls and purrs like a kitten.
Cons: A little top heavy making it tricky to hand maneuver on uneven ground. Needs to be muscled to push it around or uphill."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

takes a beating and keeps on splitting

,
March 29, 2013
By mkrancher
from wellington, colorado
"I bought this splitter 3 years ago. coming up on my 3rd season of splitting firewood for home and business. The palletized splitter was deliverd to my residence. My son and I put it together. Engineered well and solidly manufactured. This splitter is a tank! I have towed it up to mountain property 150 miles round trip, numerous times. runs great even at high altitude and in cold temperatures. Decided to grease wheel bearings and maintain the cutting wedge. Easy to assemble/disasemble. If you can put it on the rail this splitter will split it! Heavy duty yet I can pull it and hook it up by myself. It runs for hours. I've never had a problem. Its easy to start. It's a money saver and money maker. Thanks Northern tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

30 TON LOG SPLITTER

,
October 24, 2012
By partsguy
from DURHAM, CT
"assembly was not too hard but did need 2 people. I used it for about 20 min & the coupler for the pump came loose so I had to take it apart & tighten the set screw. It has split anything i have put in it so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

30T log spliter

,
October 15, 2012
By George88
from Wentzville, MO
"Great machine! Only had one problem, after only one afternoon of light use the hydroglic piston locked up. The plunger inside had become lodged do to a defect in assembly. Northern Tool was very helpful and easy to work with in the fixing proses. They allowed me to take it to a local hydroglic shop and the warenty covered everything. Have not had any other problems since then and have only come accross a couple pices of knotted up wood that I have not been able to split. Very powerful!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Log Splitter

,
October 15, 2012
By nickajac910
from Springfield, IL
"My splitter was delivered Friday. It was very easy to assemble with clear instructions. I used it to split wood the same day and started with some tough pieces left over from last year. It split them with ease. The Honda motor is excellent and easy to start. I have shopped other brands, but this one is excellent and competitively priced. I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.