Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"

"NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"

Item# 110900
"This NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter's multi-patented design gives you premium components and exclusive features that let you save time, increase performance and work effectively. You can count on NorthStar to bring strength, durability and innovation every time. The backbone of this log splitter is an industrial-strength I-beam with heavy plate steel reinforcement. The patented wedge design, made with alloy steel, maintains consistent split and has a unique curve that reduces initial contact area for maximum penetrating force. Add the optional NorthStar Wedge Wings Item# 110910, sold separately to make each stroke more efficient. Auto-return wedge saves time and effort when splitting. The premium hydraulic system is protected by a quad filtering system that uses four different components to protect the hydraulic system from contaminants. Large hydraulic oil reservoir allows fluid to cool, reducing wear and allowing fluid to last longer. Slide-action self-leveling pivot makes it simple to switch between horizontal and vertical split. Designed to be easy to use in both orientations. Some assembly required. Fenders Included, Lights No, Pump 13 GPM, Ram Force Tons 30, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Continuous Force Tons 27.8, Ball Coupler in. 2, Engine Honda GX200, Log Cradle Tables, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Wedge 8 1/2in.H, Oil Reservoir gal. 8.5, Pre-assembled No, Max. PSI 3,500, Engine Displacement cc 200, Hoses High pressure w/wire braid, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Tire Size 8, Jack Stand Yes, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Log Lift No, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Cycle Time sec. 14, Gross Torque 9.1 ft. lbs. @ 2,500 RPM, Dimensions L x W x H in. 90 x 45 x 45, Cylinder 4 1/2 x 24. Honda commercial GX200 series engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve, low oil shutdown and steel fuel tank American-made Concentric pump and Brand valve Heavy-duty steel-reinforced hose NorthStar hydraulic cylinder with premium Halite seals Auto throttle control to save fuel, reduce noise and prolong engine life Patented log stripper clears logs from retracting wedge Engine guard protects against falling logs and debris Heavy-duty log tables prevent logs from rolling off when split Adjustable jack with oversized wheel and 2in. coupler"
Average Customer Rating:
4.898 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(137 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (137 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
137 of 137(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great products

,
January 11, 2016
By
from Mclean, Va
Comes well packed and great options. long run times with no problems. And easy to haul to other job sites.
Easy to function and easy to store unit.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30 Tons of Fury! Wow... Fast and Powerful

,
January 11, 2016
By
from Goddard, KS
Always wanted one so I finally bought this splitter for myself for Christmas as I was tired of the old sledge and wedge. Assembled it over the break and 2 guys are indeed needed to handle the beam and getting it into place. And a second pair of hands is nice for several steps in the process as well. I would consider myself pretty handy so I usually glance at the instructions until I get stuck, then I really read them. Would have saved me a little time in this instance as the bolts that come on the unit holding the fenders on DO NOT GET RE-USED when you put the fenders on correctly. There are new ones in the bag of goodies that are obviously of better quality. So far, have split about a chord and a half of oak with diameters up to about 14" with zero issues. When you run into knots and tough spots in logs, this thing just shifts into low gear and splits whatever in its way. Also, the increased speed while the splitter is not under heavy load is plenty fast. And while splitting 8" and under logs, it never really shifts into the low speed / high power mode making the unit quicker to split and cycle back than I thought it would be. Love the Honda engine on this thing. Has started on the first pull every time including the initial fire up! Seems like a very sturdy, well built machine especially compared to some other models in this tonnage range on the market. Cant imagine a log that this thing wouldn't handle. Excellent machine worth the money!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Log Splitter

,
December 31, 2015
By
from MO
When comparing visually to splitters carried by farm stores the higher quality in construction and design was apparent. Thus, I ordered Northern Tool's 30 ton splitter. I had no issues with assembly and the unit works great. Happy splitting....
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
November 17, 2015
By
from Southern New Jersey
Absolutely the finest log splitter that can be purchased in the USA. The assembly instructions, albeit lengthy, were "right on" and should be followed in sequence.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter

,
September 17, 2015
By
from seymour, in
The log splitter is exactly what I was expecting. It has performed beyond expectation. I am currently splitting very large pieces of a tree trunk using the vertical feature and then splitting using the horizontal positional. Really like the wheel on the dolly - makes it very easy to move.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEAST!!

