Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"

"NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"

Item# 110900
"This NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter's multi-patented design gives you premium components and exclusive features that let you save time, increase performance and work effectively. You can count on NorthStar to bring strength, durability and innovation every time. The backbone of this log splitter is an industrial-strength I-beam with heavy plate steel reinforcement. The patented wedge design, made with alloy steel, maintains consistent split and has a unique curve that reduces initial contact area for maximum penetrating force. Add the optional NorthStar Wedge Wings Item# 110910, sold separately to make each stroke more efficient. Auto-return wedge saves time and effort when splitting. The premium hydraulic system is protected by a quad filtering system that uses four different components to protect the hydraulic system from contaminants. Large hydraulic oil reservoir allows fluid to cool, reducing wear and allowing fluid to last longer. Slide-action self-leveling pivot makes it simple to switch between horizontal and vertical split. Designed to be easy to use in both orientations. Some assembly required. Log Lift No, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Fenders Included, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Dimensions L x W x H in. 90 x 45 x 45, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Cylinder 4 1/2 x 24, Lights No, Pump 13 GPM, Ram Force Tons 30, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Gross Torque 9.1 ft. lbs. @ 2,500 RPM, Pre-assembled No, Oil Reservoir gal. 8.5, Cycle Time sec. 14, Jack Stand Yes, Tire Size 8, Continuous Force Tons 27.8, Ball Coupler in. 2, Max. PSI 3,500, Engine Honda GX200, Log Cradle Tables, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Wedge 8 1/2in.H, Engine Displacement cc 200, Hoses High pressure w/wire braid. Honda commercial GX200 series engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve, low oil shutdown and steel fuel tank American-made Concentric pump and Brand valve Heavy-duty steel-reinforced hose NorthStar hydraulic cylinder with premium Halite seals Auto throttle control to save fuel, reduce noise and prolong engine life Patented log stripper clears logs from retracting wedge Engine guard protects against falling logs and debris Heavy-duty log tables prevent logs from rolling off when split Adjustable jack with oversized wheel and 2in. coupler"
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (126 reviews)
5 stars
112
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
126 of 126(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable and powerful

,
February 19, 2015
By 03dave
from Central Indiana
" I heat with an outdoor boiler. Years ago I decided my old splitter needed replacing. I wanted a horizontal shaft, ball bearing engine with a steel cylinder sleeve. After looking at many (some cheaper) I settled on this machine. First week (9 years ago I think) the suction hose from the pump blew. I contacted customer service. They immediately sent a new hose, fluid and a new filter with base. Great service! Here is my quality report after all of these years. Tonight I started this machine at 0 degrees on the 3rd pull. Let it warm up and worked it for 1/2 hour. If the wood does not split, the splitter simply tears it apart. It has never failed to split anything I have put in it. Worth the extra money. The horizontal shaft gives me the option to change engines quickly if the need ever arises. I doubt that, nothing is more dependable than the GX series Honda engines. Buy one, you will not regret it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a very nice high quality log splitter

,
February 3, 2015
By dave36645
from Spraggs, Pa
" This is a very nice high quality log splitter, it's built to last a lifetime. I was looking at different splitters and there were splitters a lot cheaper, but growing up my dad always told me "you get what you pay for". I'm glad I paid the extra money for this splitter, it's well worth it. As far as the assembly goes, it took about 4 hours, I put this together with just my wife and I, and believe me it's heavy, but we managed. This is the most heavy duty splitter I have ever saw, everything on this splitter is heavy duty. It was easy to put together, the directions are clear and to the point, just follow them step by step and there will be no problems at all. Also when it arrived they had it created very good. The Honda engine was a big plus, 2nd pull fired right up, it don't get much better then Honda. Also this splitter has a guard over the engine which is very nice, I always had logs falling off my old splitter. This one also has the tables on both sides, these aren't the cheap ones you buy online.. These are very heavy duty, I am not worried about them bending, I'm sure they can handle anything I can lift and put on them. Now the splitting part, I had some 20" long locust, elm and oak logs that were about 24" wide. This splitter went right through them with no problem, and did it quickly also. I burn wood in my house and 2 out buildings about 6 months out of the year, so I use a lot of wood. Also my friends always use my splitter. I know this splitter will split anything I put in front of it, and it is going to last for years to come. Believe me, if you have the extra money, buy this splitter. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Last Splitter I'll Ever Buy!

,
February 3, 2015
By dave36645
from Spraggs, Pa
" This is a very nice high quality log splitter, it's built to last a lifetime. I was looking at different splitters at the big warehouse stores. They had splitters a lot cheaper, but growing up my dad always told me "you get what you pay for". I'm glad I paid the extra money for this splitter, it's well worth it.
As far as the assembly goes, it took about 4 hours, I put this together with just my wife and I, and believe me it's heavy, but we managed.
This is the most heavy duty splitter I have ever saw, everything on this splitter is heavy duty. It was easy to put together, the directions are clear and to the point, just follow them step by step and there will be no problems at all. Also when it arrived they had it created very good.
The Honda engine was a big plus, 2nd pull fired right up, it don't get much better then Honda. Also this splitter has a guard over the engine which is very nice, I always had logs falling off my old splitter. This one also has the tables on both sides, these aren't the cheap ones you buy off ebay. These are very heavy duty, I am not worried about them bending, I'm sure they can handle anything I can lift and put on them.
Now the splitting part, I had some 20" long locust, elm and oak logs that were about 24" wide. This splitter went right through them with no problem, and did it quickly also.
I burn wood in my house and 2 out buildings about 6 months out of the year, so I use a lot of wood. Also my friends always use my splitter.
I know this splitter will split anything I put in front of it, and it is going to last for years to come. Believe me, if you have the extra money, buy this splitter.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30 ton log splitter

,
January 12, 2015
By dorekelli
from Carencro LA
" Love it and its easy to use. Cuts large logs with ease!!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brute power

,
December 27, 2014
By biggerblock
from pittsburgh
" unstoppable power while staying quiet...easy assembly because the instruction sheet is that clear. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30 tons of incredible smashing force!