,
June 9, 2015
By
from Michigan
This thing is a Beast!! Heavy duty. Engine starts on 1 or 2 pulls. If this thing can't split it, nothing will. Easy to use. Just make sure you have a hoist or someone to help stand the cylinder up to put it on the base. Like I said it is a Beast. The only splitter I think I'll ever have to buy.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what we wanted

,
May 23, 2015
By
from Easter PA
'Delivered promptly and packaged well. Assembly went well. Works perfectly for our residential use. Even wife has no trouble using vertically and horizontally. Ya get what ya pay for! We shopped for over a month before deciding on this one. There were none locally that impressed us. 'Glad we went with this company and decided to just pay for the shipping.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter

,
May 19, 2015
By
from North Carolina
I looked at several log splitters and talked to some pros before making the investment. I liked the design and quality build of the North Star 30 ton and especially the tried and true Honda engine. The customer service at Northern Tool was excellent and the splitter has performed flawlessly so far. It has been worth it's weight in splitting several big logs that otherwise could not be split with a manual maul. I have no regrets in purchasing this splitter and look forward to many years of use to help supply my Buck Woodstove with wood for the Winter. It starts and runs well and has not failed a split yet. My neighbors love it as well, sharing it with my wood burning friends. Great machine.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stout Machine

,
March 19, 2015
By
from Athol ID
Great Build Quality and Design. The shipping crate and packaging are carefully thought out to ensure all the parts arrive without damage. I was impressed with the quality of all materials provided. I especially like the Honda GX motor rather than a lesser quality model. Only small complaint is the instructions are about 90% complete and leave the assembler somewhat guessing; although its pretty straight forward if you are at all mechanically inclined. Total Cost about $100 more than a big box store for a much better machine. Very Happy with my Purchase!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter!

,
March 15, 2015
By
from Cincinnati! OH
This is a great splitter at a good price. Quality components, easy assembly and great engine...this splitter should last a lifetime.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Splitter for the Buck

,
March 5, 2015
By
from Monroe, LA
I considered several splitters before deciding on the North Star 30 Ton and I'm quite glad that I did!! First let me say that it is not easy to assemble, but the instructions are extremely complete and adequately detailed so that if you follow them meticulously you won't have any problems. Also, you must have available all types of torque wrenches to properly tighten the various bolts. That being said, I assembled the machine with the assistance of a friend for the moving of the heavier parts. The splitter works beautifully. I have assembled other large pieces of equipment and this is the most impressive machine for the money I have seen. Customer service was helpful too when I encountered a question that I wanted to be certain of the answer. Finally, I have found absolutely no comparison between this splitter and other similarly priced splitters. This is absolutely tops!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable and powerful

,
February 19, 2015
By
from Central Indiana
I heat with an outdoor boiler. Years ago I decided my old splitter needed replacing. I wanted a horizontal shaft, ball bearing engine with a steel cylinder sleeve. After looking at many (some cheaper) I settled on this machine. First week (9 years ago I think) the suction hose from the pump blew. I contacted customer service. They immediately sent a new hose, fluid and a new filter with base. Great service! Here is my quality report after all of these years. Tonight I started this machine at 0 degrees on the 3rd pull. Let it warm up and worked it for 1/2 hour. If the wood does not split, the splitter simply tears it apart. It has never failed to split anything I have put in it. Worth the extra money. The horizontal shaft gives me the option to change engines quickly if the need ever arises. I doubt that, nothing is more dependable than the GX series Honda engines. Buy one, you will not regret it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a very nice high quality log splitter