,
December 16, 2014
By PTSmith
from Graham, WA
" This log splitter is everything and more when it comes to splitting logs! I found the product to be of the highest quality, easy to assemble, having very clear assembly & operating instructions, and extremely efficient at splitting tree rounds. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The power and ease of use is amazing!

,
November 22, 2014
By Shorty13
from Rhode Island
" Splits through knotty logs with ease. The vertical capabilities are extremely appreciated when splitting larger logs. No heavy lifting! Quality of the splitter is rugged and durable unlike products sold at Retail stores. Excellent buy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!

,
October 11, 2014
By Dale76
from Everett, Pa.
" Had now for three years, has been very dependable. Take a piece of stringy elm and try to split with something smaller than the 30 ton... my bet your not going to do it. This 30 ton Splitter is what you need! Honda engine is very reliable regardless the temperature; single digits to 90 degree weather. Worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

100 hours and going strong

,
August 11, 2014
By bobbova
from Southbury, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I had added an hour meter to this 30 ton splitter when I purchased it and have just hit 100 hours of use, so looks like I will be replacing the hydraulic fluid shortly. I have been able to split all kinds of woods without any issues. The Honda motor rules, 1st pull every time! I can't come to guess how many cord I have split, but I probably average 6-15 cord a year. Guessing I have had it around 4 years. I just added the optional wedges, so I can't comment on them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splits anything

,
February 6, 2014
By BrockMcGarry
from Western MA
" This splitter has not met the log it can't split yet. The four way attachment makes quick work of the correct diameter logs. It can be a bit tricky with the four way when you are splitting big stuff. The idle when not in use is a great gas saving feature... just remember not to shut it of when it is engaged. The Honda starts with one easy pull. I love this thing! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJune 27, 2014
The new line of NorthStar Log Splitters have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Time

,
February 4, 2014
By 74aggie
from East Texas
" This splitter is a hoss ! First time I used it to split several cords of oak and it never missed a beat. Since then, I have cut several acres of oak and it has preformed flawlessly. I put it up for a year and it started on the 3 rd pull. I used it on very large diameter logs without a hitch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
12out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star 30 ton wood splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By JK557
from DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
" Outstanding the only trouble I have is keeping it home every time I turn around somebody has borrowed it. Very dependable splitter "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 30 Ton Log Splitter with 160cc Honda

,
February 4, 2014
By Poppa41
from Drasco, AR
" Excellent splitter - works good through burls or knots in wood and is easy to use in both the vertical and horizontal positions. Very adequate in power to split the most challenging, dense hardwoods. The honda motor is dependable and easy to start and the trailer is easy to maneuver by vehicle or by hand. This is a great splitter!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By jw68
from pamlico beach,nc
" great,love it & s0 do my shins & toes& my back,dont know how many less times i gotta bend down & pick up part of a log,oh & my ears 2 "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
February 4, 2014
By mk13
from WI
" It has split everything that i put to it. Great splitter!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Manstyle

,
February 4, 2014
By Hitt
from NC
" Let's skip all the prissy talk and get to the point. I bought this splitter about 3 years ago. I've used it every Spring thaw since for busting my firewood. After its work is done it goes back in dry storage and sets till next wood tending season. Never, never had to pull the cord more than twice to start the machine and never, ever had a lick of trouble from it or its performance.
This is not a woodsplitter, this is truely a manstyle piece of equipment!
Its construction shames the competition to the highest degree, and the staff at Concord, NC's Northern Tool are such that I want to shop there & even encourage my pals to visit the store as well.
Truely a manstyle piece of equipment that paid for itself in reduced heating bills the very first year.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Log Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By westfield
from Wisconsin
" Purchased the 30 ton Northstar log splitter and boy did it make log splitting easy. I'm 58 yrs old and this unit really made my job easy! It handled just about any kind of wood and any size with ease. By far the most efficient unit I've seen and used. I have a friend that is a tree cutter as a trade and he too was impressed with this unit. I highly recommend that if your looking for a great log splitter that you really look at this unit. You won't be disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent splitter

,
January 6, 2014
By Erdic
from Reston, VA
" I used this splitter to split 7 cords of wood, much of which was 30+ inch diameter green oak logs (18-25" thick), some with large knots, and this splitter didn't miss a beat. I burned 2.0 gallons of fuel in three days of operation @ 8 + hrs a day. My 60 lb. son could start this splitter it started so easily. Best splitter I've ever used. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gettin' The Job Done

,
December 3, 2013
By Woodchisel
from Texas
" I waited to write a review on this splitter. Well it's been 3yrs., an it hasn't missed a lick. The Honda motor has always started on the 2nd or 3rd pull after setting all year. It will split wood as long as you keep fuel in it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 30-Ton, 200cc Honda GX200 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter

,
November 26, 2013
By ab921
from Northern MN
" After some initial unusual problems with the first machine I picked up from my store in Fargo ND I ended up with a splitter that works to my satisfaction. John and the crew at the Fargo store are an asset to Northern Tool. Friendly and courteous the way it should be.
I used my 30 ton splitter this morning for about an hour splitting some pieces of oak a maul wouldn't split. Worked great! I especially like the idle down feature with the ram returns to the retracted position. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.