,
February 3, 2015
By
from Spraggs, Pa
This is a very nice high quality log splitter, it's built to last a lifetime. I was looking at different splitters and there were splitters a lot cheaper, but growing up my dad always told me "you get what you pay for". I'm glad I paid the extra money for this splitter, it's well worth it. As far as the assembly goes, it took about 4 hours, I put this together with just my wife and I, and believe me it's heavy, but we managed. This is the most heavy duty splitter I have ever saw, everything on this splitter is heavy duty. It was easy to put together, the directions are clear and to the point, just follow them step by step and there will be no problems at all. Also when it arrived they had it created very good. The Honda engine was a big plus, 2nd pull fired right up, it don't get much better then Honda. Also this splitter has a guard over the engine which is very nice, I always had logs falling off my old splitter. This one also has the tables on both sides, these aren't the cheap ones you buy online.. These are very heavy duty, I am not worried about them bending, I'm sure they can handle anything I can lift and put on them. Now the splitting part, I had some 20" long locust, elm and oak logs that were about 24" wide. This splitter went right through them with no problem, and did it quickly also. I burn wood in my house and 2 out buildings about 6 months out of the year, so I use a lot of wood. Also my friends always use my splitter. I know this splitter will split anything I put in front of it, and it is going to last for years to come. Believe me, if you have the extra money, buy this splitter.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Last Splitter I'll Ever Buy!

,
February 3, 2015
By
from Spraggs, Pa
This is a very nice high quality log splitter, it's built to last a lifetime. I was looking at different splitters at the big warehouse stores. They had splitters a lot cheaper, but growing up my dad always told me "you get what you pay for". I'm glad I paid the extra money for this splitter, it's well worth it.
As far as the assembly goes, it took about 4 hours, I put this together with just my wife and I, and believe me it's heavy, but we managed.
This is the most heavy duty splitter I have ever saw, everything on this splitter is heavy duty. It was easy to put together, the directions are clear and to the point, just follow them step by step and there will be no problems at all. Also when it arrived they had it created very good.
The Honda engine was a big plus, 2nd pull fired right up, it don't get much better then Honda. Also this splitter has a guard over the engine which is very nice, I always had logs falling off my old splitter. This one also has the tables on both sides, these aren't the cheap ones you buy off ebay. These are very heavy duty, I am not worried about them bending, I'm sure they can handle anything I can lift and put on them.
Now the splitting part, I had some 20" long locust, elm and oak logs that were about 24" wide. This splitter went right through them with no problem, and did it quickly also.
I burn wood in my house and 2 out buildings about 6 months out of the year, so I use a lot of wood. Also my friends always use my splitter.
I know this splitter will split anything I put in front of it, and it is going to last for years to come. Believe me, if you have the extra money, buy this splitter.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30 ton log splitter

,
January 12, 2015
By
from Carencro LA
Love it and its easy to use. Cuts large logs with ease!!!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brute power

,
December 27, 2014
By
from pittsburgh
unstoppable power while staying quiet...easy assembly because the instruction sheet is that clear.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30 tons of incredible smashing force!

,
December 16, 2014
By
from Graham, WA
This log splitter is everything and more when it comes to splitting logs! I found the product to be of the highest quality, easy to assemble, having very clear assembly & operating instructions, and extremely efficient at splitting tree rounds.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The power and ease of use is amazing!

,
November 22, 2014
By
from Rhode Island
Splits through knotty logs with ease. The vertical capabilities are extremely appreciated when splitting larger logs. No heavy lifting! Quality of the splitter is rugged and durable unlike products sold at Retail stores. Excellent buy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!

,
October 11, 2014
By
from Everett, Pa.
Had now for three years, has been very dependable. Take a piece of stringy elm and try to split with something smaller than the 30 ton... my bet your not going to do it. This 30 ton Splitter is what you need! Honda engine is very reliable regardless the temperature; single digits to 90 degree weather. Worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

100 hours and going strong

,
August 11, 2014
By
from Southbury, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I had added an hour meter to this 30 ton splitter when I purchased it and have just hit 100 hours of use, so looks like I will be replacing the hydraulic fluid shortly. I have been able to split all kinds of woods without any issues. The Honda motor rules, 1st pull every time! I can't come to guess how many cord I have split, but I probably average 6-15 cord a year. Guessing I have had it around 4 years. I just added the optional wedges, so I can't comment on them.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.